Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I love staying at the Best Western in Mammoth! It was a great place t stay and now they have upgraded the rooms and the breakfast. Well done!

Check in took 20 min even though there were only 2 people checking in. There was only one person at front desk who was on the phone for 15 min. There were other staff who came from the back but did not help although they noticed we were waiting. The room was nice and comfortable. The floors were terribly dirty. Not sure it’s been swept or mopped in quite some time.

Poor customer service all around except the breakfast cook, who was great.

Excellent breakfast! Dog friendly! Great indoor pool and jacuzzi!

Stayed with a buddy for a weekend at Mammoth. The hotel is about 100 yards away from two different shuttle stops that take you to the mountain or a number of local restaurants. The included breakfast is abundant and tasty, it not overly fancy. The pool area has a hot tub perfect for soaking at the end of a day of skiing. Rooms were clean. Heater was not noisy.

Nice hotel.....Friendly Staff......Great breakfast

In town for a wedding and stayed one night. Our room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The TV only had about 5 sat channels working. Based on previous hotel stays in other cities, the nightly rate was pricey for what was offered. Overall a nice stay.

Checking in we were met by a young man behind the desk named Jordyn. He quickly realized we were new to the area and gave us some great advice from where to eat to what to do in Mammoth. He took the time to explain to us which we appreciated. It really makes a good start to any trip when you have information like this. Thumbs up to this young man for that. We had a great time in Mammoth and would easily stay here again. The cooks in the restaurant were very friendly and eager to please, they cooked everything to perfection. The food was very good what would rival any restaurant in the area. The maids left the room very clean.

Had two rooms for our family. Skipped the breakfast. Spent over $340 for the rooms and got an add on charge $ for leaving one key card in the room. Ridiculous.

Two day stay in the off season. Staff is harried and not very hospitable. Had trouble taking my breakfast up to my room because the head chef was concerned he'd get into trouble. He had no concept of hospitality. Had a problem getting a taxi on Sunday because there is only one taxi service in town and they must have all gone fishing. Hotel manager would not drive me less than 15 minutes to the Mammoth Yosimite Airport in the hotel shuttle, I had to rent a car to drive there. Avoid this hotel like the plague.

The location is right off Main St, a half block from the tram and two tram stops from the village. The breakfast is bountiful, enough to carry us through much of the day---a very worthwhile perk!!! Hotel is clean with average-sized rooms, a good value, especially for summer!

I admit that room was spacious, & bed was comfortable, but location was not the great. It was tacked in the comer & hard to find. Breakfast so so. Hotel staff were not very attentive. I came out of feeling money not well spent.

Beautiful hotel off the main strip which made it a lot more quieter and relaxing to stay in. The room was clean and big for my husband and me. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The buffet was yummy.

The staff never told me I have to return the plastic room key when I checked in. So, they charged me the key that I did not return. I have traveled many hotels and this is the first hotel that I am asked me to return the plastic key. If you want to see yosemite park, this is not a hotel for you because it takes about 2-3 hours drive to arrive at the center of the park.

The room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. Outstanding breakfast!! Will definitely stay again.

The hotel is very close to Mammoth Mountain, Shops, restaurants, The Village, etc. the public bus and trolley system is free and very convenient. Having free breakfast in the morning before hitting the slopes was a most and very good! nothing can't beat having a hot tub and a pool while having a beer to relax after a day in the mountain. would love to stay again!

This hotel is below the standard of other Best Western Plus hotels we've stayed in. First the positives - clean rooms, good location, above average breakfast buffet. Negatives - mainly the front desk staff. There were usually 3-4 staff at the front desk but even basic requests were too much trouble (such as calling a taxi when our in-room phone didn't work and storing our luggage on the day we left). If these things are important to you then book elsewhere. Also be aware that they don't offer an airport shuttle and the wifi is often unavailable.

We enjoyed the room, comfortable beds, nice tv, good selection of channels. Nice complimantary breakfast too.

I didn't know what to expect when I booked this hotel. But I have to say I was impressed with my room and service. It's the perfect place to stay if you are going to spend most of your time out skiing and enjoying wonderful mammoth :)

Mammoth ski shuttle stop right in front of hotel. About a 10-15 minute shuttle ride to main lodge.

3228 Main Street Mammoth Lakes CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel places you within a leisurely stroll of Mammoth Hospital and Mammoth Lakes Welcome Center. This 73-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi. In the mountains, the hotel is also close to Edison Theater and Mammoth Ski Museum.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is served each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel's 73 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 42-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Free long-distance calls, free local calls, and free bottled water are other standard amenities.


Property features

At Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, guests enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free area shuttle. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the area. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and a business center.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Microwave

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Bathtub

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel

Everyone (8) Couples (10) Business (1) Family (18) Other (4) Friends (6)
5
Everyone

I love staying at the Best Western in Mammoth! It was a great place t stay and now they have upgraded the rooms and the breakfast. Well done!

By on May 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2018

Thank you for your review.

4
Everyone

Check in took 20 min even though there were only 2 people checking in. There was only one person at front desk who was on the phone for 15 min. There were other staff who came from the back but did not help although they noticed we were waiting. The room was nice and comfortable. The floors were terribly dirty. Not sure it’s been swept or mopped in quite some time.

By on Feb 24, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2018

Hello Thank you for your 4 stars even though it sounds like you had a few issues. We have since spoken to the front desk to make the guest at the front desk the priority. I apologize that you had to wait. We have also spoken to housekeeping to clean the floors better. Looking forward to seeing you again.

3

good location, nice rooms, but poor service

Everyone

Poor customer service all around except the breakfast cook, who was great.

By on Jan 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2018

Hello, Not giving me your name makes it hard for me to research why you felt that our customer service was so poor. This is important information so that we can work with our staff to continuously make improvements and would love to hear the circumstances involved. Thank you.

5
Everyone

Excellent breakfast! Dog friendly! Great indoor pool and jacuzzi!

By on Apr 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 26, 2017

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you had the chance to bring your dog on vacation with you in one of our 4 pet friendly room. See you again soon.

4

great hotel for mammoth access

Everyone

Stayed with a buddy for a weekend at Mammoth. The hotel is about 100 yards away from two different shuttle stops that take you to the mountain or a number of local restaurants. The included breakfast is abundant and tasty, it not overly fancy. The pool area has a hot tub perfect for soaking at the end of a day of skiing. Rooms were clean. Heater was not noisy.

By , from Silicon Valley, CA on Mar 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 14, 2017

Hello Matt, We appreciate the time for you to post your review. We are indeed in a good location with easy access to many shops and restaurants. I'm glad that you took advantage of the town's free shuttle which makes it convenient to just park your car and enjoy what Mammoth has to offer. Looking forward to your return.

4
Everyone

Nice hotel.....Friendly Staff......Great breakfast

By on Sep 27, 2016

3

overnight stay.

Everyone

In town for a wedding and stayed one night. Our room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The TV only had about 5 sat channels working. Based on previous hotel stays in other cities, the nightly rate was pricey for what was offered. Overall a nice stay.

By on Aug 8, 2016

4

first trip to mammoth lakes.

Everyone

Checking in we were met by a young man behind the desk named Jordyn. He quickly realized we were new to the area and gave us some great advice from where to eat to what to do in Mammoth. He took the time to explain to us which we appreciated. It really makes a good start to any trip when you have information like this. Thumbs up to this young man for that. We had a great time in Mammoth and would easily stay here again. The cooks in the restaurant were very friendly and eager to please, they cooked everything to perfection. The food was very good what would rival any restaurant in the area. The maids left the room very clean.

By on Jun 22, 2016

2

close to mammoth

Families

Had two rooms for our family. Skipped the breakfast. Spent over $340 for the rooms and got an add on charge $ for leaving one key card in the room. Ridiculous.

By , from California on Apr 10, 2016

1

average hotel, unprofessional staff

Singles

Two day stay in the off season. Staff is harried and not very hospitable. Had trouble taking my breakfast up to my room because the head chef was concerned he'd get into trouble. He had no concept of hospitality. Had a problem getting a taxi on Sunday because there is only one taxi service in town and they must have all gone fishing. Hotel manager would not drive me less than 15 minutes to the Mammoth Yosimite Airport in the hotel shuttle, I had to rent a car to drive there. Avoid this hotel like the plague.

By on Oct 6, 2014