Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Beautiful facility and excellent staff. Only issue was the train disruption 4 times in the middle of rhe night. Kindly refunded a portion of my payment to reconcile. Wonderful place. Beautiful! But that train.....

You will never have as comfortable a bed camping than here! Not for you if you are a light sleeper; road noise and train horns (even though they provide ear plugs). Common bath house but you get your own private locked shower room. Hot Hollywood showers!

Loved the S’mores offering at the community fire pit - nice touch there. The firewood inside the tent as well as charging stations, lanterns, were great as well. This is just a cool thing that everybody, especially people that shy away from traditional camping, should experience. Most difficult part of the trip by far was the train at night. This is something we knew about ahead of time from the reviews. It’s inevitably something that would keep us from coming back. Id say the king bed was fair.

It is located right off the highway and surrounded by railway and helicopter port. And all of them make very strong noise throughout the day especially after midnight after everything else quiet down. You will need ear plugs to survive the helicopter noise at night. Good thing is they provide good quality ear plugs. Guest service is horrible. There is no WiFi or landline or radio in the tent. They claim that the lobby guest service is available 24/7, but no one answered my approximately 10 calls when one of the neighbor tent was playing loud music at 1am that I had to walk to the neighbor to stop the music.

Surprisingly comfortable stay. Friendly staff and nice facilities. There is road and train noise but no more than every place we stayed in Glacier area.

Checked in, rode cart to our spot, went to the reception area for a campfire and s'mores later. Best sleep I'd had in days.

While I loved the king size bed, there was several things I wouldn't want to experience again (noise from cars driving by tent on gravel, people talking in tents around me & train). Tents look bright white and new in rental pictures but #31 tent looked very old (but near shower/toilet), just realize it isn't as glamourous as pictures make you think, its camping with a nice bed. Right off hwy. which could be good or bad depending how you look at it. Guess I'm a resort/wifi lover but hey I tried. FYI: in front of your assigned tent is space for one car and it is one way in driveway, so you circle around to get out. As you check in they will tell you about a $100 fine for having food in tent. Liquids only, because of Bears.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Fortunately, we got a tent that was close to the bathrooms. The bathrooms were nice and clean, unfortunately you have to hold on to a chain to get water in the shower. You can easily access your tent with your car but the exit is only one way so you have to drive around the entire campsite to exit

So the glamping experience itself was neat - sleeping in a super comfortable king size bed in a tent is fun. The kids slept in a teepee and thought it was great. The problem is with the location. Although it's really close to the Apgar entrance to the park, the site sits just off a busy road and very near a railroad track. So instead of a peaceful night under the stars, I was woken at least 6 times by train horns and other times by loud cars - and that was with earplugs and a noise maker. It's unfortunate because there's not much they can do about it besides move locations.

Great experience, although train noise can be an issue.

Under Canvas Road Coram MT

Hotel highlights

  • Concierge services
  • 24-hour front desk

Under Canvas Glacier is located within a mile (2 km) of Amazing Fun Center and Glacier Distilling Company. The 49 rooms at this campground include fireplaces, furnished balconies, and dining areas.


Rooms

The 49 individually decorated accommodations feature furnished balconies or patios and afford space to spread out with dining areas and sitting areas. Beds sport down comforters. Accommodations also include fireplaces.


Property features

Under Canvas Glacier offers a picnic area, a porter/bellhop, and a gift shop. You'll find limited parking. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with concierge services, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include barbecue grills and a fireplace in the lobby.

Room options

Safari Tent - Shared Bath

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Safari with Kids Tent - Shared Bath

1 King Bed and 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 5

Treehouse Tent - Private Bath

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Tent - Private Bath

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Under Canvas Glacier

Everyone (9) Couples (1) Family (2)
4
Partner Couples

Beautiful facility and excellent staff. Only issue was the train disruption 4 times in the middle of rhe night. Kindly refunded a portion of my payment to reconcile. Wonderful place. Beautiful! But that train.....

By on Jul 15, 2020

4
Everyone

You will never have as comfortable a bed camping than here! Not for you if you are a light sleeper; road noise and train horns (even though they provide ear plugs). Common bath house but you get your own private locked shower room. Hot Hollywood showers!

By on Sep 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2019

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

5
Everyone

By on Sep 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2019

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

4
Family

Loved the S’mores offering at the community fire pit - nice touch there. The firewood inside the tent as well as charging stations, lanterns, were great as well. This is just a cool thing that everybody, especially people that shy away from traditional camping, should experience. Most difficult part of the trip by far was the train at night. This is something we knew about ahead of time from the reviews. It’s inevitably something that would keep us from coming back. Id say the king bed was fair.

By on Jul 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2019

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

5
Everyone

By on Jul 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2019

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

2
Family

It is located right off the highway and surrounded by railway and helicopter port. And all of them make very strong noise throughout the day especially after midnight after everything else quiet down. You will need ear plugs to survive the helicopter noise at night. Good thing is they provide good quality ear plugs. Guest service is horrible. There is no WiFi or landline or radio in the tent. They claim that the lobby guest service is available 24/7, but no one answered my approximately 10 calls when one of the neighbor tent was playing loud music at 1am that I had to walk to the neighbor to stop the music.

By on Jul 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 13, 2019

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you had some issues with your stay. The helicopter across the street from us is non functional, you may have heard the search and rescue helicopter which occasionally fly's over us during the day as needed. One of our missions is to help our guests unplug and and enjoy their time outside, which is why we do not have wifi available at any of our locations. I hope you give us another chance, maybe at one of our other locations.

5
Everyone

Surprisingly comfortable stay. Friendly staff and nice facilities. There is road and train noise but no more than every place we stayed in Glacier area.

By , from Homer City Pa on Sep 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 12, 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review! I'm happy to hear you had a pleasant stay here with us. Yes, the train and traffic noise are inevitable but we do our best to accommodate everyone by providing complimentary earplugs and white noise machines upon request. I hope you were able to enjoy some of our on-site activities like music by the campfire, sunrise yoga, and even learning to fly fish! We hope to see you here again, or maybe one of our other locations like West Yellowstone, Moab, Zion, Mount Rushmore, Smoky Mountains, and Grand Canyon!

4

fun place to stay.

Everyone

Checked in, rode cart to our spot, went to the reception area for a campfire and s'mores later. Best sleep I'd had in days.

By , from Buffalo, ND on Sep 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 28, 2017

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us! The staff love taking our guests on the golf carts and show them all the amenities and show guests to their tents. I recommend the camp fire, its such a great communal atmosphere, plus you get to meet other guests from all around the world. You also can't beat having some s'mores at night! So glad you had a good night sleep, aren't the beds are super comfy?!! Thanks for coming to stay with us, we all hope you come visit in the upcoming seasons.

3

not a glamper

Everyone

While I loved the king size bed, there was several things I wouldn't want to experience again (noise from cars driving by tent on gravel, people talking in tents around me & train). Tents look bright white and new in rental pictures but #31 tent looked very old (but near shower/toilet), just realize it isn't as glamourous as pictures make you think, its camping with a nice bed. Right off hwy. which could be good or bad depending how you look at it. Guess I'm a resort/wifi lover but hey I tried. FYI: in front of your assigned tent is space for one car and it is one way in driveway, so you circle around to get out. As you check in they will tell you about a $100 fine for having food in tent. Liquids only, because of Bears.

By on Sep 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 6, 2017

Thank you for your review! I am happy that you enjoyed the king size bed! I apologize that tent did not live up to the image you saw online. If we would have known you weren't 100% thrilled with your tent, we would have been more than happy to move you to another tent (space permitting). It is true that we are located near the highway which makes us a short 7 mile drive to the entrance of Glacier National Park. With that, however, does come some road noise which is why we provide complementary earplugs for you. I hope you found those helpful. Perhaps you would enjoy visiting our camp down in Zion, UT. It just opened in August so everything is brand new and in pristine condition. It is also located miles off the main road. Thanks again for taking the time to write us a review!

3

great concept

Everyone

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Fortunately, we got a tent that was close to the bathrooms. The bathrooms were nice and clean, unfortunately you have to hold on to a chain to get water in the shower. You can easily access your tent with your car but the exit is only one way so you have to drive around the entire campsite to exit

By on Jul 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 7, 2017

Thanks for your review! I am happy that you found the staff friendly and helpful. It's hard to be anything but when you work in a place this beautiful - we are all so eager to share the novelty of our glamping site and tips on the wonders of Glacier National Park. We do conserve water by using pull chains in the shower as conservation is very important to the company. The one-way road is to help with traffic control and pedestrian safety. I'll add that it is not a very large loop so I do hope it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for you. Thank again!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Whitefish-Hotels-Under-Canvas-Glacier.h7118363-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Whitefish-Hotels-Under-Canvas-Glacier.h7118363-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Whitefish-Hotels-Under-Canvas-Glacier.h7118363-p2.Hotel-Reviews