Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Old town feel and decor was wonderful nothing bad to say here

All good. We will stay again. Great price, great value, Close to everything.

Motel standard - poor breakfast - ok for a make do one night visit

I liked the room. It was very roomy and clean!!!!!

The room condition was below average. It was very noisy. There is a train running behind the hotel 1 to 3 time per night. Noise from rooms above and at sides move than normal probably due to no carpeting - just tile on the floor.

I liked the friendliness of the staff. Food quality was not the best.

Negar at tye front is amazing...her boss doesnt know how great she is because she was surprised when i told her, shes mentioned many times in the reviews i read. The hotel's online photos will trick you to book. My 10yr old said its more of a motel rather a hotel. The pool and jacuzzi were turned off and dirty. They had to be renovating because there were old mattresses blocking several breezeways...never moved just sat there all night and day. A smoking hangout area was directly infront of our door, which was weird and unconfortable at times. Just glad we only stayed for one night, passing through...the $100 was a true rip off. We were better off staying in a chain hotel

The photos online are a bit misleading. We are used to staying in 3-4 star hotels and this one was not quite what we thought it was going to be. However, we booked our trip late, and this was all that was left. It met our needs, and forced us to get out and about. The bathroom was in new condition, but the room itself was a bit mismatched with furniture and some worn mattresses and blankets. You could do surgery in the over-lit bathroom. We had one of the rooms pictured online. It was clean and the staff were friendly. The breakfast was suitable with gluten free eggs and potatoes. I was grateful, but my architect husband would stay in another establishment. There was a lovely assortment of cultural families that was more interesting than the usual upper class stuffiness. There was excellent birding in the back next to the marsh.

The front desk - great! Restaurant service was AWFUL! First night, I waited 30 minutes to order. Then got attitude. Second night they brought my appetizer with my dinner AND it was the wrong appetizer. The room was so so, but the bed was like a ROCK. The sounds from the trains right behind the room were very loud.

Staff friendliness. Location. Breakfast.restaurant.

The property is very nice and very clean and convenient. Some rooms are recently renovated. The breakfast was sausage, scrambled eggs, potatoes, toast, and doughnuts. Fresh coffee and orange/apple juices. However, the rooms at the back of the property are about 100' from the railroad tracks. The very long trains came through 6 times during the night and extremely loud. So, if you are a sensitive sleeper, be sure to NOT get a rear/ water facing room.

Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was immaculate and had everything advertised. I highly recommend it and will certainly be staying again.

Quaint 2 story building. All was ok. Friendly staff. convenient location.

Our room had a nice view of the waterway and greenery behind the hotel and my daughter loved when the train would go by. The pool was also enjoyable. Overall, the location, price and free breakfast - which was more substantial than most mid-range hotels - make this is a really good value.

N. Ponce De Leon Blvd St. Augustine FL

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Ponce de Leon's Fountain of Youth Archaeological Park and Ripley's Believe It Or Not
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel places you within a 15-minute stroll of popular sights such as Ponce de Leon's Fountain of Youth Archaeological Park and Ripley's Believe It Or Not. This 84-room, 3-star hotel has conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM. Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

All of The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel's 84 individually decorated rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. TVs come with cable channels and DVD players, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Other standard amenities include free newspapers, free local calls, and ironing boards.


Property features

Renovated in 2019, The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel offers an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room. A stay here includes free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with tours or tickets, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include a business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and free newspapers.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Suite, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 6

Traditional Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Traditional Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel

Everyone (19) Couples (4) Family (3)
5
Partner Couples

Old town feel and decor was wonderful nothing bad to say here

By on Oct 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 21, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for choosing The Ponce. We hope you return again soon. Regards, Michael

4
Everyone

By on Oct 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 21, 2019

Thank you for leaving a review and for choosing The Ponce. We hope you return again soon. Regards, Michael

4
Everyone

By on Aug 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 13, 2019

Thank you for your review and for choosing The Ponce St. Augustine. Regards, Michael

5
Partner Couples Business Business Travelers

All good. We will stay again. Great price, great value, Close to everything.

By on Jul 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 20, 2019

On behalf of our team, thank you for sharing some feedback on your stay. We're thrilled to know that our prime location and excellent rates helped to provide you with the full-value experience you deserve. Should your adventures bring you back to the area, depend on us again here at The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel!

2
Partner Couples

Motel standard - poor breakfast - ok for a make do one night visit

By on May 26, 2019

Review comment responded on May 28, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay with us. Our goal is to ensure each guest enjoys a comfortable and relaxing visit, and we're glad your accommodations met your needs for your night with us. We apologize for the issues you encountered with breakfast, and our team will use your comments as we work to continually improve the experience we offer our guests. It would be wonderful to see you again so we can make sure you enjoy an even better stay!

5
Families

I liked the room. It was very roomy and clean!!!!!

By on May 20, 2019

Review comment responded on May 23, 2019

On behalf of our entire team here at The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel, thank you for sharing your kind words with us. We're thrilled that our spacious and well-appointed rooms were just what you were looking for. Hopefully, you had a blast exploring the area. Come back and see us again soon!

2
Friends

The room condition was below average. It was very noisy. There is a train running behind the hotel 1 to 3 time per night. Noise from rooms above and at sides move than normal probably due to no carpeting - just tile on the floor.

By on May 11, 2019

Review comment responded on May 13, 2019

We appreciate you reaching out after your recent stay with us. It is our goal to ensure each guest enjoys a welcoming and relaxing visit, and it saddens us to hear that your time with us did not quite meet your expectations or our standards. We apologize for the issues you encountered with the noise level and your accommodations, and we will use your constructive feedback as we work to improve our facilities for the comfort of future guests. It would be wonderful to see you again soon so we can provide you with the excellent experience you deserve.

3
Partner Couples

I liked the friendliness of the staff. Food quality was not the best.

By , from Raleigh, NC on Apr 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2019

Dear Caro, It is great to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff. We are sorry you did not enjoy our food, and we hope that on your next trip, you will have a change of heart. During your next trip to the city, depend on us another convenient stay!

1
Family with small children

Negar at tye front is amazing...her boss doesnt know how great she is because she was surprised when i told her, shes mentioned many times in the reviews i read. The hotel's online photos will trick you to book. My 10yr old said its more of a motel rather a hotel. The pool and jacuzzi were turned off and dirty. They had to be renovating because there were old mattresses blocking several breezeways...never moved just sat there all night and day. A smoking hangout area was directly infront of our door, which was weird and unconfortable at times. Just glad we only stayed for one night, passing through...the $100 was a true rip off. We were better off staying in a chain hotel

By on Apr 20, 2019

Review comment responded on May 4, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and we will be delighted to pass your wonderful praise to Negar! We are sorry about the pool, but hope that when it is up and running again, you will come back and enjoy its relaxing waters. We wish you safe travels ahead and hope you will come back and see us, so we can provide you the exceptional stay you deserve. All the best.

5
Everyone

By on Apr 2, 2019

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/St.-Augustine-Hotels-The-Ponce-St.-Augustine-Hotel.h6922-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /St.-Augustine-Hotels-The-Ponce-St.-Augustine-Hotel.h6922-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspException: Problem accessing the absolute URL "https://www.orbitz.com/St.-Augustine-Hotels-The-Ponce-St.-Augustine-Hotel.h6922-p2.Hotel-Reviews". java.io.FileNotFoundException: https://www.orbitz.com/St.-Augustine-Hotels-The-Ponce-St.-Augustine-Hotel.h6922-p2.Hotel-Reviews