Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

ATTENTION ALL FOREIGNERS AND LOCALS!!!! I booked this hotel because my flight was arriving late (10:45pm) and the hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport. I just wanted to book a place that wasn’t too far and would let me get a few hours of sleep. When making the reservation, I made arrangements to make sure they knew my arrival time and asked for them to send a driver. Originally, they said the cost was $30 USD (on their site it says one way transport from the airport is free). Regardless, I told them that is fine and to go ahead and book it for $30 USD. They messaged me back a day later and said the fee is $35 USD which I never agreed to and ignored the message entirely because I was going to just use Uber or Lyft at that price. I show up to the airport and of course there is a shuttle guy waiting for me with my name on the sign telling me it’s $35 and it’s already booked. Told him I never agreed to it. He drove me back anyways cause he said it was charged already. We arrive to the hotel and the driver cannot get ahold of anyone. Upon arrival the front desk was closed!!!! Can you believe it?!? They sent a driver, charged me $35 for this guy to drive me to their hotel and then didn’t even have anyone ready to check me in!!! That’s not the worst part unfortunately. So, the driver calls their phone number approximately 10x and finally someone answers. He explains they have a guest with a late check-in. I never got keys. No air conditioning. Filthy conditions. -100 stars!!!

The view outside the window consisted of a lot of garbage, The fridge door did not close, a leakage on the badroomfloor, I had to carry my suitcase 4 flores up, there was no help elivator. After 21:00 no visitors were allowed.The room was very small

i did not stay at the hotel. the room was smaller than.a jaill cell the owner requiere an extra 50$ a day for another bigger room. very disappointed i have to go to another hotel. worst

No water,no elevator,they charge for cleaning,if you need to sleep during the day you have to pay for the air conditioner.rediculos,

There's an additional fee to have the a/c run after 8:00am, hot water is scarce in the units , Windows are improperly a line letting in any and all the additional noise, no elevator service, there's no mop or broom in the units and its called an apartment or studio unit ,but it's missing some important basics. But if you are looking for inexpensive and are willing to ruff it for a short time then go for it.

The power was out for several hours. Loud and inconsiderate speaking by hotel staff half the night just outside our door. Water supply was off and on during our stay. We should of been offered a discount. Instead staff showed inflexibility and held to a strict checkout time. Over priced. Stay away.

Orbitz/Hotel must have all prices in one package. It is not fair to customers when they get to the hotel to see more charges such as $6.00 daily for gaz and $2,00 for room to be cleaned each day and that is not the case. What happen if the customer has no money? Customer will be sent back home??? Very ridiculous and this practice must stop. Thank you in advance.

I have been coming to Tropical Island Aparthotel for more than a year. The staff are great and it is like a family to me. I would personally thank Donald and family for the great effort they have done for all Tropical Islanders clients. Thank you Donald and keep working hard. Be blessed.

It was A Great One. I was in the Country to ask my Finance' Hand in Marriage. we had lots of fun, going to nearby parks, Discos, and Nearby Aquarium.

Tropical Island Aparthotel was a great choice for our group. The apartments style accommodations were very comfortable. It's great to have access to a kitchen and multiple bathrooms. The common areas are spacious and nice. I would happily stay again.

Caracoles 67 Santo Domingo Este Santo Domingo Este

Hotel highlights

  • Free in-room wired Internet
  • Rooftop terrace
  • Concierge services
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Corales del Sur within 2 miles (3 km) of Assembly Hall of Jehovah's Witnesses, Tropical Island Aparthotel is within a few miles (5 km) of other popular sights such as Three Eyes Park. This 50-room aparthotel welcomes guests with in-room amenities like kitchens, refrigerators, and coffee makers. It's connected to a shopping center in central Santo Domingo Este and also close to National Aquarium and Agua Splash Caribe Aquatic Park.


Dining

Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

Each apartment is individually decorated and features a kitchen with a refrigerator and a stovetop. Guests can expect to find free wired Internet and a 32-inch Smart TV with satellite channels. Pillowtop beds are dressed in Frette Italian sheets and down comforters, and the bathroom offers a rainfall showerhead and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a coffee maker, a rice cooker, and free newspapers. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

At Tropical Island Aparthotel, guests have access to a rooftop terrace, a computer station, and express check-in. For transportation, you can make use of an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 30 per vehicle one-way, as well as a ferry terminal shuttle. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include express check-out, free newspapers, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Apartment, 1 Bedroom, Kitchen, City View

1 Queen Bed and 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 4

Comfort Apartment, 1 Bedroom, Kitchen, City View

1 Queen Bed and 3 Twin Beds | Sleeps 5

Superior Studio, 1 Double Bed, Kitchenette, City View

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Family Apartment, 1 Bedroom, Kitchen, City View

1 Double Bed and 1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Tropical Island Aparthotel

Everyone (10) Family (1)
1
Everyone

ATTENTION ALL FOREIGNERS AND LOCALS!!!! I booked this hotel because my flight was arriving late (10:45pm) and the hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport. I just wanted to book a place that wasn’t too far and would let me get a few hours of sleep. When making the reservation, I made arrangements to make sure they knew my arrival time and asked for them to send a driver. Originally, they said the cost was $30 USD (on their site it says one way transport from the airport is free). Regardless, I told them that is fine and to go ahead and book it for $30 USD. They messaged me back a day later and said the fee is $35 USD which I never agreed to and ignored the message entirely because I was going to just use Uber or Lyft at that price. I show up to the airport and of course there is a shuttle guy waiting for me with my name on the sign telling me it’s $35 and it’s already booked. Told him I never agreed to it. He drove me back anyways cause he said it was charged already. We arrive to the hotel and the driver cannot get ahold of anyone. Upon arrival the front desk was closed!!!! Can you believe it?!? They sent a driver, charged me $35 for this guy to drive me to their hotel and then didn’t even have anyone ready to check me in!!! That’s not the worst part unfortunately. So, the driver calls their phone number approximately 10x and finally someone answers. He explains they have a guest with a late check-in. I never got keys. No air conditioning. Filthy conditions. -100 stars!!!

By on Jul 29, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 31, 2020

ATTENTION LOCAL & GLOBAL HOTELIERS!!!! Imagine one night stay studio on promotion $ 19.11 with taxes included and this gentleman still wanted to have free airport transportation arriving at midnight. When he arrived, he was given what he booked, he did not want to take the studio alleging that had booked one bedroom apartment apartment, we finally gave him the apartment, gave him the keys so he slept and woke up late the following morning insulting the lobby personnel. In a nutshell, this man is an absolute liar.

2
Family

The view outside the window consisted of a lot of garbage, The fridge door did not close, a leakage on the badroomfloor, I had to carry my suitcase 4 flores up, there was no help elivator. After 21:00 no visitors were allowed.The room was very small

By on Jan 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 11, 2020

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! You should have reported the issue immediately to the Fron Desk because you stayed over a week. We would be more than happy to host you again next time you come back to Santo Domingo!

2
Everyone

By on Nov 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 3, 2019

Thank you for visiting Tropical Island Aparthotel, You would be more than welcome when you come back to Santo Domingo.

1
Everyone

i did not stay at the hotel. the room was smaller than.a jaill cell the owner requiere an extra 50$ a day for another bigger room. very disappointed i have to go to another hotel. worst

By on Jun 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2019

Thanks for your comment, it is important to us. We regret the inconveniences that happened, even so, how do you want a bigger apartment than what you booked and at no cost? We give what the guest reserves and if they want any change we must apply the costs, we are not a charity.

1

horrible

Everyone

No water,no elevator,they charge for cleaning,if you need to sleep during the day you have to pay for the air conditioner.rediculos,

By on Jun 24, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 28, 2018

Water??? There was ONLY less than 20 minutes wihout running water because of a short maintance! This property boats abudant hot and cold water supply. You should have read better before making your reservation - this property does not provide elevator and air conditioning is free from 8:00PM to 8:00AM due to our cheap nightly room rate; however, you have the option to have air conditioning 24 hour service paying U$10 extra during daytime.Be more coherent in your opinion, Ok.

2

hidden fees

Everyone

There's an additional fee to have the a/c run after 8:00am, hot water is scarce in the units , Windows are improperly a line letting in any and all the additional noise, no elevator service, there's no mop or broom in the units and its called an apartment or studio unit ,but it's missing some important basics. But if you are looking for inexpensive and are willing to ruff it for a short time then go for it.

By on Apr 24, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 28, 2018

You should have read the aparthotel a/c policy, the fine print of the website says the property has no elevator and remember this aparthotel is a self-catering accommodation!. Cleaning supply is available on request besides free cleaning provided.

2

noisy and overpriced

Everyone

The power was out for several hours. Loud and inconsiderate speaking by hotel staff half the night just outside our door. Water supply was off and on during our stay. We should of been offered a discount. Instead staff showed inflexibility and held to a strict checkout time. Over priced. Stay away.

By on Apr 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 24, 2018

If you were seriously speaking, you would mention your name - it is a lack of personality, that is the perfect way liars behave!

4

nice hotel and close to everything.

Everyone

Orbitz/Hotel must have all prices in one package. It is not fair to customers when they get to the hotel to see more charges such as $6.00 daily for gaz and $2,00 for room to be cleaned each day and that is not the case. What happen if the customer has no money? Customer will be sent back home??? Very ridiculous and this practice must stop. Thank you in advance.

By , from NYC on Jan 31, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 4, 2018

Hi Manito, Thank you for choosing Tropical Island Apartahotel for your recent stay in Santo Domingo. You will be more than welcome again next time you come back to Santo Domingo!

5

tropical island aparthotel review.

Everyone

I have been coming to Tropical Island Aparthotel for more than a year. The staff are great and it is like a family to me. I would personally thank Donald and family for the great effort they have done for all Tropical Islanders clients. Thank you Donald and keep working hard. Be blessed.

By , from NYC on Jan 21, 2018

Review comment responded on May 9, 2018

Hi Mr Kinzoni, thank you for choosing Tropical Island Apartahotel for your recent stay in Santo Domingo. You will be more than welcome again next time you're in Santo Domingo. Regards

4

nice. close to the beach.

Everyone

It was A Great One. I was in the Country to ask my Finance' Hand in Marriage. we had lots of fun, going to nearby parks, Discos, and Nearby Aquarium.

By , from Las Vegas, NV on Nov 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 3, 2017

Hi Mackk!, thank you for the comments. We appreciate your stay here and hope to see you soon.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Santo-Domingo-Hotels-Tropical-Island-Aparthotel.h5555946-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Santo-Domingo-Hotels-Tropical-Island-Aparthotel.h5555946-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Santo-Domingo-Hotels-Tropical-Island-Aparthotel.h5555946-p2.Hotel-Reviews