Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

La atención es excelente y hotel es acogedor y limpio !!

The hotel was really clean and everyone was very helpful my only complaint is that is not a kid friendly hotel. I have 2 children , 4 and 12 and the pool didn’t even have a kid section. Nothing available for them to keep them entertained.

I liked how this old/traditional hotel's rooms have been remodeled to fit a quite more modern feel. I think the rugs by the bed could be changed or cleaned better. I loved the food, a mix of traditional Dominican delights with international cuisine makes leaving the hotel unnecessary for gastronomic reasons.

Since the first day we arrived the Air conditionner was not working properly after the electricity was shut down. We called the reception, someone came and after that we had the same problem again and calle d the reception but nothing was done. here was also a water leak in The bathroom when taking the shower.

Immediately upon entering the hotel and speaking, the front desk lady asks, in a nasty tone and with disgust on her face, “You don’t speak Spanish?” And then proceeded to be rude while checking us in. Besides the front desk staff and operator, no one speaks an ounce of English and became mad at us for trying to speak broken Spanish to communicate our needs. TWO times staff just opened our hotel room door. Both times they knocked once and I said hold on and both times they just walked in. When I tried to hold the door close, the first time it happened, the employee kept trying to push the door open ANYWAY! Upon ordering room service, they constantly knock on your door to see if you’ve finished, even if you have the do not disturb on. It’s very frustrating when trying to have some relaxing time. The hotel doesn’t offer Covid-19 testing but gave us a list of places we could call to schedule ours before flying back home, which we were initially thankful for. I asked the guys the front desk how far the first one on the list was from the hotel and he said, “if I told you, you wouldn’t understand anyway.” Upon calling the sites, none had employees that could speak English and the employees at each clinic hung up on us as we tried to communicate in our broken Spanish to schedule the required test to get back home. I called the front desk and let them know the issue and I had to request that they help me with scheduling. I DO NOT recommend this hotel.

Perfect

Excellent in every way.

I liked that it felt like a resort( away from the push and pull of city life)- I did not like that when we arrived the room was set for 1 when I booked for 2 people. And we never got the mini bar filled although we asked twice in two separate days. Besides the fact that the plug in the bathroom for the hair drying was broken, hence we could not use it.

everything was perfect

Very nice hotel. Staff was very pleasant. Breakfast was delicious. Room and facility are very nice.

I was charge a lot of money for refrigerator bar. The staff spoke very little English.

The property was great. It is a beautiful hotel and the location is ideal for downtown access and entertainment. My only disappointment was that the staff members were not attentive.

Rooms are updated, very modern. Shower is nice and big and the tub is big as well.

The property was very nice. However a sewage smell comes out of the shower drain. Everything else was excellent.

Ave Sarasota 65 Santo Domingo Distrito Nacional

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Bella Vista, El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel is within 2 miles (3 km) of popular attractions such as Malecon and Blue Mall. This 298-room, 5-star resort has a full-service spa, a casino, and 2 restaurants.


Dining

Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including El Jardin del Embajador, which specializes in international cuisine. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service. For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

All 298 soundproofed accommodations feature sitting areas. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 48-inch LED TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and pillow menus, and bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and designer toiletries. IPod docks, minibars, and coffee makers are also standard.


Property features

Guests of El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel have access to a full-service spa, a casino, and an outdoor pool. There's free parking, and an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 50 per vehicle roundtrip. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with concierge services, securing valuables, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this luxury resort include a 24-hour gym, a sauna, and free WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Royal Suite (Ambassador)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Executive Junior Suite

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Ambassador Royal Junior Suite

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Ambassador Executive Junior Suite

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Everyone (15) Couples (6) Family (5)
5
Family

La atención es excelente y hotel es acogedor y limpio !!

By on Apr 30, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2022

Estimada Sra. Luz: Muchísimas gracias por compartir con nosotros su experiencia en El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel dedicándonos tan excelentes comentarios. No hay mejor recompensa para nosotros que saber que disfrutó su estadía y que sobrepasamos sus expectativas. Alegría mayor nos causa saber que ha confiado en nosotros y que volveremos a tener el honor de recibirle. Me satisface enormemente saber que disfrutó de una estadía cómoda y placentera en nuestro elegante hotel de ciudad. A nuestras amplias habitaciones hay que sumar las magníficas instalaciones ejecutivas y servicios de lujo pensados para garantizar el confort de nuestros huéspedes. Nuestro equipo trabaja arduamente para proveer el mejor servicio a todos nuestros valiosos huéspedes y anticipar todas sus necesidades. Esperamos poder recibirle nuevamente muy pronto para brindarle otra memorable experiencia, tal como usted lo merece. Es nuestra satisfacción servirle. Muy cordialmente, El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel.

4
Family with small children

The hotel was really clean and everyone was very helpful my only complaint is that is not a kid friendly hotel. I have 2 children , 4 and 12 and the pool didn’t even have a kid section. Nothing available for them to keep them entertained.

By on Apr 26, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 26, 2022

Dear Mrs. Stefany: We are deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel to the fullest, as we strive every day to make each stay unforgettable. However, you can be assured that your opinion will be shared with our department heads to inform them and act accordingly. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future

4
Family

I liked how this old/traditional hotel's rooms have been remodeled to fit a quite more modern feel. I think the rugs by the bed could be changed or cleaned better. I loved the food, a mix of traditional Dominican delights with international cuisine makes leaving the hotel unnecessary for gastronomic reasons.

By on Apr 14, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 14, 2022

Dear Mr. Rodney: Thank you very much for sharing with us and all the members of El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel dedicating so many excellent comments to us. There is no better reward for us than knowing that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and that we exceeded your expectations. It makes us even happier to know that you have trusted us and that we will be honored to welcome you again. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed a comfortable and pleasant stay in our elegant city hotel. To our spacious rooms we must add the magnificent executive facilities and luxury services designed to ensure the comfort of our guests. Our team works hard to provide the best service to all our valued guests and anticipate all their needs. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to provide you with another memorable experience, just as you deserve. It is our satisfaction to serve you. Very cordially,

2
Partner Couples

Since the first day we arrived the Air conditionner was not working properly after the electricity was shut down. We called the reception, someone came and after that we had the same problem again and calle d the reception but nothing was done. here was also a water leak in The bathroom when taking the shower.

By on Feb 7, 2022

Review comment responded on Feb 8, 2022

Dear Mrs. Marie Louise: We are deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel to the fullest, as we strive every day to make each stay unforgettable. We have reviewed your comments in detail, and are very dismayed to read that the service you have received during your stay at our hotel does not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests. However, you can be assured that your opinion will be shared with our department heads to inform them and act accordingly. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future

2
Partner Couples

Immediately upon entering the hotel and speaking, the front desk lady asks, in a nasty tone and with disgust on her face, “You don’t speak Spanish?” And then proceeded to be rude while checking us in. Besides the front desk staff and operator, no one speaks an ounce of English and became mad at us for trying to speak broken Spanish to communicate our needs. TWO times staff just opened our hotel room door. Both times they knocked once and I said hold on and both times they just walked in. When I tried to hold the door close, the first time it happened, the employee kept trying to push the door open ANYWAY! Upon ordering room service, they constantly knock on your door to see if you’ve finished, even if you have the do not disturb on. It’s very frustrating when trying to have some relaxing time. The hotel doesn’t offer Covid-19 testing but gave us a list of places we could call to schedule ours before flying back home, which we were initially thankful for. I asked the guys the front desk how far the first one on the list was from the hotel and he said, “if I told you, you wouldn’t understand anyway.” Upon calling the sites, none had employees that could speak English and the employees at each clinic hung up on us as we tried to communicate in our broken Spanish to schedule the required test to get back home. I called the front desk and let them know the issue and I had to request that they help me with scheduling. I DO NOT recommend this hotel.

By on Jan 1, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2022

We are deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel to the fullest, as we strive every day to make each stay unforgettable. We have reviewed your comments in detail, and are very dismayed to read that the service you have received during your stay at our hotel does not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests. However, you can be assured that your opinion will be shared with our department heads to inform them and act accordingly. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

5
Business Business

Perfect

By on Dec 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 12, 2021

Dear Mr. Camilo: It is a pleasure for us to receive such a positive comment regarding your recent visit, from all the staff that makes up El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel we thank you for valuing the attention we provide to each of our guests with professionalism , kindness and excellence, since, as you very well said, they contribute to making your stay a memorable and pleasant moment in every way. We are very happy that you have felt very comfortable in our facilities, we work very hard every day to ensure that our guests feel well cared for at all times. We will forward your comments to the entire team and we assure you that they will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to provide you with another memorable experience, just as you deserve it. It is our satisfaction to assist you. Sincerely, El Embajador, A Royal Hideaway Hotel.

5
Partner Couples

Excellent in every way.

By on Nov 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 27, 2021

Dear Mrs. Anna: Thank you very much for sharing with us and all the members of El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel dedicating so many excellent comments to us. There is no better reward for us than knowing that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and that we exceeded your expectations. It makes us even happier to know that you have trusted us and that we will be honored to welcome you again. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed a comfortable and pleasant stay in our elegant city hotel. To our spacious rooms we must add the magnificent executive facilities and luxury services designed to ensure the comfort of our guests. Our team works hard to provide the best service to all our valued guests and anticipate all their needs. On the other hand, regarding the vegan option, we regret not having met your expectations in this regard, rest assured that we have transmitted this valuable information to our department heads for further review and improvement. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to provide you with another memorable experience, just as you deserve. It is our satisfaction to serve you. Very cordially,

5
Partner Couples

I liked that it felt like a resort( away from the push and pull of city life)- I did not like that when we arrived the room was set for 1 when I booked for 2 people. And we never got the mini bar filled although we asked twice in two separate days. Besides the fact that the plug in the bathroom for the hair drying was broken, hence we could not use it.

By on Nov 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 5, 2021

Dear Mrs. Amelia: Thank you very much for sharing with us and all the members of El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel dedicating so many excellent comments to us. There is no better reward for us than knowing that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and that we exceeded your expectations. It makes us even happier to know that you have trusted us and that we will be honored to welcome you again. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed a comfortable and pleasant stay in our elegant city hotel. To our spacious rooms we must add the magnificent executive facilities and luxury services designed to ensure the comfort of our guests. Our team works hard to provide the best service to all our valued guests and anticipate all their needs. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to provide you with another memorable experience, just as you deserve. It is our satisfaction to serve you. Very cordially,

5
Everyone

By on Oct 24, 2021

5
Partner Couples

everything was perfect

By on Aug 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 16, 2021

Dear Shirley: Thank you very much for sharing with us and all the members of El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel dedicating so many excellent score to us. There is no better reward for us than knowing that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and that we exceeded your expectations. It makes us even happier to know that you have trusted us and that we will be honored to welcome you again. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed a comfortable and pleasant stay in our elegant city hotel. To our spacious rooms we must add the magnificent executive facilities and luxury services designed to ensure the comfort of our guests. Our team works hard to provide the best service to all our valued guests and anticipate all their needs. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to provide you with another memorable experience, just as you deserve. It is our satisfaction to serve you. Very cordially,

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Santo-Domingo-Hotels-El-Embajador,-a-Royal-Hideaway-Hotel.h1395-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Santo-Domingo-Hotels-El-Embajador,-a-Royal-Hideaway-Hotel.h1395-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Santo-Domingo-Hotels-El-Embajador,-a-Royal-Hideaway-Hotel.h1395-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions