Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Northern Light Inn

3.0 out of 5.0

Northern Light Inn

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

It was my second stay at Northern Light Inn. The food is amazing, the staff and the owner are wonderful. I tried the Aurora floating at the hotel which was a great experience, too. They have a free shuttle service to Blue Lagoon (just 3 minutes by car from the Hotel to Blue Lagoon!). But you can also walk to Blue Lagoon from the hotel (15-20 minutes walk) and the scenery is beautiful. I recommend taking a walk around the geothermal power plant, too so you will see beautiful blue water and you rarely see people so it's good for taking many beautiful photos. I will definitely go back there again!

This hotel has a lot to offer. It is approximately a half hour from the Keflavik airport and about 3 minutes away from the blue lagoon. Although they do not have an airport shuttle, be sure to check in with them as they do have arrangements with a local cab company to save their guests some money. The rooms were clean and nice. The staff was very friendly and very helpful, particularly with regard to setting up tours/excursions. They also have a system wherein guests can sign up for northern lights alerts. Max's Restaurant was easy to access and had a great menu. I would recommend this hotel to any of my family or friends.

Super friendly front desk staff and super comfortable beds!

Hotel staffs are really friendly and helpful! Food are great!

They have floatation eggs that you can book a zen room to meditate and a gym. Wish they offered massage and facials. The hotel is VERY clean and beautifully furnished. Had a west facing room with spectacular lava boulders as a view. Dark night sky sprinkled with diamondlike stars. Loved it! Will come back.

Location is great but oh my god the smell of sulfur from the geothermal plant directly next to it was horrible. Also the room was very hot and with the horrible smell you couldn’t keep the windows open. But- it was a very comfortable room other than that. And Max’s restaurant was excellent!! Really delicious. My children loved the lamb and my husbands cod was the best! So even despite the smell I would actually recommend it.

Great location for Blue a Lagoon (5 min away), being on a lava field is awesome, breakfast and complementary afternoon waffle is a great touch. Will go back anytime.

Fun place to stay while going to the blue lagoon. Staff were all fun as well as efficient. Accommodate was perfect for us.

Ok where do I start .. we just got back from the northern lights inn (NLI) . Or stay had to be extended due to a very bad storm that shut the airport down. And they were very willing to help. .. most of my contact was with a staff member by the name of Helena. She is an angle! Food was great. They will wake up up if the northern lights appear , which happened to us twice but by the time we got outside they were already gone. The blue lagoon is a 10 min walk or take their hourly free shuttle. The storm was so bad it actually knocked the power out and the staff gave us candles and little flashlights to use in our rooms. My only complaint is that there is nothing else around. !!! It's the hotel a power plant and the blue lagoon, that's it!! ... But overall great time , great people , I just wish the lights appeared for me ..

The staff were very helpful and accommodating. They had an option at the desk to leave your room number for a wake up call in the event that the Northern Lights were visible. We got a call at 1:15 in the morning and were able to view the lights. They were faint but one of the staff members came outside with all the guests and pointed out and explained to us what we were seeing. Great stay!!

20 minutes from Kef airport, free pickup and drop off from the airport but need to book in advance. Staffs are friendly the fish dish in the restaurant is very good. Room is clean, simple and modern, 5 minutes away from Blue Lagoon and they have free shuttle to take you there and pick you up as well.

Quaint hotel within walking distance to Blue Lagoon (shuttle also available). Friendly, professional staff. Dinner and breakfast at Max's was awesome!

We spent 10 days in a camper van in Iceland and ended with one day of luxury at the Northern Lights Inn. Albeit, we spent more on the last 24 hours of our stay in Iceland than we did the rest of the trip combined...totally worth it. The hotel is clean but welcoming. You want to hang out in their guest areas! The hotel staff were friendly and quick to help. This is a wonderful place to stay and relax for a bit.

Great quiet location that is close to blue lagoon. Loved the happy hour where you can make your own waffles! Breakfast selection was excellent!

We found a childs football,(american) under our bed, and it was quite large. Are you sure your cleaning staff is actually cleaning the floors? No place to put our luggage other than on the floor. Very few television stations to choose from.

Solid hotel with a feel of a very high end hostel. For people that want a quality experience in comfort and opportunity to relax and if they choose interact with othet guests

Nordurljosavegur 1 Grindavik Southern Peninsula

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Blue Lagoon
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining

Located 0.9 mi (1.4 km) from Blue Lagoon, Northern Light Inn is within a 15-minute drive of other popular attractions like Viking World Museum. This 3-star hotel has 42 guestrooms and offers a 24-hour fitness center, free in-room WiFi, and a 24-hour business center.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM. Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. For a nice break, mingle with other guests at the free daily manager's reception.


Rooms

A flat-screen TV comes with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds sport down comforters and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a phone and a desk.


Property features

Guests staying at Northern Light Inn enjoy a 24-hour fitness center, a sauna, and free WiFi in public areas. There's free RV, bus, and truck parking, and a shuttle from the airport to the hotel (available 24 hours) for EUR 39 per room. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this hot springs hotel include a conference center, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Family Room

Full 1 | Sleeps 4

Triple Room

Full 1 | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Spa Access

Full 1 | Twin 2 | Sleeps 2

Twin Room, 2 Twin Beds, Ground Floor

Twin 2 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Northern Light Inn

Everyone (17) Couples (1) Family (2)
5
Everyone

By on May 14, 2019

Review comment responded on May 14, 2019

Many thanks for your rating

5
Families Families

It was my second stay at Northern Light Inn. The food is amazing, the staff and the owner are wonderful. I tried the Aurora floating at the hotel which was a great experience, too. They have a free shuttle service to Blue Lagoon (just 3 minutes by car from the Hotel to Blue Lagoon!). But you can also walk to Blue Lagoon from the hotel (15-20 minutes walk) and the scenery is beautiful. I recommend taking a walk around the geothermal power plant, too so you will see beautiful blue water and you rarely see people so it's good for taking many beautiful photos. I will definitely go back there again!

By , from New York on Apr 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2019

Hi Misaki, many thanks for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you have been with us twice and thankful to hear that you would like to return. We do hope to see you again.

5
Everyone

By on Apr 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 6, 2019

Many thanks for your rating

5
Partner Couples

This hotel has a lot to offer. It is approximately a half hour from the Keflavik airport and about 3 minutes away from the blue lagoon. Although they do not have an airport shuttle, be sure to check in with them as they do have arrangements with a local cab company to save their guests some money. The rooms were clean and nice. The staff was very friendly and very helpful, particularly with regard to setting up tours/excursions. They also have a system wherein guests can sign up for northern lights alerts. Max's Restaurant was easy to access and had a great menu. I would recommend this hotel to any of my family or friends.

By on Mar 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2019

Hi mcp, many thanks for your kind words and rating. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and thankful that you are recommending us to your family and friends. We do hope to see you again.

5
Everyone

Super friendly front desk staff and super comfortable beds!

By , from DC on Dec 10, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 10, 2018

Hi Junebug, many thanks for your review and rating. We do hope to see you again, one day.

5
Everyone

Hotel staffs are really friendly and helpful! Food are great!

By , from Queens, ny on Dec 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 27, 2019

Hi Tina, many thanks for your photo from your stay, your kind words and rating. We do hope to see you again.

4
Everyone

They have floatation eggs that you can book a zen room to meditate and a gym. Wish they offered massage and facials. The hotel is VERY clean and beautifully furnished. Had a west facing room with spectacular lava boulders as a view. Dark night sky sprinkled with diamondlike stars. Loved it! Will come back.

By , from Iceland on Oct 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 8, 2018

Hi Dimples, many thanks for your kind words and rating. We are happy to hear that you will be returning. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

5
Everyone

By on Sep 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2018

Hi, many thanks for your rating.

4
Everyone

Location is great but oh my god the smell of sulfur from the geothermal plant directly next to it was horrible. Also the room was very hot and with the horrible smell you couldn’t keep the windows open. But- it was a very comfortable room other than that. And Max’s restaurant was excellent!! Really delicious. My children loved the lamb and my husbands cod was the best! So even despite the smell I would actually recommend it.

By , from New Jersey on Sep 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 6, 2018

Hi Lynn, many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and thankful to hear that you are recommending us. The sulfur smell can sometimes be found but most of the time the wind is blowing away from the hotel so most of the time we don't get this sulfur smell which is part of the Blue Lagoon process, by the way. But sometimes the wind blows over our hotel and then the sulfur can be smelt. We do hope to see you and your family again with us one day.

5
Everyone

Great location for Blue a Lagoon (5 min away), being on a lava field is awesome, breakfast and complementary afternoon waffle is a great touch. Will go back anytime.

By on Aug 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 1, 2018

Hi, Many thanks for your nice words and rating. We do hope to see you again.