Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Smell of smoke in hallways and elevators. Staff very nice and competent. Mask wearing questionable.

The heater in the room didn’t seem to work well and we were overheated all night and thus I didn’t sleep well at all.

The continental breakfast announced by the hotel is a bag with a fruit and a nutribar. The juice is a bottle of water with a crystal light package. The pool was closed, no information about this in their web page. The mirror at the elevator area was so dirty that you can even see anything. The room smelled old and felt dusty as it gave me allergies even in a non smoking room and with a sticker at the door indicating that was clean. Also the bed was like sleeping on a park bench super hard. In general the worst experience ever in a hotel. I was highly disappointed.

Trashy hotel and area!! Way too many complaints to even begin typing up...Worst hotel I've ever stayed at and I never will again! NOT worth the almond $165.00 i spent for one night in the lowest type room available!!

The location. Close to my job. Staff friendly. Customer service was great.

Room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was good and hot. Staff was friendly at check in.

Liked location, didn't like inflexibility of the staff.

Always enjoy our stay at Hampton Inns wherever we are in the USA

We enjoyed our stay. The employees were all so nice and our room was very clean.

Loved this hotel and highly recommend it. Super friendly staff and a great breakfast.

clean, friendly staff, convenient location. pool and Gym

The staff is very nice, recommended several place to visit.

Nice hotel closed to Exeter Academy. Friendly stuff and clean room.

Great location to Exerter, NH downtown. Great experience for the price!

Room size and comfort was good. But the room had a "musky" smell. Staff was friendly and courteous.

My husband and I arrived at the hotel around 5pm to check in, before we headed to the Hampton beach Seafood Festival. We just started going every year on my birthday. We usually go for the day and drive back home after,but it's a 2.1/2 hour drive to and from. So this year I wanted to stay over and enjoy it more. We got back to the hotel late and went to bed. As we started to lay down, we notice the pillows on the bed were way to soft and the mattress was really firm. Sheets and comforter were clean. The bed was a king size which were not used to all the room between us. But I liked the space, cause my husband hogs up the bed. But we tossed and turned all night because of the pillows. Woke up late in the morning at 9 and I had a pain in my neck. That lasted all day. Not goood! I'm a professional housecleaner and as far as cleanliness it was horrible. I'm glad I don't have allergies cause it wasn't dusted well, you could see they just wipe around the lamps and TV. Lampshade, base, toilet paper holder, picture, etc. Even in the hallways the table, mirrors,lamps, soda and ice machine were dusty. Housekeeping needs to really step it up. Very lazy. Missed breakfast which We were mad closed at 10am just when we got there. However the front desk guy was very pleasant and helpful by giving us a great place to go have breakfast down the street. I won't be staying there again paying $200+ a night not worth it. Found friends who go to festival and rent a house, rather do that.

This hotel was really clean. The rooms were really big, great stay for the price..

Portsmouth Ave Exeter NH

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Phillips Exeter Academy
  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, NH places you within a short walk of American Independence Museum and within a mile (2 km) of Phillips Exeter Academy. This hotel has 111 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Free on-the-go breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM. For a nice break, mingle with other guests at the free manager's reception on select days.


Rooms

The 111 rooms have an array of amenities, including MP3 docks, microwaves, and refrigerators. LCD TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Coffee makers and safes are also standard.


Property features

At Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, NH, guests have access to a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free area shuttle. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with luggage storage, securing valuables, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and express check-in.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking (Drinks & Snacks)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

King studio suite

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (Drinks & Snacks)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, NH

Everyone (9) Couples (3) Family (11) Other (1)
3
Partner Couples Business Business

Smell of smoke in hallways and elevators. Staff very nice and competent. Mask wearing questionable.

By on Mar 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 9, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry that you encountered some inconveniences during your stay with us. If you return and have similar issues, please be sure to let the front desk know so we can address them immediately.

3
Family

The heater in the room didn’t seem to work well and we were overheated all night and thus I didn’t sleep well at all.

By on Jan 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 29, 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so sorry that you had issues with your heater in your room. In the future, please contact the front desk with any similar issues and I am sure that they will be able to assist you in correcting things.

4
Everyone

By on Jan 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 29, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

2
Family Family

The continental breakfast announced by the hotel is a bag with a fruit and a nutribar. The juice is a bottle of water with a crystal light package. The pool was closed, no information about this in their web page. The mirror at the elevator area was so dirty that you can even see anything. The room smelled old and felt dusty as it gave me allergies even in a non smoking room and with a sticker at the door indicating that was clean. Also the bed was like sleeping on a park bench super hard. In general the worst experience ever in a hotel. I was highly disappointed.

By on Aug 17, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 12, 2020

We are so sorry that you had a less than enjoyable stay with us. We are working very hard to make improvements in the area of cleanliness and we have made significant upgrades to our breakfast recently. We hope that you will give us another try if you return to the Exeter area.

1
Family

Trashy hotel and area!! Way too many complaints to even begin typing up...Worst hotel I've ever stayed at and I never will again! NOT worth the almond $165.00 i spent for one night in the lowest type room available!!

By , from Fall River, Ma on Aug 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 12, 2020

So sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our staff is working very hard to improve the cleanliness of the hotel and we have recently upgraded what we offer for breakfast. Perhaps you will give us another try if you come to Exeter again.

5
Business Business

The location. Close to my job. Staff friendly. Customer service was great.

By on May 20, 2020

4
Family Business Business

Room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was good and hot. Staff was friendly at check in.

By on Nov 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 12, 2019

Thank you for the nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

3
Everyone

By on Oct 8, 2019

3
Friends

Liked location, didn't like inflexibility of the staff.

By on Sep 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 24, 2019

Thank you for providing the feedback about your recent stay. I'm sorry that you found our staff to be inflexible. I can assure that they are trained to try to be otherwise. I hope that we get the opportunity to prove that to you in the future.

5
Everyone

By on Aug 24, 2019

Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, NH

59 Portsmouth Ave, Exeter, NH 03833
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Portsmouth-Hotels-Hampton-Inn-&-Suites-Exeter,-NH.h3814061-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Portsmouth-Hotels-Hampton-Inn-&-Suites-Exeter,-NH.h3814061-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Portsmouth-Hotels-Hampton-Inn-&-Suites-Exeter,-NH.h3814061-p2.Hotel-Reviews