Marsham Arms Coaching Inn4.0 out of 5.0
Recent guest reviews
Have visited this pub every year for the past 3 years and have had excellent service each and every time, great food and an excellent base to explore the surrounding Norfolk countryside. On this occasion however we were in an annex which was adjoined by a function room where on the Saturday evening we were regaled with 80's rock music which vibrated the whole room with echoes of my youth, No complaints 30 years ago but at my age not so good. If we had known we would have asked for a different room. as with any past event when mentioned it on checking out there was very little the staff could do. Has made me wary of a return.
This was our second time of staying here. We used this as a base to visit Wells next to the Sea and the country and game show at Sandringham. We stayed in one of the dog friendly rooms as our 4 legged friend joined us. Room was clean and tidy and plenty big enough. Water Bowl and treats provided for the dog. Dog also was allowed in the bar area and accompanied us at meal times and was even treated to a sausage! Food, as last year was delicious. The menu had been updated since we were last here but some favourites remained. Portions are on the large size, the burger needs scaffolding and was very tasty. The rather unexpected guest appearances in the bar of Alice Cooper, Adam Ant and some other 80's pop stars brought some light entertainment as we spent the night guessing who was who. Can't think of any negatives. Thank you.
Only visited for a meal. The staff were helpful and friendly, giving advice on various beers, which were spot on, especially the Nelson bitter. Had a freshly made steak with a great sauce and my wife had breaded scampi with nice chips.Dogs allowed in the bar area which is a great help. Prices were reasonable and plenty of parking.
Great place to stay, comfortable room, a little on the small side but we were told at time of booking, shower and toiletries good. We booked this as a central place to stay to do some National Trust attractions, the location was perfect. The staff were excellent, friendly and professional nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious with a great choice. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, the food was excellent and reasonably priced. We would definitely stay here again.
My partner and I went for a long weekend. The room was lovely if a little hot but there was a fan in the room which was great. Cannot fault it. The breakfast was very good. I need gluten free food and gluten free sausage for breakfast as well as gluten free bread toasted was available. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were extremely helpful. Evening meal was very good and most meals could be adapted for gluten free. The only downside was the drinks were expensive especially wine but we were on holiday so you expect it. Overall thoroughly recommended.
Stayed for two nights with Family as we were attending our sons wedding at the nearby Whitwell and Reepham railway. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The full English Breakfast was excellent and filled you up for the day. The rooms were very clean with plenty of tea and coffee. The price of the rooms was reasonable with ample parking.Would be happy to recommend this Inn to anybody.
Wanted to see Norwich Cathedral, day Broads boat trips, and National Trust properties. This Inn was close to all. Great Full Monty English Breakfast. Comfortable, quiet rooms. Friendly staff. Found interesting and tasty items on the menu for 4 nights dining, helpful as there's limited other options close by. Lively bar and restaurant, with a mix of locals and tourists each night.
Had a great lunch. Daily special of grilled sea bass with sautéed potatoes, chorizo, green beans in a Gorgonzola sauce was one of the best flavoursome meals my husband has eaten recently. The chicken with potato Rosti and veg from the main menu was delicious too. Lovely place to go and the team are always so welcoming and helpful.
After reading so many good reviews and seeing impressive photos we arrived expecting a good quality establishment. To be fair the place was busy and we were seen quickly by a staff member who was very polite and showed us to our room. Did I say room ? More sort of terraced chalet, you know like a Motel . For £110 a night this is not what I was expecting at all. As soon as we stopped outside I had a bad feeling that this was not going to go well. There was a bad smell of drains in the air like the manhole cover had been left off. I walked into the room and the first thing I noticed was the smell of damp. All the windows were shut at the front and also in the bathroom to the rear. The two single beds had been put together to form a double as I had requested but the quilt was undersized and did not fit properly. The two small upholstered arm chairs, and I mean small, were worn and grubby looking and the lighting was less than complimentary. There was a fridge in room but it wasn't clean. The bathroom was really well fitted out having a good sized bath and a separate shower, hand basin and w/c. and all looked fairly new. However, the skirting boards hadnt seen a duster for at least a couple of weeks and there were hairs everywhere. The shower tray filled up as you used the shower and only drained away completely five minutes after you had finished. My guess is the the drain hole is partially blocked. The hot water reduces to a dribble when another room turns on a tap, oh and the lock on the bathroom/w.c. didn't work. The screws holding the bath panel were rusty and not covered and where the shower screen had been bashed and the paint damaged it hasn't been repaired. I was so disappointed, so much promise and so little to please. The room was such a let down I went back to the reception/bar area to ask to be moved to another room and all I got was sorry we are fully booked. When I said I was far from happy with the accommodation I got 'I'm sorry to hear that.' No mention of passing on our complaint or offer to do something about it, ( i.e. Like some cleaning) It being late in the day it was too late to find an alternative so we stayed one night and cancelled the second night. We don't have unreasonably high standards, as long as I get a comfortable room that functions and is clean I will say that breakfast was excellent and the waiting staff were very good . We checked out after breakfast and left, we won't be going back. ,
Great location, would make a good base while visiting Norfolk. This hotel is a hidden gem. The staff are very friendly and helpful.Big thank you to Gemma who made us so welcome and gave good advice on the wines. Great food, both breakfast and dinner exceeded our expectations,good choice of wines/gins. I recommend the baked Aubergine with giant couscous, and the Blackcurrant mousse with Pimms sorbet. Our 3 course meal with drinks for 2 people was under £70, which for this standard in London would cost over £100. Breakfast menu is varied and caters even for those like me who need gluten free ( lovely gf bread and sausages). The room was very comfortable and clean, beautiful fluffy towels and toiletries. Plenty of parking. We will definitely stay here again.
Reviews from Trip Advisor
92% of guests recommend this hotelTotal of 200 reviews