Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This hotel is in a great location for work, sites and restuarants. The staff were fantastic at the front desk and the lounge. Each were accomodating and hospitable! The breakfast is sufficient for any taste and the coffee is both hot and strong! The rooms a very comfortable and quiet; they are just a bit tired. Overall a great experience and would recommend to others for the price and for the welcoming staff.

Our room faced a car-free street and I enjoyed the quite atmosphere. I was alone using their fitness facility. The location is great as one can walk to major monuments, it is near the shopping area, and approximately one kilometre by foot from congress centre.

Due to the strike of trains in France (spring 2018) which has implied the complete cancellation of all the trains in different days, the hotel, after several phone conversations, has shown a tough and inflexible position and has not accepted any of our propositions, like the change of dates, the reduction of nights (2 instead of the 3 already paid) in another dates or the booking of another extra new night for a normal rate in the last case. Therefore, besides having no vacation we have received a complete incomprehensible response from the hotel, when the arisen situation -the strike- has been an unforeseen circumstance out of our control.

Stayed for one night with a conference. Conference room was good! Shower was amazing rainforest style (walkin) beds not great... bit hard and felt a bit plastic sheet. But for one night cant complain.

We picked Nantes to visit because we needed to find a city close to the Loire Valley in France that had an airport, since we didn't want to backtrack to Paris. I really found the city charming and would go back without hesitation. The Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel was all that we had expected so we had no problems, only a wonderful stay. It was modern, with great comfort and style and was located in the city center close to shopping, sights, and restaurants. The staff was always available and professional. We have never been disappointed in a Mercure hotel.

We stayed here just overnight as something different instead of flying out of Paris to the Channel Islands. We caught the train to Nantes and then checked in at the hotel. Note to others, there is a shuttle bus that goes from the train station to the hotel area and then to the airport. We didn’t know and couldn’t find a taxi so walked the 1.7km with luggage. (A nice trek never the less) The hotel is very central, reasonably priced and very clean. The staff were helpful, even with my broken French. There was a market on that runs each day for 3 months and it is well supported by the locals. The breakfast at the hotel was absolutely well worth it and reasonably priced. We will be back to spend a few days here on another trip just to do some touristy things. There is a fantastic castle and lots of other historical sights to see and stories to read. Visit the Mercure Grand Central if you are staying here as it’s in the older part of town. We will be back.

Fab location right next to the old town. Big rooms, comfy bed, tv with some English channels, free wifi ever and a fantastic rain-shower. Tea and coffee making supplies were inadequate and breakfast was overpriced. The beautiful garden and fountain that can be seen in photos and on Google street view has been demolished though - such a shame.

This is a great hotel situated in the central area of the town. it is easy to walk to most of the main attractions, food places, shops etc. However, it is located in a pedestrian area and getting to it and through it on a Saturday afternoon was traumatic. You go along what looks like a bus lane having navigated into down town Nantes, only to be confronted with a tram line. Once over that we had to que at the bollard being told by several of the locals we were not supposed to drive here. Pressed the button on the intercom and gave the code but bollard did not go down, waited and then back to intercom (assume its council controlled not hotel controlled) then got let in to drive down the busiest street in the car with lots of people not paying attention. Anyway the hotel instructions are excellent for getting there and it looks like a large number of the hotels are in a similar situation with access, so not well thought out by Nantes council. The room was excellent, the staff in the hotel spoke good English and were really helpful. The room was quite warm and there was noise from A\C units or similar from the central courtyard area so made leaving a window open difficult. Breakfast is great with plently of choice if a little pricey at E18 a head (children go free). The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the main restaurants area where there is a good choice and to be honest we left the car in the secure underground car park most of the time we were there. Overall a great hotel and friendly and professional staff but getting in and out by car is hard work.

Great location in the center of town and within walking distance to all the major sights.. To get to the hotel parking is a bit tricky, but with the help of staff, we managed. Staff is very friendly, everything nice and clean and a descent breakfast. Great location for an overnight stay

The hotel is in an excellent location for all the sightseeing places in Nantes. We drove to the hotel but after reading other reviews about the difficulty of finding it we rang and they emailed full instructions. It is situated in a pedestrian area but has a very secure car park. Once there we didn’t use the car. Room was spacious, clean and had tea making facilities. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of cold and hot food. The staff were very welcoming and helpful in suggesting places to eat. Really enjoyed our stay.

4 Rue Du Couedic Nantes Loire-Atlantique

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Passage Pommeraye and Chateau of the Dukes of Brittany
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Bar/lounge
  • Fitness center

Located in Centre Ville, Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel is within a 5-minute walk of Passage Pommeraye and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like Chateau of the Dukes of Brittany. This 162-room, 4-star hotel welcomes guests with a bar/lounge, free in-room WiFi, and a fitness center. Located in central Nantes, the hotel is also near Nantes Cathedral and Jardin des Plantes.


Dining

Buffet breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 5 AM to 10:30 AM. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service, or entertain your taste buds with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café.


Rooms

All of Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel's 162 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including coffee makers, safes, and phones. Flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries.


Property features

Renovated in 2013, Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel offers a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and 8 meeting rooms. Self parking is available for EUR 14 per day. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a business center, express check-in, and express check-out.

Reviews from Trip Advisor

Trip Advisor aggregated rating

79.0% of guests recommend this hotel

Total of 769 reviews