Kaiteri Lodge3.0 out of 5.0
Recent guest reviews
On arrival the bathroom wasn't clean, there wasn't any toilet roll and there was a dirty towel, empty cereal bar wrapper and hairs in the sink. They give you cutlery to borrow when you check in and I said I didn't want it as I wasn't going to use the kitchen, on check out the blonde woman was really rude and questioned why I didn't have any cutlery, not believing me. I'm 30 and not a child, if I'd have lost the cutlery I'd have bought some more. She slammed the $20 deposit back on the desk and was muttering angrily to herself. I would advise Kiwi experience to change hostels for Kaiteriteri and will be putting in a seperate complaint to them as well. The good thing about the hostel is the close proximity to the beach.
Stayed with my wife while backpacking New Zealand. Had a private room was lovely, spacious and had its own bathroom. The fridge was a brilliant surprise so we could keep our food with us and out the busy dorm room fridges. Room was clean. Would stay again.
Arriving there the place was clean enough and in good condition. Never come across such unhelpful, unfriendly, smug reception staff. They were as much use as calling Timbuktu asking for advice. If this improves then the place could be recommended to stay
I was thoroughly unimpressed with the lodge, we came with Kiwi experience and were given an ‘outside room’ complete with cockroaches and portaloos/showers - all for the same price as the much more comfortable inside rooms. The receptionists were rude, we had to give in IDs as deposits and the kitchen was incredibly dirty. I would avoid at all costs.
Booked with kiwi and when arrived asked for two night and was fine, was put in a 4 bed en suite room which was class. Wanted to do some hiking around the Abel tasman national park and the reception desk was more than helpful showing us where we needed to go etc and gave advise on best way to see as much as possible. Kitchen area is a bit small and gets very crowded when the kiwi bus arrives around 6pm ish, however does have a lot of cooking equipment which is ideal. Another thing to note is you need to give a $20 deposit for your room key and cutlery. Would stay again!!
The checking in process seemed to be made more stressful then it needed to be by he girl behind the desk. We were with the kiwi bus so I know that many people turning up at once to check in is stressful but you don't need to take it out on the guests, put your game face on and just be nice. Even all the people staying there were stressed. The rooms were quite nice, 6 bed with ensuite. There's 2 kitchens, the one outside seems much nicer and cleaner than the one inside but still both good enough. Right next to the beach which is really nice
The lodge is clean and all, nothing to complain about the facilities, but the staff isn't that friendly/available. They advertise to have a 24h reception, but in reality the reception desk is empty most of the time. You can press a buzzer to alert the receptionist, but in my case some other worker appeared, stated that the receptionist isn't there and left. Other workers passed by, when asking them for help, they just said that they don't work at the front desk. Never got hold of the receptionist Bree, but a very friendly cleaner (young blond woman) helped me with recommendations on what to do in the area. Thank you so much for your help, you were absolutely the best!! Except for this cleaner lady, this didn't make me feel very welcome as a guest.
At $35 a night this place was over priced. Dorms were clean, but showers were not. No free wifi. Kitchen did not provide basics such as salt, pepper and oil which was a first for the hostels we have stayed in. When we asked the receptionist if they provided tea, she looked at us as if we had asked for caviar. Compared to other hostels for cheaper prices this was disappointing.
I went here with my friends to have a nice time during our trip through NZ. We got in to the reception and got the worst first impressing by the receptionist. Not service minded at all had no clue what she was talking about. We tried to ask her questions about the place around here and she was not interested at all to help. Pity that we got this impression from the receptionist who's suppose to be the face out and the welcoming person. Besides that it's a good place to stay and a nice area.
We stayed 2 nights. As soon as we walked through reception to the stairwell there was a horrible stinking smell. The bathroom in the room was disgustingly dirty with mould, it could do with a good clean. Only 3 channels working on the TV. Top bunk on bunk beds not safe for children as mattress is same height as safety rail.Complained and we were moved to another room that was only slightly better. Staff member moaned about us checking the second room. No alcohol allowed in rooms (thats a first for me) This was like a backpackers but wasn't advertised or priced as a backpackers
- Free parking
- Onsite dining
- WiFi in rooms and public areas (fees apply)
- Concierge services
Kaiteri Lodge is adjacent to popular attractions such as Kaiteriteri Mountain Bike Park and Kaiteriteri Beach. This 21-room, 3-star lodge welcomes guests with conveniences like a restaurant, free self parking, and concierge services. Marahau Beach is also nearby.
Enjoy a bite to eat at Beached Whale Restaurant, the lodge's onsite restaurant.
Guests can stay connected with WiFi.
Kaiteri Lodge features WiFi in public areas, a computer station, and laundry facilities. If you drive, put free parking to good use. Staff members are on hand to provide concierge services and luggage storage. Additional amenities include barbecue grills and a picnic area.
Reviews from Trip Advisor
40.0% of guests recommend this hotelTotal of 159 reviews