Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Good location, clean room and bathroom, nice breakfast. Bad: my reservation was lost, not in the system. Good: the staff arranged another room for me.

Unclean room, old towels, lots of dust in the room bugs. Terrible service. It was a good location though

Short stay- arrived late on train and left next day- much nicer than airport hotel as we were able to take a walk in the park.

Very comfortable stay, very welcoming. The hotel is very nice and in a great location. The breakfast is really great. The check-in and check-out were very quick and convenient.

Very clean, not a lot of parking but we found a spot on street. Breakfast was excellent. We had just spent 2 days "glamping" on the Isle of Skye so the showers at the Argyl were amazing. Everyone was friendly and helpful

Excelent!! Perfect for University of Glasgow accomodation

It's very close to the Kelvingrove Park and Museum, as well as Glasgow University. It's a 1.5 mile walk or so to the city central, where the majority of the city's tourist destinations are, but it's a pleasant walk and there are busses in the area. If you don't mind being away from the action, it's not so bad. If you want to walk out your door onto a busy street, look east.

Very convenient, helpful staff. Very clean, but small single room. Very nice breakfast in pleasant room. Easy walking to Kelvingrove Museum, Hunterian, lots of good restaurants.

Great experience - Stayed in the main hotel the rooms were very clean, hotel staff was exceptional, nice, friendly , helpful, and the breakfast was fresh and the breakfast staff was very very pleasant - the rooms are a bit small and a bit stuffy- but the 2 we had faced the back so we were able to keep the windows open for ventilation. Noisy in hallways (expected this ) but quiet after 10 pm. great location. Suggestions- small washcloths for shower- and maybe make bar soap available ?

It was a quite good hotel for visiting the university

I've never been to this area but on my trip it was my first destination. Honestly, this place would have gotten a four star rating had it not been for the day receptionist. She literally could not have cared less about my stay. When I asked her questions about bus routes she seemed annoyed. She BLASTED music from her phone at all times. She just did not care about me as a guest at all, and witnessing her interactions with other guests I saw the same pattern. She was my first experience at the B&B and thankfully not my last. The evening young lady and nightman were exceptional. The location is great for a base to see the city. The buses are half a block walk. The pub next door had a good menu and great staff. The room was average but very clean. European places have small rooms, I'm used to that. Stay here if you can get the room for £30 or less. Otherwise shoot for one of the other ones on the block. Also "family run" doesn't mean "scottish family run". I felt that was a bit of a misnomer.

973 Sauchiehall Street Glasgow Scotland

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum and The SSE Hydro
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Glasgow Westend, Argyll Hotel is a leisurely stroll from popular sights such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum and The SSE Hydro. This 38-room, 3-star hotel has conveniences like a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and free in-room WiFi. It's connected to a shopping center in central Glasgow and also close to Clyde Auditorium and Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or meet other guests at the free daily manager's reception. For your convenience, a full breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

The 38 rooms are heated and have coffee makers and phones. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries.


Property features

Guests of Argyll Hotel enjoy free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and free newspapers. Offsite parking is offered for a fee. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with securing valuables, luggage storage, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include laundry facilities, wedding services, and a reception hall.

Room options

Four Poster Room

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Honeymoon Suite

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Double Room

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Single Room (Budget)

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Guest reviews for Argyll Hotel

Everyone (7) Business (1) Couples (1) Family (1) Other (1)
4
Everyone

Good location, clean room and bathroom, nice breakfast. Bad: my reservation was lost, not in the system. Good: the staff arranged another room for me.

By on Aug 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 16, 2019

Thank you for the review Shawn! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, though we're very sorry about your lost reservation. We hope this won't deter you from returning as we'd love to have you back.

2
Partner Couples

Unclean room, old towels, lots of dust in the room bugs. Terrible service. It was a good location though

By on Apr 13, 2019

Review comment responded on May 13, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are very sorry you didn't enjoy our stay with us. Our housekeeping staff take great pride in there work so we apologise that this was not present to you on your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the location. Please accept our deepist apologies again.

5
Everyone

Short stay- arrived late on train and left next day- much nicer than airport hotel as we were able to take a walk in the park.

By , from Naples, NY on Aug 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 21, 2018

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future!

4

great stay!

Everyone

Very comfortable stay, very welcoming. The hotel is very nice and in a great location. The breakfast is really great. The check-in and check-out were very quick and convenient.

By , from Hope, BC on May 26, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2018

Hi Ray, Thank you for your kind feedback, we are delighted you had a comfortable stay and liked our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed the breakfast and will pass all your kind words on to our staff. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with the pillows, we do have alternative options if you ask at reception in future, we have passed your shower comments on to our maintenance team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

4

central location in glasgow

Everyone

Very clean, not a lot of parking but we found a spot on street. Breakfast was excellent. We had just spent 2 days "glamping" on the Isle of Skye so the showers at the Argyl were amazing. Everyone was friendly and helpful

By on Apr 28, 2017

5
Everyone

Excelent!! Perfect for University of Glasgow accomodation

By on Dec 26, 2016

4

nice, clean place in glasgow's west end

Everyone

It's very close to the Kelvingrove Park and Museum, as well as Glasgow University. It's a 1.5 mile walk or so to the city central, where the majority of the city's tourist destinations are, but it's a pleasant walk and there are busses in the area. If you don't mind being away from the action, it's not so bad. If you want to walk out your door onto a busy street, look east.

By , from Los Angeles, CA on Nov 18, 2016

5

convenient west end hotel

Everyone

Very convenient, helpful staff. Very clean, but small single room. Very nice breakfast in pleasant room. Easy walking to Kelvingrove Museum, Hunterian, lots of good restaurants.

By on Jul 5, 2016

4

argyll hotel- 3 days in glasgow

Family

Great experience - Stayed in the main hotel the rooms were very clean, hotel staff was exceptional, nice, friendly , helpful, and the breakfast was fresh and the breakfast staff was very very pleasant - the rooms are a bit small and a bit stuffy- but the 2 we had faced the back so we were able to keep the windows open for ventilation. Noisy in hallways (expected this ) but quiet after 10 pm. great location. Suggestions- small washcloths for shower- and maybe make bar soap available ?

By on Jul 18, 2014

3

good for university visitor

Business

It was a quite good hotel for visiting the university

By on Apr 12, 2014

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Glasgow-Hotels-Argyll-Hotel.h198601-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Glasgow-Hotels-Argyll-Hotel.h198601-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Glasgow-Hotels-Argyll-Hotel.h198601-p2.Hotel-Reviews