Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Best Western Cantebury Inn & Suites

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Last minute reservation due to no other hotels having rooms. I see why this one had rooms available now. Carpet dirty, used coffee filter bag on the floor by desk, soap build up on the soap dish in shower, room smelled of mildew. Bed mediocre. This is why I am a Diamond VIP member with the Hilton Chain.

Took 25 min to check in. Once we were in the room, it was not done. The pool are was 40 degrees (we checked the temperature). We packed up and left to a hotel down the road, they refused to give us a refund.

The lodging is friendly, comfortable, clean, and convenient to the university's west side (hospitals, stadium, arena).

The staff were nice, but they could not make up for the run-down condition of the hotel. The room had a lot of wear and tear, as did the hallways. The worst part was the bathroom, which looked like it had not been updated since the 1980s. For the price, the room served its purposes. Nothing fancy, but not a terrible place to stay.

the room was filthy, the sink cabnet draws feel on my foot. there was a space heater pluged in and turned on in the closet when we arived. there was a bloody towl under the sink. i twised my ankel and the stairs in the room because the stair moved. (metal stairs). the room was uncofortable because it was so dirty and falling apart that my sleep was horrible. 90% of the channels on the tv did not work.

The hotel decided to move our room without any notification. The moved our things without telling us at all. We came back late from a wedding, and the key to our room didn't work. We didn't think anything of it, so we went to the front desk to get a different key. The man at the front got us a new one. We went back to our room and our stuff was not there. After going back to the front desk, the man realized our room had been moved down the hall. There was no one in the old room (thank goodness) and our stuff was in the new room. We were never given an explanation as to why our things were moved. We were told that room was out of order. I'm not sure why they decided that after we had checked in. I suspect the room may have had bed bugs because the hotel was full when we got back... and it wasn't busy. No further explanation or apology was given.

Although the hotel was somewhat outdated, the staff was very professional, the rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. Great stay!

Short stay to visit college. Outside clean and normal but upon entering hotel old world charm comes out which was a nice surprise.

Friendly courteous staff. Good continental breakfast, small bathroom.

This motel is in an excellent location, has great amenities and comfortable rooms. Check-in was rather quick. I have no complaints.

Staff was very pleasant upon check in. Clean room, motel and pool area. Kids def enjoyed the pool. Although it was a bit chilly it was still enjoyable.

The hotel was adequate for the price, the free breakfast was a nice surprise..

Hotel was great for the cost. Location was great being near interstate and not far from Kinnick/downtown Iowa City. Staff always friendly. Have stayed multiple times.

Unfortunately, we had several problems. Key cards were very difficult to get to work. The toilet would only flush if the handle was held down for quite a bit longer than normal. Breakfast was decent but items were not stocked (butter and milk were both absent). The guy running the desk, however, was very apologetic for our troubles and offered $5 off the bill. He was very nice. The pool was lovely.

Rooms are very unique. Like how different it is setup.

Enjoyed the stay and the room set up with the loft. I was able to watch a bit of TV while the wife slept. The breakfast was not so great though. The eggs were too rubbery and tasteless. However the coffee was good!

nice room, nice bed, the washer and dryer were a welcome sight, cable tv did not work. I would stay there again.

Thehotel is conveniently located near the un7versity of Iowa, and close the the mall. Theroom was comfortable and the breakfast was quite good. We loved the restaurant the most. It is located inthe basement of the hotel and is decorated in medieval fashi8n to match the overall theme of the hotel. The food was excellent to. It was a very pleasant dining experience.

Best Western was basic, but it was a good value for the price, clean, and had everything we needed. The staff was excellent - friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

The staff was courteous and informative. The hotel itself is older and you get that feel by the decor. The rooms were a bit humid and the bed and towels were damp when we got in. Pool area was very warm due to all the a/c units blowing hot air into the enclosed area.

704 1st Avenue Coralville IA

Hotel highlights

  • Free full breakfast on weekdays
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Located within a mile (2 km) of Coralville VA Care Clinic, Best Western Cantebury Inn & Suites is within 2 miles (3 km) of Carver-Hawkeye Arena. This hotel has 98 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. Also close to this Coralville hotel are University of Iowa and University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free full breakfast, served on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM.


Rooms

The 98 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and cable TV. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free local calls, ironing boards, and desks are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Best Western Cantebury Inn & Suites have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with concierge services and securing valuables. Additional amenities include conference space, a 24-hour business center, and a computer station.

Room options

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Microwave

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Refrigerator & Microwave

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Poolside

Queen 2 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Best Western Cantebury Inn & Suites

Everyone (4) Couples (27) Business (14) Family (28) Friends (6) Other (9)
3

house keeping horrible

Everyone

Last minute reservation due to no other hotels having rooms. I see why this one had rooms available now. Carpet dirty, used coffee filter bag on the floor by desk, soap build up on the soap dish in shower, room smelled of mildew. Bed mediocre. This is why I am a Diamond VIP member with the Hilton Chain.

By , from Ft Worth, TX on Jun 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 30, 2017

Dear Roadwarior, Thank you for your feed back,We regretted the discomfort and the inconvenience that caused you, But you should also know, that there are other people at the hotel who work very hard to see that situations like that do not occur when they do, we learn from them. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you had experienced. regards Shak Mohan

1

we had to leave

Everyone

Took 25 min to check in. Once we were in the room, it was not done. The pool are was 40 degrees (we checked the temperature). We packed up and left to a hotel down the road, they refused to give us a refund.

By , from des moines on Dec 4, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 6, 2016

Dear IC Visitor, Thank you very much for your feedback. Due to some maintenance work,the pool is downn for few days and a sign has been posted on the Front Desk informing all our guest Mike Raja

4

convenient, have stayed multiple visits

Families

The lodging is friendly, comfortable, clean, and convenient to the university's west side (hospitals, stadium, arena).

By , from Orange County, CA on Aug 21, 2016

3

run down, but does the job

Everyone

The staff were nice, but they could not make up for the run-down condition of the hotel. The room had a lot of wear and tear, as did the hallways. The worst part was the bathroom, which looked like it had not been updated since the 1980s. For the price, the room served its purposes. Nothing fancy, but not a terrible place to stay.

By , from IL on Apr 3, 2016

1

horrible

Everyone

the room was filthy, the sink cabnet draws feel on my foot. there was a space heater pluged in and turned on in the closet when we arived. there was a bloody towl under the sink. i twised my ankel and the stairs in the room because the stair moved. (metal stairs). the room was uncofortable because it was so dirty and falling apart that my sleep was horrible. 90% of the channels on the tv did not work.

By on Feb 12, 2016

1

terrible

GetawayWithFriends

The hotel decided to move our room without any notification. The moved our things without telling us at all. We came back late from a wedding, and the key to our room didn't work. We didn't think anything of it, so we went to the front desk to get a different key. The man at the front got us a new one. We went back to our room and our stuff was not there. After going back to the front desk, the man realized our room had been moved down the hall. There was no one in the old room (thank goodness) and our stuff was in the new room. We were never given an explanation as to why our things were moved. We were told that room was out of order. I'm not sure why they decided that after we had checked in. I suspect the room may have had bed bugs because the hotel was full when we got back... and it wasn't busy. No further explanation or apology was given.

By on Oct 27, 2015

5

very clean and comfortable

Families

Although the hotel was somewhat outdated, the staff was very professional, the rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. Great stay!

By on Aug 18, 2015

5

old world charm

Couples

Short stay to visit college. Outside clean and normal but upon entering hotel old world charm comes out which was a nice surprise.

By on Aug 8, 2015

4

concert extravaganza

Couples

Friendly courteous staff. Good continental breakfast, small bathroom.

By on Jul 16, 2015

4

good experience

Singles

This motel is in an excellent location, has great amenities and comfortable rooms. Check-in was rather quick. I have no complaints.

By on May 27, 2015