Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

We enjoyed our stay at Villas of the Sea. We do agree with some of the other reviews stating the place is a little outdated, but it was comfortable, clean, and met our needs. You do have Driftwood beach within 5 min walking distance, but if you want a condo that opens up directly to typical beachfront access, you’ll need to stay at one of the hotels farther south. There is a smal stretch of sand in front of the Villas By the Sea units but then immediately after that is a rocky erosion barrier. The restaraunt was good, I just recommend getting there about 15 min before it opens so you don’t have a 2 hour wait. (That’s true for most restaurants on the island as well). Overall, we enjoyed our stay and for the price we would stay here again.

great employees, love how close it was to the beach, not so overcrowded like other places

It was very easy to find. If you decided to stay another night it is heavily discounted. Rooms were clean and the amenities were the best I’ve ever seen in a hotel. It has everything you need. A short walk to the beach. I am definitely going to stay again.

Jekyll Island is a really cool destination. Quiet and restful. If you like the Atlantic Ocean the beaches are nice. Great place to bike or hike miles of trails. Not so good: with covid 19 we still travel but we clean the surfaces when we get to the room. VERY surprised how dirty normal things were.

Private area...good view for price. Front desk took good care of us at checkin. My only concern was the old smell in the villa.

Very well kept and blended with the landscaping - beautiful room with a perfect view of the ocean

Front desk ladies were friendly and polite. Property is beautiful. Arrived late, hot and tired. Master Bathroom was nasty. I would not spend $350 for a night here again. The return did not equal my investment by far. I was really disappointed.

I loved everything about my stay there the rooms were very nice and clean and the staff was very friendly

Bad air conditioning. Bad shower nozzle. Minimum water. Out of nozzle. Very hot in room.

We thought there was a beach at the beachfront room. Wrong. There was a stone seawall that blocked the view of the ocean.

The room needed updating and we came home with bugs, not sure how we got them.

The view was amazing! Only downfall was the giant rock wall infront of the ocean. The apartment was grea but,t beds were hard. No nightlife town pretty much goes to sleep at dark.

I was not given the room that I selected when I made the reservation online. The room I selected had a kitchen, but I was given one without. The room was nice and clean but advertisement of the room was misleading and also I didn’t like the 4:00 check-in time.

Nice property on the water. Rooms are excellent especially the master bedroom.

Was told i had oceanview instead i got bottom floor with a view of the brush. Didn't even have a beach to walk to and lay out on and enjoy the water because of a huge rock wall blocking it. If that had been told to me i wouldn't have stayed here.

Near the beach. Great grounds and facilities and the restaurant driftwood bistro was amazing!!

Beautiful little condo and nicely furnished. Had dinner at the Driftwood Bistro and it was excellent. We would definitely return.

N Beachview Dr Jekyll Island GA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Driftwood Beach is within a mile (2 km) of Villas By the Sea Resort & Conference Center, and other popular attractions like Jekyll Island Golf Club are within a few miles (5 km). This 3-star villa has 129 guestrooms and offers an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the villa's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

All of Villas By the Sea Resort & Conference Center's 129 villas are individually decorated and have an array of amenities, including microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 42-inch flat-screen TVs with satellite channels. Hair dryers and ironing boards are also standard.


Property features

Guests of Villas By the Sea Resort & Conference Center have access to an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. A stay here includes free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with luggage storage and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a conference center, a 24-hour business center, and a seasonal outdoor pool.

Room options

Villa, 1 Bedroom (Oceanside)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Villa, 3 Bedrooms (Islandside)

1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed and 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 7

Villa, 2 Bedrooms (Oceanside)

1 Queen Bed and 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 4

Villa, 2 Bedrooms

1 Queen Bed and 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Villas By the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Everyone (12) Couples (2) Family (10)
4
Family

We enjoyed our stay at Villas of the Sea. We do agree with some of the other reviews stating the place is a little outdated, but it was comfortable, clean, and met our needs. You do have Driftwood beach within 5 min walking distance, but if you want a condo that opens up directly to typical beachfront access, you’ll need to stay at one of the hotels farther south. There is a smal stretch of sand in front of the Villas By the Sea units but then immediately after that is a rocky erosion barrier. The restaraunt was good, I just recommend getting there about 15 min before it opens so you don’t have a 2 hour wait. (That’s true for most restaurants on the island as well). Overall, we enjoyed our stay and for the price we would stay here again.

By on Aug 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2021

Thanks for staying with us.

5
Family

great employees, love how close it was to the beach, not so overcrowded like other places

By on Jul 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 29, 2021

Thanks for staying with us

5
Partner Couples

It was very easy to find. If you decided to stay another night it is heavily discounted. Rooms were clean and the amenities were the best I’ve ever seen in a hotel. It has everything you need. A short walk to the beach. I am definitely going to stay again.

By on Feb 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 8, 2021

Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

4
Everyone

By on Jan 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 25, 2021

Thanks for the great review!

3
Family Family

Jekyll Island is a really cool destination. Quiet and restful. If you like the Atlantic Ocean the beaches are nice. Great place to bike or hike miles of trails. Not so good: with covid 19 we still travel but we clean the surfaces when we get to the room. VERY surprised how dirty normal things were.

By , from Tampa on Oct 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Nov 5, 2020

We are sorry we didn't get a higher rating. We wish we had known while you were here something we could have improved on to make you stay more enjoyable.

4
Family

Private area...good view for price. Front desk took good care of us at checkin. My only concern was the old smell in the villa.

By on Sep 16, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 18, 2020

Thanks for staying with us and letting us know about the unit you stayed in.

5
Family

Very well kept and blended with the landscaping - beautiful room with a perfect view of the ocean

By , from Griffin , GA on Aug 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 11, 2020

We appreciate your comments! Thank you!

3
Everyone

By on Jun 11, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 11, 2020

Thanks for staying with us

4
Everyone

By on Feb 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 22, 2020

Thanks for the great rating. Please come back to visit soon.

3
Family with small children

Front desk ladies were friendly and polite. Property is beautiful. Arrived late, hot and tired. Master Bathroom was nasty. I would not spend $350 for a night here again. The return did not equal my investment by far. I was really disappointed.

By on Jul 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 1, 2019

We are very sorry that you were disappointed. We would have been pleased to address any issues you had while you were here. We want all of our guests to be happy.

Villas By the Sea Resort & Conference Center

1175 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Jekyll-Island-Hotels-Villas-By-the-Sea-Resort-&-Conference-Center.h967348-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Jekyll-Island-Hotels-Villas-By-the-Sea-Resort-&-Conference-Center.h967348-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Jekyll-Island-Hotels-Villas-By-the-Sea-Resort-&-Conference-Center.h967348-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions