Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hotel Il Guercino

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

We selected this hotel because of its proximity to the train station. Since all of our moves within Emilia Romagna was made by train it paid off. On top, the hotel is not too far from the historical center. People are helpful, always smiling. The breakfast was outstanding.

Rooms are ok but I got no sleep due to paper thin walls. Dark walls and no lighting. Then just when I thought I could get some sleep in the morning, the cleaners are moving furniture around upstairs and workmen drilling and banging. The bar down the road was quieter than the hotel! My friends had awful rooms that fitted “3” in but were terrible and when they asked for another room the hotel staff argued with them until blue in the face! (And sweat on their head!!) I didn’t get breakfast included but they wanted to charge €10 per day ha ha ha ha

I arrived early on the day of check-in and could move into the room at 10:00h am, which was welcoming surprise for me. The room was colorfully painted and older interior. The room size was ok, but not too spacious. Breakfast was included in the room rate, but I didn‘t eat on this morning. Wifi in the room was not soow, but even not fast.

i was pleased with my stay here. Room is small but has everything you need. hotel could use some upgrades in terms of decor and furnishings but i did like the funkiness of it. excellent staff. great breakfast.

We loved it at the Guercino, set at the back of a courtyard away from traffic, decorated in the vibrant colours Bolonge is known for. Our room was cosy, with a private terrace. The staff were very friendly, even lending us a plug adapter, after finding Italy doesn't use the standard Euro plug. Would go again when staying in town.

Maybe it was just bad luck that my room was kind of small and had a window in the corner of the room facing to a wall (maybe it is just the Italian architecture with buildings constructed closely). So the room felt a bit like a chamber. Anyway, it was very clean, and everything was there (i didn't manage to use the safe storage but was lazy enough not to ask the staff to help me). The breakfast room is adorable with the collection of cocks sitting at the top of the kitchen boards, cute table and chairs and well-selected dishware) and the food there was just great. There was just anything available you can think of. I definitely recommend!

Loved the hotel, stayed there twice now, a stones throw from the train station beautiful location for shopping and restaurants, this hotel is definite must to stay, beautiful breakfast lots to choose from, will always stay here

good facilities, very clean and very friendly staff. The hotel is located close to the center but slightly away from the crowd. The facilities are great, and being able to borrow the hotel's bikes is a great chance to explore the city

I found out after we had left that my wife had actually booked us a superior room for an extra 25Euro a night but thought they hadn't been able to give us one as they didn't mention it at check in and the room (306) was rather ordinary. On the positive side it is well placed for the train station and in a quiet residential area. The staff were very nice, it was clean, the shower was excellent and breakfast in the chicken themed dining room was reasonable. However, the walls are very thin so it gets noisy if you have neighbours. There is no wardrobe, just a hanging rail with insufficient hangers and no drawers to put your clothes and no room to store your cases which you have to live out of. There was a balcony but it had a privacy screen so you have no view from it. It was average for a standard, poor for a superior. We will look elsewhere when we go next.

I booked a surprise trip for my husband for NY. I e mailed the hotel prior to arriving requesting consideration for a nice room and the hotel responded very quickly by offering an upgrade to a superior room for an extra €75 for the 3 nights. Thinking the superior room would be luxurious I accepted. When we checked in we were given room 306 on the 3rd floor. The receptionist didn’t mention the upgrade or any payment so I presumed that as it was NY eve and they were full, that it had not been possible. When we went into room 306 I definitely didn’t think we had been upgraded. The room was very small, had no wardrobe to put your clothes or draws for underwear. There was simply a metal fancy totes rail with hangers for you to hang your clothes on. It was not enclosed. The room was very basic to say the least. It had two wooden chairs, no wardrobe a small table in between the 2 single beds which was only big enough to take the telephone that had seen better days. There was insufficient electric sockets, 1 only by the bed. The bedding was old fashioned, with a top blanket that was rough, no douvets as in other 4 star hotels! The walls are like paper you could here every conversation between you neighbours both sides, It was so bad that I could hear the neighbours taking their clothes of the metal hangers as they bashed against each other. The television was so small that you needed glasses to watch from your beds, this and the kettle was on some Old looking dresser. The kettle had to be moved in order to reach the plug which was not ideal as it contained boiling water. At the base of one bed was a large trunk holding spare bedding, I have lost count how many times I have banged into it and bruised my leg. The other bed had a small table at the end of it! For what reason I don’t know. Apparently the superior room had bath towels and slippers plus toiletries (free with other 4 star hotels). The bathrobes were shabby and well worn. Slippers were ok and there was only shampoo/ body wash! No conditioner or body lotion. Toothbrush, shaver and soap was available if needed. No iron in the room either. Bathroom was ok, nothing special, shower tiles a little grubby!. The room had a very small balcony. When we checked out we paid the tax expected and left our luggage. Hence the thought that we had not been upgraded as I was not charged for the upgrade. When we returned later to collect our luggage it was then that they asked for the extra €75. I was in shock as I could not believe that they had the cheek to say the room we was in was a Superior. If that was a Superior Room I really would hate to think what they are offering as a standard room! I dread to think! To me the room we were given would be classed as a standard room! We have travelled extensively and have stayed in other 4 star hotels and that was NOT up to that standard. The breakfast was ok adequate and the location of the hotel was about 20 min walk from the centre. We will return to Bologna but we will definitely NOT be staying here again.

Via Serra Luigi 7 Bologna BO

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Fountain of Neptune and BolognaFiere
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Bar/lounge
  • Spa

Located in Bologna City Centre, Hotel Il Guercino is within a mile (2 km) of popular sights such as Fountain of Neptune and BolognaFiere. This 62-room, 4-star hotel has a bar/lounge along with conveniences like a full-service spa and free in-room WiFi. It's in central Bologna and also close to Communal Collection of Fine Arts and Museum of Giorgio Morandi.


Dining

Start each morning with buffet breakfast, available for a fee from 7 AM to 10 AM. Satisfy your hunger without leaving your room with room service, or quench your thirst with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café.


Rooms

All of Hotel Il Guercino's 62 individually furnished rooms provide minibars, coffee makers, and safes. Guests can enjoy satellite TV and stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Rooms also include desks.


Property features

Guests staying at Hotel Il Guercino enjoy access to a full-service spa, a health club, and a sauna. If you drive, self parking is EUR 18.00 per day, and there's also limo/town car service. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this spa hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Reviews from Trip Advisor

Trip Advisor aggregated rating

82.0% of guests recommend this hotel

Total of 1613 reviews