Hotel Il Guercino4.0 out of 5.0
Recent guest reviews
Maybe it was just bad luck that my room was kind of small and had a window in the corner of the room facing to a wall (maybe it is just the Italian architecture with buildings constructed closely). So the room felt a bit like a chamber. Anyway, it was very clean, and everything was there (i didn't manage to use the safe storage but was lazy enough not to ask the staff to help me). The breakfast room is adorable with the collection of cocks sitting at the top of the kitchen boards, cute table and chairs and well-selected dishware) and the food there was just great. There was just anything available you can think of. I definitely recommend!
Loved the hotel, stayed there twice now, a stones throw from the train station beautiful location for shopping and restaurants, this hotel is definite must to stay, beautiful breakfast lots to choose from, will always stay here
good facilities, very clean and very friendly staff. The hotel is located close to the center but slightly away from the crowd. The facilities are great, and being able to borrow the hotel's bikes is a great chance to explore the city
I found out after we had left that my wife had actually booked us a superior room for an extra 25Euro a night but thought they hadn't been able to give us one as they didn't mention it at check in and the room (306) was rather ordinary. On the positive side it is well placed for the train station and in a quiet residential area. The staff were very nice, it was clean, the shower was excellent and breakfast in the chicken themed dining room was reasonable. However, the walls are very thin so it gets noisy if you have neighbours. There is no wardrobe, just a hanging rail with insufficient hangers and no drawers to put your clothes and no room to store your cases which you have to live out of. There was a balcony but it had a privacy screen so you have no view from it. It was average for a standard, poor for a superior. We will look elsewhere when we go next.
I booked a surprise trip for my husband for NY. I e mailed the hotel prior to arriving requesting consideration for a nice room and the hotel responded very quickly by offering an upgrade to a superior room for an extra €75 for the 3 nights. Thinking the superior room would be luxurious I accepted. When we checked in we were given room 306 on the 3rd floor. The receptionist didn’t mention the upgrade or any payment so I presumed that as it was NY eve and they were full, that it had not been possible. When we went into room 306 I definitely didn’t think we had been upgraded. The room was very small, had no wardrobe to put your clothes or draws for underwear. There was simply a metal fancy totes rail with hangers for you to hang your clothes on. It was not enclosed. The room was very basic to say the least. It had two wooden chairs, no wardrobe a small table in between the 2 single beds which was only big enough to take the telephone that had seen better days. There was insufficient electric sockets, 1 only by the bed. The bedding was old fashioned, with a top blanket that was rough, no douvets as in other 4 star hotels! The walls are like paper you could here every conversation between you neighbours both sides, It was so bad that I could hear the neighbours taking their clothes of the metal hangers as they bashed against each other. The television was so small that you needed glasses to watch from your beds, this and the kettle was on some Old looking dresser. The kettle had to be moved in order to reach the plug which was not ideal as it contained boiling water. At the base of one bed was a large trunk holding spare bedding, I have lost count how many times I have banged into it and bruised my leg. The other bed had a small table at the end of it! For what reason I don’t know. Apparently the superior room had bath towels and slippers plus toiletries (free with other 4 star hotels). The bathrobes were shabby and well worn. Slippers were ok and there was only shampoo/ body wash! No conditioner or body lotion. Toothbrush, shaver and soap was available if needed. No iron in the room either. Bathroom was ok, nothing special, shower tiles a little grubby!. The room had a very small balcony. When we checked out we paid the tax expected and left our luggage. Hence the thought that we had not been upgraded as I was not charged for the upgrade. When we returned later to collect our luggage it was then that they asked for the extra €75. I was in shock as I could not believe that they had the cheek to say the room we was in was a Superior. If that was a Superior Room I really would hate to think what they are offering as a standard room! I dread to think! To me the room we were given would be classed as a standard room! We have travelled extensively and have stayed in other 4 star hotels and that was NOT up to that standard. The breakfast was ok adequate and the location of the hotel was about 20 min walk from the centre. We will return to Bologna but we will definitely NOT be staying here again.
In desperate need of refurbishment- everything leaks, is mouldy, paint and wall paper are peeling etc. Really disappointing. Would recommend people stay elsewhere until the issues here are resolved. I would not rate it over 1* in its current state. Hotel is also very noisy as the walls are paper thin- if you don’t want to hear the cleaners early morning or late night chats from the people next door then avoid here. Staff are largely friendly and the sauna in the spa is quite pleasant.
I came to this hotel with great expectations. I booked and paid it months ago by Galahotels (Standard Single room). As the real Hotel expert I thought it's a very good 4-star hotel. As usually I phoned a week before my arrival, if everything is OK with booking and paying. It was fine. I asked for the good, quiet, clean and non smoking room. They were very kind and promised me I get what I wanted. When I arrived I had difficulties, as at the railway station noone I asked knew the Hotel and its street. I somehow arrived to the Hotel. I got the room on the third floor, but lift went to the second only. I had to use the steps for the third floor. When I opened the door, I saw I got the garret-room with the low ceiling. I went down to the reception and told them, that I didn't pay such room and it is not conveniant for the person of more than 70 years to use the steps for one floor. They immediatelly changed me the room and I got the room on the second floor with three beds! The beds are good, but quite narrow. The room and the bathroom were clean and with all amenities. The breakfast was good and abundant, but I missed (in the 4-star hotel!) some smoked salmon and smoked ham- prosciuto. As I had early morning flight (at 6.30 am) on my departure, I asked the previous day at 8 am for the breakfast bag. They said I could get it at 6 pm that day and pick it up at the reception. They put it into computer. When I came at 6 pm to take my breakfast, it wasn't there and the receptionist said to me, that he was not preparing sandwiches for me. I am sure it is not his duty, but the breakfast people should prepare it in time. However, I finally got the bag with some biscuits, some fruit and juice, but it was not a 4-star hotel breakfast!
All good,but bad wifi...very bad.Very complicated to use internet by Mobil telephone. For all the rest of things,all extra fine.One place to repeat.The breakfast not enormous,but all the food you need.
We stayed at Hotel for Guercino for 4 nights but really wished it had been 2 at the most. The designer needs to study what a 4* Boutique Hotel really is as this hotel was a mish mash of design, decor and artifacts. The room was very compact and the decor was awful...loud orange stripes and yellow net curtains, no drawer storage and plastic and wire broken coat hangers in wardrobe. Our room had been modified to accommodate disabled guests and was laid out to accommodate a wheel chair user. Where it had been modified holes were left I filled in the walls and the wardrobe placed to hide half of the window...making the room dingy. The bathroom had also been modified and had 2 showers one for disabled guests and the loo was very high..holes in the tiles where the modifations had been done. The breakfast room was a chicken nightmare, chickens on the wall, behind doors, in cupboards, on shelves...a chicken nightmare and a classic example of over doing a theme. No fresh fruit, poor quality sausage and bacon which were cut into small pieces didn't understand the reasoning of that at all. Usual processed meats and cheese all in all although a good selection, the quality of the food needs to be improved. Location is good and the staff are lovely...very helpful...however when we checked in we asked if the room was a superior double which we had booked...we were informed that it was. It was not in our opinion and the hotel is definately not a 4 * Hotel....would not stay there again.
Hotel staffed with nice, friendly people. Room a decent size although en-suite a little tight. Breakfast really nice with fresh eggs cooked to taste. Excellent location if arriving\departing by train. A 25 minute walk to the start of the centre of Bologna. I would recommend this hotel as reasonably priced and reasonable location for most sights. Would choose to stay again if we return.
- Close to Fountain of Neptune and BolognaFiere
- Free buffet breakfast
- Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
Located in Bologna City Centre, Hotel Il Guercino is within a mile (2 km) of popular sights such as Fountain of Neptune and BolognaFiere. This 62-room, 4-star hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like a full-service spa and free in-room WiFi. It's in central Bologna and also close to Communal Collection of Fine Arts and Museum of Giorgio Morandi.
Free buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM. Satisfy your hunger without leaving your room with room service, or quench your thirst with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café.
All of Hotel Il Guercino's 62 individually furnished rooms provide minibars, coffee makers, and safes. Guests can enjoy satellite TV and stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Rooms also include desks.
Guests staying at Hotel Il Guercino enjoy access to a full-service spa, a health club, and a sauna. If you drive, self parking is EUR 18.00 per day, and there's also limo/town car service. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this spa hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and coffee/tea in a common area.
Reviews from Trip Advisor
82% of guests recommend this hotelTotal of 1590 reviews