Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I booked this hotel was because the pictures on Orbitz website. From the website pictures looks like $200 hotel per night, but when I got there I was disappointed, also they had 55% off to get attention don’t fall for it. But hotel was okay, you get what you pay.

When I arrived to my room my kids found used q-tips under the beds, gum under the coffee cup, and some sort of dark liquid that was up under the lamp shades. I was nervous to sleep there worried about bed bugs. The bed was the only clean thing that I enjoyed.

Overall not a bad experience, but this place needs some renovations! Very outdated and does not look the pictures online. This place is great if your here on short notice for work or school related trips

It was comfortable. Nice room. Staff nice. Bed comfortable.

On a two day travel sprint this was a great convenient and affordable stop over

We had booked three nights pre-paid which was a mistake. We checked out early after one night because it was so uncomfortable and there was construction going on in the room next door. Then the following day the front desk called and asked if we were still there because they "hadn't seen any activity". Despite the early check out they declined to refund even the last night so generally I'd say our experience was bad. The front staff was friendly but didn't seem to get the whole checking out thing and it was frustrating that they were not able to refund the two other nights. Overall the hotel is shabby and in need of repair. The rooms in the photos look nothing like the dark, outdated room we were in. The carpet was warped, the bottom of the shower was stained. The linens were clean but didn't make up for the hard bed and overall dismal condition of the place.

Great stay overall. Would recommebd to a friend.........

When we arrived our room was very cold. The room was dingy and bathroom was even frumpy, wrinkled shower curtain. Walls needed painted.

Adequate and reasonable cost. Clean. Nice breakfast.

Staff was nice, but room was outdated and not very comfortable.

Very nice hotel. Very clean and all the amenities you could ask fir. Most of the staff were friendly, helpful and very informative.

Hotel charged my credit card but I had a prepaid reservation , can not get my many back .

The hotel is old, but the amenities are great. The pool was warm and refreshing and the breakfast was good.

The hallways had a dark, drab color and appearance which amplified clutter here and there. Caps were missing on plumbing fixtures, wall light fixtures were at a tilt, bathroom caulking was missing or old with mold present, as examples.

Very old. River view is not much of a river view.

The air conditioner is loud and couldn't quite regulate temp. Put towels over unit to slow down breeze. GPS needed to find location. Rooms are spacious, river view rooms you can sit on balcony!! Bicycle trail behind hotel for walking, etc is a plus. Hearty breakfast served. Staff knowledgeable about downtown eateries.

we stayed at Cottonwood two nights at a relatively in expensive rate. The hotel shows some wear but our rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. breakfast is bacon & eggs & waffles along with an assortment of cereals

Stayed previous night at a Hilton Garden Inn and that set me up for disappointment. The place didn't feel clean and was heavily used by families, including mine. Kids enjoyed the pool. Breakfast was OK but missing any appetizing fresh fruit or more healthy offerings. Breakfast staff were very active in keeping items stocked and the room clean. I was disappointed because I didn't read the dates Orbitz was offering and was expecting a much lower price. If you are checking prices using a smart phone and it's the end of a long day you might see a much cheaper price for some date 2 weeks in the future and think it is the price for that day. I probably would have found another hotel if not for that misunderstanding.

The room was big, had a fridge. Had a patio area at the back. Nice breakfast. The room was a little dated and the carpet had a cat pee smell.

Served our purpose very well breakfast could have been better ran out of coffee so had to go to front desk to get iy

3031 Main St Boise ID

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Free airport shuttle

Idaho State Capitol Building is within 2 miles (3 km) of Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown while other popular attractions such as Boise State University are within 3 miles (5 km). This 111-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. It's in central Boise and also close to Taco Bell Arena and Albertsons Stadium.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast, served each morning from 6 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

All 111 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch LCD TVs with satellite channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Free local calls, ironing boards, and desks are also standard.


Property features

At Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, guests enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. There's free parking, as well as a free airport shuttle (available 24 hours). The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Additional amenities include a sauna, free WiFi in public areas, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Double Room, 2 Queen Beds (Riverside)

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed (Riverside)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown

Everyone (69) Couples (44) Business (28) Family (26) Other (13) Friends (3)
3

nothing special.

Everyone

I booked this hotel was because the pictures on Orbitz website. From the website pictures looks like $200 hotel per night, but when I got there I was disappointed, also they had 55% off to get attention don’t fall for it. But hotel was okay, you get what you pay.

By , from sandy UT on May 15, 2018

Review comment responded on May 15, 2018

I'm unsure of the room you were in, but I'm sorry you felt our hotel did not match our pictures. I am glad your stay was satisfactory for the price paid, and we hope to welcome you back when the remodel is under way.

2

nicer in the photos

Everyone

When I arrived to my room my kids found used q-tips under the beds, gum under the coffee cup, and some sort of dark liquid that was up under the lamp shades. I was nervous to sleep there worried about bed bugs. The bed was the only clean thing that I enjoyed.

By on May 7, 2018

Review comment responded on May 14, 2018

I am very sorry for your poor experience. The items that you listed are not acceptable and I apologize. A hotel should be clean and it appears we came up short in this regard. I will work with my team to address the items mentioned in your review. Your review is a wake up call and I will us it as a way to get better. Thank you for sharing your thoughts; it helps. Thank you, Thomas C. General Manager

4
Everyone

Overall not a bad experience, but this place needs some renovations! Very outdated and does not look the pictures online. This place is great if your here on short notice for work or school related trips

By on Apr 3, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2018

Thank you for the very nice review of our hotel. We are in the design phase of a hotel remodel that will address your concerns. Thank you for sharing your review and your thoughts regarding our hotel as it helps us asses our guests needs. Thank you for staying and please visit again when your plans call for it. Thomas C. General Manager

4
Everyone

It was comfortable. Nice room. Staff nice. Bed comfortable.

By , from oregon on Mar 21, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 22, 2018

Kim, Thanks so much for the fantastic review of our property! We agree that we have the nicest staff in town! We hope you'll visit us again soon! Tara Dunow Assistant General Manager

3

convenient and affordable

Everyone

On a two day travel sprint this was a great convenient and affordable stop over

By , from Portland OR on Feb 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 27, 2018

Wendy, Thank you very much for choosing the Cottonwood Suites for your visit to the boise area. I am glad that our hotel was the perfect place for your quick two day trip. Please visit again when your travel plans call for it. Thank you, Thomas C. General Manager

1

run down and disorganized

Everyone

We had booked three nights pre-paid which was a mistake. We checked out early after one night because it was so uncomfortable and there was construction going on in the room next door. Then the following day the front desk called and asked if we were still there because they "hadn't seen any activity". Despite the early check out they declined to refund even the last night so generally I'd say our experience was bad. The front staff was friendly but didn't seem to get the whole checking out thing and it was frustrating that they were not able to refund the two other nights. Overall the hotel is shabby and in need of repair. The rooms in the photos look nothing like the dark, outdated room we were in. The carpet was warped, the bottom of the shower was stained. The linens were clean but didn't make up for the hard bed and overall dismal condition of the place.

By on Feb 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 19, 2018

Drea, I am very sorry for you experience at our hotel. It appears that your stay was not a good one and I apologize. We are in the design phase of a hotel remodel that will address several issues you outlined. Additionally, I will work with my team to correct the items that you mentioned in the review. Regarding your early departure, often times guest's book non refundable reservations. For example, in exchange for a discounted rate, we will require the guest to pay in advance and is nonrefundable. If this was not the case for you, please contact us and we will do our best to correct the situation. Thank you for sharing your review with us it helps us assess how we are doing. Thank you for staying with us. Thomas C. General Manager

4
Everyone

Great stay overall. Would recommebd to a friend.........

By on Dec 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 22, 2017

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We appreciate your business. Please visit again very soon. Thomas C. General Manager

2

not what i expected

Everyone

When we arrived our room was very cold. The room was dingy and bathroom was even frumpy, wrinkled shower curtain. Walls needed painted.

By on Dec 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 12, 2017

Thank you for sharing your review. I am very sorry that your room was cold upon arrival. Additionally it appears, in general, you did not have a good stay with us. I will work with my team to address the issues you have mentioned. I realize having an unsatisfactory stay at a hotel is frustrating and I apologize. Thank you for staying with us. Thomas C. General Manager

4

met our needs.

Everyone

Adequate and reasonable cost. Clean. Nice breakfast.

By on Dec 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 8, 2017

Thank you for choosing the Cottonwood Suites as your home away from home. We are very pleased that you thought our hotel was a great value and that the hotel was clean. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It helps us assess how our guest's are experiencing our hotel. Thank you for staying with us. Thomas C. General Manager

3
Everyone

Staff was nice, but room was outdated and not very comfortable.

By on Dec 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 8, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Cottonwood Suites and making it your home while here in Boise. Thank you for the comments regarding our staff; we appreciate it. We are in the design phase of a guest room remodel that will address your concerns regarding the outdatedness of our property. I apologize that the hotel was not in the condition that you had hoped for. Thank you for sharing your thoughts as it gives us insight as to how we can better serve our customers. Thomas C. General Manager