Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This hotel has history. Love the hotel location, beautiful breakfast area. Highly recommend it in Vienna

everything, especially location. Food, location, staff is amazing

The location of the property is perfect, right next to St. Stephen's Cathedral. The staff is friendly and willing to help, though staff members do not seem to know certain basics like where to get coffee or lunch by the hotel. The room I checked into was dirty with stray hairs and dirt all around the bed and bathroom areas. The bathroom had an awful stench. When I reported it to the front desk, they sent someone up to check but were unable to fix the problem. They said it was something with the pipes. Finally the Wifi was inconsistent. When it did connect, it was very weak and took minutes to load a webpage. I would not recommend staying at this property.

Everything was great and it’s in a great location. One thing that we didn’t know and we missed the sign by the door regarding the travel iron not allowed to be used in room and we were not the only ones that missed the sign. I think the staff should maybe mention it at check because it was a problem.

This is my first bad review ever. When we arrived to check-in we were told the reservation department had overbooked the hotel and we had no choice but to be moved to their sister hotel on the opposite side of town. We were given nothing to compensate for this huge inconvenience and expense. My mother is a senior citizen and we booked this hotel 6 months in advance for the short walks to the sites and proximity to airport train, but if management treats people this way there is no reason you should stay here. We were given nothing to compensate even though the sister hotel is cheaper online, and we had to spend money on taxis and airport transfers to get my mom to the sites. Mistakes happen, but that is not our fault. I realize Hotel Royal is part of a large hotel conglomerate, and there is no way this review will hurt a company as large as them, but I do hope some of you read this and realize that this hotel treats their guests like cattle.

I have used several other hotels while in Vienna, this experience was as good that I think to keep using it as my home from home when visiting the city

We went Goldener Saal to hear Berliner Philharmonisches Orchester. It was wonderful experience for us.

Ideal location from which to see downtown Vienna. Great restaurant in the hotel, superbly helpful staff.

Great Location! Nice big room. Pillows are uncomfortable. Room and bethroom are clean. Staff are friendly and helpfull.

Hotel perfectly located in a middle of the city. Breakfast was excellent and hotel staff friendly and very helpful.

My daughter and I arrived at the hotel after our long overnight trip from New York. What a disappointment when we were shown our room. It was dingy, the carpeting looked dirty and the air conditioner did not work. We were then taken to the second room which looked no better, but when I opened one of the drawers to find decaying fruit and the belongings of someone else (apparently never cleaned out) it was time to ask for the Manager. We could not stay there! The Manager was new to the Hotel and was very accommodating and did upgrade our room to one that was adequate. There were no rugs so we were not concerned about that mold and mildew smell, however, the air conditioner did not work adequately and, since my daughter has asthma, that was a potential problem. There was mildew or mold on the shower curtains (no exhaust fans), my used tea cups were not removed for our stay, and the cleaning staff turned off the a/c during the day making it difficult to sleep until the room cooled off. Don't get the impression that we are over-picky, not the case. We were terribly disappointed and expected so much more.

This was a great weekend getaway! Awesome location, friendly reception staff, good breakfast! Would definitely go back!

very good, courteous staff and location couldn't be better

It was really centrally located, excellent and courteous staff. Breakfast was very good, quality and variety. Will definitely reccommend and return back

Absolutely loved the location. Right beside the subway stop and a stone's throw away from Stephansdom Cathedral. This hotel is right in the heart of Vienna. You can easily walk to all the major attractions and restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed the all you could eat breakfast buffet that was included in our room charge. The room was a nice size, comfortable and clean. We would definitely stay again at this hotel when visiting beautiful Vienna.

My first stay at the Hotel Royal a year ago was excellent, and the standard stays high. This is a small hotel within 50 meters of the Stephansdom, and an easy 15 minute walk of the music venues and museums--also right beside a subway stop. The location is perfect for a visitor to Vienna's history. It's also right in the middle of the glitzy shopping pedestrian mall. The amenities are limited--look elsewhere for fancy decor and big rooms--but they include two excellent restaurants and a wonderfully helpful staff.

TV size is too small and it is not a flat panel type.

The hotel is located within a block from the cathedral dead in the center of Vienna. You can walk to anything and if you like night life and shopping it is the place to be. At the same time it was clean and quite with a nice breakfast. Room is spacious although a bit dated. Great for the money.

* Overall the hotel was decent. Think about it like a 3 star hotel at best in the US, but this is Europe. * Breakfast was good. * Great location. * The staff it's very friendly and helpful. * The business center is a "phone boot" with a computer and printer, but it did the trick when I wanted to print my tickets. * If you are a business traveler and the internet connection it's important for you, stay away from this hotel. The internet connection it's horrible and it has a lot of timeouts. You can send emails and see some webpages, but working remotely through VPN it's a big no no. * I didn't like the fact that I could not adjust the temperature in the room. Most of the time was to cold for me. The only option that you have is to increase the air flow and anything above level 2 its to noisy. I was able to warm up the room a little bit at level 5 (my guess the temperature was 70-71 degrees).

Singerstrasse 3 Vienna Vienna

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from St. Stephen's Cathedral and Stephansplatz
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining

Located in Innere Stadt, Hotel Royal is next to popular attractions like St. Stephen's Cathedral and Mozart Figarohouse. This 4-star hotel has 88 guestrooms and offers conveniences like 2 restaurants, free in-room WiFi, and a rooftop terrace.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is included with your stay. Enjoy dining at Ristorante Firenze Enotec, one of 2 onsite restaurants. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

All 88 individually decorated accommodations feature sitting areas. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds are dressed in premium bedding. Minibars, coffee makers, and safes are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Hotel Royal enjoy a rooftop terrace, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. Valet parking is EUR 40 per night if you plan to drive, or hop aboard the airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for EUR 55 per vehicle one way. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, free newspapers, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Single Room

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Standard Double Room Single Use

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 1

Deluxe Room

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 4

Superior Room

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hotel Royal

Everyone (5) Couples (5) Business (3) Family (7) Other (2)
5
Friends

This hotel has history. Love the hotel location, beautiful breakfast area. Highly recommend it in Vienna

By on Dec 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 27, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our Kremslehner Hotels has a lot of nice history and we are glad that you recognise this.

4
Everyone

By on Oct 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 1, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5
Family

everything, especially location. Food, location, staff is amazing

By , from Toronto on Sep 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 6, 2019

Dear guest, thanks a lot for your feedback and your rating! Looking forward to see you again in our Hotel Royal we remain with kind regards

2
Everyone

The location of the property is perfect, right next to St. Stephen's Cathedral. The staff is friendly and willing to help, though staff members do not seem to know certain basics like where to get coffee or lunch by the hotel. The room I checked into was dirty with stray hairs and dirt all around the bed and bathroom areas. The bathroom had an awful stench. When I reported it to the front desk, they sent someone up to check but were unable to fix the problem. They said it was something with the pipes. Finally the Wifi was inconsistent. When it did connect, it was very weak and took minutes to load a webpage. I would not recommend staying at this property.

By on Jul 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 8, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Royal. Be assured that we have already taken actions regarding the plumbing of your room. Our WiFI is with an city wide operator whom we have forwarded your feedback. Best regards your Hotel Royal Team

4

great location close to cafes and subway

Everyone

Everything was great and it’s in a great location. One thing that we didn’t know and we missed the sign by the door regarding the travel iron not allowed to be used in room and we were not the only ones that missed the sign. I think the staff should maybe mention it at check because it was a problem.

By , from New Jersey on Aug 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2018

Dear Terry, thank you for your nice feedback- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for the hint regarding the information about the iron. Sunny greetings your Hotel Royal team

1

terrible hotel by an easy-going traveler

Everyone

This is my first bad review ever. When we arrived to check-in we were told the reservation department had overbooked the hotel and we had no choice but to be moved to their sister hotel on the opposite side of town. We were given nothing to compensate for this huge inconvenience and expense. My mother is a senior citizen and we booked this hotel 6 months in advance for the short walks to the sites and proximity to airport train, but if management treats people this way there is no reason you should stay here. We were given nothing to compensate even though the sister hotel is cheaper online, and we had to spend money on taxis and airport transfers to get my mom to the sites. Mistakes happen, but that is not our fault. I realize Hotel Royal is part of a large hotel conglomerate, and there is no way this review will hurt a company as large as them, but I do hope some of you read this and realize that this hotel treats their guests like cattle.

By , from New York, NY on Dec 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 18, 2017

Dear guest ! We are very sorry that you had to move to our sister hotel and we want to excuse for this mistake once more. We truly understand that you were very unhappy with the situation but we had to offer you the best possibility we had and we did our best to help you. We are very upset that we could not solve the problem the way we should have and we want to appologize. Sending our best regards from Vienna, your family Kremslehner

5

conveniently situated, fair prices, wonderfull sta

Everyone

I have used several other hotels while in Vienna, this experience was as good that I think to keep using it as my home from home when visiting the city

By , from Mexico city on Jan 2, 2017

3

family trip

Couples

We went Goldener Saal to hear Berliner Philharmonisches Orchester. It was wonderful experience for us.

By on Nov 22, 2015

5

perfect location

Couples

Ideal location from which to see downtown Vienna. Great restaurant in the hotel, superbly helpful staff.

By on Oct 14, 2015

5

very good

Couples

Great Location! Nice big room. Pillows are uncomfortable. Room and bethroom are clean. Staff are friendly and helpfull.

By on Sep 12, 2015

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Vienna-Hotels-Hotel-Royal.h26687-p2.Hotel-Reviews