Skip to main content
Beginning of main content


4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

We had a good stay with them in July 2018, but to our big surprise out of nowhere in June 2019 they charged our credit card $2000, we NEVER booked a stay with them in 2019, they are criminals and rubbing people. We contacted the hotel at least 8 times. they ignored us and then we asked our credit card company to contact them, they even lied to them and said that will return the money within few days, it been 2 months and we still did get our money back. STAY AWAY!!!!!!!

I THOUGHT I had a nice stay at Arena Blue Tulum with my family last November. When I booked the hotel in September 2018 I was asked to pay a 100% deposit to secure the 2 rooms, which I did. We had a nice stay and paid for our extra meals etc at check-out. End of story. Imagine my surprise when on 15 July 2019 I see that Arena Blue have taken money out of my account - more or less the same amount I paid for the reservation in September 2018. When I contacted Arena Blue to ask why they had taken money out of my account 9 months after my stay I got a 2 line email saying this money was payment for the second room, “which was pending”. I replied to say this made no sense - my reservation said I had paid for both rooms in full and their own website terms and conditions says you pay 100% upfront. They are yet to reply or explain taking this money out of my account despite me and others from my family sending them multiple emails and even calling them. Sadly it looks like we’re going to have to get a lawyer involved. What worries me most is that they still had my card details on file 9 months ater my stay and are yet to confirm that they’ve taken them off their system. It’s a shame that such a nice-seeming hotel should be cover for a scam.

Very simple small hotel, no TV or phones on the rooms. Quiet place right at the beach, comfortable but luxury at all. Friendly staff. It is pricey for what has to offer. They are very close to and have ocean views, but should bring prices down a bit.

I just came back from Tulum and want to share my HORRIBLE experience with Arena Blue Hotel. I came with a group of 4 other girlfriends, and we rented 3 separate rooms. The Hotel itself is Ok, nothing fancy, but what I really want to share with anyone who would put a thought into choosing this pace – DO NOT!!! BECAUSE THEY ARE THIEVES!!! On the last night of our stay all 3 rooms discovered that Cash Money is missing from Safe Boxes. All 3 safe boxes in all 3 rooms!!! No, it was not left open by us, and it was not broken, all 3 boxes were locked when we discovered that money is missing. They took total of $1,400 USD. It is so obvious that the stuff that has main key to all safe boxes came to our rooms and took the cash. They knew that our entire group left rooms, they actually told us where to go for lunch, and when we came back, we discovered the loss. Of course we called the police, but it was so pointless, the Policeman was laughing into our faces, refused to provide us with the Police Report, refused to collect finger prints, told us that we have to drive to Police Station and make a report there, and stated that he knows Management personally. We all felt that this police man is just getting his share from stolen money. The Hotel Management also refused to help, we were demanding to speak with the Owner of Hotel, and all they told us was that He is away on vacation. THIS IS CRAZY. We all felt unsafe in this place, and couldn’t wait until we can leave. IF YOU WANT TO HAVE A GOOD, SAFE and STRESS FREE stay in Tulum, DO NOT CHOOSE Arena Blue!

Very bad service and a really run down hotel. Post itself as a nice property but it is a scam and next to a construction site. The pool and the beach area is overcrowded, not with other hotel guests but with the children of the hotel staff. I can’t recommend this property to anyone.

In short, this "4-star" hotel is in reality, a 1.5-star at best. The whole property is NOT kept well. The entire place is a SCAM!!!! They all work together and STOLE a lot of money from our room. The manager, Monica, was very defensive and not sensitive to my friend who had more than $1K stolen from her. She actually tried to turn it around and say that her friends stole from her! That was laughable. The owner ENRICO was also there but didn't even offer any kind words or help. We had a 4 hour ordeal with cops involve but in the end, nothing got resolved. We no longer felt safe and asked to get refunded for the three nights we didn't stay. We are still having to deal with them to REFUND us. They promised to refund but because we booked it through they cant do it unless they get permission. ARENABLE has gotten away with it A LOT (read all the 1 star review to see that all SIMILAR experiences!!) THEY NOW ARE REFUSING TO REFUND US for the nights we didnt stay. TOTAL SCAM. DO NOT STAY HERE AND SPREAD THE NEWS ABOUT HOW HORRIBLE THIS PLACE IS!

We sent an email explaining that would refund us but were waiting for Arenablue to give the okay for cancellation. The only response we got from their Marketing director Enrico was a single sentence saying it wasn't the hotels problem. Really got the sense that he just didn’t care at all which was not what I would have expected from someone working in hospitality. Not even an, I understand it’s unfortunate but we are firm on our policy. Just a firm no, it’s not our problem. We’ll yeah, if your guests have a problem that’s kind of your job for it to be your issue too. Then we pleaded with them to cancel since would couldn’t afford the room. We never received a response. Truly terrible customer care. We ended up having to stay at the hotel because we could not afford to book somewhere else. At this point we resigned ourselves to it and figured at least we can live like kings at $600 bucks (CAD) a night. I could not believe it when we got there! It was like a sad joke, we had to laugh. This place was just a regular hotel, nothing special about it other than that it’s on the beach. This place is completely riding on it’s location on the beach to charge what it’s charging. It’s not well maintained, the decor is outdated. Palapa’s are simple and rustic which means that what you do have in them has to count. That was not this case here. Furniture had mold spots on it. The bathroom had a cheap plastic shower stall, plastic trash bin from the supermarket. It had sad generic soap in cheap plastic containers. Non of the artisan stuff you would usually find in a expensive boutique hotel. There were a few random holes and cracks in the walls, and one electrical outlet wasn’t fastened to the wall. Breakfast was decent but not decadent. Bacon tasted like cheap supermarket bacon. The service from staff seemed okay but not altogether professional. We were charged for a shrimp dish we never ordered and ordered breakfast to our room which they forgot about. Internet didn’t work on our apple devices, they got us to unlock our phone and then they took it away into a room to change the security settings to get internet to work which seemed kinda weird. I asked to break a bill to tip the maid but they didn’t have any change, until my girlfriend asked 10 mins later then they managed to find some. Basically, was not a smooth seamless experience you would expect considering the prices they’re charging. Beware of what your getting into when booking this hotel. They won’t give any money back for unsatisfied customers (see other reviews). You are on your own if you have any problems at this place. By the way there is construction next door currently (to the south). The front end loader was going at it all day 20ft. from our room so we moved to another beach to get some quite.

I had reservations at Arena Blue as part of a reserved block of rooms for a wedding. The bride and groom paid an additional fee to allow their guests to block the entire hotel as an exclusive property for their celebration. I pre-booked and paid in full for two rooms, for a sum total of seven nights at a rate of $250/night. On the day that I was scheduled to check in, I was notified in the morning by WhatsApp that there was a construction issue on the property and that my rooms were moved to Amansala. I responded with a request for more details and was not able to get a response from Arena Blue Management. My family and I ended up staying at Amansala, which was fine, but the value in rooms was not comparable. I became aware that the nightly rate for my room at Amansala was $185, a difference of $65/night (x 7 nights), but I had already paid $250/night for my rooms via ArenaBlue. I have requested a refund of the difference in rate from Arena Blue but have not been able to attain a refund nor even a response from their management. While I was in Tulum, I stopped by the hotel and was told that "they are working on it" and that I would hear from Arena Blue the following Monday (which was more than one week ago). I have heard nothing. I have tried to contact them by phone, email, and WhatsApp more than 10 times, without a response. There were multiple other guests of the wedding that were relocated to the same hotel and in the same situation. No one has received an offer for a refund or even a response from Arena Blue management. Additionally, while a construction issue was cited as the reason for moving our rooms, it is suspected that Arena Blue actually overbooked the hotel to guests not affiliated with the wedding, as guests not affiliated with the wedding were staying on the property. The bride and groom have not been refunded the fee that they paid for exclusive access to the property. I am extremely disappointed in Arena Blue and recommend staying elsewhere. There are so many nice places to stay in Tulum - Don't subject yourself to the poor and fraudulent management at Arena Blue.

The Pros: Free breakfast was a great perk, the restaurant staff was really friendly! Housekeeping did a great job! The hotel is right on the beach and near many nice places to eat and shops. AC and Internet! The Cons: Hotel manager wasn't very nice, she didn't check us in so when we walked through the lobby one day she point blank asked us what we were doing there. Beachfront lounge area is not well maintained. The staff doesn't seem to pay attention to its best asset, the beach! They didn't remove trash/used towels regularly. Also, there are two massage areas with huge tacky signs right on the beach area for the hotel. I found this to be an eyesore and when many people weren't walking on the beach I was regularly heckled about getting a massage. It's a bit further down the beach so a cab into town is $10 USD. My take: I'm happy with our experience overall. However, given that spending time on the beach was important to me, if I could go back in time I'd book a non-beachfront room at a hotel that takes better care of its beachfront, has more options for chairs, and keeps it cleaner.

We were staying in Cancun and decided to go exploring when we found this gem in Tulum. It’s a boutique hotel with a lovely beach. We only went for the day and had a wonderful lunch right on the beach. Food was excellent, service superior and the location unbelievable. We were so impressed we asked for a tour of their room accommodations which were very nice and hopefully will be back sooner than later. Very quiet and private retreat.

Carretera Tulum - Boca Paila Km. 8.5 Tulum QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Tulum Beach
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Located 1.6 mi (2.5 km) from Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve, ARENABLUE TULUM is within a 10-minute drive of other popular attractions like Playa Paraiso. This 4-star hotel welcomes guests with 10 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast, served each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM. Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Guests can expect to find free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a balcony or patio, a dining area, and a coffee maker.

Property features

Guests of ARENABLUE TULUM enjoy features like an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a terrace. There's free parking, and a shuttle from the airport to the hotel (available 24 hours) for USD 125 per room. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with concierge services, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this beach hotel include laundry facilities, a picnic area, and a garden.

Room options

Suite Ocean View Pasion 202

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room Serenidad 105

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, Garden Area

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite Ocean View Felicidad 203

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Reviews from Trip Advisor

Trip Advisor aggregated rating

% of guests recommend this hotel

Total of 77 reviews

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.