Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Check in was disappointing. Our unit was ready but they wouldn’t allow us to check in till 3pm regardless. I understand the check in time is 3 but always been able to check in early if our room was ready. Office was nasty at check in.

We visited other beaches on st thomas/ st john and realized where we were staying was more relaxing than any other place. Good snorkeling too. A pleasant surprise. We had an upper level two story unit which provided remarkable views from the balconies.

We checked into our hotel and found the door closing by using a dead lock only. The phone in the room was not working and we were told it would not be repaired until after the weekend. It was never repaired. We asked for another room and were told that none were available. The fridge never cooled properly and then finally quit two days before checking out. Our milk spoiled and we had no ice. The privacy divider for the bedroom was not on the track and could not be used. We were told the building was scheduled for reconditioning. Friendly staff but nothing got done with phone or fridge. Light bulbs were replaced upon arrival. Our building was located away from the beach in the back of the Marina and there was a lot of foot traffic past our patio. Building F room 106. I feel a partial or full refund is in order.

While our room was wonderful, the resort definitely needs updates. Only one restaurant over in the next property (Sapphire Village) and there's literally no other walkable options for food. Staff at the resort was not welcoming and the pool is in very poor condition.

We stayed at Saphire for 2 nightst after a week in the BVI to do a little unwinding and not have to hassle with the ferry schedules before flying back. We chose Saphire as it was a little cheaper and allowed shorter term stays, as well we could get a condo that opened right onto the beach. The location is great as it's a 3 minute drive from the shops and restaurants of Red Hook. The issue with the property is that it has changed ownership/management hands many times recently and they don't seem to be able to get things up and running. Pool is descent but surrounded by construction debris and there are no real restaurants. Honestly next time I will pay a bit more and go to Bolongo but proximity to RH was a plus.

Perfection. Absolute beauty and the greatest hospitalityin the world.

The staff were all nice . The hotel was not very clean . We only had one burner on our stove that worked and the pans in the kitchen terrible - the Teflon finish was so scrapped off - I went and bought a new pan to use while I was there . I was very disappointed with the hotel .

Was absolutely wonderful! Can't wait to return. Friendly helpful staff! Couldn't have been more perfect.

Location is great, price is better than others but you get what you pay for. Our unit was clean but a little noisy and the condos in general are just a bit dated with no signs of repair or upkeep. Probably used to be a nicer place. We had a car so it wasn't a big deal cause we just went to other places. Bed was not that comfortable. We enjoyed the kitchen but no can opener. Also there was an ironing board but no iron. Weird. And asking for things always made the staff seem put out. Beautiful island but wouldn't necessarily stay here again.

Was pleasantly surprised at quality and cleanliness when we opened the door to unit C204 after reading prior reviews. This is not a luxury resort, so one should moderate their expectations in terms of price vs facilities to be fair. Was there for last 3 days of a St. John journey before heading home. Room smelled freshly cleaned (light ammonia smell) and was very clean upon arrival. Linens and room cleaned again on third day – which was fine with us given fresh water limitations and very high utility costs there. Checked for the bedbug scare and that was a non-event. Was surprised there were no other bugs since it is a tropical climate. The decks for the units were in the shade all day at this time of year, which I prefer. Some exterior wood over the deck was dried out, but wood trim in that climate is not a wise choice. Beach and water are fabulous – the pictures on website were not lies. In terms of staff, they were a step above the normal for the islands. At least they didn’t act like they resented you like most other staff at the stores and shops. But times are tough on the islands right now, so make allowances. I would definitely use this facility again.

Sapphire Beach is really gorgeous. The snorkeling right off the beach was really good. We saw several turtles, stingrays, a spotted eagle ray, we fed fish with dog bones from the grocery store. It was really nice. The "restaurant" at the hotel is a small tent with a very limited menu and not so friendly service. Food on the island is very expensive in general. But there is a grocery store in Red Hook, just a couple minutes up the street, and the condo's do have kitchens. We found a few gems of people with wonderful people, but from what we understand, many natives on the island, don't like Americans, and it shows. We are very friendly, and have kids, and always tried to strike up conversations, and find something nice to talk about, but many islanders were just not interested. The condo was sufficient, and nice enough. It wasn't luxurious, but we were outside most of the time anyway. We were told the management has really gone downhill because they want to sell it, but they have acquired so much debt on the property (and in St. Thomas the debt is sold with the property), that no one is interested in purchasing it. The cleaning crew only comes in every other day, and only leaves enough towels for showing, or the beach/pool. So we were constantly in need of clean towels. I don't really like drying off with a saltwater towel. We were married right on The Point, and took incredible pictures on the beach. Overall it was a great vacation, but the actual condo resort itself is in need of some attention, both in the building itself, but mostly in the friendliness of the staff (at the hotel and around the island), making people feel welcome. Make sure you check out Taco stand in Red Hook for a great and cheap lunch. Taco's with all the extras $3 each. The Aquarium was also really cool. We did the Sea Lion experience and the kids loved it. A trip on the ferry over to St. John leaving out of Red Hook was very nice. St. John is much more laid back, and friendly. There are plenty of restaurants in Red Hook as well. If you are going to stay here, I would highly recommend renting a car for your stay though. The east end of the island is 25-30 minutes from Charlotte Amalie, and the walk to Red Hook would be a bit of a hike from the hotel as well, even though it's only a few minutes in the car. Taxi's are expensive, so a car is totally worth it. There is not a decent restaurant at the hotel.

The second we walked into the room it smelled sour. The blanket on the bed felt damp. Figured out the sour smell was coming from the "book case" furniture that was behind the bed. I guess the smell is coming from the ocean outside and the dampness in the air if people are leaving the sliding glass door open. The shower curtain also smelled. It did have a full kitchen. The beach was nice, right there you didnt have to travel to get to the beach. Marina right there also, so if you are doing any day trips on sail boats you are most likely departing from the Sapphire Marina. That was nice because we didnt have to get a taxi to get there, it was right outside out back door. It was especially nice when we came back from the day sail, we were tired, hot and BURNED from being on the boat for 6 hours and in just 1 minute we were in our room. The free breakfast you get is nothing special. We were thinking we would be getting eggs, bacon, hash browns, pancakes. Nope, you get a choice of: small bowl of cereal, a bagel, croissant, granola bar, muffin or fruit. And one of the ladys at the stand is not very nice. A can of soda is $2. The other hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The pool was pretty, not many people there obviously they are at the beach. Red Hook is only 2 minutes down the road, a $4 taxi ride per person. A bunch of restaurants there and some shopping. You can also get a ferry to go to other islands. If you are wanting delivery food call Senor Pizza, the wings are really good. We found that place is the only delivery food in that area. Im not completely downing this hotel but if you can spend a little extra money you probably should book elsewhere. But if you dont mind the sour smell you will be fine. I will be choosing a different hotel next time I visit. There are a few other hotels that looked nice in the area.

Not the best resort, it was sort of run down. Cleaning lady came whenever she wanted and continental breakfast sucked. Stay at Sugar Bay!

My husband and I stayed here for a week and had a great time. Our room was on the first floor so we were able to walk right onto the beach. We also got married here so it was great to walk directly to our ceremony location. The little food spot in between some of the buildings was fantastic, great food and GREAT drinks! We definitely would stay here again.

Our family had awonderful week at Sapphire Beach. Our room was very modern, the beach was at our doorway, snorkeling was the best, better then St John! The ladies at the Banana Cabana were wonderful and the food and drinks were great.

The hotel is past it's prime, but was clean and meet our needs. The beach and snorkeling are great, but the reception could be a little more friendly and helpful. If you are looking for amenities, you will be disappointed, but if you are looking for a clean room, a great beach and a kitchen then you will be happy. The bar up the hill is very friendly, and happily shares information about the island.

This was our second time traveling to St. Thomas and we really wanted to be close to the beach and this hotel provided exactly that! There was wait service that walked on the beach during the day that would bring drinks or food OR if you could get to a grocery store, you could buy your own food b/c there was kitchen with fridge in the room! The location was right near Red Hook that had some great restaurants. Or the other way was Coral World where we went scuba diving! (or there is a shack right on Sapphire Beach to rent snorkle equipment or sign up for para-sailing among other fun things.) All in all, we had an amazing time that was very relaxing and exactly what we were looking for. We would go again in a heart beat.

Completely run down premises&rooms, boarded up bar&restaurant, moldy smeeling rooms, stains on the floor, in urgent need of updating entire bathroom incl toiletseat, fixtures, floortiles, vanity...plus kitchenette & furniture! staff was unprofessional & came with attitude - all in all a very unpleasant & disappointing experience -just glad we only stayed for 2 nights!

The resort is in a lawsuit and a management company has taken over. The management company obviously isnt willing to spend any money. Tiles on the floor were worn, spackle on the walls and the ceilings were coming off. We had a king size room. Our bed was two twin mattress and box springs pushed together. The beach was very beautiful for the hotel to be such a dump. There is not a restaurant or bar at this resort. So its not much of a resort!

The beach is the best. The rooms are privately owned, so each investor is responsible for room maintenance and rental services. The first room we were given so so dirty. The bed sheets had a smelly, ugly substance on it. When I informed the front desk, they brought me new sheets. My son put on his pull out sofa bed all the towels he could find because of the smell coming from the sofa. I would not take my shoes off in the room. The shower had mold. The next day we were moved. This room was a little better. It was apparent that this owner took better care of the unit. The bathroom had paint chipping, and I wore water shoes in the shower. The rooms themselves are beautiful but beware that you get a room that is maintained and properly cleaned. You may want to bring your own sheets. I've given away better beds then they provide to paying customers.

6720 Estate Smith Bay St. Thomas

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Sapphire Beach
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Sapphire Beach Resort places you next to Sapphire Beach and within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular attractions like Secret Harbour Beach. This 155-room, 3-star aparthotel welcomes guests with a restaurant, a marina, and an outdoor pool.


Dining

The onsite restaurant is perfect for a quick bite to eat.


Rooms

Each apartment is individually decorated and features a kitchen and a balcony, and there's space to spread out with a sitting area. A TV comes with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a coffee maker, a ceiling fan, and a laptop-compatible safe. Limited housekeeping is available.


Property features

Sapphire Beach Resort features a marina, an outdoor pool, and a children's pool. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. Front-desk staff can assist with securing valuables and concierge services. Other amenities at this beach aparthotel include free WiFi in public areas, a terrace, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Villa, Multiple Beds, Beachfront

1 King Bed and 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 6

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Beachfront

1 King Bed and 1 Queen Sofa Bed | Sleeps 5

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Harbor View (Yacht Harbor)

1 King Bed and 1 Queen Sofa Bed | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Sapphire Beach Resort

Everyone (1) Couples (19) Family (10) Friends (2) Other (1)
2
Family

Check in was disappointing. Our unit was ready but they wouldn’t allow us to check in till 3pm regardless. I understand the check in time is 3 but always been able to check in early if our room was ready. Office was nasty at check in.

By , from Knoxville on Jul 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 3, 2020

We apologize for any inconvenience. It is our policy that when a unit is ready, we do not delay check-ins. Unfortunately, without the name on the reservation, we cannot investigate further. If you feel comfortable, please message me through your reservation. We appreciate the feedback, and strive to improve our service. Thank you.

4

excellent beach and bay.

Everyone

We visited other beaches on st thomas/ st john and realized where we were staying was more relaxing than any other place. Good snorkeling too. A pleasant surprise. We had an upper level two story unit which provided remarkable views from the balconies.

By on Apr 7, 2017

1

birthday trip

Other

We checked into our hotel and found the door closing by using a dead lock only. The phone in the room was not working and we were told it would not be repaired until after the weekend. It was never repaired. We asked for another room and were told that none were available. The fridge never cooled properly and then finally quit two days before checking out. Our milk spoiled and we had no ice. The privacy divider for the bedroom was not on the track and could not be used. We were told the building was scheduled for reconditioning. Friendly staff but nothing got done with phone or fridge. Light bulbs were replaced upon arrival. Our building was located away from the beach in the back of the Marina and there was a lot of foot traffic past our patio. Building F room 106. I feel a partial or full refund is in order.

By on Mar 10, 2015

4

get what you pay for

Family

While our room was wonderful, the resort definitely needs updates. Only one restaurant over in the next property (Sapphire Village) and there's literally no other walkable options for food. Staff at the resort was not welcoming and the pool is in very poor condition.

By on Jul 20, 2014

3

beach time on st thomas

Couples

We stayed at Saphire for 2 nightst after a week in the BVI to do a little unwinding and not have to hassle with the ferry schedules before flying back. We chose Saphire as it was a little cheaper and allowed shorter term stays, as well we could get a condo that opened right onto the beach. The location is great as it's a 3 minute drive from the shops and restaurants of Red Hook. The issue with the property is that it has changed ownership/management hands many times recently and they don't seem to be able to get things up and running. Pool is descent but surrounded by construction debris and there are no real restaurants. Honestly next time I will pay a bit more and go to Bolongo but proximity to RH was a plus.

By on Apr 28, 2014

5

absolutely loved it

Family

Perfection. Absolute beauty and the greatest hospitalityin the world.

By on Apr 10, 2014

2

great space but, everything needs updating

Couples

The staff were all nice . The hotel was not very clean . We only had one burner on our stove that worked and the pans in the kitchen terrible - the Teflon finish was so scrapped off - I went and bought a new pan to use while I was there . I was very disappointed with the hotel .

By on Apr 2, 2014

4

great visit

Friends

Was absolutely wonderful! Can't wait to return. Friendly helpful staff! Couldn't have been more perfect.

By on Mar 27, 2014

2

little run down

Couples

Location is great, price is better than others but you get what you pay for. Our unit was clean but a little noisy and the condos in general are just a bit dated with no signs of repair or upkeep. Probably used to be a nicer place. We had a car so it wasn't a big deal cause we just went to other places. Bed was not that comfortable. We enjoyed the kitchen but no can opener. Also there was an ironing board but no iron. Weird. And asking for things always made the staff seem put out. Beautiful island but wouldn't necessarily stay here again.

By on Mar 8, 2014

4

return to family visit

Couples

Was pleasantly surprised at quality and cleanliness when we opened the door to unit C204 after reading prior reviews. This is not a luxury resort, so one should moderate their expectations in terms of price vs facilities to be fair. Was there for last 3 days of a St. John journey before heading home. Room smelled freshly cleaned (light ammonia smell) and was very clean upon arrival. Linens and room cleaned again on third day – which was fine with us given fresh water limitations and very high utility costs there. Checked for the bedbug scare and that was a non-event. Was surprised there were no other bugs since it is a tropical climate. The decks for the units were in the shade all day at this time of year, which I prefer. Some exterior wood over the deck was dried out, but wood trim in that climate is not a wise choice. Beach and water are fabulous – the pictures on website were not lies. In terms of staff, they were a step above the normal for the islands. At least they didn’t act like they resented you like most other staff at the stores and shops. But times are tough on the islands right now, so make allowances. I would definitely use this facility again.

By on Dec 24, 2012

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/St.-Thomas-Hotels-Sapphire-Beach-Resort.h174032-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /St.-Thomas-Hotels-Sapphire-Beach-Resort.h174032-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/St.-Thomas-Hotels-Sapphire-Beach-Resort.h174032-p2.Hotel-Reviews