Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Old, dirty and house keeping was non existent. We had two towels for four people. Called for extra towels never received them. Called again in the morning and still never received them. Waiting for four hours for our infant crib. Finally made it up at midnight after several calls. Thank goodness it was only a one night stand.

The mattresses were ripped on pull out, pulled couch out and it had trash and dirt underneath it. Staff was unorganized. Paint was coming off walls

The room was not properly cleaned and there were only 2 towels for a 4 person room

The location of the hotel was great, condition was not. Unfortunately it was the only hotel in this area that offered a suite in my price range. The suite was large, and the beds were comfortable; however, there were no blankets on the beds, just 3 sheets. There were no linens provided for the sofa bed. The carpet was in desperate need of replacing. The furniture was out dated and dirty. Whole suite needs painting. The second bathroom was extremely small with a tiny, little shower stall that had an odd faucet about a foot off the floor. Tile in the shower was cracked and the grout was moldy. There was a place for the toilet paper to hang but the rod was missing, so you had to leave it on the counter. The best part of the pool area was the view. There was only one table with 3 chairs. The lounge chairs were dirty and missing straps, so we were afraid to sit on them. The restaurant was closed due to renovations. Hopefully they continue to renovate the rest of the property when they finish with the restaurant.

Close to the Arch and within walking distance to Busch Stadium. Large room with great view. Only 2 towels per person, no hand towels or wash clothes. Needs a little TLC

The hotel was literally disgusting, there were blood stains on the stairway that goes to the pool . We got a sweet so our children could sleep on the pull out couch and when we pulled it out the thing was stained and it had crumbs and garbage on it. My child refused to sleep on it and he is 13 so you can imagine. There were spider webs on the lamps in the living room and stains in the restroom . The view was beautiful but honestly we didn’t even have a blanket in the bed just sheets. Never had this issues before. When complained to the front desk we were offered a complimentary roll away bed , honestly we wanted to leave but didn’t because it was late at night and we had our kids with us

Old, run down, dirty, poor service. The only positive is the great location.

The girl at the check in desk was very friendly and helpful. But she was about the only one. Others just acted like I was invisible. The hotel website claimed it had a bar - which it did but it was completely closed so we had to go to another hotel to have a drink. The AC is controlled centrally and cannot be adjusted in the room so it was hot in the room. I would not stay there again.

There were few employees working the weekend. It took 45 minutes waiting to check in. The rooms were not clean. I would rate this a 2 stars, I will not recommend this hotel, nor will I return.

Very dirty. Pillows were yellow, towels stained. Bathroom dirty. Carpet dirty. Smelled musty

Hour to check in every day. Line was insane. No early check in. No WiFi. No bar. Elevators take forever. Didn’t have one of my rooms. Offered me a refund I still haven’t seen and when I signed for it it wasn’t even half of what I paid. Gave me two rooms with single beds to compensate and we went in to one and it had condoms in the trash. Other people in our party checked in to the Hilton across the street. Super ghetto place. Avoid it.

Property renovation, security staff, and improved customer service. Apartment conversion? Short or long term leasing? The roof top pool seemed to be the main draw.

Room View was Great, but windows were filthy! Air Conditioning barely worked (had to call for a box fan!); Bugs in room; Had to keep calling for clean towels each day; They didn't service the room each day---we had to keep calling and telling them! Carpet was worn and dirty; Old outdated furniture. No toilet paper backup. Several elevators out-of-order each day; Escalators both broken; Lobby lights kept off each night except over their check-in desk. People sitting in the dark. No restaurants in the hotel; No bar. They charged you $20 a day to park your own vehicle in their garage; When you walked into the garage out or the hotel side entrance, their garbage was right there and smelled so foul, it made you want to gag!!!

That is was close to The Arch. That eveyone was helpful. It jad a pool in the rooftop. It had a great view from the rooftop.

The property is nicely located a block from the Arch. We were there for 3 days over the July 4th holiday. Expect to pay $20+ for each day of parking in one of the lots close to the hotel. We had a small room with a King. No control of the temperature. No internet, even though we were connected to the router. No on site bar or place to eat on site. They closed the roof pool at 7 because of events at the arch. We had a moldy shower curtain, and had to go to different floors for ice. If you are a business traveler, this would not be a place to stay. If you are planning on being out most of the time seeing St. Louis, this is a reasonable priced room, just don't expect much.

This hotel has exactly 3 redeeming qualities: location, view, balcony. However, this property is a victim of neglect. Woefully understaffed , it has fallen into disrepair and is desperately in need of updates: furniture, mattresses, doors, bath fixtures, ceilings, balcony doors, etc. The sheets were clean, but nothing else was. Stained curtains, dried splatters on decorative art work, dirt or cob webs in every corner of the ceiling and floor. Inside of windows and frames haven't been cleaned in a long time. The view of the arch is great, but the view of the promenade level outdoor space below clearly demonstrates the level of neglect: Overgrown and dead plantings, entire beds full of nothing but weeds. On the 4th of July, arguably among this hotel's busiest periods other than Cardinals home games, 4 of the 6 elevators were out of service from morning until about 6pm. 2 elevators didn't work at all during our entire stay. This hotel has 29 floors. The escalators were blocked off and not working. The lobby bar was closed the entire time. Our room wasn't touched by housekeeping on day 2 of our stay. I had to ask for towels 4 times, even offering to go to the lobby or wherever else to get them myself. I was told, flatly, "I don't have any towels here [at the front desk]." We eventually got those towels--9 hours later, at 11pm--no joke. If I had not made the mistake of booking and paying for this room several months ago, we would have left within an hour of our arrival.

The location was perfect. We werent able to enjoy or see rhe pool, but a rooftop pool is a neat amenity. The hotel needs updating overall and major cleaning. The parking fee was fairly cheap at $20. The hotel overview states that pull-out sofas are standard so we expected to have one. We ended up with only 2 queen beds and had kids stuck sleeping on the floor. We asked for extra blankets and pillows and were only brought one blanket. We also could not find a working ice machine. Front desk staff were very nice and check in / out was smooth and quick. A deep cleaning and an update could go a long way for this hotel.

The service was terrible. Everyone was rude. Our sheets had blood and hair on them where they had never been washed or changed the floor was never vaccumed there was no towels or toilet paper in the rooms the kitchen part was never mopped wall paper hanging from the walls balcony door wasn’t even on the tracks. This place was absolutely terrible. We will never stay here again. The lady won’t the skunk hair was extremely rude at the front desk along with Shanda. The only nice one there was GIGI and she only worked nights so that was the only time we got anything we needed.

I loved the location and felt safe there. However, they didn't move furniture to clean and the windows opened on the bottoms (flipped inward) with no screen. I was terrified my nearly 2 year old would open the window and fall out! No breakfast, 20 dollars to park per night and pool didn't open until 10a. Some staff were very short and rude. Every day our bed was made a different way meaning more or less linens. It was ok for our needs!

The view of the arch was the only thing we liked. Waited in line for an hour to check in. When checking in they charge my credit card $100 dollars for incidentals. Every ice machine was out of order. House keeping carts left in hallways all the time. Carpet in hallways looked like they haven't been vacuum in years. Bar closed for thr entire weekend.

North 4th Street St. Louis MO

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Gateway Arch and Dome at America’s Center
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Bar/lounge
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Downtown St. Louis, City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Gateway Arch and Dome at America’s Center. This 3.5-star hotel has 440 rooms and welcomes guests with a bar/lounge, an outdoor pool, and a 24-hour fitness center.


Dining

At the end of the day, relax with a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

Guests can enjoy cable TV and stay connected with free WiFi. Beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and designer toiletries. Other standard amenities include a sofa bed, a coffee maker, and a safe.


Property features

At City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel, guests enjoy features like an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and a rooftop terrace. Valet parking is offered for USD 36.00 per day. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with concierge services, luggage storage, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Suite, 2 Bedrooms, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 6

Junior Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel

Everyone (78) Couples (60) Business (30) Family (53) Friends (19) Other (7)
1
Family with small children

Old, dirty and house keeping was non existent. We had two towels for four people. Called for extra towels never received them. Called again in the morning and still never received them. Waiting for four hours for our infant crib. Finally made it up at midnight after several calls. Thank goodness it was only a one night stand.

By , from St. Charles on Sep 5, 2019

1
Family with small children

The mattresses were ripped on pull out, pulled couch out and it had trash and dirt underneath it. Staff was unorganized. Paint was coming off walls

By on Sep 2, 2019

3
Families Partner Couples

The room was not properly cleaned and there were only 2 towels for a 4 person room

By on Aug 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

3
Families

The location of the hotel was great, condition was not. Unfortunately it was the only hotel in this area that offered a suite in my price range. The suite was large, and the beds were comfortable; however, there were no blankets on the beds, just 3 sheets. There were no linens provided for the sofa bed. The carpet was in desperate need of replacing. The furniture was out dated and dirty. Whole suite needs painting. The second bathroom was extremely small with a tiny, little shower stall that had an odd faucet about a foot off the floor. Tile in the shower was cracked and the grout was moldy. There was a place for the toilet paper to hang but the rod was missing, so you had to leave it on the counter. The best part of the pool area was the view. There was only one table with 3 chairs. The lounge chairs were dirty and missing straps, so we were afraid to sit on them. The restaurant was closed due to renovations. Hopefully they continue to renovate the rest of the property when they finish with the restaurant.

By on Aug 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We will be addressing your concerns.

4
Families

Close to the Arch and within walking distance to Busch Stadium. Large room with great view. Only 2 towels per person, no hand towels or wash clothes. Needs a little TLC

By on Aug 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

1
Families

The hotel was literally disgusting, there were blood stains on the stairway that goes to the pool . We got a sweet so our children could sleep on the pull out couch and when we pulled it out the thing was stained and it had crumbs and garbage on it. My child refused to sleep on it and he is 13 so you can imagine. There were spider webs on the lamps in the living room and stains in the restroom . The view was beautiful but honestly we didn’t even have a blanket in the bed just sheets. Never had this issues before. When complained to the front desk we were offered a complimentary roll away bed , honestly we wanted to leave but didn’t because it was late at night and we had our kids with us

By on Aug 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

1
Everyone

Old, run down, dirty, poor service. The only positive is the great location.

By on Jul 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 31, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

2
Families

The girl at the check in desk was very friendly and helpful. But she was about the only one. Others just acted like I was invisible. The hotel website claimed it had a bar - which it did but it was completely closed so we had to go to another hotel to have a drink. The AC is controlled centrally and cannot be adjusted in the room so it was hot in the room. I would not stay there again.

By on Jul 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 31, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

2
Family with small children

There were few employees working the weekend. It took 45 minutes waiting to check in. The rooms were not clean. I would rate this a 2 stars, I will not recommend this hotel, nor will I return.

By on Jul 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 31, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

4
Families

Very dirty. Pillows were yellow, towels stained. Bathroom dirty. Carpet dirty. Smelled musty

By on Jul 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 25, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel

200 North 4th Street, St. Louis, MO 63102
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/St.-Louis-Hotels-City-Place-St.-Louis---Downtown-Hotel.h11832-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /St.-Louis-Hotels-City-Place-St.-Louis---Downtown-Hotel.h11832-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspException: Problem accessing the absolute URL "https://www.orbitz.com/St.-Louis-Hotels-City-Place-St.-Louis---Downtown-Hotel.h11832-p2.Hotel-Reviews". java.io.FileNotFoundException: https://www.orbitz.com/St.-Louis-Hotels-City-Place-St.-Louis---Downtown-Hotel.h11832-p2.Hotel-Reviews