Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

The Inn at Saint Mary's

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

My stay was lovely I definitely enjoyed myself, I will return again, the hotel staff was very nice and I enjoyed great food, and a nice and cozy room

Great location for the 3 colleges. Great breakfast.

Have stayed here in past and really liked the hotel; so perhaps just bad luck this time, but several issues marred my experience. 1. Noisy. Spacious room in fine condition but had several noise problems. Most/all (?) rooms appear to have adjoining doors; I could hear the couple in the next room opening a plastic bag, breathing etc. So at 11:30 pm front desk kindly gave me a different room. Unfortunately neighbors to new room came in and woke me up at 1:00a.m. whooping, laughing, etc until front desk asked them to be quiet. Upshot: hotel seems to attract those who party and rooms not so soundproofed. 2. Breakfast not great. Somewhat lacking in healthy options so I had oatmeal. Fine first day but on the second morning I am POSITIVE it was a sad attempt to reheat the previous day's leftover oatmeal. (At 7:30 it was barely tepid and the consistency of nearly hardened concrete. Pretty nasty tasting too.) Kind of disgusting.

Outstanding front desk and maintenance staff. I would say that the rooms were comfortable and very clean, but that they're on the verge of needing an upgrade. Sometimes our TV worked and sometimes it didn't. The mattresses were good but beginning to be worn where people sit on the edge. It would've been nice to have a place to hang up our clothes. The hot breakfast buffet was excellent, although it would have been nice if they had wiped down the tables in between customers in the dining room. Both mornings we were there it was difficult to wipe syrup or crumbs off of the table with just napkins. Still, an excellent value conveniently situated!

Great lobby and comfortable king bed. Very clean and wonderful breakfast.

Special place ESP for a parent dropping ND student off !!

While we were only there for about 10 hours (late check in-early departure), it was a good ten hours! Helpful check in, spotless room, quiet room, & a pretty decent self serve breakfast. All in all, a solid choice!

This hotel was an ok stay but they charged me twice and it's been difficult to get it resolved (two attempts without resolution). This sours my opinion.

Hotel is nice but way over priced. A lot of hotels offer all the same things at a lower price. The bar in the lobby is nice convenience that most other hotels on this level don't have.

While most rooms with 2 beds would have Queen size, this had 2 double beds. That is the only item of concern.

All amenities one would expect for the price were there. The staff was friendly, room were very clean and breakfast was good and was included in the room rate. The hotel was close to the ND campus also. There was ample of parkinf space.

Shuttle service was extremely friendly and more than willing to take us around to the landmarks. Loved having breakfast included with our stay too!

The staff was very courteous and helpful. The continental breakfast is extensive. The location is particularly convenient for traveling to the University of Notre Dame.

Stayed three nights visiting relatives for 8th grade graduation. Room was very clean with upscale decorations. Lobby is well furnished. Room could use a small fridge and/or microwave. Also, they need to install exhaust fans in the bathrooms; with the door closed it gets very steamy quickly. Did not hear a lot of noise from the hallway even though a large contingent of teenagers was staying there the last night of our stay for a soccer game/tournament. The continental breakfast was subpar; they could upgrade with bacon everyday and add english muffins, more bread variety, maybe pancakes instead of waffles. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

As we stayed ten days we would have liked a little more variety in breakfast and possibly natural eggs instead the boxed ones, but in general we were very happy because everything was excellent. The staff was ready to help immediately. We would come to The Inn at Saint Marys again without any doubt.

Full breakfast, 4 different coffee choices, plenty of room in the breakfast nook, they even provide food boxes to take to your room. Very nice open area, close to Notre Dame, St. Mary's, and Holy Cross campus, all within walking distance, although they do have a shuttle that if you let them know in advance, they will try and take you to the Notre Dame campus. Very clean, nice exercise room, just can't say enough good about it.

This is. learly the. icest place to stay around notre dame. clean, friendly and a great breakfast

Nice price and very friendly concierge!

Quick overnight for orientation. Nice place, but bring your own pillow. The pillows are like rocks, and the front desk did not have any other options.

The hotel was extremely nice and it included an excellent buffet breakfast. They tried to charge me again for the stay. The desk person for both check in and to dispute the charge was not all that friendly. I waited for about ten minutes, number one in line, to check in while she was on the phone with a future customer. When she finished she never apologized for my wait, nor was she very courteous. She wasn't rude - she just wasn't what you expect.

53993 Indiana State Route 933 South Bend IN

Hotel highlights

  • Close to University of Notre Dame
  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

St. Mary's College is within a 5-minute walk of The Inn at Saint Mary's while other popular sites like Basilica of the Sacred Heart are within a mile (2 km). This 150-room, 3-star hotel has free in-room WiFi along with free self parking and a free airport shuttle. Near the airport, it's also near University of Notre Dame and Studebaker National Museum.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning. This hotel is home to a bistro and a bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

All 150 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, free newspapers, and free local calls. 32-inch LCD TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries, and beds sport Egyptian cotton sheets. Ironing boards and desks are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of The Inn at Saint Mary's enjoy a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a conference center. There's free parking, as well as a free airport shuttle (available on request). The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and free use of bicycles.

Room options

Premier Suite, Multiple Beds (2 Double Beds, Sofa Sleeper)

Full 2 | Sleeps 6

Premier Room, 2 Full Beds (Double)

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Premier Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Premier Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for The Inn at Saint Mary's

Everyone (7) Couples (15) Business (6) Family (17) Other (1) Friends (1)
5

nice 5 star hotel

Everyone

My stay was lovely I definitely enjoyed myself, I will return again, the hotel staff was very nice and I enjoyed great food, and a nice and cozy room

By on Mar 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 3, 2017

Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, don’t hesitate to call us.

5
Everyone

Great location for the 3 colleges. Great breakfast.

By on Dec 18, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2016

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you back soon.

3

nice, but not great.

Everyone

Have stayed here in past and really liked the hotel; so perhaps just bad luck this time, but several issues marred my experience. 1. Noisy. Spacious room in fine condition but had several noise problems. Most/all (?) rooms appear to have adjoining doors; I could hear the couple in the next room opening a plastic bag, breathing etc. So at 11:30 pm front desk kindly gave me a different room. Unfortunately neighbors to new room came in and woke me up at 1:00a.m. whooping, laughing, etc until front desk asked them to be quiet. Upshot: hotel seems to attract those who party and rooms not so soundproofed. 2. Breakfast not great. Somewhat lacking in healthy options so I had oatmeal. Fine first day but on the second morning I am POSITIVE it was a sad attempt to reheat the previous day's leftover oatmeal. (At 7:30 it was barely tepid and the consistency of nearly hardened concrete. Pretty nasty tasting too.) Kind of disgusting.

By on Nov 14, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 16, 2016

Dear Guest, thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad night's sleep because of your neighbors. Also we are currently looking into more healthy choices for breakfast. If you have some opinion please let us know. Hope your stay in South Bend was otherwise enjoyable and hope to see you back some day.

4

good value close to turnpike and notre dame

Everyone

Outstanding front desk and maintenance staff. I would say that the rooms were comfortable and very clean, but that they're on the verge of needing an upgrade. Sometimes our TV worked and sometimes it didn't. The mattresses were good but beginning to be worn where people sit on the edge. It would've been nice to have a place to hang up our clothes. The hot breakfast buffet was excellent, although it would have been nice if they had wiped down the tables in between customers in the dining room. Both mornings we were there it was difficult to wipe syrup or crumbs off of the table with just napkins. Still, an excellent value conveniently situated!

By , from OH on Nov 4, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 7, 2016

Dear Melissa. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, don’t hesitate to call us.

5

great hotel. great location for nd activities

Everyone

Great lobby and comfortable king bed. Very clean and wonderful breakfast.

By on Aug 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 24, 2016

Thank you for your review.

4

great

Everyone

Special place ESP for a parent dropping ND student off !!

By , from O on Aug 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 24, 2016

Thank you for your review

4

short, but good stay.

Everyone

While we were only there for about 10 hours (late check in-early departure), it was a good ten hours! Helpful check in, spotless room, quiet room, & a pretty decent self serve breakfast. All in all, a solid choice!

By on Aug 10, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, don’t hesitate to call us.

3

billing practices poor

Couples

This hotel was an ok stay but they charged me twice and it's been difficult to get it resolved (two attempts without resolution). This sours my opinion.

By on Sep 22, 2014

3

too much money!

Singles

Hotel is nice but way over priced. A lot of hotels offer all the same things at a lower price. The bar in the lobby is nice convenience that most other hotels on this level don't have.

By on Jul 7, 2014

4

great location

Couples

While most rooms with 2 beds would have Queen size, this had 2 double beds. That is the only item of concern.

By on Jul 2, 2014