Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

We stayed on an off week and the rates were very good. Rooms are well kept. A short walk to the beach. Because of COVID, breakfast and pool area's are closed and maid service is every 3 days. But they will replace your towels sooner if requested. The fresh coffee machine in the lobby has some of the best and freshest hotel coffee that I have had from a machine. It's freshly ground for each cup. Since checkout is at 11:00 AM, if would be nice if they had an indoor shower and changing room so that you can spend some time at the beach after checking out and shower before the drive home.

The hotel is clean, staff is professional and friendly. , location is steps to the ocean. I would just reply the linens. They look like they needed to be replaced at least 2 years ago.

It was clean. There were very few other guests at this time of year.

Great location for beach access, friendly helpful staff, basic but clean and comfortable rooms

Location close to the beach and 5 min drive to the outlets & boardwalk

Our room was clean and the staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was awful, the hot foods were cold and the bagels were stale

The pictures are deceiving. It is run down in the halls and dirty. The parking garage has access to each floor so ANYONE can get into the hotel. This is not safe. The pool was terrible. And the linens were dingy. The room was semi clean. It was way to expensive for a motel environment.

We arrived early on a Saturday and the staff was wonderful, let us park there and called us around 1 to let us know our room was ready. We checked in and went to our room which was clean and spacious. The hallways of this hotel are in desperate need of a coat of paint and new rugs. Once we checked in and started to unpack we heard VERY loud music and even louder singing. I immediately went back downstairs and asked to be moved. There were no other rooms in the hotel available so I requested a refund. I was willing to go all the way back home to New Jersey. I was told that I could not have a refund and they would call up to the room and issue a "warning". I asked what my options were should this go on longer. I was told that one warning is issued and then the people are evicted. I was able to relax a little because I thought there would be repercussions for their behavior. We headed to the beach for 4 hours, came back only to having even more people singing at the top of their lungs.I called downstairs and was told that they were warned and the staff would take care of it. We got ready and went out to eat. 4 hours later, it was even worse. I again called the front desk. I was told they would take care of it again. This went on until 5 am. We finally got some sleep, got up and checked out even though we hand it booked for Sunday also. The front desk said a manager would call me. It is Tuesday and no call from anyone. Our vacation was ruined.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast has been upgraded since the last time I stayed there to include more variety and better coffee choices.

The pool on the roof was cute. The breakfast was basic, and not good for a vegetarian or gluten free. The room was dirty- the floor left our feet BLACK!!!

Great location, clean room, friendly staff, nice breakfast included with good coffee available all the time. I would definitely stay here again!

Proximity to the beach and restaurants; the competence of the staff.

Rooms were clean, staff friendly and helpful. Close to the beach, as well as close to good bar/restaurants.

Coastal Highway One Dewey Beach DE

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Business center
  • Laundry facilities

Gold Leaf Hotel of Dewey-Rehoboth Beach places you next to Baycenter for the Performing Arts and within a 5-minute walk of Dewey Beach. This 75-room hotel has in-room conveniences like refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers.


Rooms

Gold Leaf Hotel of Dewey-Rehoboth Beach's 75 rooms are air-conditioned and provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can enjoy satellite TV and stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Free newspapers, ironing boards, and free toiletries are also standard.


Property features

At Gold Leaf Hotel of Dewey-Rehoboth Beach, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and a computer station. Free parking is included with your stay. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free newspapers, laundry facilities, and a vending machine.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Triple Room, Refrigerator & Microwave

3 Double Beds | Sleeps 6

Standard Double Room, Refrigerator & Microwave

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Double Room, Accessible, Refrigerator & Microwave

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Gold Leaf Hotel of Dewey-Rehoboth Beach

Everyone (22) Couples (6) Family (7)
5
Partner Couples

We stayed on an off week and the rates were very good. Rooms are well kept. A short walk to the beach. Because of COVID, breakfast and pool area's are closed and maid service is every 3 days. But they will replace your towels sooner if requested. The fresh coffee machine in the lobby has some of the best and freshest hotel coffee that I have had from a machine. It's freshly ground for each cup. Since checkout is at 11:00 AM, if would be nice if they had an indoor shower and changing room so that you can spend some time at the beach after checking out and shower before the drive home.

By , from NE Pennsylvania on Sep 16, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 23, 2020

Dear Bill, So glad you got to enjoy our prime location. Thanks for the kind review. It would be nice to have an indoor shower and bathroom. Thanks again, hope to see you on your next visit to Dewey Beach.

3
Family

The hotel is clean, staff is professional and friendly. , location is steps to the ocean. I would just reply the linens. They look like they needed to be replaced at least 2 years ago.

By on Aug 13, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We love to hear how much our guests enjoyed their stay with us, however saddened to hear about the linens. I will speak to housekeeping and make sure they retire older linens and bring out the new. Thanks again. Hope to see you on your next visit to Dewey Beach.

4
Partner Couples Family

It was clean. There were very few other guests at this time of year.

By on Mar 14, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2020

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Happy to hear it was clean. Hope to see you next time you visit Dewey Beach. Sincerely, Maria

4
Family

Great location for beach access, friendly helpful staff, basic but clean and comfortable rooms

By on Dec 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 24, 2019

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing to stay with us and leaving us a great review. We're happy to know you enjoyed our clean, comfortable, prime location with a friendly helpful staff. Hoping to see you again on your next visit to Dewey Beach. Sincerely, Maria

5
Partner Couples

Location close to the beach and 5 min drive to the outlets & boardwalk

By , from Nj on Nov 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 10, 2019

Dear Lucy, Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed our prime location and hope to see you again on your next visit to Dewey Beach. Sincerely, Maria

3
Family with small children Partner Couples

Our room was clean and the staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was awful, the hot foods were cold and the bagels were stale

By on Oct 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 11, 2019

Dear Guest, We would like to apologize for your recent experience. We're sorry to hear you were less than satisfied with our continental breakfast. Hot foods being cold and the bagels being stale is unacceptable, thanks for letting us know. I'll share this review with our breakfast staff and manager. I understand how frustrating this experience must have been for you; as your review indicates breakfast is no where near our high standards. Obviously we must do a better job training our breakfast staff, so this doesn't happen again. It’s important to us that our customers are more than satisfied. Please accept our apologies. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Dewey Beach. Sincerely, Maria

4
Everyone

By on Sep 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 10, 2019

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Hope to see you on your next visit to Dewey Beach. Sincerely, Maria

3
Family

The pictures are deceiving. It is run down in the halls and dirty. The parking garage has access to each floor so ANYONE can get into the hotel. This is not safe. The pool was terrible. And the linens were dingy. The room was semi clean. It was way to expensive for a motel environment.

By , from NJ on Aug 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 5, 2019

Dear TE, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve the guest experience. I was disappointed to learn of the shortcomings you experienced and we're currently taking steps to correct these issues. So they won't happen again. You'll be happy to know we were having commercial dryer problems. The dryers were getting so hot they turned our towels gray. However, new ones have been ordered and the dryers have been fixed. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Dewey Beach. Again please accept our apologies for not meeting our high standards this time around. Sincerely, Maria

2
Partner Couples

We arrived early on a Saturday and the staff was wonderful, let us park there and called us around 1 to let us know our room was ready. We checked in and went to our room which was clean and spacious. The hallways of this hotel are in desperate need of a coat of paint and new rugs. Once we checked in and started to unpack we heard VERY loud music and even louder singing. I immediately went back downstairs and asked to be moved. There were no other rooms in the hotel available so I requested a refund. I was willing to go all the way back home to New Jersey. I was told that I could not have a refund and they would call up to the room and issue a "warning". I asked what my options were should this go on longer. I was told that one warning is issued and then the people are evicted. I was able to relax a little because I thought there would be repercussions for their behavior. We headed to the beach for 4 hours, came back only to having even more people singing at the top of their lungs.I called downstairs and was told that they were warned and the staff would take care of it. We got ready and went out to eat. 4 hours later, it was even worse. I again called the front desk. I was told they would take care of it again. This went on until 5 am. We finally got some sleep, got up and checked out even though we hand it booked for Sunday also. The front desk said a manager would call me. It is Tuesday and no call from anyone. Our vacation was ruined.

By on Aug 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 4, 2019

Dear Guest, We're so sorry you had to experience this during your stay. Happy to know our Manager has helped you solve this issue. Thanks again for letting us know. Sincerely, Lisa

3
Everyone

By on Aug 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 19, 2019

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to leave a review. Hope to see you on your next visit to Dewey Beach. Sincerely, Maria

Gold Leaf Hotel of Dewey-Rehoboth Beach

1400 Coastal Highway One, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2410
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Rehoboth-Beach-Hotels-Gold-Leaf-Hotel-of-Dewey-Rehoboth-Beach.h17444119-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Rehoboth-Beach-Hotels-Gold-Leaf-Hotel-of-Dewey-Rehoboth-Beach.h17444119-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Rehoboth-Beach-Hotels-Gold-Leaf-Hotel-of-Dewey-Rehoboth-Beach.h17444119-p2.Hotel-Reviews