Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Excellent resort. We couldn’t ask for a better family vacation.

room cleaning service was terrible.Staff and reception where doing their job very good. selection of food was great good.

This was my 3rd. Time at this resort. I was very happy and satisfied with the place. What realy impressed me the most was the cleanliness of the bath rooms at the beach, lobby. Pool area. The werr very well maintained.

The beach was great. Tons of palm trees and chairs to relax on. However, the service was mediocre. Some staff were friendly and others offered no acknowledgment we were even there (ignoring us and texting on phones). The food was honestly...horrible. Our room had a musty/moldy smell that we could barely stand. Hardly slept. We made the best of it, but will not return.

I was very disappointed by their terrible customer service. We tried making reservations at the restaurants and each time the staff stated their system was down come back; we never were able to eat at the restaurants and they didn’t offer to even write our names down or another way to reserve. This trip unfortunately I would say did not meet our expectations. The food was cold at mealtime, snack, and room service. If we arrived as soon as the buffet opened we could catch warm food. The buildings were not kept up and cleanliness behind the bar in the main lobby was actually gross. I unfortunately had a family emergency at the end of our trip and needed to reach the Expedia representative and the phone in my room did not work calling out so I went to the lobby to call where I was then turned away and told they would not help me and I needed to use the phone in my room even after explaining it didn’t work. I was able to find someone with a cellphone who helped us in our difficult time. I at this point would never go back to this hotel or recommend to others.

nice hotel, preferably will request room facing pool or beach

Horrible food and service. Staff was extremely rude. The worst food I’ve ever had at any resort. Don’t waste your money! Far from a 4 star hotel! There are better resorts

Facilities OK but disorganized unsafe conditions and an inability to keep us safe i.e. slippery pool decks resulting in my falling and breaking a hip. They had no idea what to do about it and wound up shipping me off to some immediate care place I was understaffed And not equipped to handle emergencies.

The maid service was excellent. One of our group broke his hip at the pool. The staff was not helpful. It wan’t until the next that Gabby from Expedia got involved when things got better. Gabby was amazing.

The property is walking distance to the beach. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay superb. The food and the beach were great as well. I wish there were more outside entertainment/activities for the children vs an indoor room of the kids club. Other than that, I would recommend the place and would come back again

Great resort! Beautiful beaches & pools! Very well kept up & clean. Our room was by a noisy stairway so that was a pain at times but overall it was fine. Food was good. Not gourmet but good. Lots of restaurants to choose from. Our biggest complaint was the lack of communication about night life activity at Esmeralda but also at the other hotels so we could see shows etc at night. It would be nice to have that posted or on paper flyers. Overall great place!

Nice hotel, drinks could be better with more variety. Morre tequila, mexican beer.

Very nice hotel, close to beach. Good was very delicious.

PROS: Entertainment was good...diverse music/dancing every evening around the hotel. I traveled with my 3-month old, so the late night club and bar scene was not for me. It was nice to be able to sit outside and listen to some nice music. The buffet also had a pretty good selection of food everyday and even though I stayed at Esmeralda, I was able to make reservations at any “a la carte” restaurant in the other Bahia Principe Hotels for dinner, which was nice. Overall the staff was also nice. CONS: The room was very disappointing. It wasn’t clean like it should be at any hotel/resort. The curtains/bed sheets looked so worn out and out of date, bathroom smelled funny and had some water stains all around, bed was too firm for my preference, and there were a TON of mosquitos hanging above the bed and around the room. I must have killed more than 10 the first couple of days, which was awful with my baby in the room as well. I was also freezing the first night. I had to turn off the air conditioner completely because the temperature would not change, as much I tried to raise the thermostat. There was also a lot of humidity in the room. I hung my towel on the hook of the bathroom after I showered the first time and it was still damp the next day. Lastly, don’t go to the spa. It’s so overpriced and not worth the expense. I went for a pedicure. It was supposed to be 1 hour for $55, but the woman was done after only 35min. Nothing special.

Great place to go for vacation! Great service! Amazing job by entertainment team during full day long every day and evening! Wander - thank you and to your friends/team members! We will be back!

Arena Gorda Macao Punta Cana La Altagracia

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Arena Gorda Beach
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Arena Gorda Beach is within a 5-minute walk of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda - All Inclusive while other popular sites like Hard Rock Golf Club at Cana Bay are within a few miles (5 km). This 570-room, 4-star property welcomes business and leisure travelers with 2 outdoor pools, a golf course, and a full-service spa.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:30 AM. There are multiple options for onsite dining with 4 restaurants, including Jazmin, which specializes in international cuisine. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service.


Rooms

A plasma TV comes with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds are dressed in pillow menus and the bathroom offers a jetted tub, a rainfall showerhead, a hair dryer, and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include free minibar items, a balcony, and a sofa bed.


Property features

Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda - All Inclusive features a golf course, a full-service spa, and 2 outdoor pools. There's free parking and an airport shuttle for a fee. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with luggage storage, dry cleaning/laundry, and tours or tickets. Other amenities at this all-inclusive property include a casino, a free water park, and a nightclub.

Room options

Junior Suite Deluxe

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Junior Suite (Deluxe)

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Junior Suite Deluxe

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Everyone (40) Couples (58) Family (47) Other (3) Friends (12)
5
Family with small children Families

Excellent resort. We couldn’t ask for a better family vacation.

By on Aug 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 29, 2019

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience, which gives us an opportunity to evaluate our performance. We feel glad to know that you spent an excellent family vacaction with us. Please do not hesitate to visit our website where you can find all information and update of our Hotels. Kindest regards, Valentina Checo Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

5
Everyone

By on Jul 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 11, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your rating! We would have liked to know more about your stay, but in the same way, we thank you for choosing us as an option for your vacations. Please do not hesitate to visit our website where you can find all information and update of our Hotels. Kindest regards, Valentina Checo Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

4
Families

room cleaning service was terrible.Staff and reception where doing their job very good. selection of food was great good.

By on Jun 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 3, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We would love to cater you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, so you can follow enjoyed our beautiful Hotel and services. Best regards, Luz Caraballo Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

5
Everyone

By on Jun 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 18, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your rating! We would have liked to know more about your stay, but in the same way, we thank you for choosing us as an option for your vacations. Please do not hesitate to visit our website where you can find all information and update of our Hotels. Kindest regards, Luz Caraballo Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

5
Partner Couples

This was my 3rd. Time at this resort. I was very happy and satisfied with the place. What realy impressed me the most was the cleanliness of the bath rooms at the beach, lobby. Pool area. The werr very well maintained.

By on May 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 2, 2019

Dear Guest, It is a pleasure for all of us to know that you enjoyed a nice in time our Resort. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda. Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or need assistance. Always your disposal, Luz Caraballo Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

2
Partner Couples

The beach was great. Tons of palm trees and chairs to relax on. However, the service was mediocre. Some staff were friendly and others offered no acknowledgment we were even there (ignoring us and texting on phones). The food was honestly...horrible. Our room had a musty/moldy smell that we could barely stand. Hardly slept. We made the best of it, but will not return.

By on May 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 2, 2019

Dear Guest, We are really sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations with our services. We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration. Always your disposal, Luz Caraballo Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

5
Everyone

By on Apr 14, 2019

Review comment responded on May 1, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your rating! We would have liked to know more about your stay, but in the same way, we thank you for choosing us as an option for your vacations. Please do not hesitate to visit our website where you can find all information and update of our Hotels. Kindest regards, Luz Caraballo Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

2
Everyone

I was very disappointed by their terrible customer service. We tried making reservations at the restaurants and each time the staff stated their system was down come back; we never were able to eat at the restaurants and they didn’t offer to even write our names down or another way to reserve. This trip unfortunately I would say did not meet our expectations. The food was cold at mealtime, snack, and room service. If we arrived as soon as the buffet opened we could catch warm food. The buildings were not kept up and cleanliness behind the bar in the main lobby was actually gross. I unfortunately had a family emergency at the end of our trip and needed to reach the Expedia representative and the phone in my room did not work calling out so I went to the lobby to call where I was then turned away and told they would not help me and I needed to use the phone in my room even after explaining it didn’t work. I was able to find someone with a cellphone who helped us in our difficult time. I at this point would never go back to this hotel or recommend to others.

By on Mar 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2019

Dear Guest, We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. The comments of our guests are very important, Please rest assured that we have taken your observations into great consideration. Kind regards, Luz Caraballo Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

4
Everyone

nice hotel, preferably will request room facing pool or beach

By on Feb 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 5, 2019

Dear Guest, It is a pleasure for all of us to know that you enjoyed a nice time our Resort. We are looking forward to welcoming you in your proximate vacations Punta Cana! Always your disposal, Luz Caraballo Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

3
Everyone

By on Feb 1, 2019

Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda - All Inclusive

Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana, La Altagracia 23000
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Punta-Cana-Hotels-Luxury-Bahia-Principe-Esmeralda---All-Inclusive.h3814135-p2.Hotel-Reviews