Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Did not get our our vip breakfast and was rude about it.

No food or drinks allowed in the rooms. Blatantly designed to make guests use their exorbitant restaurant/bar. Remote dirt unsecured parking lot to make you use pricey valet. Balcony was not private, but shared. Elevators out- had to use service elevator. Charged an unmentioned deposit which I HOPE they will return. Forced to wear wristband or $25 penalty. Will not stay there again.

The place is ok. The location is nice. The make you wait for an hour to just get a room key. Check in is at 4:00pm and they wont allow you to do it anytime before that. You can pay everything and get your bracelet a few hours earlier to be allowed to use the pool but at the time of getting your room key there is an line that is mixed with people that needs to check in and pay and I waited an hiur in line just to get to the counter a d get a key. Parking in premises used to be free, first come first serve. Now parking in premises charge $10 otherwise you can use the space the have off premises about a block away.

All of the food was incredible. The restaurants were well priced.

A bit dated the rooms , no room service after 10 pm (I called 10.05 pm ) especially for the price US$ 200.00 / night , Aircondition very good, please be advised you will be asked not only to pay the resort fee as mentioned on the expedia website but also to give an extra US$ 100.00 security deposit for damages to the room which might occur??!! I am 55 I am not a spring breaker :)

Coffee was really bad. Weak tasteless and not worth 50 more characters.

Loved it! Beautiful property and the staff was so kind and helpful. :) Would stay there again in the future.

All the staff was very nice and helpful. The place was super clean.

A great experience. Close to the beach. I will definitely go back

I cancelled my reservation a week in advance and they elected to keep the entire payment the trip. Terrible policy. Will never stay there.

I like the swim up bar and the close proximity to the beach. I did not like the taxi drivers who did not answer their phones when I called back for a ride to the hotel. I ended up paying double to use another taxi service. These drivers should be held accountable. We requested a particular driver and was told that they go in order. It is a reason as to why we like using a particular driver. We don't have any issues out of him but with other drivers we do. When reported to the front desk they just said to call the hotel directly. The one bedroom suite was basic. Not worth the price for a suite. The kitchen needs to be redone. No water pressure in sink. Toilet handle was very loose. More decor would brighten up the suite. Balcony was great due to the view. Maid staff was very friendly and check in and check out was flawless. No one answers the phone at night when you call down to front desk. I tried two nights in a row and held the phone for over 3-5 mins each time. I have stayed here before. While the rooms need some updating, the price you pay will give you comfort with a few amenities. Don't depend on the consistency of the wifi as it disconnected from all of our electronic devices several times a day. We would connect, then a few minutes later, it auto disconnected. Front desk states nothing was wrong but it clearly was. We have new phones and tablets and they worked everywhere else we traveled for the last two months but every time we come here, they have issues.

Paseo de las Glorias No 1 Puerto Peñasco SON

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free secured self parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Bella Vista within a short walk of Bonita Beach, Peñasco del Sol is within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular sights such as El Malecón. This 208-room, 3.5-star hotel has a restaurant along with conveniences like a full-service spa and a private beach.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Fire Pit Meat & Grill, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/cafe. Start each morning with buffet breakfast, available for a fee from 7 AM to noon.


Rooms

32-inch plasma TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding and down comforters ensure a restful night. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, ceiling fans, and safes.


Property features

At Peñasco del Sol, guests enjoy a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a children's pool. Free parking is available if you drive. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and securing valuables. If you like to take your furry friend along on your adventures, this pet-friendly property offers food and water bowls. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a computer station, and express check-in.

Room options

Sea View Master Suite

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Double Room, Patio, Pool View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 3

Superior Double Room, Beach View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Double Room, Pool View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Peñasco del Sol

Everyone (21) Couples (3) Family (4)
1
Family

Did not get our our vip breakfast and was rude about it.

By on Dec 28, 2022

Review comment responded on Dec 28, 2022

Good morning Dear Mr. Knodelthank you for your preference.According to your request, we regret to inform you that your reservation does not include breakfast. If you have any questions, please contact Orbitz.com directly.Best regards

2
Partner Couples

No food or drinks allowed in the rooms. Blatantly designed to make guests use their exorbitant restaurant/bar. Remote dirt unsecured parking lot to make you use pricey valet. Balcony was not private, but shared. Elevators out- had to use service elevator. Charged an unmentioned deposit which I HOPE they will return. Forced to wear wristband or $25 penalty. Will not stay there again.

By on Mar 31, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2022

Dear Alan We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at PEÑASCO DEL SOL HOTEL. For us it is very important to know the opinion of our guests. Our apologies for the inconveniences that have occurred. We inform you that all condominiums and prestigious hotels located in Puerto Peñasco have the same access regulations, which can be found in the email that was sent to you with your reservation confirmation. We would like to inform you that by indications of the pertinent governmental instances, and by health and hygiene protocols according to the pandemic we are going through, the coolers, food and beverages outside the hotel, are totally prohibited. We thank you for your visit and hope you will soon give us the opportunity to be your hosts again on your next visit to Puerto Peñasco.

1
Friends

The place is ok. The location is nice. The make you wait for an hour to just get a room key. Check in is at 4:00pm and they wont allow you to do it anytime before that. You can pay everything and get your bracelet a few hours earlier to be allowed to use the pool but at the time of getting your room key there is an line that is mixed with people that needs to check in and pay and I waited an hiur in line just to get to the counter a d get a key. Parking in premises used to be free, first come first serve. Now parking in premises charge $10 otherwise you can use the space the have off premises about a block away.

By on Jul 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 4, 2021

Dear Guest We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at PEÑASCO DEL SOL HOTEL, for us it is very important to know the opinion of our guests. Please note that valet parking is an additional service offered by the hotel and as you mentioned it has an extra cost of $10.00 USD, we also have a completely free space at the end of the street. The valet parking service is optional. Thank you in advance and we are at your service.

4
Family

All of the food was incredible. The restaurants were well priced.

By on Jul 24, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 26, 2021

Dear Guest We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at PEÑASCO DEL SOL HOTEL. It is a great pleasure to know you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We value the time you give us to post your review. Please come back soon, we will be waiting for you to offer you our best service. Thank you in advance and we are at your service any time

3
Everyone

A bit dated the rooms , no room service after 10 pm (I called 10.05 pm ) especially for the price US$ 200.00 / night , Aircondition very good, please be advised you will be asked not only to pay the resort fee as mentioned on the expedia website but also to give an extra US$ 100.00 security deposit for damages to the room which might occur??!! I am 55 I am not a spring breaker :)

By on Jul 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 22, 2021

Dear Guest We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at PEÑASCO DEL SOL HOTEL, for us it is very important to know the opinion of our guests. We have known about the inconveniences to enjoy your stay with us; for that reason, we are contacting you in order to offer our sincere apologies. Let you know that we are working in our opportunity areas to offer our guest the service they deserve. Let us the chance to be your host in the next visit to Puerto Peñasco, we are sure we will cover all your expectations. Thank you in advance and we are at your service any time

4
Everyone

By on Jul 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 26, 2021

Apreciable Huésped. Agradecemos sus comentarios referentes a su reciente estancia en PEÑASCO DEL SOL HOTEL. Es un gran gusto saber que disfrutó plenamente de su visita. Valoramos el tiempo que nos regala para postear su reseña. Por favor regrese pronto, le estaremos esperando para consentirle nuevamente. Gracias de antemano y estamos para servirle

5
Everyone

By on Apr 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2021

Dear Guest We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at PEÑASCO DEL SOL HOTEL. It is a great pleasure to know you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We value the time you give us to post your review. Please come back soon, we will be waiting for you to offer you our best service. Thank you in advance and we are at your service any time

5
Everyone

By on Mar 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 6, 2021

Dear Guest We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at PEÑASCO DEL SOL HOTEL. It is a great pleasure to know you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We value the time you give us to post your review. Please come back soon, we will be waiting for you to offer you our best service. Thank you in advance and we are at your service any time

5
Everyone

Coffee was really bad. Weak tasteless and not worth 50 more characters.

By , from Punta punasco on Oct 14, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2020

Dear Guest We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at PEÑASCO DEL SOL HOTEL. It is a great pleasure to know you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We value the time you give us to post your review. Please come back soon, we will be waiting for you to offer you our best service.

3
Everyone

By on Sep 9, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 16, 2020

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Puerto-Peñasco-Hotels-Peñasco-del-Sol.h891101-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Puerto-Peñasco-Hotels-Peñasco-del-Sol.h891101-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Puerto-Peñasco-Hotels-Peñasco-del-Sol.h891101-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions