Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

It was a membership club. I didn’t expect that at all.

The hotel is beautiful from the road and walking up to check in. The staff was friendly upon check in and taking us to our room. We researched hotels & locations a bunch prior to booking - and since I recently stayed at another Muy'Ono Resort recently - which was AMAZING - I thought this would be a good choice. nce we got to our room, a 2 bedroom suite, which looked beautiful in the pictures - it all started. The room was filthy. NOTHING like the photos. Floors and bathrooms were disgusting and dirty. My feet were black from the filthy floor. The "suite" was really just two weirdly adjoining rooms with an awkward hallway that also led to another room door which could be rented out and WAS rented out - you could hear that person as if they were in the same room as you. Once we asked to be moved and that the room was dirty - the housekeeping came - clearly very frustrated, to show us another room that was the exact same condition. The front desk was NOT helpful. We asked if we could even switch to a King room - even thought we PAID to have a kitchen and two rooms - but she said none were available - even though the resort was basically empty. This was my 10th trip to Belize and even having family that lives in the country - i've never been bit by so many bugs. There was cockroaches on the dock where we had dinner and wild raccoons on the beach at night. They said this was "normal" - but I know for a fact you can spray for bugs which would help significantly.

We were not given the upgraded room we paid for. Several others had the same problem. After 3 days they moved us and the jacuzzi tub did not work. Don’t stay here, many better places to stay!!

It's a bit far away form Placencia village, but hotel provides free shuttle. A bit of a pain to wait for the driver to bet back, as they are not always on time. Rooms are clean and restaurant is great. One issue - we couldn't use the pictured pier with a gazebo and bar much (if ever) because there was a convention there and they kept other tourists off that pier, while kids from convention occupied the pier of breakfast, lunch, dinner and all activities.

BEWARE!!! Do not go to this resort. Our recent experience was horrible. We reserved and paid our hotel thru orbtz, and upon arrival we were turned away because of my disability. Manager did not have the decency to come out and speak with me so I could explain my situation. I travel with my service dog, with all necessary documents (doctors note, vaccines, permits, USDA certificate etc) and front desk said I could not be on the property with an "animal". I assumed that a manager of a supposed fine resort would have the education to have me explain my situation and even go as far as to explain my conditions (something in the US I would never have to do) yet SHE refused to speak with me, in person nor by phone. This was during a Belize holiday, so everything was booked. We had just driven 3hours to the beach and were stranded with no where to stay. They discriminate again people with disabilities, therefor violating Americans with Disabilities act. Although they are not in the US, they are serving US tourist, so I would strongly suggest staying away from this resort, as it could be you being discriminated against. On a different note, this hotel is NOT close to the city, and is actually VERY FAR from everything. Ggle maps and Appl maps has it closer to the city then it actually is and was why we had chosen this hotel to begin with. The ignorance of the staff and upper management does not allow them to solve problems or think critically. If you ever were to run into any problems with your stay at this resort, disability or not, these are NOT the kind of people you want helping you resolve it.

The Placencia Hotel caters to the rich. The bar staff are quite attentive, but you have to ask them for what you want or need. The mixed drinks are great at the bars, but they are expensive. You can expect to be approached by staff about purchasing property in Belize while a guest in the hotel as the owner is developing not only this resort but has other real estate interests in the area. This location of the Placencia Hotel is quite far from Placencia Village and it is thus suited for travelers who live there, those who want to be away from the action, or who have rented their own vehicles. While the Hotel provides transportation to and from the airport when guests arrive and leave, a shuttle to and from the the village is only provided by the Hotel sporadically when the Hotel staff need something from town. The hotel has a couple of beach cruising bicycles, but it is too hot to ride them the 12 mile distance to and from the village. We rented a golf cart from a private business in the village. Hotel staff offered to help, but the hotel charges a fee for helping you to book a golf cart. There is also a public bus that stops at the hotel a few times a day and one can take it to the village for only $1. The problem is that the last bus returns at 2:30 in the afternoon making it impractical to go the the great village restaurants for dinner or to the bars to listen to live music. The food is delicious at the Placenia Hotel restaurants but prices are quite expensive. A non elaborate breakfast for two people (eggs, bread, coffee and orange juice) was billed at $35 and it took an hour to produce it. A similar breakfast at the Maya Beach Hotel which is located four miles closer to the village cost less than half that price and there you can eat the breakfast while enjoying a view of the sea. At the Placencia Hotel Restaurant, for reasons that were never clarified,, the lights even in the morning are quite dim, the shutters are closed, and one sees nothing but the bar and dining room. Be aware that a queen suite at this hotel is a suite only in the sense that it includes a room with a queen bed and a bathroom in which you can close the door. While the bed is quite comfortable, the room air-conditioned, and the bathroom is modern, the bedroom is small and there is no room to walk around in it as the bed fills the room. The Hotel has attempted to create a light rain shower feel to the shower, which means that the shower is very "light." Because the room was so small, we asked and received an upgrade to a master suite and were accommodated. The Master suite does contain a separate sitting space with a table and chairs, and futons which can provide extra sleeping space for additional guests and it provided a better view. The master suite also has a jacuzzi tub. Remember that you are going to a tropical resort. Our suite needed to be sprayed to discourage insects from residence while we were there. If you want to take tours, DO NOT BOOK THEM AT THE HOTEL. Do book them on-line or in person in the village. If you get to the village and book with the tour vendors you will pay half the price the hotel charges for the tours,. The hotel staff won't tell you this but they add a $25 charge per person for transportation and for booking the tours. $25, by the way is what you can expect to pay in each direction between the hotel and Placenica Village, if you must travel by taxi.

Es un hotel del primer mundo y las instalaciones son expectaculares

Placencia Rd Placencia Stann Creek District

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Placencia Beach and Belize Barrier Reef
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Placencia Beach is within a 5-minute walk of The Placencia, a Muy'Ono Resort while other popular sites like Belize Barrier Reef are within a 15-minute stroll. This 88-room, 4-star hotel has a private beach, a marina, and a full-service spa.


Dining

Enjoy dining at the hotel's 2 onsite restaurants: Capriccio specializes in international cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner; Palm Terrace offers relaxing ocean views. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service. Full breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

All of The Placencia, a Muy'Ono Resort's 88 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including balconies or patios, minibars, and coffee makers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and TVs with satellite channels. Bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with Egyptian cotton sheets and down comforters ensure a restful night. Other standard amenities include free bottled water, ceiling fans, and laptop-compatible safes.


Property features

The Placencia, a Muy'Ono Resort features a private beach, a marina, and a full-service spa. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free airport shuttle (available on request). Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with luggage storage, securing valuables, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this beach hotel include karaoke, an outdoor pool, and a children's pool.

Room options

Deluxe Suite, 1 Bedroom, Patio, Beachfront

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Suite, 3 Bedrooms, Kitchen, Resort View

3 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Deluxe Suite, 2 Bedrooms, Kitchen, Resort View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Suite, 1 Bedroom, Patio, Resort View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Placencia, a Muy'Ono Resort

Everyone (2) Couples (2) Business (1) Family (2)
5
Everyone

It was a membership club. I didn’t expect that at all.

By on Dec 15, 2019

1
Friends Families

The hotel is beautiful from the road and walking up to check in. The staff was friendly upon check in and taking us to our room. We researched hotels & locations a bunch prior to booking - and since I recently stayed at another Muy'Ono Resort recently - which was AMAZING - I thought this would be a good choice. nce we got to our room, a 2 bedroom suite, which looked beautiful in the pictures - it all started. The room was filthy. NOTHING like the photos. Floors and bathrooms were disgusting and dirty. My feet were black from the filthy floor. The "suite" was really just two weirdly adjoining rooms with an awkward hallway that also led to another room door which could be rented out and WAS rented out - you could hear that person as if they were in the same room as you. Once we asked to be moved and that the room was dirty - the housekeeping came - clearly very frustrated, to show us another room that was the exact same condition. The front desk was NOT helpful. We asked if we could even switch to a King room - even thought we PAID to have a kitchen and two rooms - but she said none were available - even though the resort was basically empty. This was my 10th trip to Belize and even having family that lives in the country - i've never been bit by so many bugs. There was cockroaches on the dock where we had dinner and wild raccoons on the beach at night. They said this was "normal" - but I know for a fact you can spray for bugs which would help significantly.

By on Dec 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 13, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your last visit to Belize and would like to apologize this visit did not live up to your expectations. As a Muy’Ono Resort, we pride ourselves on providing a one-of-a-kind experience for all guests. We apologize for the state of your room upon arrival and have updated our housekeeping procedures to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Most rooms at the resort can be turned into one, two, or three bedroom suites. We love being able to offer that flexibility for our guests, although it may not be the same suite layout you’re accustom to. We also apologize for your experiences with critters at the resort, as that can be quite unsettling to see. While we spray daily and have 24/7 maintenance and security, it’s almost impossible to keep every pest out of natural spaces. Belize prides itself on protecting the natural environment and most of the wildlife is a joy for guests to see. We hope you visit again soon, so that we have the chance to show you the true Belizean hospitality experience!

2

poor experience

Everyone

We were not given the upgraded room we paid for. Several others had the same problem. After 3 days they moved us and the jacuzzi tub did not work. Don’t stay here, many better places to stay!!

By on Feb 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2018

We apologize that your experience was less than satisfactory. With your feedback, we are proud to announce we have improved team training in terms of guest relations and the pre-arrival experience, including room upgrades. We strongly encourage you to call the front desk immediately if you have any problems with your room; maintenance is available 24/7 for room-related issues. Your feedback is important to us in improving the guest experience. We hope to see you again one day and show you a much-improved resort experience, in no small part due to your feedback. If you have any additional concerns, please give us a call at 1-877-417-9179.

5

it's a nice 4 star hotel with friendly staff

Couples

It's a bit far away form Placencia village, but hotel provides free shuttle. A bit of a pain to wait for the driver to bet back, as they are not always on time. Rooms are clean and restaurant is great. One issue - we couldn't use the pictured pier with a gazebo and bar much (if ever) because there was a convention there and they kept other tourists off that pier, while kids from convention occupied the pier of breakfast, lunch, dinner and all activities.

By on May 26, 2015

1

discrimination for having disability

BusinessTravelers

BEWARE!!! Do not go to this resort. Our recent experience was horrible. We reserved and paid our hotel thru orbtz, and upon arrival we were turned away because of my disability. Manager did not have the decency to come out and speak with me so I could explain my situation. I travel with my service dog, with all necessary documents (doctors note, vaccines, permits, USDA certificate etc) and front desk said I could not be on the property with an "animal". I assumed that a manager of a supposed fine resort would have the education to have me explain my situation and even go as far as to explain my conditions (something in the US I would never have to do) yet SHE refused to speak with me, in person nor by phone. This was during a Belize holiday, so everything was booked. We had just driven 3hours to the beach and were stranded with no where to stay. They discriminate again people with disabilities, therefor violating Americans with Disabilities act. Although they are not in the US, they are serving US tourist, so I would strongly suggest staying away from this resort, as it could be you being discriminated against. On a different note, this hotel is NOT close to the city, and is actually VERY FAR from everything. Ggle maps and Appl maps has it closer to the city then it actually is and was why we had chosen this hotel to begin with. The ignorance of the staff and upper management does not allow them to solve problems or think critically. If you ever were to run into any problems with your stay at this resort, disability or not, these are NOT the kind of people you want helping you resolve it.

By on Mar 13, 2014

2

not our idea of paradise

Couples

The Placencia Hotel caters to the rich. The bar staff are quite attentive, but you have to ask them for what you want or need. The mixed drinks are great at the bars, but they are expensive. You can expect to be approached by staff about purchasing property in Belize while a guest in the hotel as the owner is developing not only this resort but has other real estate interests in the area. This location of the Placencia Hotel is quite far from Placencia Village and it is thus suited for travelers who live there, those who want to be away from the action, or who have rented their own vehicles. While the Hotel provides transportation to and from the airport when guests arrive and leave, a shuttle to and from the the village is only provided by the Hotel sporadically when the Hotel staff need something from town. The hotel has a couple of beach cruising bicycles, but it is too hot to ride them the 12 mile distance to and from the village. We rented a golf cart from a private business in the village. Hotel staff offered to help, but the hotel charges a fee for helping you to book a golf cart. There is also a public bus that stops at the hotel a few times a day and one can take it to the village for only $1. The problem is that the last bus returns at 2:30 in the afternoon making it impractical to go the the great village restaurants for dinner or to the bars to listen to live music. The food is delicious at the Placenia Hotel restaurants but prices are quite expensive. A non elaborate breakfast for two people (eggs, bread, coffee and orange juice) was billed at $35 and it took an hour to produce it. A similar breakfast at the Maya Beach Hotel which is located four miles closer to the village cost less than half that price and there you can eat the breakfast while enjoying a view of the sea. At the Placencia Hotel Restaurant, for reasons that were never clarified,, the lights even in the morning are quite dim, the shutters are closed, and one sees nothing but the bar and dining room. Be aware that a queen suite at this hotel is a suite only in the sense that it includes a room with a queen bed and a bathroom in which you can close the door. While the bed is quite comfortable, the room air-conditioned, and the bathroom is modern, the bedroom is small and there is no room to walk around in it as the bed fills the room. The Hotel has attempted to create a light rain shower feel to the shower, which means that the shower is very "light." Because the room was so small, we asked and received an upgrade to a master suite and were accommodated. The Master suite does contain a separate sitting space with a table and chairs, and futons which can provide extra sleeping space for additional guests and it provided a better view. The master suite also has a jacuzzi tub. Remember that you are going to a tropical resort. Our suite needed to be sprayed to discourage insects from residence while we were there. If you want to take tours, DO NOT BOOK THEM AT THE HOTEL. Do book them on-line or in person in the village. If you get to the village and book with the tour vendors you will pay half the price the hotel charges for the tours,. The hotel staff won't tell you this but they add a $25 charge per person for transportation and for booking the tours. $25, by the way is what you can expect to pay in each direction between the hotel and Placenica Village, if you must travel by taxi.

By on Jun 28, 2012

5
Families Family with small children

Es un hotel del primer mundo y las instalaciones son expectaculares

By on Oct 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 22, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It was indeed our pleasure hosting you.

The Placencia, a Muy'Ono Resort

Placencia Rd, Placencia, Stann Creek District
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Placencia-Hotels-The-Placencia,-a-Muy'Ono-Resort.h1677402-p2.Hotel-Reviews