Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This hotel is in need of a property-wide renovation. The room we stayed in was quite different than the photos online and had worn furniture and a old looking bathroom which was drastically different than the photos. Also, the pool was not very clean. On the positive side the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Jasmine.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, but I hated the decor, which I would rate as hideous if there were a rating of interior design. Ignoring this, I loved it. I did not, however, think very much of the restaurant, which had inattentive and slow service, and mediocre food.

It was cold out & I asked for a room with a fireplace & they upgraded me!

The staff at hotel are very courteous and helpful!

We had loved the Avalon from both visits to eat there and tours as a potential wedding venue so we were very excited to stay there last weekend. We had actually stayed at this property as the Vicroy and loved its cool modern rooms in a peaceful downtown setting. I have to say the staff is great. The rooms and property though are showing age and not up to par with other hotels of the same price is Palm Springs. Our pool view room was dark, and cheaply furnished with funriture in strange locations. There was an expanse of floor space in the corner that looked like it was missing funiture and what was in the room was cheap and bland compared to the tour we mentioned before. The room was not clean up to standards, there was a film on the bathroom door I had to wipe with a towel (we called for more towels and they showed up 45 min later). The grounds are nice but showing age with the main pool needing some edge and plaster work. I have to say the staff was very nice but we will not be back since we can get more for our money elsewhere in town.

admittedly, we stayed in the "Regency King" room, which is the smallest of the offerings at this hotel. Front desk staff was friendly, if slightly inefficient. Room was clean, except dust on the doors & shutters. Room was small. Bathroom smaller/basic. Light came in through the shutters, so bring eyeshades/sleep mask if you need a very dark room for sleep. Valet staff seemed overwhelmed, so when we were able to find a spot on the street to park, we grabbed it instead of using the valet service (included in the resort fee). Shower drain ran slowly. Grounds were beautiful, and there are three lovely pools to enjoy. We did not try the onsite restaurant. Location is fabulous. Easy to walk a few blocks to the downtown/uptown areas, art museum, etc. When we checked out, we were not offered a bill, staff saying we would get that later. That seemed quite unusual to me, and I still have not received email with final statement. I hope the charges will be accurate. There are many places to stay in Palm Springs. While the location is awesome, and the grounds are great, I was not wowed by the staff on several interactions, so will probably try other places before returning to the Avalon.

Hotel appears to be an old apartment complex that has been converted into a very strange way. The decor was really horrible and cheap.

My only complaint is that the room I booked was listed as KING bed, but in fact it was a queen! It was very disappointing. It should not be advertised as king if it is NOT TRUE.

Literally got robbed. Someone broke into our villa and stole our cash, credit cards, and jewelry. This occurred hours into our first anniversary vacation. Management's response was to have us fill out a police report and they were willing to waive the resort fee. We had to ask them to also waive the upgrade fee, since we did not feel like staying another night in a room where we felt violated and insecure. They did not comp us anything or offer any true empathy or compassion. They said they had problems with a growing homeless population being more aggressive. The robbery happened during daylight while we were by a pool. But there is little to no security there, and the structures and locks are quite dated, making a break in very easy. We left days earlier than planned. Stay away from this place.

We were married at the Viceroy 1 year ago. Great to return for our 1st Anniversary.

The hotel is nice, rooms are a little substandard, but the decor and pool areas are ok. Our room smelled heavily of sewage in the evening. We would come back to the hotel after dinner and it was really unbearable. After calling the concierge to report the problem, we were told they could not give us another room ... way to put a damper on a romantic weekend, when you come back to a room that smells like no.2 ... At checkout, we were granted a 5 dollar resort fee off the final bill ... how very kind.

The hotel was nice but I felt like it was lacking something.

They upgraded our room to a suite and staff was extremely friendly. The place is beautiful.

This hotel is chic, charming, and the location was perfect. A short walk to restaurants and bars. Pool was lovely, and the poolside drinks were tasty.

I found the Viceroy to be delightful in almost every way. The staff was incredible. We asked for a late check in, arrived at 1:30 AM, and with just a short wait, was assisted by a gentleman who had a fair amount going on...The valet parking was more than accommodating... The grounds were not only well kept, but very pretty... The food was great... The price was more than fair. Since the hotel was built quite a few years ago, the room was not as spacious and accommodating as those more recently built. Great for a romantic getaway.

In my opinion the location is great if you want to walk to town. The hotel was clean and comfortable and quiet but not luxury. The gym was inadequate, but open 24 hours. The food was very good and not too expensive. Enjoyed the complemented tea and coffee in the morning in the bar area also the complemented champagne on checking in was a nice touch

The hotel was excellent. Service was friendly and staff always knew our names. We have stayed here many times and have always found the staff very attentive to the happiness and needs of its guests. Family friendly, too!

This hotel is ideally located and the room are lovely. The grounds need better upkeep.

South Belardo Rd Palm Springs CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Palm Springs Art Museum
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Downtown Palm Springs within a short walk of Palm Springs Art Museum, Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs is within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular sights such as San Jacinto Mountains. This 67-room, 4-star hotel has 3 outdoor pools along with a full-service spa and a restaurant.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7:00 AM to 1:00 PM.


Rooms

All 67 rooms provide minibars, free newspapers, and safes. TVs come with digital channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers, designer toiletries, and bathrobes. In-room massages are available, and other amenities include phones and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests of Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs have access to a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a children's pool. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with concierge services, dry cleaning/laundry, and securing valuables. If you like to take your furry friend along on your adventures, this pet-friendly property offers food and water bowls. Other amenities at this spa hotel include a 24-hour gym, 2 spa tubs, and a steam room.

Room options

One Bedroom Bungalow

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Courtyard View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Courtyard View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Premium Studio 2 Queens

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs

Everyone (9) Couples (18) Business (2) Family (3) Friends (8) Other (2)
5
Everyone

By on Mar 15, 2021

3
Partner Couples

This hotel is in need of a property-wide renovation. The room we stayed in was quite different than the photos online and had worn furniture and a old looking bathroom which was drastically different than the photos. Also, the pool was not very clean. On the positive side the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Jasmine.

By , from New York, NY on Jun 15, 2020

5
Everyone

By on Aug 16, 2019

4
Everyone

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, but I hated the decor, which I would rate as hideous if there were a rating of interior design. Ignoring this, I loved it. I did not, however, think very much of the restaurant, which had inattentive and slow service, and mediocre food.

By on Apr 2, 2019

5
Everyone

It was cold out & I asked for a room with a fireplace & they upgraded me!

By on Dec 10, 2018

5

hotel staff very courteous !

Everyone

The staff at hotel are very courteous and helpful!

By on Nov 3, 2017

3

not what it used to be

Everyone

We had loved the Avalon from both visits to eat there and tours as a potential wedding venue so we were very excited to stay there last weekend. We had actually stayed at this property as the Vicroy and loved its cool modern rooms in a peaceful downtown setting. I have to say the staff is great. The rooms and property though are showing age and not up to par with other hotels of the same price is Palm Springs. Our pool view room was dark, and cheaply furnished with funriture in strange locations. There was an expanse of floor space in the corner that looked like it was missing funiture and what was in the room was cheap and bland compared to the tour we mentioned before. The room was not clean up to standards, there was a film on the bathroom door I had to wipe with a towel (we called for more towels and they showed up 45 min later). The grounds are nice but showing age with the main pool needing some edge and plaster work. I have to say the staff was very nice but we will not be back since we can get more for our money elsewhere in town.

By , from san francisco on May 1, 2017

4

excellent location with beautiful grounds

Everyone

admittedly, we stayed in the "Regency King" room, which is the smallest of the offerings at this hotel. Front desk staff was friendly, if slightly inefficient. Room was clean, except dust on the doors & shutters. Room was small. Bathroom smaller/basic. Light came in through the shutters, so bring eyeshades/sleep mask if you need a very dark room for sleep. Valet staff seemed overwhelmed, so when we were able to find a spot on the street to park, we grabbed it instead of using the valet service (included in the resort fee). Shower drain ran slowly. Grounds were beautiful, and there are three lovely pools to enjoy. We did not try the onsite restaurant. Location is fabulous. Easy to walk a few blocks to the downtown/uptown areas, art museum, etc. When we checked out, we were not offered a bill, staff saying we would get that later. That seemed quite unusual to me, and I still have not received email with final statement. I hope the charges will be accurate. There are many places to stay in Palm Springs. While the location is awesome, and the grounds are great, I was not wowed by the staff on several interactions, so will probably try other places before returning to the Avalon.

By , from Orinda, CA on Feb 25, 2017

3

very interesting style that was a total turn off.

Everyone

Hotel appears to be an old apartment complex that has been converted into a very strange way. The decor was really horrible and cheap.

By on Sep 17, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 9, 2016

We apologize that you felt our hotel was an old apartment complex. This property has been a hotel since the 1930s. In the next year, renovations are set to take place at the hotel. We hope you will give us another try in the future.

5

good hotel, chill and relaxing

Everyone

My only complaint is that the room I booked was listed as KING bed, but in fact it was a queen! It was very disappointing. It should not be advertised as king if it is NOT TRUE.

By on Sep 6, 2016

Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs

415 South Belardo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Palm-Springs-Hotels-Avalon-Hotel-and-Bungalows-Palm-Springs.h3666-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Palm-Springs-Hotels-Avalon-Hotel-and-Bungalows-Palm-Springs.h3666-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Palm-Springs-Hotels-Avalon-Hotel-and-Bungalows-Palm-Springs.h3666-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions