Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

We had loved the Avalon from both visits to eat there and tours as a potential wedding venue so we were very excited to stay there last weekend. We had actually stayed at this property as the Vicroy and loved its cool modern rooms in a peaceful downtown setting. I have to say the staff is great. The rooms and property though are showing age and not up to par with other hotels of the same price is Palm Springs. Our pool view room was dark, and cheaply furnished with funriture in strange locations. There was an expanse of floor space in the corner that looked like it was missing funiture and what was in the room was cheap and bland compared to the tour we mentioned before. The room was not clean up to standards, there was a film on the bathroom door I had to wipe with a towel (we called for more towels and they showed up 45 min later). The grounds are nice but showing age with the main pool needing some edge and plaster work. I have to say the staff was very nice but we will not be back since we can get more for our money elsewhere in town.

admittedly, we stayed in the "Regency King" room, which is the smallest of the offerings at this hotel. Front desk staff was friendly, if slightly inefficient. Room was clean, except dust on the doors & shutters. Room was small. Bathroom smaller/basic. Light came in through the shutters, so bring eyeshades/sleep mask if you need a very dark room for sleep. Valet staff seemed overwhelmed, so when we were able to find a spot on the street to park, we grabbed it instead of using the valet service (included in the resort fee). Shower drain ran slowly. Grounds were beautiful, and there are three lovely pools to enjoy. We did not try the onsite restaurant. Location is fabulous. Easy to walk a few blocks to the downtown/uptown areas, art museum, etc. When we checked out, we were not offered a bill, staff saying we would get that later. That seemed quite unusual to me, and I still have not received email with final statement. I hope the charges will be accurate. There are many places to stay in Palm Springs. While the location is awesome, and the grounds are great, I was not wowed by the staff on several interactions, so will probably try other places before returning to the Avalon.

Hotel appears to be an old apartment complex that has been converted into a very strange way. The decor was really horrible and cheap.

My only complaint is that the room I booked was listed as KING bed, but in fact it was a queen! It was very disappointing. It should not be advertised as king if it is NOT TRUE.

Literally got robbed. Someone broke into our villa and stole our cash, credit cards, and jewelry. This occurred hours into our first anniversary vacation. Management's response was to have us fill out a police report and they were willing to waive the resort fee. We had to ask them to also waive the upgrade fee, since we did not feel like staying another night in a room where we felt violated and insecure. They did not comp us anything or offer any true empathy or compassion. They said they had problems with a growing homeless population being more aggressive. The robbery happened during daylight while we were by a pool. But there is little to no security there, and the structures and locks are quite dated, making a break in very easy. We left days earlier than planned. Stay away from this place.

We were married at the Viceroy 1 year ago. Great to return for our 1st Anniversary.

The hotel is nice, rooms are a little substandard, but the decor and pool areas are ok. Our room smelled heavily of sewage in the evening. We would come back to the hotel after dinner and it was really unbearable. After calling the concierge to report the problem, we were told they could not give us another room ... way to put a damper on a romantic weekend, when you come back to a room that smells like no.2 ... At checkout, we were granted a 5 dollar resort fee off the final bill ... how very kind.

The hotel was nice but I felt like it was lacking something.

They upgraded our room to a suite and staff was extremely friendly. The place is beautiful.

This hotel is chic, charming, and the location was perfect. A short walk to restaurants and bars. Pool was lovely, and the poolside drinks were tasty.

I found the Viceroy to be delightful in almost every way. The staff was incredible. We asked for a late check in, arrived at 1:30 AM, and with just a short wait, was assisted by a gentleman who had a fair amount going on...The valet parking was more than accommodating... The grounds were not only well kept, but very pretty... The food was great... The price was more than fair. Since the hotel was built quite a few years ago, the room was not as spacious and accommodating as those more recently built. Great for a romantic getaway.

In my opinion the location is great if you want to walk to town. The hotel was clean and comfortable and quiet but not luxury. The gym was inadequate, but open 24 hours. The food was very good and not too expensive. Enjoyed the complemented tea and coffee in the morning in the bar area also the complemented champagne on checking in was a nice touch

The hotel was excellent. Service was friendly and staff always knew our names. We have stayed here many times and have always found the staff very attentive to the happiness and needs of its guests. Family friendly, too!

This hotel is ideally located and the room are lovely. The grounds need better upkeep.

The Viceroy is beautiful and classy. The decor had us in awe at every turn we took! We were so happy to find that it was just a block away from the Main Street in downtown Palm Springs, and about a 4 min drive to our favorite restaraunt, Spencers. The staff out by the pool was more than helpful and so nice! We were in pure heaven staying here. You feel so secluded while laying out, it is incredibly peaceful and relaxing. Unlike most hotels, the cabanas at this hotel are first come and are complimentary. We will defiantly be staying here again!

This Viceroy is not like the Viceroy in Santa Monica or San Francisco. It's a spread-out, boutiquey, and likely renovated old 60's hotel. The vibe is friendly and mellow. There are 3 pools so it does not feel like a crowded resort. The staff was awesome and the food at Citron was delicious and surprisingly well-priced. The only drawback is the rooms. They are clean and nice, but definitely not luxurious. I have also stayed at the Colony Palms Hotel and I thought these 2 hotels were quite similar.

We were taken back to a glimpse of celebrity past as we enjoyed the complimentary bicycles with names of their own (Frank, Ava, Audrey, etc) .The Viceroy has kept an atmosphere of a time standing still yet authentically current as we are allowed to visit here and feel we are once again back in the glory days of Palm Springs. This is a beautiful property kept in vintage style with extraordinary staff.

The Viceroy is a hidden gem. Located near downtown Palm Springs, the hotel is set off of the street providing a secluded escape. The decor is wonderful mid-century modern and the grounds are beautiful. My trip to the area was for business and most professionals would choose a hotel with an in room desk and amazing wifi but after spending the day working, I was grateful for the poolside fire pits, cocktails at the bar and the delicious food of the Citron restaurant. All that being said, the hotel is a little older so there are some unique characteristics that come along with it including: showers only (I was really hoping for a tub), a wait time for hot water, tile floors, thin walls, and lack of storage in the bathroom. All in the all the hotel was clean, beautiful and had a great feel.

I stayed at the Palm Spring Viceroy a year ago and it was a wonderful experience. On my return visit this year, it was even better. I had a larger and better-located room looking out at the mountains. It was a beautiful, very quiet view. The staff at this hotel is the best--attentive, competent, very friendly. There are people working everywhere at all times and every one of them knows the guests and communicates in a very positive way. The grounds are kept perfectly; it is so pleasant to be outside in any area. The pools are kept at the perfect temperature. It was such a relaxing escape!

Valet and Front Desk were not in great shape and we're totally overwhelmed. I spent too much time at check-in, valet, etc. My room key stopped working, the door to my room wouldn't lock. The place needs some new management stat.

415 South Belardo Rd Palm Springs CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free valet parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Downtown Palm Springs, Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs is within a 10-minute stroll of sights such as Ruddy's General Store Museum and Agua Caliente Cultural Museum. This 67-room, 4-star hotel has 3 outdoor pools along with a full-service spa and a restaurant. Located centrally in Palm Springs, it's also close to Moorten Botanical Garden and Cactarium and Palm Springs Air Museum.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service. Start each morning off right with cooked-to-order breakfast served for a fee.


Rooms

All 67 air-conditioned rooms provide refrigerators, minibars, and free newspapers. Guests can expect wired Internet, free WiFi, and TVs with digital channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries, and beds are dressed in premium bedding. Other standard amenities include safes, phones, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests of Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs have access to a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a health club. Free valet parking is included with your stay. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this adults-only hotel include a spa tub, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space.

Room options

Bungalow, 2 Bedrooms

King 1 | Sleeps 6

Bungalow, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Premium Studio, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Premium Studio, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs

Everyone (4) Couples (22) Business (2) Family (6) Friends (9) Other (2)
3

not what it used to be

Everyone

We had loved the Avalon from both visits to eat there and tours as a potential wedding venue so we were very excited to stay there last weekend. We had actually stayed at this property as the Vicroy and loved its cool modern rooms in a peaceful downtown setting. I have to say the staff is great. The rooms and property though are showing age and not up to par with other hotels of the same price is Palm Springs. Our pool view room was dark, and cheaply furnished with funriture in strange locations. There was an expanse of floor space in the corner that looked like it was missing funiture and what was in the room was cheap and bland compared to the tour we mentioned before. The room was not clean up to standards, there was a film on the bathroom door I had to wipe with a towel (we called for more towels and they showed up 45 min later). The grounds are nice but showing age with the main pool needing some edge and plaster work. I have to say the staff was very nice but we will not be back since we can get more for our money elsewhere in town.

By , from san francisco on May 1, 2017

4

excellent location with beautiful grounds

Everyone

admittedly, we stayed in the "Regency King" room, which is the smallest of the offerings at this hotel. Front desk staff was friendly, if slightly inefficient. Room was clean, except dust on the doors & shutters. Room was small. Bathroom smaller/basic. Light came in through the shutters, so bring eyeshades/sleep mask if you need a very dark room for sleep. Valet staff seemed overwhelmed, so when we were able to find a spot on the street to park, we grabbed it instead of using the valet service (included in the resort fee). Shower drain ran slowly. Grounds were beautiful, and there are three lovely pools to enjoy. We did not try the onsite restaurant. Location is fabulous. Easy to walk a few blocks to the downtown/uptown areas, art museum, etc. When we checked out, we were not offered a bill, staff saying we would get that later. That seemed quite unusual to me, and I still have not received email with final statement. I hope the charges will be accurate. There are many places to stay in Palm Springs. While the location is awesome, and the grounds are great, I was not wowed by the staff on several interactions, so will probably try other places before returning to the Avalon.

By , from Orinda, CA on Feb 25, 2017

3

very interesting style that was a total turn off.

Everyone

Hotel appears to be an old apartment complex that has been converted into a very strange way. The decor was really horrible and cheap.

By on Sep 17, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 9, 2016

We apologize that you felt our hotel was an old apartment complex. This property has been a hotel since the 1930s. In the next year, renovations are set to take place at the hotel. We hope you will give us another try in the future.

5

good hotel, chill and relaxing

Everyone

My only complaint is that the room I booked was listed as KING bed, but in fact it was a queen! It was very disappointing. It should not be advertised as king if it is NOT TRUE.

By on Sep 6, 2016

1

we got robbed

Couples

Literally got robbed. Someone broke into our villa and stole our cash, credit cards, and jewelry. This occurred hours into our first anniversary vacation. Management's response was to have us fill out a police report and they were willing to waive the resort fee. We had to ask them to also waive the upgrade fee, since we did not feel like staying another night in a room where we felt violated and insecure. They did not comp us anything or offer any true empathy or compassion. They said they had problems with a growing homeless population being more aggressive. The robbery happened during daylight while we were by a pool. But there is little to no security there, and the structures and locks are quite dated, making a break in very easy. We left days earlier than planned. Stay away from this place.

By on Nov 13, 2014

5

great anniversary spot

Couples

We were married at the Viceroy 1 year ago. Great to return for our 1st Anniversary.

By on Oct 8, 2014

2

you can do better in palm springs

Couples

The hotel is nice, rooms are a little substandard, but the decor and pool areas are ok. Our room smelled heavily of sewage in the evening. We would come back to the hotel after dinner and it was really unbearable. After calling the concierge to report the problem, we were told they could not give us another room ... way to put a damper on a romantic weekend, when you come back to a room that smells like no.2 ... At checkout, we were granted a 5 dollar resort fee off the final bill ... how very kind.

By on Aug 18, 2014

2

girls weekend

GetawayWithFriends

The hotel was nice but I felt like it was lacking something.

By on Jul 29, 2014

5

perfect getaway

Couples

They upgraded our room to a suite and staff was extremely friendly. The place is beautiful.

By on Jul 16, 2014

4

relaxing in style in the desert

Couples

This hotel is chic, charming, and the location was perfect. A short walk to restaurants and bars. Pool was lovely, and the poolside drinks were tasty.

By on May 29, 2014