Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This is not the same Karl Johan Hotell that existed a few months ago. They are going through extensive renovation at this hotel. However, it's rather disappointing the outcome of this renovation especially for those who are disabled. If you get a room on the wrong side of the hotel like I did then you'll find you have to go through multiple elevators/stairs to get to your destination. My mother was disabled and yet still had to walk up and down these stairs which is completely unacceptable. I will be filing a complaint with the Norwegian Association for the Disabled. In the meantime, I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. I had stayed here at least a dozen times prior to this visit and loved it. However, their recent updates forces me to avoid the hotel like the plague. I'll also post similar comments on Trip Advisor and Yelp. I hope they fix these issues as one day we will all grow older and we should take care of our disabled and elderly family members and friends.

It is an incredible location within walking distance of many of the attractions as well as the theaters. Undergoing a major renovation but able to serve us well. Very nice breakfast.

I have stayed at this hotel five times in the past year and I love this hotel. It's located close to the Parliament and National Theatre (best downtown location). The employees are exceptional. The lobby as free 24/7 coffee/tea for their guests. The breakfast is outstanding along with strong, reliable wifi. I will be back again.

A real nice hotel that’s located a block from the prestigious Norwegian Business College

The hotel was located in the downtown district next to Parliament. It's an older building but in an important neighborhood also walking distance to the Kings Palace and great shopping areas. I'll definitely return again

This hotel is in a central location with easy walking or public transportation access to the whole city. The room is spacious, clean, and comfortable, and the breakfast combining traditional Norwegian with other options is exceptional.

Room is small but not unexpected right in downtown. Excellent location, central to everything. Staff was friendly and helpful, everyone spoke English very well. One day was a bit noisy due to loud music from a restaurant 1 block down. Otherwise, no issues. Breakfast that came with room cost was very good and better than most warm breakfasts in the US.

Great location in the heart of Oslo! our room was comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was a delicious and diverse spread! The only tricky thing is that there was no AC and we were there at a particularly warm time and so our room got pretty warm at night. but if you don't mind the road noise, sleeping with the windows open was a great solution! hotel staff was awesome to work with and so helpful- thanks for the great stay!

The hotel is beautiful and located right downtown.

I really like this hotel. The breakfast is nice with good variety. The location is great. Close to offices for business, and great location for shopping. The only down side is that there isn't a gym to use. I have stayed at this hotel many times. The room during my most recent stay was a bit small - I am a thin person and I had to shower side ways to fit in. The room set up was strange too as it was hard to lie in bed and watch tv. But other rooms I have had weren't like that. It is good value.

we loved this hotel! It was central to everything! The staff were friendly, the beds were Comfy and I don't think I've ever had a better continental breakfast!

The hotel location is the biggest asset for this hotel. It is on the main strip of Karl Johan Street, close to a variety of restaurants, train station, shopping and walking distance to the harbor. The hotel property is old and in need of an update. The amenities are scarce or non-existent. The hotel rooms can be very noisy if you open the windows as it is right on Karl Johan where all the restaurants are. We were there in June where the sun was out and so was everyone. Noise, however, is a small price to pay for the great location.

Rosenkrantzgate 11 Oslo

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Nobel Peace Center and Royal Palace
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in Oslo City Centre, Karl Johan Hotell, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Nobel Peace Center and Royal Palace. This 56-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free newspapers in the lobby.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM and on weekends from 8:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

All 56 recently renovated rooms provide desks. 42-inch LED TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer rainfall showers and hair dryers.


Property features

Karl Johan Hotell, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western features free WiFi in public areas and free newspapers. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help with dry cleaning or laundry, and answer any questions about the area.

Room options

Superior Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, City View (with Sofabed)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Twin Beds, Non Smoking

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Economy Room, 1 Double Bed, Non Smoking

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Karl Johan Hotell, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

Everyone (7) Couples (2) Business (1) Family (3)
1
Family Family

This is not the same Karl Johan Hotell that existed a few months ago. They are going through extensive renovation at this hotel. However, it's rather disappointing the outcome of this renovation especially for those who are disabled. If you get a room on the wrong side of the hotel like I did then you'll find you have to go through multiple elevators/stairs to get to your destination. My mother was disabled and yet still had to walk up and down these stairs which is completely unacceptable. I will be filing a complaint with the Norwegian Association for the Disabled. In the meantime, I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. I had stayed here at least a dozen times prior to this visit and loved it. However, their recent updates forces me to avoid the hotel like the plague. I'll also post similar comments on Trip Advisor and Yelp. I hope they fix these issues as one day we will all grow older and we should take care of our disabled and elderly family members and friends.

By on Dec 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 6, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for your honest feedback, we appreciate it. As you choose to leave your review anonymously, we do not know who you are or how to reach you directly to offer our sincere apologies or a compensation. From what you are describing I assume you had booked an economy room and those, unfortunately are further away and do have stairs and steps you have to go through. I am sure that if we had rooms in the standard part, we would offer to change your room right away and free of charge of cours. Once our property opens fully in mai, 2020, we will be offering many rooms with easy access for those of our guests that have difficulties walking. We do apologize again and are are working hard on improving the information that is on our partners pages. We would still like to hear from you directly, so please do not hesitate to contact us at booking@karljohan.no

4
Partner Couples

It is an incredible location within walking distance of many of the attractions as well as the theaters. Undergoing a major renovation but able to serve us well. Very nice breakfast.

By on Oct 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 18, 2019

Thank you, Cek, for the lovely review!

5
Everyone

I have stayed at this hotel five times in the past year and I love this hotel. It's located close to the Parliament and National Theatre (best downtown location). The employees are exceptional. The lobby as free 24/7 coffee/tea for their guests. The breakfast is outstanding along with strong, reliable wifi. I will be back again.

By on Dec 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 17, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback! Welcome back again! With best regards, Karl Johan Hotel

4
Everyone

A real nice hotel that’s located a block from the prestigious Norwegian Business College

By , from Vancouver, WA on Oct 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 31, 2018

Dear Peter, Thank you very much for your feedback! Welcome back again! Best regards, Best Western Karl Johan Hotell

5
Everyone

The hotel was located in the downtown district next to Parliament. It's an older building but in an important neighborhood also walking distance to the Kings Palace and great shopping areas. I'll definitely return again

By , from Vancouver, WA on Apr 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 6, 2018

Dear Peter, Thank you for your feedback! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Welcome back again! Best Regards, Best Western Karl Johan Hotel

4

good location and great amenities

Everyone

This hotel is in a central location with easy walking or public transportation access to the whole city. The room is spacious, clean, and comfortable, and the breakfast combining traditional Norwegian with other options is exceptional.

By , from Minnesota on Aug 23, 2017

4
Everyone

Room is small but not unexpected right in downtown. Excellent location, central to everything. Staff was friendly and helpful, everyone spoke English very well. One day was a bit noisy due to loud music from a restaurant 1 block down. Otherwise, no issues. Breakfast that came with room cost was very good and better than most warm breakfasts in the US.

By , from San Francisco on Aug 20, 2017

5

great location, comfortable room

Everyone

Great location in the heart of Oslo! our room was comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was a delicious and diverse spread! The only tricky thing is that there was no AC and we were there at a particularly warm time and so our room got pretty warm at night. but if you don't mind the road noise, sleeping with the windows open was a great solution! hotel staff was awesome to work with and so helpful- thanks for the great stay!

By , from des moines, ia on Jun 29, 2017

5
Everyone

The hotel is beautiful and located right downtown.

By on Feb 28, 2017

4

hotel with great character and location

Business

I really like this hotel. The breakfast is nice with good variety. The location is great. Close to offices for business, and great location for shopping. The only down side is that there isn't a gym to use. I have stayed at this hotel many times. The room during my most recent stay was a bit small - I am a thin person and I had to shower side ways to fit in. The room set up was strange too as it was hard to lie in bed and watch tv. But other rooms I have had weren't like that. It is good value.

By on Dec 12, 2015

Karl Johan Hotell, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

Rosenkrantzgate 11, Oslo, 0162
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Oslo-Hotels-Karl-Johan-Hotell,-Sure-Hotel-Collection-by-Best-Western.h523595-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Oslo-Hotels-Karl-Johan-Hotell,-Sure-Hotel-Collection-by-Best-Western.h523595-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Oslo-Hotels-Karl-Johan-Hotell,-Sure-Hotel-Collection-by-Best-Western.h523595-p2.Hotel-Reviews