Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Shin Osaka Washington Hotel Plaza

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The followings is the terrible and horrible nightmare we’ve had with this hotel. We are a family of four (two adults and two kids) and we checked into this hotel on 15 Feb 2018. On that night around 11:30 pm (Japan standard time), we were at the room and made couple of phone calls to our family to send our regards. Then we were interrupted by several huge bangs on the door. We checked through the peephole and recognized it is the service staff in uniform so we opened the door in order to understand what’s wrong. He then walked into our room in a huge rage and pointed at us and shouted “Noisy, be quiet” (In English). The atmosphere was soon frozen . In order to calm our kids and let him leave our room , I immediately apologized by repeating sorry. Afterwards, kids were traumatized and dared not to make any sound or voice. They were really frighten! The next morning, we adults went to the counter and told the staff what happened last night, then the counter staff (a lady) went to see the male service staff, so the male service staff came to us. However, his attitude was still bad as he simply shrugged and repeated “noisy” to us. He then asked us if we could speak English and then put us on the line to the customer service (I guess?). So my husband talked to someone of this hotel through the phone and clearly told him/her “ I like your hotel but not the service”. As no further friendly gesture from this hotel, we then decided to checked out immediately instead of 21 Feb as we originally planned. In hindsight, I did recall what have happened and maybe we were wrong or too loud over the phone inadvertently. However, we are sensible tourist and we are communicable. If we made offence, the housekeeper could knock the door gently or give us a ring and surely we would feel embarrassed and sorry and then correct our behavior. We have had our family trip to Japan for more than ten times and we have relatives in Japan, we do know Japanese’ culture and we are fully aware that one should not interfere others in public and this is how we teach our kids. It is to anyone’s surprise that the male housekeeper just rushed in to our room, pointed us and shouted at us. Such a rude and humiliation treatment is really hard for us to accept and we didn’t get any positive response from Shin-Osaka Washington Hotel Plaza so far. To anyone who would like to stay in this hotel in the future, please refer to my horrible experience above and maybe you should think twice before you book.

We had a stay for couple of days. It has a a really good access.few minutes walk from station. Although not located in the center osaka it is in convenient place. All the staff of the hotel were very kind to us. We had breakfast, lunch,and dinner in the restaurant in lobby. We had great food all the day. Good service,and attentive staffs were always there with smiling face . Big plate of meat in our dinner was so lovely. Staff (not Japanese) brings to the table with big smile makes our meals more delicious.We really had a great time in this stay. We will be back again . Thanks.

The hotel was located near to Shun-Osaka, less than 10 minutes walking. It is also surrounded by eateries. I enjoyed the breakfast at the 22nd floor where you can see the surrounding from the top of the world. It has a good spread and it was a pleasure to have a leisure breakfast before the mad rush. It was a wonderful experience for me.

Location: It's close to the Shin-Osaka Station, easy for people travel by Shinkansen. Room: It's quite small even it's a double room. Some weird smell in the bathroom. and no amenity kit. The bed and the pillow is hard, not so comfortable. No iron and iron board in the room, when call the service hotline, no one can speak English. When go to the front desk to ask for an iron, it's all lent........ Have to wait until someone return............ At one windy night, the wind blew in through the window and the wind blowing sound was very noisy for the whole night.... no matter how I close the window. The heater was very hot, I have to turn it off in the middle of the night. People talked very loud at night outside the room and you can hear like people speaking in your room.

It’s near the Shin-Osaka Station, making it a good base to visit the rest of the Kansai Area. The room is not big but it’s sufficient for my need. I got a good view of Osaka from my room. The provided room slippers is not the smooth type but not uncomfortable. Service is not warm but mostly pleasant and polite. I ask for the possibility of 2 hour later than the usual 10am checkout time and was quoted ¥1100 yen which I paid but a bit sore that it’s not complimentary considering that I stayed there for 5 nights. It’s a quiet area though with just a convenience store nearby. If you are looking to get away from the bustle of Osaka, it’s a good location for that. Pictures say a thousand words so I’ll let the pictures do the talking How to find the hotel - the hotel provide pictorial instructions which is great but it look a tad different at night. I manage to find it but was stuck in two points. So here are some tips on how I manage to find the hotel after backtracking a few times. 1. exit by central exit of Shin Osaka station (very important because they have a lot of exits and wrong exits may mean that the hotel is inaccessible unless you backtrack) —A bit of orientation- if you are coming from the subway, that’s 2nd floor; JR/Shinkansen that’s 3rd floor — If you have issues finding the exit, get on the shop directory (display in a lot of places near the shops) and find Starbucks (not the Starbucks within the gantry area of JR line). The escalator next to it point downwards is the right exit. 2. Hotel claimed that the signboard is visible... — It is but it’s in Japanese. A tip is that in front of that signboard is another one advertising a big cyber cafe call 24hr MediaCafe Popeye in English. It’s black and red sign, you won’t miss it. —The 24hr cafe is in front of the hotel. If you walk pass the cafe, you will come upon a moderate size 24 hours convenient store (a good size one relative to other such store). Walk pass that and you will see the hotel entrance.

In terms of location from Shin Osaka station, it is not too far a walk. However rooms are a bit on the small size, almost like those local Japanese hotels rather than a chain. Not easy to have space for luggages when there are 2 to a room. We didn't have any breakfast in the hotel but there is a big mini mart next to the hotel and there is also a doutor outlet so there shouldnt be a lack of things to eat. However when we try to explore the area at night it seems a bit on the quiet side so dinner would probably need to settle near the Shin Osaka station area instead. The sound proofing is not very good, can hear people talking at the corridor. The day we checked in they happened to do some electrical works so they shut down the electricity after 11pm and you can hear a lot of people talking on the corridors as they come out from their rooms.

Stayed 5 nights in total, of which I've reserved breakfast for the first night only. I suppose this hotel is to mainly serve local businessmen: close to shinkansen/ train/ metro station (walk around 5 minutes). The hotel and the nearby area is very quiet since most tourists opt to stay in South-Osaka. The funniest thing I've ever encountered is that the receptionist count and provided me a couple of toothbrushes and razors during check-in. Communication is not a big deal - staff's limited English is enough for basic communication. The room looks a little bit old, I guess it's around 1990s design but things are tidy and clean anyway. For breakfast, a lot of selections available: they even offers takoyaki! The restaurant is located at the top floor of the city, guests can enjoy brilliant city view.

I hate to leave a negative review, but do not be fooled by the photos or the name - unfortunately this hotel is anything but a plaza :( I was supposed to stay for 5 nights, but checked out early as the the rooms are small, old, and very dirty (there was clumps of hair left in the "disinfected glass"). And the couple of staff I dealt with didn't even speak English. There is no gym on site, and you don't even get basic bathroom toiletries. This hotel is definitely not worth the price - there are MUCH better hotels in Osaka for a better price.

We stayed for 2 separate nights; the 1st and 5th day of our Kansai Tour so this review is sharing our experience on both occasions.. We have arrived and leave using JR Haruka Express to KIX. Very easy to find; about 10 mins walk from the JR station. From the Central Exit at Level 2 proceed to 1st level and zebra-crossed across large carpark (Subway station should be on your right side). Go underneath a tunnel, cross another small traffic junction and the hotel is just ahead to the right. Side entrance will be near Family Mart. From the station it is actually a tall building but apparently the large sign above the building itself is in Japanese (not helpful to us). The Twin room is respectable in size, and easily accommodate our 2 large luggages. Free-Wifi quite strong signal. We stayed at higher levels so lucky enough to have our side of good (night) views of ShinOsaka. Cleanliness is acceptable. They allowed us to leave behind a bag as we are returning days later, a boon indeed as it lightens our traveling load. Only 1 comment, that the slipper provided is a bit coarse for wifey feet. We took breakfast nearby Dotour. Still the immediate area is quiet, being business/residential so have to walk back to JR station where all shopping/food establishments are.. Overall we enjoyed our stay here, for all its good location & amenities.

The hotel is only around 4" walk to shin osaka station which is the main station and it has a lot of facilities. The english staff is very limited and i had bad experience with it. The hotel didnt provide the room with mineral water and they had bad wifi signal.

5-5-15 Nishinakajima Osaka Osaka-fu

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in Yodogawa, Shin Osaka Washington Hotel Plaza is within a few miles (5 km) of sights such as Umeda Sky Building and Osaka Museum of Housing and Living. This 491-room, 3-star hotel has 2 restaurants and a coffee shop/café, along with free in-room WiFi. Osaka Science Museum and Mint Museum are also nearby.


Dining

Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including China table, which specializes in Chinese cuisine. Get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with buffet breakfast, available for a fee from 6:30 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

Shin Osaka Washington Hotel Plaza's 491 rooms provide refrigerators, electric kettles, and phones. Guests can enjoy LCD TVs and stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and slippers. In-room massages are available.


Property features

Shin Osaka Washington Hotel Plaza features free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and laundry facilities. Self parking is offered for JPY 2200 per night. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a convenience store and an ATM.

Reviews from Trip Advisor

Trip Advisor aggregated rating

61.0% of guests recommend this hotel

Total of 276 reviews