Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Shower head drizzled, no water pressure to get a good shower

Staff was awesome. Rooms clean with plenty of space.

I was informed that the first floor is reserved for the seniors and no dog rooms on first floor. However my hubby is 70 and I am 67...are we not seniors?

Beds are very comfortable. Easy access to shopping areas. Staff friendly, the price is reasonable and the guest cookies superb.

Would never use again! Morning clerk was not pleasant. Food was ok but not hot. Bad experience! Bed was very uncomfortable.

Smoke alarms went off at 1:30 .am. No compensation offered.

Pleasant stay, the Motel was very convenient to most of the shopping in downtown Berlin. The breakfast was excellent and very convenient.

West Main Street Berlin OH

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas

Located 1.2 mi (2 km) from Amish and Mennonite Heritage Center, Lodging on the Square is within a 10-minute drive of other popular attractions like Mt. Hope Event Center. This 23-room motel welcomes guests with in-room amenities like refrigerators, coffee makers, and TVs.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

All of Lodging on the Square's 23 air-conditioned rooms provide refrigerators, coffee makers, and free long-distance calls. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include free local calls and desks.


Property features

Guests of Lodging on the Square enjoy free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and free newspapers. Onsite parking is offered for a fee. Friendly staff can provide front-desk service during limited hours, and also offer advice about sightseeing. This smoke-free motel also has a TV in a common area.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Ground Floor

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Jetted Tub

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking (Pet friendly)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Lodging on the Square

Everyone (4) Couples (2)
4
Partner Couples

Shower head drizzled, no water pressure to get a good shower

By on Dec 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2019

We appreciate you staying with us and letting us know about the issue you encountered while staying with us. There's been a maintenance request filled out for the issue by the front desk staff member that you advised of the issue and it'll be fixed today yet. We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced due to the issue. Have a wonderful day and a gloriously festive holiday season.

5
Friends

Staff was awesome. Rooms clean with plenty of space.

By on Jun 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 9, 2019

Hi, it's so great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you complementing our staff as well as our inn. Our staff are marvelous and we're so thankful for them. We hope that you'll be back to visit us again. Have a fantastic day and a wonderful week!

4
Partner Couples

I was informed that the first floor is reserved for the seniors and no dog rooms on first floor. However my hubby is 70 and I am 67...are we not seniors?

By on Jun 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2019

Hello, we appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us on your recent stay with us. While it's true that all our pet-friendly rooms are on our 2nd floor and do require going up a flight of stairs to and from the parking lot. I'm not sure who advised you that our 1st floor is reserved for seniors only because that simply isn't true. Unfortunately, like everything else whether you get a room on the first floor is based on availability. If we don't have first floor rooms available, we'll have to assign guests a room on the 2nd floor. Generally, we make sure that our guests are aware of which floor they are on at the time the reservation is made. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you fantastic day and a wonderful week.

4
Everyone

Beds are very comfortable. Easy access to shopping areas. Staff friendly, the price is reasonable and the guest cookies superb.

By , from Ohio on Jul 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 17, 2018

Hello, thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you sharing your thoughts on your stay with us with our friends here online. Great photo by the way showing the gorgeous weather we've been enjoying lately here in Ohio Amish Country. We hope you'll visit us again sometime. Have a fabulous evening and a great week!

2

smelly room

Everyone

Would never use again! Morning clerk was not pleasant. Food was ok but not hot. Bad experience! Bed was very uncomfortable.

By on Apr 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 23, 2017

Greetings, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are in the process of replacing all of the mattresses, and generally we do not receive complaints of our breakfast being cold from our guests so we will definitely take your thoughts on our breakfast under advisement. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts, we appreciate hearing what all of our guests thought of their stay so that we can take that feedback and create an even better place for others to stay with us and have a relaxing time here in Ohio's Amish Country. Have a wonderful day!

4

woken up at 1:30 am.

Everyone

Smoke alarms went off at 1:30 .am. No compensation offered.

By on Nov 17, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 20, 2016

Good evening, we do apologize with any inconvenience that caused for you. We appreciate you sharing your review, and thoughts with us. If you spoke about your dissatisfaction, I am sure an agreement could have been met in a satisfactory manner. Thank you for staying with us and have a wonderful holiday season.

4

nice motel in the center of berlin oh.

Everyone

Pleasant stay, the Motel was very convenient to most of the shopping in downtown Berlin. The breakfast was excellent and very convenient.

By , from Dayton OH on Sep 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 23, 2016

Good Morning, thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you sharing such a wonderful review/ recommendation. Have a wonderful day.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/New-Philadelphia-Hotels-Lodging-on-the-Square.h12312256-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /New-Philadelphia-Hotels-Lodging-on-the-Square.h12312256-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/New-Philadelphia-Hotels-Lodging-on-the-Square.h12312256-p2.Hotel-Reviews