Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The Hotel main building is very old but well maintained. The location provides a scenic view of Colombo City along the coast ! Great restaurants. One of the best places to relax!

I called ahead due to the elections and I asked if everything would be opened and if they were fully staffed and they said yes. Upon checking in we were informed that none of the bars were open!!!!!!. It was our anniversary and we planned on basking by the pool with cocktails and going to happy hour with the supposed live music. None of that happened! Upon entering the best room they had which is what I booked it smelled heavilly like smoke, must, dust, mold. I immediately went to the front desk and spoke with the manager, she asked a maid to go to the room as they had no other rooms like it to switch us to. She had no remorse about us calling first and being lied to about everything being open. She also wasnt understanding about the smell and my allergies to smoke. It smelled slightly better but after ordering dinner to the room I had two bites of food before i had a major allergy attack to where my lips swelled and my lungs tightened. Our romantic night out turned into me taking 2 allergy pills due to the overwhelming cigarette smell, dust and mold and going to sleep early. The food was terrible. The facilities need a huge overhall. The manger needs a LOT of training. The only good part was the lady who took our order from room service she was very sweet and sent us a cake for our anniversary. Dont waste your time or money, the Kingsbury is a million times better and the same price.

Food was good. Friendly staff. Rooms are bad. Good location

Hotel is not upto par. When Jew were here five years ago it was much better

This is the most unique hotel in the world! From the moment they finally discovered my reservation and gave me a lower level room facing a corner wall and not the ocean view i had booked, i became completely invisible. Throughout my stay i was totally ignored by the staff. I was finally hiven a table at breakfast yet had to request coffee.

100 Hotel Road Mount Lavinia

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Mount Lavinia Beach
  • Free in-room WiFi
  • Free valet parking
  • Onsite dining

Mount Lavinia Beach is a short stroll from Mount Lavinia Hotel, and other popular attractions like Dehiwala Zoological Garden are within a few miles (5 km). This 4-star hotel has 210 guestrooms and offers conveniences like 3 restaurants, a full-service spa, and an outdoor pool.


Dining

Enjoy dining at Govenors Restaurant, one of 3 onsite restaurants. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, entertain your taste buds with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café, and mingle with other guests at the free daily manager's reception. Start each morning with continental breakfast, available for a fee from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

The 210 accommodations feature furnished balconies and afford space to spread out with a separate bedroom. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 24-inch TVs with cable channels and DVD players. Bathrooms offer hair dryers, free toiletries, bathrobes, and slippers. Other standard amenities include minibars, coffee makers, and free newspapers.


Property features

At Mount Lavinia Hotel, guests enjoy a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a children's pool. There's free valet parking, and a shuttle from the hotel to the airport (available 24 hours) for USD 48 per vehicle. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a 24-hour fitness center, a rooftop terrace, and a conference center.

Room options

Colonial Governors Suite Room

1 King Bed and 1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 4

Ocean View King

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Direct Ocean View Twin

1 Double Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 3

Direct Ocean View King

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Mount Lavinia Hotel

Everyone (3) Couples (1) Family (3)
5
Family Family

The Hotel main building is very old but well maintained. The location provides a scenic view of Colombo City along the coast ! Great restaurants. One of the best places to relax!

By on Nov 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 30, 2019

Dear valued guest, Greetings from Mount Lavinia Hotel! We are indeed proud of being the beautiful and historic resort in the city and the magnificent views that the hotel provides. The governer's restaurant, seafood cove especially caters scrumptious food that keeps your taste buds tantalized. Please do visit us soon again!

1
Partner Couples Family

I called ahead due to the elections and I asked if everything would be opened and if they were fully staffed and they said yes. Upon checking in we were informed that none of the bars were open!!!!!!. It was our anniversary and we planned on basking by the pool with cocktails and going to happy hour with the supposed live music. None of that happened! Upon entering the best room they had which is what I booked it smelled heavilly like smoke, must, dust, mold. I immediately went to the front desk and spoke with the manager, she asked a maid to go to the room as they had no other rooms like it to switch us to. She had no remorse about us calling first and being lied to about everything being open. She also wasnt understanding about the smell and my allergies to smoke. It smelled slightly better but after ordering dinner to the room I had two bites of food before i had a major allergy attack to where my lips swelled and my lungs tightened. Our romantic night out turned into me taking 2 allergy pills due to the overwhelming cigarette smell, dust and mold and going to sleep early. The food was terrible. The facilities need a huge overhall. The manger needs a LOT of training. The only good part was the lady who took our order from room service she was very sweet and sent us a cake for our anniversary. Dont waste your time or money, the Kingsbury is a million times better and the same price.

By on Nov 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2019

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for contacting us and highlighting these issues. We sincerely apologise for the shortcomings from our side. Addressing the issues you have raised, we were required by Government regulations to ensure liquor was not served during the days of the elections. However, we did have a bar open exclusively for residents. We have also taken into serious consideration the other issues that you have highlighted and the investigation is on going. Please be assured that corrective action will be taken. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back at the Mount Lavinia Hotel and we look forward to serving you better. Thank you

2
Everyone

Food was good. Friendly staff. Rooms are bad. Good location

By on Jul 31, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 6, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We appreciate your compliments on our food, friendly staff and iconic location. We do however apologize for the tired rooms. Nevertheless we hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

3
Everyone

Hotel is not upto par. When Jew were here five years ago it was much better

By , from Rockville md on Jul 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the hotel. It is much regret that we read of this unsatisfactory experience. Sincere apologies and we hope to serve you better for your next visit to the hotel.

1

great location; impressive history; poorly managed

Everyone

This is the most unique hotel in the world! From the moment they finally discovered my reservation and gave me a lower level room facing a corner wall and not the ocean view i had booked, i became completely invisible. Throughout my stay i was totally ignored by the staff. I was finally hiven a table at breakfast yet had to request coffee.

By , from Pennsylvania on Nov 23, 2016

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Mount-Lavinia-Hotels-Mount-Lavinia-Hotel.h878703-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Mount-Lavinia-Hotels-Mount-Lavinia-Hotel.h878703-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Mount-Lavinia-Hotels-Mount-Lavinia-Hotel.h878703-p2.Hotel-Reviews