Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The hotel was good for the price. I recommend this place to a person who is staying just for one night.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is kept clean. The location is good, walking distance to downtown attractions. There are no amenities. I was unable to get anything but vending machine food. The rooms are extremely small. The water is not always hot. It's hit or miss. The hotel is very noisy and it's impossible to get a good night's sleep.

This hotel becomes a culturally immersive haven within the very heart of Mexico City. The sights and sounds just outside the door let you experience life in Mexico City and feel like part of the family. It's close to Zocolo and Tempo Mayor and there is so much in walking distance it becomes a very healthy trip. Remember to visit the roof and spend an evening with a bottle of wine overlooking the city. It's wonderful.

Excellent ecept de 🚿 was not hot enough for December Temperatures staff is the best very helpful with directions 😃

Nice,Clean,Excellent staff and location ,close to restaurants And transportation

It was a clean hotel everything was great except walking in the night was very scary did not feel safe at all would not recommend walking in the night through that area

Wonderful staff, and clean environment. The bed was my only complaint; it was really uncomfortable. Otherwise, I loved the location; what a beautiful place!

Was very impressed with the price and cleanliness of the room. Staff was nice to let us borrow umbrellas when it poured outside. Down side was that there was no central air conditioning but staff let us borrow a fan on the third day of our stay until our last day. We stayed 7 days. Our king size mattress was not the most comfortable but was doable. We did notice some new mattresses being installed. Overall I would definitely stay there again due to affordability and central location.

nice and cozy hotel with 24 hour front desk. rooms are small but perfect for just sleeping. Rooms do not offer safes- you need to ask front desk to add your items in the downstairs staff safe. Rooms do not have AC but although it was in the high 90's all week, the room remained pretty cool. We did however, need to leave the window open 24 hours. There is some noise outside but after all the walking we were exhausted and noise did not keep us up. Beds were bit stiff, but we witnessed them replacing mattresses in every single room the day before we checked out. The area is centrally located with tons of shopping (right outside the door), sites to see (cathedral & buried pyramids), and it is central to the tour bus stops (Zocalo). After "touring" the rest of the city, Zocalo is not the "nicest" city but it is definitely the most active and central. It reminds me of Downtown LA. Tons of shops, stands with food, movement and things to see during the day but as soon as the shops close up its not so safe anymore. We were a group of 3 women traveling so we would pick up dinner and a bottle of wine and spend the evenings in the really cute and cozy rooftop patio. We had nice views and great breeze.

Good hotel and staff but to much noise all day especial in the mornings

I took an overnight flight to Mexico. Immigration clearing took a while. It was close to 8:30 AM when I reached the hotel. I was really tired, and would like to rest my back for an hour. I was denied to check in; that check in is 3:00PM. My orbitz summary of transaction is written "hotel knows my arrival time...." The place outside is too noisy due to street commerce, + I am beside the elevator. I have to put on my earplugs to sleep at night

Calle del Carmen No. 26 Mexico City CDMX

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Templo Mayor and Zocalo
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Rooftop terrace
  • Concierge services

Located in Downtown Mexico City, Hotel Templo Mayor is next to popular attractions like Museum of Light and Museo de las Constituciones. This 35-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi, a rooftop terrace, and concierge services.


Dining

Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

Hotel Templo Mayor's 35 rooms provide free bottled water, fans, and safes. Guests can expect free WiFi and 28-inch TVs with cable channels. Rooms also include free toiletries.


Property features

At Hotel Templo Mayor, guests have access to a rooftop terrace, free WiFi in public areas, and free newspapers. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with concierge services and luggage storage. Additional amenities include laundry facilities, a TV in a common area, and a vending machine.

Room options

Standard Room

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Triple Room

1 Twin Bunk Bed | Sleeps 3

Family Room

1 Double Bed and 1 Twin Bunk Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hotel Templo Mayor

Everyone (10) Couples (1) Family (1)
3
Everyone

The hotel was good for the price. I recommend this place to a person who is staying just for one night.

By on Mar 13, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 26, 2020

Everything seems that your stay with us was fine; clean room, nice staff and good location, we are very sorry about you rating us so low. Templo Mayor hotel is an affordable option in Mexico City, we are not a luxury hotel but we work very hard to deliver good services at a very reasonable price. In this city there are some other hotels available with luxuriest facilities than us but they are way expensive than us.

3
Everyone

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is kept clean. The location is good, walking distance to downtown attractions. There are no amenities. I was unable to get anything but vending machine food. The rooms are extremely small. The water is not always hot. It's hit or miss. The hotel is very noisy and it's impossible to get a good night's sleep.

By on Aug 22, 2019

5
Family Partner Couples

This hotel becomes a culturally immersive haven within the very heart of Mexico City. The sights and sounds just outside the door let you experience life in Mexico City and feel like part of the family. It's close to Zocolo and Tempo Mayor and there is so much in walking distance it becomes a very healthy trip. Remember to visit the roof and spend an evening with a bottle of wine overlooking the city. It's wonderful.

By on May 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 5, 2019

Dear guest, Many, many thanks for your comments, we are more than delighted with your positive experience in our hotel and the city. I hope to serve you again in the future.

5
Everyone

Excellent ecept de 🚿 was not hot enough for December Temperatures staff is the best very helpful with directions 😃

By on Jan 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 29, 2019

Dear guest many thanks for your comments. We really would thank you to be more specific on the water´s temperature. Our general heater is working all the time, we will double check this, but t be honest this is the first report about this ever. All the best

5
Everyone

Nice,Clean,Excellent staff and location ,close to restaurants And transportation

By on Dec 31, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 29, 2019

Dear guest, We are so much thankful for choosing our hotel and posting your review, it makes us really happy! We hope to serve you again in the future.

4
Everyone

It was a clean hotel everything was great except walking in the night was very scary did not feel safe at all would not recommend walking in the night through that area

By on Nov 25, 2018

4
Everyone

Wonderful staff, and clean environment. The bed was my only complaint; it was really uncomfortable. Otherwise, I loved the location; what a beautiful place!

By , from Kansas City on Nov 5, 2018

4

very affordable and clean!

Everyone
Picture of bathroom and great shower head pressure!

Was very impressed with the price and cleanliness of the room. Staff was nice to let us borrow umbrellas when it poured outside. Down side was that there was no central air conditioning but staff let us borrow a fan on the third day of our stay until our last day. We stayed 7 days. Our king size mattress was not the most comfortable but was doable. We did notice some new mattresses being installed. Overall I would definitely stay there again due to affordability and central location.

By , from US on Jun 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 26, 2017

Dear guest, First of all many many thanks for choosing our hotel as your home away home. I am sorry about the mattress, next time you will have for sure a new one to make your stay much better, we have replaced all the mattresses already. Unfortunately we cannot install air conditioning systems due to the building where the hotel is located is 180 years old and is protected by federal government as architectural heritage of the City of México despite these as you could see we have a lot of fan available for our guest. Mexico City´s average annual temperature us about 16 celsius or 61 farenhait degrees, some days are hotter than others but normaly the temperature is very comfortable. We really hope to see you again soon.

3

nice & clean hotel- excellent location

Everyone
buried ruins view from hotel patio main town center-walking distance (Zocalo)

nice and cozy hotel with 24 hour front desk. rooms are small but perfect for just sleeping. Rooms do not offer safes- you need to ask front desk to add your items in the downstairs staff safe. Rooms do not have AC but although it was in the high 90's all week, the room remained pretty cool. We did however, need to leave the window open 24 hours. There is some noise outside but after all the walking we were exhausted and noise did not keep us up. Beds were bit stiff, but we witnessed them replacing mattresses in every single room the day before we checked out. The area is centrally located with tons of shopping (right outside the door), sites to see (cathedral & buried pyramids), and it is central to the tour bus stops (Zocalo). After "touring" the rest of the city, Zocalo is not the "nicest" city but it is definitely the most active and central. It reminds me of Downtown LA. Tons of shops, stands with food, movement and things to see during the day but as soon as the shops close up its not so safe anymore. We were a group of 3 women traveling so we would pick up dinner and a bottle of wine and spend the evenings in the really cute and cozy rooftop patio. We had nice views and great breeze.

By on May 30, 2017

3
Everyone

Good hotel and staff but to much noise all day especial in the mornings

By , from new york on Apr 15, 2017

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Mexico-City-Hotels-Hotel-Templo-Mayor.h6360883-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Mexico-City-Hotels-Hotel-Templo-Mayor.h6360883-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Mexico-City-Hotels-Hotel-Templo-Mayor.h6360883-p2.Hotel-Reviews