Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Good walking location to other resorts and restaurants, on the beach

I liked the ocean view from our room. The hotel is tired and needs to be remodeled. There was paint missing from the lanai deck outside our room. We did not appreciate the close proximity to the nightly luau and the lous noise/music from that venue. Would not stay at this property again.

Hotel is on the grounds of the Royal Lahaina! Two pools and the most amazing beach I could have imagined. Great restaurant/bar and another beach bar. Coffee/ice cream shop plus general store were both very nice. The room itself was not anything to write home about but the bed was comfortable. Our room was on the 2nd floor and you could see a partial view of the ocean and the nightly luau. We were always out when the luau went on but I’m sure we would have enjoyed watching the show from our patio. The ocean front rooms looked very nice as well. For the price this place can’t be beat. I would stay again for sure.

There is car parking fee of US $15.00 per day. i like the location of the hotel.

The ocean view was absolutely amazing. The hotel could be so nice if it were given some love. The room is large, with lots of storage; however, the tile is old & cannot be cleaned properly with all the sand. We loved the extra sink in the room for making coffee; however, the maintenance is very lacking. The hotel has no elevator & the nightly luau, right next door, didn’t bother us as much as the maintenance. The view made everything else worthwhile.

If I could leave zero stars I would. Worst vacation ever! From the min we walked through the door we should've turned around and left! The smell of mold was horrible, but we decided to give it a chance hoping that by having the Air conditioner on that it would air out the room but boy were we wrong. The smell continued and nothing could make it go away. Then on the 2nd night the Air Conditioner in the entire building broke and it became unbearably hot in the room. We managed to make it through the first night with no AC but then the next day still no AC and it was 87 degrees in the room and climbing. When we contacted the front desk they stated they were waiting on a part for the air conditioner but not sure when it would be here. The girl at the front desk said probably in a day or two. When we explained that it was unbearably hot and it felt like a sauna in the room her response was that every room would be getting a stand up oscillating fan, which is insane! What is a fan supposed to do in a 90 degree room besides blow hot air? We went to the front desk to complain and again were told about the fan. By this time not one single person has apologized for the inconvenience or tried to make things right. I explained that for $200 a night close to $800 for our entire stay that we should be compensated with a partial refund or a new room which I was then told there were no more rooms available.

The staff was friendly and the room's were kept clean. The location is great and the grounds are well kept.

3 inch cockroach literally crawling across the ceiling in my room. Found another one in my bathroom

Older hotel, not as luxurious as its sister resort next door but, Great value and staff was great.

Parking fee ? Why don’t they just include it on overall charge fee so we won’t get this additional fees... also No microwave.

Beautiful grounds. You actually check in at the resort next door and they will bring you and your baggage over on a golf cart to your room. There is NO elevator, so if you have any issue with stairs this may not be the place for you. The room is old, but looked clean. Smelled a little musty/moldy, but went away once the air was turned on. The ocean view was magnificent! We saw several whales breaching the water which was thrilling! If you plan on being in your room between 6-9, it isn’t the most relaxing. The luau is held next door. They bring the luau guests in from the side of this hotel, so there is about 1 hour of people just hanging out under your lanai. Not very relaxing or tranquil at these times. The pounding and yelling from the Luau is almost more than one could bare. I am sure it was much more fun for the guests of the luau, but not for the hotel guests.

Like the area and view of the ocean. Do not like the lack of parking due to the big luau on the property. Do not like that there is no elevator! Do not like that the walls are paper thin and got woke up at 5 am from a family arriving.

Nice hotel close to the beach. Comfortable room and having nice decor. Washroom interiors can be improved

It is obviously an older hotel but there were ants in my room. I left a Gatorade bottle on my nightstand and it was closed but the ants were attracted to the condensation on the outside of the bottle and when I looked at it, the bottom of my bottle were covered with tiny ants and there was an ant trail that wrapped arround to the back of the nightstand. It was also very dark in the room. Not enough lights in the room.

The saving grace for this hotel is that I had an ocean front room. The view was very much like the advertisement. I loved the balcony! ... Possibly better than being on the beach...falling asleep to the sound of waves (bed right next to the patio door). having coffee in the morning. Very nice. The room itself was very tired- old dingy carpeting, de-laminated walls, cracked tiles with dirty grout. Water barely dripped out of the shower and never got warm. I imagine that it would have to run for an hour for water to get from the heater and by that time, it's cold. The room I paid for during reservation was supposed to have a king sized bed, but I ended up with 2 queen beds and my feet hanging off the end. I am tall and traveled alone, so this was important in my decision-making.

2780-A Kekaa Dr Lahaina HI

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Kaanapali Beach and Black Rock
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 3 outdoor pools

Kaanapali Ocean Inn places you within a 15-minute stroll of popular sights such as Kaanapali Beach and Black Rock. This 56-room hotel welcomes guests with 3 outdoor pools and conveniences like free in-room WiFi and a fitness center.


Dining

Satisfy your hunger without leaving your room with room service, or entertain your taste buds with bite a the onsite restaurant or coffee shop/café.


Rooms

Kaanapali Ocean Inn's 56 air-conditioned rooms provide lanais, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Safes and ironing boards are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests staying at Kaanapali Ocean Inn enjoy access to 3 outdoor pools, a fitness center, and a spa tub. Valet parking is available for USD 20 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with concierge services, securing valuables, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Oceanfront Room

1 King Bed | 2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Ocean View Room

1 King Bed | 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 4

Standard Room

1 King Bed | 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Everyone (22) Couples (11) Family (6) Friends (1) Other (1)
4
Everyone

By on Mar 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2020

Mahalo for your feedback!

4
Family

Good walking location to other resorts and restaurants, on the beach

By on Jan 27, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2020

Mahalo for your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and hope to welcome you back again in the future!

3
Everyone

By on Nov 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 28, 2019

Mahalo for your feedback!

3
Family

I liked the ocean view from our room. The hotel is tired and needs to be remodeled. There was paint missing from the lanai deck outside our room. We did not appreciate the close proximity to the nightly luau and the lous noise/music from that venue. Would not stay at this property again.

By on Sep 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 4, 2019

Mahalo for your feedback! We are very sorry that your experience was less than stellar. We are currently renovating and would be happy to place you in a quieter area on your next visit. We do hope that you will join us in the future for the blissful stay that we are known for.

4
Partner Couples Family

Hotel is on the grounds of the Royal Lahaina! Two pools and the most amazing beach I could have imagined. Great restaurant/bar and another beach bar. Coffee/ice cream shop plus general store were both very nice. The room itself was not anything to write home about but the bed was comfortable. Our room was on the 2nd floor and you could see a partial view of the ocean and the nightly luau. We were always out when the luau went on but I’m sure we would have enjoyed watching the show from our patio. The ocean front rooms looked very nice as well. For the price this place can’t be beat. I would stay again for sure.

By on Sep 19, 2019

4
Partner Couples Family

There is car parking fee of US $15.00 per day. i like the location of the hotel.

By on Aug 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 3, 2019

Mahalo for your feedback! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the location our our Inn. We do hope that you can join us again in the future.

3
Partner Couples

The ocean view was absolutely amazing. The hotel could be so nice if it were given some love. The room is large, with lots of storage; however, the tile is old & cannot be cleaned properly with all the sand. We loved the extra sink in the room for making coffee; however, the maintenance is very lacking. The hotel has no elevator & the nightly luau, right next door, didn’t bother us as much as the maintenance. The view made everything else worthwhile.

By on Jun 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 18, 2019

Mahalo for your feedback! We are in the process of improving our Inn, and appreciate that you loved the beautiful views as much as we do. We are always available to refresh the room and do hope that you can stay with us again in the future!

5
Everyone

By on May 15, 2019

Review comment responded on May 16, 2019

Mahalo for your five out of five feedback!

1
Partner Couples

If I could leave zero stars I would. Worst vacation ever! From the min we walked through the door we should've turned around and left! The smell of mold was horrible, but we decided to give it a chance hoping that by having the Air conditioner on that it would air out the room but boy were we wrong. The smell continued and nothing could make it go away. Then on the 2nd night the Air Conditioner in the entire building broke and it became unbearably hot in the room. We managed to make it through the first night with no AC but then the next day still no AC and it was 87 degrees in the room and climbing. When we contacted the front desk they stated they were waiting on a part for the air conditioner but not sure when it would be here. The girl at the front desk said probably in a day or two. When we explained that it was unbearably hot and it felt like a sauna in the room her response was that every room would be getting a stand up oscillating fan, which is insane! What is a fan supposed to do in a 90 degree room besides blow hot air? We went to the front desk to complain and again were told about the fan. By this time not one single person has apologized for the inconvenience or tried to make things right. I explained that for $200 a night close to $800 for our entire stay that we should be compensated with a partial refund or a new room which I was then told there were no more rooms available.

By on May 15, 2019

Review comment responded on May 19, 2019

Mahalo Rosann for your feedback. We are very sorry that you had a negative experience during your time with us. We are deeply sorry that the A/C was not working during your stay, unfortunately it was not an easy fix and we did have to wait for a mechanical part to fix it. We did apologize and listen to your feedback when you informed us you were unhappy with your room, as we spoke through Expedia and you spoke with a manager at the resort. We did move your room to a garden cottage room directly at the resort as soon as another room was available. That being said, we completely understand your negative feelings regarding the inconveniences experienced, and would like to offer a discount off of your next stay. This is not the normal experience of guests who stay with us, and we are very unhappy that the A/C unit caused you to have an unpleasant stay. We hope that you will give us a chance in the future to show you the high-quality service and comfort we are known for.

3
Everyone

The staff was friendly and the room's were kept clean. The location is great and the grounds are well kept.

By on Apr 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2019

Mahalo for your feedback! We are very happy that our staff was able to make your stay even better. We hope to welcome you back to our Inn on your next trip to Maui!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Lahaina-Hotels-Kaanapali-Ocean-Inn.h1579462-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Lahaina-Hotels-Kaanapali-Ocean-Inn.h1579462-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Lahaina-Hotels-Kaanapali-Ocean-Inn.h1579462-p2.Hotel-Reviews