Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Kaanapali Ocean Inn

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

If I could leave zero stars I would. Worst vacation ever! From the min we walked through the door we should've turned around and left! The smell of mold was horrible, but we decided to give it a chance hoping that by having the Air conditioner on that it would air out the room but boy were we wrong. The smell continued and nothing could make it go away. Then on the 2nd night the Air Conditioner in the entire building broke and it became unbearably hot in the room. We managed to make it through the first night with no AC but then the next day still no AC and it was 87 degrees in the room and climbing. When we contacted the front desk they stated they were waiting on a part for the air conditioner but not sure when it would be here. The girl at the front desk said probably in a day or two. When we explained that it was unbearably hot and it felt like a sauna in the room her response was that every room would be getting a stand up oscillating fan, which is insane! What is a fan supposed to do in a 90 degree room besides blow hot air? We went to the front desk to complain and again were told about the fan. By this time not one single person has apologized for the inconvenience or tried to make things right. I explained that for $200 a night close to $800 for our entire stay that we should be compensated with a partial refund or a new room which I was then told there were no more rooms available.

The staff was friendly and the room's were kept clean. The location is great and the grounds are well kept.

3 inch cockroach literally crawling across the ceiling in my room. Found another one in my bathroom

Older hotel, not as luxurious as its sister resort next door but, Great value and staff was great.

Parking fee ? Why don’t they just include it on overall charge fee so we won’t get this additional fees... also No microwave.

Beautiful grounds. You actually check in at the resort next door and they will bring you and your baggage over on a golf cart to your room. There is NO elevator, so if you have any issue with stairs this may not be the place for you. The room is old, but looked clean. Smelled a little musty/moldy, but went away once the air was turned on. The ocean view was magnificent! We saw several whales breaching the water which was thrilling! If you plan on being in your room between 6-9, it isn’t the most relaxing. The luau is held next door. They bring the luau guests in from the side of this hotel, so there is about 1 hour of people just hanging out under your lanai. Not very relaxing or tranquil at these times. The pounding and yelling from the Luau is almost more than one could bare. I am sure it was much more fun for the guests of the luau, but not for the hotel guests.

Like the area and view of the ocean. Do not like the lack of parking due to the big luau on the property. Do not like that there is no elevator! Do not like that the walls are paper thin and got woke up at 5 am from a family arriving.

Nice hotel close to the beach. Comfortable room and having nice decor. Washroom interiors can be improved

It is obviously an older hotel but there were ants in my room. I left a Gatorade bottle on my nightstand and it was closed but the ants were attracted to the condensation on the outside of the bottle and when I looked at it, the bottom of my bottle were covered with tiny ants and there was an ant trail that wrapped arround to the back of the nightstand. It was also very dark in the room. Not enough lights in the room.

The saving grace for this hotel is that I had an ocean front room. The view was very much like the advertisement. I loved the balcony! ... Possibly better than being on the beach...falling asleep to the sound of waves (bed right next to the patio door). having coffee in the morning. Very nice. The room itself was very tired- old dingy carpeting, de-laminated walls, cracked tiles with dirty grout. Water barely dripped out of the shower and never got warm. I imagine that it would have to run for an hour for water to get from the heater and by that time, it's cold. The room I paid for during reservation was supposed to have a king sized bed, but I ended up with 2 queen beds and my feet hanging off the end. I am tall and traveled alone, so this was important in my decision-making.

This hotel was perfect for our needs. It had an excellent location on a beautiful stretch of beach. The room had a small frig and a coffee maker. The bed was comfortable and it had a small balcony with two chairs. It's nothing fancy but clean and spacious. The only thing that could be changed is the bathroom door. Our's was a sliding door that didn't slide very well. We really had to work hard to open and close it. Also, we wanted to use the jacuzzi on the property but both seemed to be closed. Those things are just small and hardly worth mentioning, we would definitely come back. Lahaina is a short 5 minute drive.

I can't say enough about this place - clean, comfortable and steps from the ocean. We find high rise hotels not as warm as places with rooms like this with tons of charm and many amenities. You won't regret staying here!

Initial room was very dirty found a cockroach. Requested to move to another room. We really had to persuade the staff to change our room. A female staff member at front desk informed us we were at the economy hotels. We argued economy yes but that doesn't mean the rooms should be dirty and have bugs in them. We then moved to another room that had ants everywhere in the coffee pot on the counters in the bathroom. Infestation of ants. Then to top it off ceiling above shower caved in water poured everywhere. This was due to air conditioner leaking and water consolidation in ceiling. Terrible hotel. Parking was a nightmare. No elevator in building.

Consistent with other reviews, our room was in serious need of an update. This was fine for us because we only needed a place to sleep. However the room cleanliness was extremely poor. The bathroom wall had significant water damage, lots of bugs everywhere, etc. Don't mind the room needing some updates, but the cleanliness issue was pretty significant (and as recent college grads, we don't consider ourselves to be too picky about living conditions). On the plus side, we had a great view (ocean view on the third floor) and the amenities included with the Royal Lahaina resort are fantastic. There are nice pools and hot-tubs, tennis courts, a nice (but expensive) restaurant, and coffee & ice cream shop. There is also an activities desk to rent snorkels, kayaks, SUP, etc. There is a giant stretch of really nice beach area that was not busy at all, and had some decent snorkeling. Another great addition is the locker room by the tennis complex to shower and clean up after check out if you are flying out later in the day. The location is also great. There is a free trolley that runs downtown to the Whaler's village (only a 5 - 10 minute ride). The trolley runs most of the day and until about 10 pm. There are a few food options within walking distance as well. Overall, if you don't mind a dirty room and a few extra crawling friends in your suitcase, the pros might outweigh the cons.

If you are staying at the Kaanapali Ocean Inn, stay in a ocean front room. The view on the lanai is spectacular. Also the inn is part of the Royal Lahaina resort, and includes all of their amenities. The resort offers a complimantary room to shower and clean up after check out if you are flying out later in the day. The Kaanapali Ocean Inn if for people who want a million dollar view, and do not mind a dated room that needs updating. This was our third time here, and will stay again.

The took was ok for the money... but is in desperate need of updating. The toilet barely flushed and looked like it could be in danger of overflowing with each flush... the room smelled like mold and leftover cigarette smoke. The room included a safe from the 70s but no microwave. The fridge was very tiny. The bed was the most uncomfortable and outdated mattress I've ever slept on. Obviously not expecting the ritz Carlton otherwise I would've paid the extra money to stay there instead, but even the basics here seemed to be lacking.

The main resort facilities were wonderful... BUT the Ocean Inn part of the resort was old and in desperate need of a remodel since the 70's. As you walked into the place it smelled like the musty youth camps we went to decades ago. The AC was a little switch between off and high and was pumping out that terrible smell. The furniture was maybe from the 80s and painted repeatedly so the drawers would not even open.. Tile (all three different kinds) was very old and grout was stained. The walls - although painted and clean - had actually bubbled up from all the paint. The refrigerator was rusty. The bedding was lovely but the the mattress was terrible. The shower was old and stained grout.. Very youth camp bathroom. The hallway carpet was stained and way past need for replacement. We needed a place to stay for one night before our resort room was ready so we chose this one - based on reviews and pricing. What a mistake. Hey but we lived through it and got out of there first thing in the morning.

2780-A Kekaa Dr Lahaina HI

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Kaanapali Beach and Black Rock
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 3 outdoor pools

Kaanapali Ocean Inn places you within a 15-minute stroll of popular sights such as Kaanapali Beach and Black Rock. This 56-room hotel welcomes guests with 3 outdoor pools and conveniences like free in-room WiFi and a fitness center.


Dining

Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or entertain your taste buds at the onsite restaurant or coffee shop/café.


Rooms

A flat-screen TV comes with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a lanai, a refrigerator, and a coffee maker.


Property features

Guests staying at Kaanapali Ocean Inn enjoy access to 3 outdoor pools, a fitness center, and a spa tub. Valet parking is offered for USD 20 per day. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with concierge services, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include outdoor tennis courts, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center.

Room options

Kaanpali Oceanfront

King 1 | Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Kaanapali Ocean View

King 1 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Everyone (20) Couples (8) Family (2) Friends (1) Other (1)
5
Everyone

By on May 15, 2019

Review comment responded on May 16, 2019

Mahalo for your five out of five feedback!

1
Partner Couples

If I could leave zero stars I would. Worst vacation ever! From the min we walked through the door we should've turned around and left! The smell of mold was horrible, but we decided to give it a chance hoping that by having the Air conditioner on that it would air out the room but boy were we wrong. The smell continued and nothing could make it go away. Then on the 2nd night the Air Conditioner in the entire building broke and it became unbearably hot in the room. We managed to make it through the first night with no AC but then the next day still no AC and it was 87 degrees in the room and climbing. When we contacted the front desk they stated they were waiting on a part for the air conditioner but not sure when it would be here. The girl at the front desk said probably in a day or two. When we explained that it was unbearably hot and it felt like a sauna in the room her response was that every room would be getting a stand up oscillating fan, which is insane! What is a fan supposed to do in a 90 degree room besides blow hot air? We went to the front desk to complain and again were told about the fan. By this time not one single person has apologized for the inconvenience or tried to make things right. I explained that for $200 a night close to $800 for our entire stay that we should be compensated with a partial refund or a new room which I was then told there were no more rooms available.

By on May 15, 2019

Review comment responded on May 19, 2019

Mahalo Rosann for your feedback. We are very sorry that you had a negative experience during your time with us. We are deeply sorry that the A/C was not working during your stay, unfortunately it was not an easy fix and we did have to wait for a mechanical part to fix it. We did apologize and listen to your feedback when you informed us you were unhappy with your room, as we spoke through Expedia and you spoke with a manager at the resort. We did move your room to a garden cottage room directly at the resort as soon as another room was available. That being said, we completely understand your negative feelings regarding the inconveniences experienced, and would like to offer a discount off of your next stay. This is not the normal experience of guests who stay with us, and we are very unhappy that the A/C unit caused you to have an unpleasant stay. We hope that you will give us a chance in the future to show you the high-quality service and comfort we are known for.

3
Everyone

The staff was friendly and the room's were kept clean. The location is great and the grounds are well kept.

By on Apr 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2019

Mahalo for your feedback! We are very happy that our staff was able to make your stay even better. We hope to welcome you back to our Inn on your next trip to Maui!

1
Everyone

3 inch cockroach literally crawling across the ceiling in my room. Found another one in my bathroom

By , from Oakland, ca on Mar 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 11, 2019

Aloha! We are very sorry about your experience. We spray the property weekly for insects, but sometimes one may slip by. We hope that this did not take away from your trip and that you made beautiful memories while in Kaanapali.

4
Families

Older hotel, not as luxurious as its sister resort next door but, Great value and staff was great.

By on Mar 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 7, 2019

Mahalo for your feedback! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you can join us again on your next trip to the Inn.

2
Partner Couples

Parking fee ? Why don’t they just include it on overall charge fee so we won’t get this additional fees... also No microwave.

By on Mar 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 11, 2019

Mahalo for your feedback! To clarify, we only charge parking to guests who use the parking lot. Many guests arrive by shuttle or taxi and do not use the lot during their stay. It would be unfair to charge all guests parking as an overall fee whether or not they bring a car. We hope you enjoyed your stay and can join us in the future!

3
Everyone

Beautiful grounds. You actually check in at the resort next door and they will bring you and your baggage over on a golf cart to your room. There is NO elevator, so if you have any issue with stairs this may not be the place for you. The room is old, but looked clean. Smelled a little musty/moldy, but went away once the air was turned on. The ocean view was magnificent! We saw several whales breaching the water which was thrilling! If you plan on being in your room between 6-9, it isn’t the most relaxing. The luau is held next door. They bring the luau guests in from the side of this hotel, so there is about 1 hour of people just hanging out under your lanai. Not very relaxing or tranquil at these times. The pounding and yelling from the Luau is almost more than one could bare. I am sure it was much more fun for the guests of the luau, but not for the hotel guests.

By , from Oahu, Hawaii on Mar 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 4, 2019

Aloha Meesha! We appreciate you sharing your feedback. We are very sorry that the luau was disruptive during your stay. It does run nightly, and so we understand that can be a drawback for the Inn. As such we are understanding when guests need a quieter room and try to provide each guest a relaxing stay. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your view however! The location is beautiful and we hope to have you stay with us again. We'd be happy to place you in a room that is in a quieter area on your next visit.

3
Everyone

By on Mar 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2019

Mahalo for your feedback!

3
Partner Couples

Like the area and view of the ocean. Do not like the lack of parking due to the big luau on the property. Do not like that there is no elevator! Do not like that the walls are paper thin and got woke up at 5 am from a family arriving.

By , from Anch Ak on Feb 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 11, 2019

Aloha We are very sorry you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay with us. We are sorry you were not informed of the situation regarding the no elevator as that is something we always advise guests when booking the Kaanapli Ocean Inn. We hope the experiences did not ruin the beautiful memories you created while on the islands and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. Mahalo!

4
Everyone

Nice hotel close to the beach. Comfortable room and having nice decor. Washroom interiors can be improved

By on Nov 24, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 26, 2018

Aloha Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay here with us. We appreciate your feedback in regards to our washroom and we will be sure to share this review with our team to ensure we are giving our guests the very best vacations. We would love to welcome you again. Warmest Aloha