Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

We were very disappointed in the overall experience of our visit. Firstly the room was filthy, there was black mold on the walls, and the air conditioner wasn’t working upon our arrival. I tried calling the front desk over 5 times, and eventually had to walk down to the lobby. I will give them the fact that they offered to have us move, but we had already unpacked and I have a disability. The handicap parking was rarely available, so we had to park in the far back parking lot (while having to pay $10 extra for parking a $40 a day resort fee). Then our air finally went out, they didn’t ever answer the phones, and to top everything off they literally stole pillows out of our room “because they were short pillows” and needed to supply other rooms (by the way they never asked us if they could). Also, the food and drinks were way overpriced for what you got.

** DO NOT BOOK KAANAPALI OCEAN INN!** That is the warning. We booked the Kaanapali Ocean Inn based off of the pictures on Orbitz. It is a dump. The entire first floor was gutted and doesn’t look like it was being worked on. They tried to put us in a unit in the 2nd floor. My wife said it best, “it is like a motel in the middle of nowhere from a scary movie”. Not sure if that is descriptive enough. The property next door is the Royal Lahaina. They own the Kaanapali Ocean Inn and luckily had a room for my family of 4. ONE BED!!! We stayed one night and hightailed it out of there. You have been warned. The pics will suck you in. Shame on you Kaanapali Ocean Inn!

needs microwave and AC in rooms

Check-in and all services including breakfast, trolley, and pools were accessed thru Royal Lahaina. Walking back and forth between hotels is not logical with kids and becomes annoying. Staff was very nice and so helpful. Warning: No AC!! Room was very stuffy after 11 and nothing helped to cool it down. Fans helped alittle at night to sleep if they were directly on you. No elevator. Get a daily workout for your thighs being on the third floor! Ants are ridiculous! Could be from all the surrounding pants and sand but they were all over the hotel room. No bathtub, standing shower only. The shower drain was in the corner and the shower floor was designed at an arch so the water didn't drain on its own. No microwave in room, only a small fridge and coffee pot. We had an oceanfront room and the view is amazing! It gets very hot on the balcony in the evening due to direct sunlight since it faces the west. The luau is next to the hotel so you hear the drums every night! They are loud and play the same songs, bed before 9 is not likely. Overall not a bad stay but wouldn't stay here again. Between the heat and all the climbing it made a rough week for the kids. Highly recommend Hike Maui and Sea Maui for rainforest and ocean adventures!!

The room was not clean, the TV was ancient, and wifi didn’t work the majority of the time. There was on air conditioning. Nowhere on the site did it mention there was no air conditioning. We stayed one night until we could find another hotel and checked out. The one night we stayed was horrible.

It’s a beautiful resort with private beach and clean and huge beach so all are far from each other It’s great

We got upgraded to the towers because the Kaanapali Ocean Inn was under construction. Great deal for my money!

This resort is Paradise!! From the staff to the grounds with beautiful waterfalls and koi fish. To An amazing ocean view room. The pool is just what we were looking for with kids. It’s big and warm. It has a great spot to play in the ocean or just walk the beach!! The little cafe downstairs has some of the best fish tacos we ate while being on the island. This is the only place we will stay.

Friendly very accommodating staff. Beautiful cottage beach front upgeaded by the fabulous Georgia at tge front desk. Thank you for a wonderful stay

Good walking location to other resorts and restaurants, on the beach

I liked the ocean view from our room. The hotel is tired and needs to be remodeled. There was paint missing from the lanai deck outside our room. We did not appreciate the close proximity to the nightly luau and the lous noise/music from that venue. Would not stay at this property again.

Hotel is on the grounds of the Royal Lahaina! Two pools and the most amazing beach I could have imagined. Great restaurant/bar and another beach bar. Coffee/ice cream shop plus general store were both very nice. The room itself was not anything to write home about but the bed was comfortable. Our room was on the 2nd floor and you could see a partial view of the ocean and the nightly luau. We were always out when the luau went on but I’m sure we would have enjoyed watching the show from our patio. The ocean front rooms looked very nice as well. For the price this place can’t be beat. I would stay again for sure.

There is car parking fee of US $15.00 per day. i like the location of the hotel.

The ocean view was absolutely amazing. The hotel could be so nice if it were given some love. The room is large, with lots of storage; however, the tile is old & cannot be cleaned properly with all the sand. We loved the extra sink in the room for making coffee; however, the maintenance is very lacking. The hotel has no elevator & the nightly luau, right next door, didn’t bother us as much as the maintenance. The view made everything else worthwhile.

If I could leave zero stars I would. Worst vacation ever! From the min we walked through the door we should've turned around and left! The smell of mold was horrible, but we decided to give it a chance hoping that by having the Air conditioner on that it would air out the room but boy were we wrong. The smell continued and nothing could make it go away. Then on the 2nd night the Air Conditioner in the entire building broke and it became unbearably hot in the room. We managed to make it through the first night with no AC but then the next day still no AC and it was 87 degrees in the room and climbing. When we contacted the front desk they stated they were waiting on a part for the air conditioner but not sure when it would be here. The girl at the front desk said probably in a day or two. When we explained that it was unbearably hot and it felt like a sauna in the room her response was that every room would be getting a stand up oscillating fan, which is insane! What is a fan supposed to do in a 90 degree room besides blow hot air? We went to the front desk to complain and again were told about the fan. By this time not one single person has apologized for the inconvenience or tried to make things right. I explained that for $200 a night close to $800 for our entire stay that we should be compensated with a partial refund or a new room which I was then told there were no more rooms available.

2780-A Kekaa Dr Lahaina HI

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Kaanapali Beach
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 3 outdoor pools

Kaanapali Beach is a short stroll from Kaanapali Ocean Inn, and other popular attractions like Whalers Village are within a couple of miles (3 km). This 56-room hotel welcomes guests with 3 outdoor pools and conveniences like free in-room WiFi and a gym.


Dining

Satisfy your hunger without leaving your room with room service, or entertain your taste buds with bite a the onsite restaurant or coffee shop/cafe.


Rooms

Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include lanais, refrigerators, and coffee makers.


Property features

Guests staying at Kaanapali Ocean Inn enjoy access to 3 outdoor pools, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas. Valet parking is available for USD 37 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and a computer station.

Room options

Oceanfront Room

1 King Bed | 2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Ocean View Room

1 King Bed | 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 4

Standard Room

1 King Bed | 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Everyone (23) Couples (8) Family (9)
2
Partner Couples

We were very disappointed in the overall experience of our visit. Firstly the room was filthy, there was black mold on the walls, and the air conditioner wasn’t working upon our arrival. I tried calling the front desk over 5 times, and eventually had to walk down to the lobby. I will give them the fact that they offered to have us move, but we had already unpacked and I have a disability. The handicap parking was rarely available, so we had to park in the far back parking lot (while having to pay $10 extra for parking a $40 a day resort fee). Then our air finally went out, they didn’t ever answer the phones, and to top everything off they literally stole pillows out of our room “because they were short pillows” and needed to supply other rooms (by the way they never asked us if they could). Also, the food and drinks were way overpriced for what you got.

By on Jul 16, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 16, 2022

Thank you for your recent feedback concerning your stay at the Kaanapali Ocean Inn. We are extremely sorry to have disappointed you. We try to maintain the highest standards of service but clearly that is not what happened here. We will be reviewing this with our management team to improve our service to our guests.

1
Family

** DO NOT BOOK KAANAPALI OCEAN INN!** That is the warning. We booked the Kaanapali Ocean Inn based off of the pictures on Orbitz. It is a dump. The entire first floor was gutted and doesn’t look like it was being worked on. They tried to put us in a unit in the 2nd floor. My wife said it best, “it is like a motel in the middle of nowhere from a scary movie”. Not sure if that is descriptive enough. The property next door is the Royal Lahaina. They own the Kaanapali Ocean Inn and luckily had a room for my family of 4. ONE BED!!! We stayed one night and hightailed it out of there. You have been warned. The pics will suck you in. Shame on you Kaanapali Ocean Inn!

By on Jul 9, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2022

Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We will be addressing your concerns to make sure we offer the best service to our guests.

5
Everyone

By on Mar 16, 2022

4
Family

needs microwave and AC in rooms

By on Feb 5, 2022

Review comment responded on Feb 7, 2022

Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, we are sorry if it was not working during your stay with us. We will be addressing your concerns to make sure we offer the best service to our guests.

1
Everyone

By on Oct 1, 2021

3
Family with small children

Check-in and all services including breakfast, trolley, and pools were accessed thru Royal Lahaina. Walking back and forth between hotels is not logical with kids and becomes annoying. Staff was very nice and so helpful. Warning: No AC!! Room was very stuffy after 11 and nothing helped to cool it down. Fans helped alittle at night to sleep if they were directly on you. No elevator. Get a daily workout for your thighs being on the third floor! Ants are ridiculous! Could be from all the surrounding pants and sand but they were all over the hotel room. No bathtub, standing shower only. The shower drain was in the corner and the shower floor was designed at an arch so the water didn't drain on its own. No microwave in room, only a small fridge and coffee pot. We had an oceanfront room and the view is amazing! It gets very hot on the balcony in the evening due to direct sunlight since it faces the west. The luau is next to the hotel so you hear the drums every night! They are loud and play the same songs, bed before 9 is not likely. Overall not a bad stay but wouldn't stay here again. Between the heat and all the climbing it made a rough week for the kids. Highly recommend Hike Maui and Sea Maui for rainforest and ocean adventures!!

By on Aug 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 16, 2021

Aloha and thank you for taking your time to review of hotel. We sorry to hear you didn't enjoyed staying with us. Mahalo!

1
Partner Couples

The room was not clean, the TV was ancient, and wifi didn’t work the majority of the time. There was on air conditioning. Nowhere on the site did it mention there was no air conditioning. We stayed one night until we could find another hotel and checked out. The one night we stayed was horrible.

By on Jul 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 8, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. We message every guest that there is no A/C at the Inn and have it posted on our website. We are very sorry for any inconveniences and we hope that you had a better time at your alternative hotel. We would love to host you again in the future for an improved experience.

5
Family

It’s a beautiful resort with private beach and clean and huge beach so all are far from each other It’s great

By on Apr 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 7, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are happy to read that you are enjoying our beautiful location! We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Maui!

5
Friends

We got upgraded to the towers because the Kaanapali Ocean Inn was under construction. Great deal for my money!

By on Feb 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 24, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed the upgrade! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

5
Family

This resort is Paradise!! From the staff to the grounds with beautiful waterfalls and koi fish. To An amazing ocean view room. The pool is just what we were looking for with kids. It’s big and warm. It has a great spot to play in the ocean or just walk the beach!! The little cafe downstairs has some of the best fish tacos we ate while being on the island. This is the only place we will stay.

By on Feb 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 18, 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Lahaina-Hotels-Kaanapali-Ocean-Inn.h1579462-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Lahaina-Hotels-Kaanapali-Ocean-Inn.h1579462-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Lahaina-Hotels-Kaanapali-Ocean-Inn.h1579462-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions