Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The volcano lodge is a very nice accommodation in Arenal. It certainly is a good value for the money compared to several of the other accommodations in the area. The rooms are simplistic but clean. The grounds are immaculate and have very nice heated pools. The reception staff was very attentive, much more so than the dining staff. All in all, it was a nice place to stay but I certainly would not call it luxurious.

A little pricier than their sister hotel San Bosco, but fabulous service, peaceful thermal pools, and rooms. Sura on site restaurant had decent included breakfast, but incredible dinner. We ate there 3 nights because their food quality and presentation was so fabulous and with reasonable prices. Comfy king bed and lovely little patio in the back of the room with large windows overlooking gardens. Not walking distance to town. Must take taxi. That is the only negative to this wonderful place.

Had a room with private thermal pool and it was amazing! Water was warm and the mini waterfall was a great add to the whole experience. Room was spacious and clean.

Great place! We really enjoyed our 4 night stay. My one recommendation is that the beds were bigger.

Facilities were unique and fun; staff was kind and very helpful.

Loved the thermal pools! Fauna and birds! Food was great too!

Stayed here several times and really enjoy the entire grounds. Highly recommend!

Our Second night we came back from A long day of excursions with hopes of getting into the springs and healing ourselves from the day but we found over 80 teenagers in the hot springs. Literally no where for us to have peace and privacy or even get in. We opted to take our food to the room and skipped the hot springs. It was a waste of a night for us. Had we known of this ahead of time or even during check in we would’ve made other arrangements. I know the property isn’t adults only but over 80 kids bombarding the two springs caught us by surprise and not just us. We noticed everyone else was uncomfortable and disappointed.

We had an exceptional time here. The thermal rooms are beautiful, the staff is kind, the spa is out of this world! Hot springs throughout the resort is also really amazing!

The food in the restaurant was good, but not great.

Volcano Lodge exceeded our expectations. We originally planned to stop for one night on our way to the Pacific coast of Costa Rica but at the last minute added an extra night which was well worthwhile. The grounds are lush and well maintained with a series of hot spring tubs each of varying temperature. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast buffet was well stocked with fresh fruit and a good omelette bar. Definitely good value for money.

The thermal waters were so awesome!! Loved that they were on site and easily accessible! The staff was super friendly!! Location was very close to downtown!

Nice place. Well kept gardens, excellent thermal pools, good food.Friendly staff.

This was a true resort property. We relaxed and enjoyed the environment -- even saw the volcano in the clear. The vegetation is lush and the rooms are plush. The dining area was terrific.

Everything was great just early morning cows noise

7 Km West From La Fortuna La Fortuna Alajuela

Hotel highlights

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Ecotermales Fortuna is within 2 miles (3 km) of Volcano Lodge Hotel & Thermal Experience while other popular attractions such as Ecoglide Arenal Park are within 3 miles (5 km). This 66-room, 4-star lodge welcomes guests with 4 outdoor pools, free breakfast, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free full breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6:30 AM to 10 AM. Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at Restaurante Sura, the lodge's onsite restaurant. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

All 66 air-conditioned rooms feature patios, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch LCD TVs with digital channels. Other amenities include ceiling fans, hair dryers, and safes.


Property features

Renovated in 2014, Volcano Lodge Hotel & Thermal Experience offers 4 outdoor pools, a children's pool, and a sauna. There's free parking and an airport shuttle for a fee. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with tours or tickets, luggage storage, and access to locker space. Other amenities at this hot springs lodge include free WiFi in public areas, free newspapers, and a terrace.

Room options

Superior Room (Thermal)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Junior Suite

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Superior Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Junior Double Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Volcano Lodge Hotel & Thermal Experience

Everyone (14) Couples (8) Family (7)
4
Friends

The volcano lodge is a very nice accommodation in Arenal. It certainly is a good value for the money compared to several of the other accommodations in the area. The rooms are simplistic but clean. The grounds are immaculate and have very nice heated pools. The reception staff was very attentive, much more so than the dining staff. All in all, it was a nice place to stay but I certainly would not call it luxurious.

By on Jan 23, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2022

Thank you for staying with us at Volcano Lodge Hotel & Thermal Experience. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and genuinely appreciate the positive feedback. We hope on your next travel to Costa Rica you will stay with us again. Best regards!

5
Partner Couples

A little pricier than their sister hotel San Bosco, but fabulous service, peaceful thermal pools, and rooms. Sura on site restaurant had decent included breakfast, but incredible dinner. We ate there 3 nights because their food quality and presentation was so fabulous and with reasonable prices. Comfy king bed and lovely little patio in the back of the room with large windows overlooking gardens. Not walking distance to town. Must take taxi. That is the only negative to this wonderful place.

By on Dec 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 12, 2022

Thank you for staying with us at Volcano Lodge Hotel & Thermal Experience. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and genuinely appreciate the positive feedback. We hope on your next travel to Costa Rica you will stay with us again. Best regards!

5
Partner Couples

Had a room with private thermal pool and it was amazing! Water was warm and the mini waterfall was a great add to the whole experience. Room was spacious and clean.

By on Dec 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 12, 2022

Thank you for staying with us at Volcano Lodge Hotel & Thermal Experience. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and genuinely appreciate the positive feedback. We hope on your next travel to Costa Rica you will stay with us again. Best regards!

5
Family

Great place! We really enjoyed our 4 night stay. My one recommendation is that the beds were bigger.

By on Nov 22, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 3, 2021

Hi Diane! Thank you for staying with us at Volcano Lodge Hotel & Thermal Experience. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and genuinely appreciate the positive feedback. We hope on your next travel to Costa Rica you will stay with us again. Best regards!

5
Everyone

Facilities were unique and fun; staff was kind and very helpful.

By , from Chicago on Jan 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 11, 2021

Hello Jay, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you again very soon, Kind regards!

5
Family Family with small children

Loved the thermal pools! Fauna and birds! Food was great too!

By on Jan 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 5, 2021

Thank you so much for your visit! We hope you enjoyed our tropical retreat! Kind regards!

5
Everyone

Stayed here several times and really enjoy the entire grounds. Highly recommend!

By , from Houston on Dec 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 7, 2020

Thank you for your review, we look forward to serving you, your family or friends in the future, even better! It's great to read that you really enjoyed our experience again!

2
Partner Couples

Our Second night we came back from A long day of excursions with hopes of getting into the springs and healing ourselves from the day but we found over 80 teenagers in the hot springs. Literally no where for us to have peace and privacy or even get in. We opted to take our food to the room and skipped the hot springs. It was a waste of a night for us. Had we known of this ahead of time or even during check in we would’ve made other arrangements. I know the property isn’t adults only but over 80 kids bombarding the two springs caught us by surprise and not just us. We noticed everyone else was uncomfortable and disappointed.

By on Mar 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 4, 2020

Hello, thank you very much for your time to evaluating us. We regret that your stay was not to your liking... As you well know, we are a hotel suitable for couples and friends as well as families. We provide an atmosphere of tranquility and peace throughout the property. The people (children) that you mention did not break any type of lodging rule and neither were 80 as you mention. We hope you can understand us !! Also as a suggestion, we have rooms with their own thermal water pools for you to consider in the future. Best regards,

5
Everyone

By on Feb 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 13, 2020

Hola, muchas gracias por su buena valoración. Saludos cordiales,

2
Everyone

By on Nov 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 26, 2019

Hola, gracias por su valoración. Hubiera sido muy bueno saber el porqué de su baja calificación. Saludos,

Volcano Lodge Hotel & Thermal Experience

7 Km West From La Fortuna, La Fortuna, Alajuela 50-4417
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/La-Fortuna-Hotels-Volcano-Lodge-Hotel-&-Thermal-Experience.h2133936-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /La-Fortuna-Hotels-Volcano-Lodge-Hotel-&-Thermal-Experience.h2133936-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/La-Fortuna-Hotels-Volcano-Lodge-Hotel-&-Thermal-Experience.h2133936-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions