Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Our Second night we came back from A long day of excursions with hopes of getting into the springs and healing ourselves from the day but we found over 80 teenagers in the hot springs. Literally no where for us to have peace and privacy or even get in. We opted to take our food to the room and skipped the hot springs. It was a waste of a night for us. Had we known of this ahead of time or even during check in we would’ve made other arrangements. I know the property isn’t adults only but over 80 kids bombarding the two springs caught us by surprise and not just us. We noticed everyone else was uncomfortable and disappointed.

We had an exceptional time here. The thermal rooms are beautiful, the staff is kind, the spa is out of this world! Hot springs throughout the resort is also really amazing!

The food in the restaurant was good, but not great.

Volcano Lodge exceeded our expectations. We originally planned to stop for one night on our way to the Pacific coast of Costa Rica but at the last minute added an extra night which was well worthwhile. The grounds are lush and well maintained with a series of hot spring tubs each of varying temperature. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast buffet was well stocked with fresh fruit and a good omelette bar. Definitely good value for money.

The thermal waters were so awesome!! Loved that they were on site and easily accessible! The staff was super friendly!! Location was very close to downtown!

Nice place. Well kept gardens, excellent thermal pools, good food.Friendly staff.

This was a true resort property. We relaxed and enjoyed the environment -- even saw the volcano in the clear. The vegetation is lush and the rooms are plush. The dining area was terrific.

Everything was great just early morning cows noise

Volcano Lodge is absolutely beautiful! The staff is very friendly and Sur's food is very yummy. I would surely stay there again! The view of the volcano is breathtaking and the tours offered are so fun. The guides, (Desafio and Ecoglide are two of many tour companies offered) have a wonderful connection and appreciation to nature.

The property is a little dated. I'm also used to well ventilated bathroom, but the window in the bathroom was bolted shut so no adequate ventilation after taking a shower. But the room was clean, AC was great, view was amazing even when the clouds cover the volcano, and most importantly, the place was clean. Free breakfast buffet was also awesome. But wouldn't recommend going to lunch or dinner bc it's a bit pricey.

rooms were clean but a bit dated and smelled a little dingy. Otherwise, the property is amazing. Amazing views and hot springs, gorgeous property, great location. We were just a few mins from town and excursions. Recommend NOT booking excursions with the hotel as they overcharge. Just drive 5 mins into town and book with any of the legitimate travel excursions companies in town (you can't miss them).

It was a nice property, and very relaxing. well maintained

A fantastic room with with a beautiful vulcano view and private tube with thermal water. Excellent food at the restaurant.

7 Km West From La Fortuna La Fortuna Alajuela

Hotel highlights

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Ecotermales Fortuna is within 2 miles (3 km) of Volcano Lodge Hotel & Thermal Experience while other popular attractions such as Ecoglide Arenal Park are within 3 miles (5 km). This 66-room, 4-star lodge welcomes guests with 4 outdoor pools, free breakfast, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free full breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6:30 AM to 10 AM. Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at Restaurante Sura, the lodge's onsite restaurant. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

All 66 air-conditioned rooms feature patios, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch LCD TVs with digital channels. Other amenities include ceiling fans, hair dryers, and safes.


Property features

Renovated in 2014, Volcano Lodge Hotel & Thermal Experience offers 4 outdoor pools, a children's pool, and a sauna. There's free parking and an airport shuttle for a fee. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with access to locker space, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this hot springs lodge include free WiFi in public areas, free newspapers, and a terrace.

Room options

Superior Room (Thermal)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Junior Suite

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Superior Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Volcano Lodge Hotel & Thermal Experience

Everyone (38) Couples (5) Family (6)
2
Partner Couples

Our Second night we came back from A long day of excursions with hopes of getting into the springs and healing ourselves from the day but we found over 80 teenagers in the hot springs. Literally no where for us to have peace and privacy or even get in. We opted to take our food to the room and skipped the hot springs. It was a waste of a night for us. Had we known of this ahead of time or even during check in we would’ve made other arrangements. I know the property isn’t adults only but over 80 kids bombarding the two springs caught us by surprise and not just us. We noticed everyone else was uncomfortable and disappointed.

By on Mar 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 4, 2020

Hello, thank you very much for your time to evaluating us. We regret that your stay was not to your liking... As you well know, we are a hotel suitable for couples and friends as well as families. We provide an atmosphere of tranquility and peace throughout the property. The people (children) that you mention did not break any type of lodging rule and neither were 80 as you mention. We hope you can understand us !! Also as a suggestion, we have rooms with their own thermal water pools for you to consider in the future. Best regards,

5
Everyone

By on Feb 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 13, 2020

Hola, muchas gracias por su buena valoración. Saludos cordiales,

2
Everyone

By on Nov 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 26, 2019

Hola, gracias por su valoración. Hubiera sido muy bueno saber el porqué de su baja calificación. Saludos,

5
Partner Couples

We had an exceptional time here. The thermal rooms are beautiful, the staff is kind, the spa is out of this world! Hot springs throughout the resort is also really amazing!

By on Oct 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 4, 2019

Dear guest, we are delighted to know that your experience at Volcano Lodge & Springs has been so positive. Your feedback motivates us and encourages us to keep doing things better every time. We hope you visit us again soon. Kindest regards,

5
Partner Couples

The food in the restaurant was good, but not great.

By on Oct 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 3, 2019

Hello, thank you for your time to evaluating us. We really appreciate it. Kindest regards,

5
Family

Volcano Lodge exceeded our expectations. We originally planned to stop for one night on our way to the Pacific coast of Costa Rica but at the last minute added an extra night which was well worthwhile. The grounds are lush and well maintained with a series of hot spring tubs each of varying temperature. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast buffet was well stocked with fresh fruit and a good omelette bar. Definitely good value for money.

By on Aug 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 16, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay with us. Definitely our daily goal is to make the stay of our guests a perfect and unforgettable experience. Our staff works at all times to fully serve our visitors and your feedback will definitely help us to improve every aspect of our work. We hope you visit us again soon, it will be a pleasure to serve you. Warmest regards,

5
Everyone

By on Aug 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 8, 2019

Hello, thank you for your rating. Best regards,

5
Family

The thermal waters were so awesome!! Loved that they were on site and easily accessible! The staff was super friendly!! Location was very close to downtown!

By on Aug 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 8, 2019

Dear guest, thank you for your evaluation. We are happy to read your positive comment. Do not hesitate to visit us in a near future. It will be a pleasure to serve you again. Kindest regards,

5
Everyone

By on Jul 26, 2019

5
Everyone

By on Jul 13, 2019

Volcano Lodge Hotel & Thermal Experience

7 Km West From La Fortuna, La Fortuna, Alajuela 50-4417
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/La-Fortuna-Hotels-Volcano-Lodge-Hotel-&-Thermal-Experience.h2133936-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /La-Fortuna-Hotels-Volcano-Lodge-Hotel-&-Thermal-Experience.h2133936-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/La-Fortuna-Hotels-Volcano-Lodge-Hotel-&-Thermal-Experience.h2133936-p2.Hotel-Reviews