Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Juan (in the front) was amazing! He went above and beyond to assist us. The food was good, the restaurant staff was friendly. The rooms were clean, the grounds are beautiful.

No tenían disponible la habitación por lasque ya había pagado, nos dieron a cambio cupones por comida y bebidas, las bebidas todo bien, pero la comida no sabía a nada, todo estaba horrible. Aparte de eso, es un bonito hotel con muy ricos jacuzzis

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel was close to the city and outdoor tourist locations

Service was good from breakfast to the poolside bar (Nelson was accommodating). The front desk helped with booking excursions but make sure to ask what you have to do, and when you have to pay. That part was not communicated to us. But otherwise it was a nice hotel, will consider staying again. Property and rooms could be updated, but it was good enough for the amount of days we stayed.

Beautifully designed hotel with an exceptional view of the Arenal Volcano. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms were clean, and the whole facility is well maintained. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet and omelet bar, beautiful landscaping, and close proximity, but not too close, to downtown La Fortuna.

Amazing view, Friendly staff and convenient to all attractions. Very clean and food was great.

I would like to say big thank you for amazing care they took of us in Magic mountain hotel! We spent 3 nights there. They have very helpful and kind stuff, great food and drinks, breath taking balcony view, perfect location. I am sure I will be back to this hotel soon!

Stayed here on April 2017 for one night. We stayed in the brand new extension of the hotel with Volcano view. Friendly staff. Small but clean pool. No hot spring water here. Free but very limited breakfast.

Our room was perfectly adequate, but just missing some minor things that would have made it feel much nicer. Both our refrigerator and room safe were inoperable, and the wifi was fairly spotty. We didn't spend much time in the room because we were out and about, so these things weren't that big of a deal. We didn't complain, so they weren't able to fix the items and change our opinion, but if the staff were checking the condition of the room, they would have known about these items not working.

It is a great value for the money you pay hotel. Good location, friendly staff, and good surroundings (garden and pool). The staff eagerly assisted us in booking guided tours to various places around. The restaurant (Lina) is bit overpriced for the quality of food served. The Internet service is very patchy with a standard response from the hotel staff that they will reset the router whenever you asked them, which is not the staff's fault but the quality and speed of the connection that the hotel had.

The hotel was very nice, clean and had an excellent view of the Volcano.

My family and I were so amazed about the location of this hotel. We had a good view of the Arenal Volcano from our hotel balcony. Even though we arrived late to check-in, all provisions were left to the security guard so we could access our room. The restaurant manager even left his commitment at the function hall to open the kitchen for us and be served for dinner. The staff members were very consistent in accommodating all our daily needs to ensure that our vacation would be memorable and exciting. If I will go back to this part of Costa Rica, I will not have second thought of staying in this hotel again.

Overall this hotel was great. Staff was very friendly and every room had a view of the volcano. The only issue we had was that they advertised king size beds...they did not have any king beds. That was our only complaint.

The Hotel has a great location, where your close to town and great view of Arenal Volcano. The house keeping were very nice and cleaned the room very well. Also the waiters in the restaurant were very nice. What it does need is better staff service in the main lobby, better beds and TV's and Wi-Fi service through out the hotel. I wouldn't stay there again, its not as relaxing as it seems. Good luck!!!!

Overall the hotel was excellent, the staff were very helpful and polite, the food at the free buffett was excellent, however, their should be more daily variety. The hotel was kind of far from downtown but taxis are available for $3. The front desk is not open 24 hr, so if you need to checkout you have to wait untill 6 am. Our room kind was very difficult to work with, tried several times before you can open the door. The room was nice and so with bed. The safe storage was very useful. I would stay here again.

This was a clean hotel but we needed wifi in the room, not just in the lobby. Breakfast okay each morning.

My first time there, the staff was excellent they went out of there way to make sure everthing including our excurisions was the best experiences.This hotel is centurally located you can walk to town to enjoy some truly amazing resteraunts.Zip Lining is a must, you won't be disappointed.

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Magic Mountain while we were hiking the rainforests and the Arenal Volcano area. It's very close to all the attractions and was easy to find. The room was super clean and our only complaint was that the bed was uncomfortably hard and the pillows were like pancakes. We never saw the volcano while were were there because of cloud cover but I'm told by other visitors that we would see it from our balcony if it were clear. The grounds of the hotel are absolutely lovely. The quantity and variety of flowers is wonderful. I really enjoyed all the hummingbirds buzzing around. The pool looked nice but we never got in it as it rained the entire time we were there, but it is in the rainforest region so I guess you have to expect that! The staff there was very friendly and helpful. They were especially prompt whenever you requested assistance. Overall, a nice place to stay and I would recommend it to travelers!

La Fortuna de San Carlos La Fortuna Alajuela

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Hotel Magic Mountain SPA & Conference center places you within 2 miles (3 km) of popular sights like Ecotermales Fortuna and Kalambu Hot Springs. This 108-room, 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free buffet breakfast, served each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM. This hotel serves as home to a family restaurant, which has pool views and specializes in international cuisine, along with a sports bar. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

All of Hotel Magic Mountain SPA & Conference center's 108 air-conditioned rooms provide balconies, coffee makers, and safes. Guests can expect to find cable TV and stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. In-room massages are available, and rooms also include phones.


Property features

Hotel Magic Mountain SPA & Conference center features a full-service spa, karaoke, and an outdoor pool. There's free parking, and an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 160 per vehicle one way. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this hot springs hotel include a children's pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a spa tub.

Room options

Junior Suite, Balcony

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Superior Room, Balcony

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hotel Magic Mountain SPA & Conference center

Everyone (5) Couples (11) Business (1) Family (8) Friends (1)
5
Friends

Juan (in the front) was amazing! He went above and beyond to assist us. The food was good, the restaurant staff was friendly. The rooms were clean, the grounds are beautiful.

By , from BRANDON on May 14, 2022

3
Family Partner Couples

No tenían disponible la habitación por lasque ya había pagado, nos dieron a cambio cupones por comida y bebidas, las bebidas todo bien, pero la comida no sabía a nada, todo estaba horrible. Aparte de eso, es un bonito hotel con muy ricos jacuzzis

By , from San José on Apr 20, 2022

4
Everyone

By on Aug 22, 2021

5
Partner Couples

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel was close to the city and outdoor tourist locations

By on Jun 10, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2021

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay at Magic Mountain We hope to see you soon at this your home away from home

4
Friends

Service was good from breakfast to the poolside bar (Nelson was accommodating). The front desk helped with booking excursions but make sure to ask what you have to do, and when you have to pay. That part was not communicated to us. But otherwise it was a nice hotel, will consider staying again. Property and rooms could be updated, but it was good enough for the amount of days we stayed.

By , from USA on Dec 3, 2019

5
Everyone

By on Nov 27, 2019

4
Family Family with small children

Beautifully designed hotel with an exceptional view of the Arenal Volcano. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms were clean, and the whole facility is well maintained. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet and omelet bar, beautiful landscaping, and close proximity, but not too close, to downtown La Fortuna.

By on Aug 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2019

Thank you for your comments, for us they are very important.

5
Family

Amazing view, Friendly staff and convenient to all attractions. Very clean and food was great.

By on Aug 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2019

Thank you for your comments, for us they are very important.

5
Everyone

I would like to say big thank you for amazing care they took of us in Magic mountain hotel! We spent 3 nights there. They have very helpful and kind stuff, great food and drinks, breath taking balcony view, perfect location. I am sure I will be back to this hotel soon!

By , from Czech republic on Apr 11, 2018

4

small boutique hotel

Everyone

Stayed here on April 2017 for one night. We stayed in the brand new extension of the hotel with Volcano view. Friendly staff. Small but clean pool. No hot spring water here. Free but very limited breakfast.

By , from California on Apr 26, 2017

Hotel Magic Mountain SPA & Conference center

La Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna, Alajuela 414417
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/La-Fortuna-Hotels-Hotel-Magic-Mountain-SPA-&-Conference-center.h1636277-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /La-Fortuna-Hotels-Hotel-Magic-Mountain-SPA-&-Conference-center.h1636277-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/La-Fortuna-Hotels-Hotel-Magic-Mountain-SPA-&-Conference-center.h1636277-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions