Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Stayed here for two nights at the end of our holiday in KL. Reception area was nice but took ages from them to check us in. Once we got out of the lift to go to our room, it was so bad. Wallpaper falling off the walls in the corridor. Skirting boards and carpet beyond dirty. Once in our room, carpet was dirty and the air con was not working. We changed room and were given a better room. Breakfast was below average. Bell boy was up himself and too busy with his mobile phone, I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYBODY. it is the most disgusting place I have every stayed in. It should be closed to the public and be rated as a 1 star. On the upside, brilliant location but that's it.

If you want to stay in the centre of KL, close to Chankat Bukit Bintang, Jalan Alor and Pavillion, this is a great hotel. Prices are fair and the hotel is clean. Forget about the breakfast, as we were there, the bread baskets were empty, the Asian Food buffet was half empty, the egg station was manned by one (poor) person with a queue of average 10 people, no other egg options (boiled, scrambled etc) etc etc. The coffee tastes like the coffee of yesterday was heated up in a microwave... Mentioned all this to several staff, but after waiting 20 mins, nothing was re-filled. So we left after having poor coffee and chemical fruit juice. At the entrance two senior male staff in suits were happily talking to each other without any form of interest of what was going on inside the breakfast room. Only after I told them that half of their buffet was empty for the last 20 minutes, they looked upset as i interrupted their happy chat, but at least they moved inside. Don't know if they did something about it, but thats the best i could do. The room are ok, nothing special. The pool looks great from our room (didn't make use of it) and looked child friendly. If you need to go elsewhere in town, be prepared for long wait for taxi and once in a taxi for long waiting/travel as the traffic in the area is horrendous! My tip, walk a bit, take the monorail and take a cab away from that area!

I was busy during the week with work. My wife took up responsibility to book a hotel for our weekend getaway in KL. Booked this Royale Chulan by mistake; thought we were booking another nicer Royale Chulan next to Pavilion Mall. This is a very old and sad looking hotel. Its heydays are probably 20 years ago! Though it is sitting next to Low Yat IT mall, at night it is not a place that I want my wife to walk out on her own. What this hotel needs is a full renovation to bring it back to former glory.

Nothing bad to review about the hotel except for its deserted location and one cannot expect much from the area Serangbang. The Service is okay , but if you decide to get in room dining please place your order half and hour or 45min before it takes a long time to reach the room. breakfast is not enjoyable the whole five days we were eating the same Varity and it is not pleasing. Okay they got a fantastic pool with a waterfall effect which is a fantastic water therapy area, my advice is if you need to enjoy a calm environment Royal Chulan is the best place but if you are a shopaholic or a window shopper Royal Chulan is not the best place to stay as it takes 45min to one hour to travel from Royal Chulan to KL . And a taxi will charge you from 80 ringgits to 100 one way or you can catch the train around 6pm one and another at 6.45 from sarangbang to KL it will take only 20 min

The room was nice, clean and spacious. Room service food was good, didn't take long to arrive and the buffet breakfast was lovely. Staff were welcoming and friendly, and the concierge staff were especially helpful when we asked questions about directions etc. The hotel's in a good location; close to lots of restaurants, bars and shopping areas. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

The rooms are spacious clean and comfortable. The air-con in the room is loud. The lounge bar is not very inviting having a resident singer an no other atmosphere. The sports bar is like a gentleman's club, no place for ladies. The food on the other hand is magnificent a full range to suit all tastes. The service is also good.

Arriving tired and jet lag to Chulan hotel lobby badly ventilated, full of badly behave local people seating on the floor or running around like wild herds of goats, this is not what is expected from a not so four stars, and left us immediately with a bad impression.We had book 3 months ago, 3 double rooms, same floor as a family, AND it wasn't ready at 1.30 pm!! We ere told to wait an hour. Next to the hotel reception checking in front desk, there is a lobby coffee shop, BUT all the nice bright light area lunch buffet tables were taken by the hotel staff! (I am not kidding). We were force, the all family of ours to go inside a deem dark hole bar where people were smoking smoking IN-DOOR! (What about our children? Were they too, forced to suffer cigarettes fumes while having lunch? Anyway, the all lunch thing was a disappointing and frankly a joke. any backpacker lodge anywhere in Asia cook better....awful cuisine to elaborate. As for the staff, they were totally useless, blaming the kitchen and were more interested to serve the horde of this hotel staff occupying the best tables at the buffet area. Staff were mostly ignorant, didn't know what to do, and A DON't CARE ATTITUDE. Finally, after debating at the front desk for 2 hrs. the room were made available and a complete disaster. Too obvious, our rooms had been quickly made up. Repulsive smell as if we were entering low budget accommodations in 3rd world country. Bath towels in two rooms, toilet no flashing in the other. Light bulbs missing and peanuts under the bed. Lady hair in the bathtub and 3 dead cockroaches on the bathroom floor. We had to call Housekeeping endlessly to get things done and the staff answering the calls could not speak English! The all week at that idiotic hotel, left us all with a tormented hard feeling. The so called Duty Managers were full of apologies, and yet, our daily desperate inquiries were taken with an usual farmer's arrogant gravity. The bloated pompousness of some management staff is like watching a medieval comedy unfolding. regarding the BREAKFAST, run fast if you can. The food is detrimental to ones well being. BUT who eat such horrible cuisine? Outside near the hotel, yo'll get better food if you are looking. AVOID the food in that hotel. We had major paper work to be attended and went to the business Center and were told, it was close for the long weekend Public Holidays.!! five days closed??? You call that a four stars hotel with an international guests list at the hotel? Where on earth have you experience such hotels? When it reopened, we were there at lunch time and the lady staff was eating at the desk and the printer wasn't working at all. Finally, we look at the past comment on line and the past 2 years, people vehemently complained and the funny thing is, The Management replied with similar empty promises to the point of ridicules. DON'T BELIEVE A WORD. These people talk a lot but take absolutely no action. Most lobby security guards looked like thugs. They scare you when you return to the hotel. BIG MISTAKE IF YOU STAY AT ROYAL INSULTS HOTEL. we were IN HELL and not royal at all.

Bugs crawling all over the beds ! I killed many and captured a large one (4mm) and small (2mm) to take down to reception. He was not shocked to see them. Changed room. Rooms are small with very dated decore, scruffy carpet, air conditioning that barely cools the room and bathrooms in need of repair/replacement. No hot water from the taps, only luke warm. The location is good but there are dozens of better hotels in Bukit Bintang, I've stayed in several, many much cheaper. Totally recommended that you select somewhere else.

I have been 3 times over the past 5 years in the (former Royal Bintang) and now Chulan Bintang Hotel. This was definitely the last time, because the Hotel had a shocking decrease in cleaness and Service over the past 2 year. We stayed in room 1026 and had to kill min 10 bugs/cockroaches ober 2 days behind the mirror in the bathroom. The bathroom itself is also almost done, The rooms were too hot and the aircondition was not able to adjust room temperature. The breakfast had many variations but the taste was unfortunately not so nice. Summary never again

Me, my wife n daughter (6 yo) stay 4 nights. We love the swim pool, breakfast with various menu, but hoping theres fried rice instead of nasi lemak everyday, location is fabulous, nearby berjaya times square,low yat, sungei wang,lot 10 (5-6mnt walk). Theres KK mart beside hotel. If u want indonesian food just go to sungei wang n look for RIA penyet. Sop buntut are delicious. N u can get shuttle bus to colmar at berjaya time square 8th floor, each cost around 55 myr. Hope its useful

17-21 Jln Bukit Bintang Kuala Lumpur

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Petaling Street and Petronas Twin Towers
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Bukit Bintang, Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang is within a 10-minute walk of poplar sights like Berjaya Times Square. This 4-star hotel has 400 rooms and welcomes guests with 2 restaurants, a full-service spa, and an outdoor pool. Tropicana City Mall and Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club are also within a 30-minute drive.


Enjoy dining at Sunflower Brasserie, one of 2 onsite restaurants. Satisfy your hunger without leaving your room with 24-hour room service, or quench your thirst with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café. Start each morning off right with buffet breakfast served for a fee.


Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang's 400 recently renovated rooms provide minibars, coffee makers, and free newspapers. Guests can expect LCD TVs with satellite channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers, free toiletries, and slippers. Free bottled water, safes, and ironing boards are also standard.

Property features

Guests of Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang enjoy a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a children's pool. Transportation is made easy with an area shuttle for a fee. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this spa hotel include free WiFi in public areas, 3 meeting rooms, and conference space.

Room options

Deluxe Room

Queen 1 | Twin 2 | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Club Room

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Reviews from Trip Advisor

Trip Advisor aggregated rating

48% of guests recommend this hotel

Total of 1129 reviews