Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The staff was extremely accommodating and the hotel was perfectly situated in the heart of Inverness!

They had no record of our booking, this has never happened before, and we've used Orbitz dozens of times. Terrible experience.

My wife broke her ankle before we arrived in Inverness, so we could not take the side trip we planned. Pentahotel had a room for us. I explained my wife's condition a couple of days before we arrived and the cheerful lady at reception promised us a room near the elevator. We were thrilled to see they gave us a handicapped-friendly room in which she could easily maneuver in a wheelchair and actually take a shower. The staff constantly did everything they could to accommodate us and assured us that it was "no problem." The housekeeping people did a wonderful job and were cheerfully helpful, the reception staff provided us with ice for her ankle everyday, the restaurant staff moved furniture for us. We were immensely relieved. It was a great stay.

We went out and for the first time I did not lock up medication. Accidently left it on bathrrom counter. It was gone when we got back.

Overall, the hotel is nice. The hotel is "edgy" I guess, with loudish music being played in the lobby/bar area all the time. Oddly, the reception desk and bar are one in the same (makes no sense). The staff were generally pleasant and competent. My room lacked a closet or a wardrobe. It had a small dresser, and (no kidding) some sort of an artistic piece of pipe that was supposed to act as a clothes hanger. Really, it barely served the purpose as my clothes that needed to be hung up were all crammed together on the too few hangers. The TV cable system did not work right. The room telephone did not work. The cleaning person did not replace the toilet paper one day, resulting in a nighttime visit to the bar/reception to ask for more. The treadmill in the gym broke on day 2 of my 4 day stay, and they never fixed it.

When we arrived a bit earlier we were forced to wait until check-in time 14:00, it was low season and there definitely were some free rooms, but hotel staff declined us to check-in. The lobby is a bar so it's odd to go to your room through the bar with some drunk people seating around. The rooms are very basic, thought equipped with some designer furniture. Corridors are almost completely dark, painted in black, it makes the walk on them a bit grim. The hotel itself located in deserted area, a bit far from city center, thought close to bus station, yet the strip club is next door to the hotel, lol. The hotel suitable for alco parties for teenagers, in other cases try to avoid it.

Nice little hotel, It's convenient to bus terminal and train Station and walking distance to some main attraction. Can't tell if AC is working if needs to open the window, it's noisy outside from birds chirping. Overall nice hotel for a reasonable price.

good beds good staff great location the wifi in the lobby works wonderfully

Located 1 block from either the train station or bus station. We were there for the Loch Ness Marathon and staff was very attentive. It was my wife's birthday and they gave her a card and wished her good luck in the race.

I was on the 5th floor with a fantastic view of Inverness. The hotel was so close to the train and bus stations as well as to shopping and places to eat. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay thouroughly. The only thing that would have been better is if there was free wifi in the rooms as well. Compared to the terrible place I stayed in London this 3 star hotel felt like a 5 star. I will be returning to this hotel.

The hotel is clean and convenient to everything in Inverness. You can walk to restaurants, bars, shopping, downtown, the train and bus station, and rental car agencies. Staff were helpful and friendly. Ask to stay away from the street due to noise, including the 7 a.m. street cleaner.

63 Academy Street Inverness Scotland

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Inverness Castle
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour fitness center

Located in Inverness City Centre, pentahotel Inverness is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Inverness Museum and Art Gallery and Merkinch Local Nature Reserve. This 90-room, 4-star hotel has a restaurant along with conveniences like a 24-hour fitness center and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

This hotel serves as home to a bar, along with a brasserie that specializes in international cuisine. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service. For your convenience, a full breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM and on weekends from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

All 90 heated rooms provide coffee makers, phones, and desks. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 43-inch flat-screen TVs with satellite channels and first-run movies. Pillowtop beds grant a restful night's sleep, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries.


Property features

Guests of pentahotel Inverness enjoy a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and coffee in a common area. Self parking is available for GBP 10 per night. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with luggage storage, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include a library, express check-out, and a terrace.

Room options

Room (Penta Plus)

2 Large Twin Beds | 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Room (penta PlayerPad)

1 Queen Bed | 2 Large Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Standard Room (Penta)

1 Queen Bed | 2 Large Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for pentahotel Inverness

Everyone (6) Couples (3) Family (2) Friends (1) Other (1)
5
Partner Couples

The staff was extremely accommodating and the hotel was perfectly situated in the heart of Inverness!

By , from Phoenix on Mar 24, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 26, 2020

Dear Marc, thank you for the great feedback! See you again soon #pentalovesyou

4
Everyone

By on Feb 27, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 3, 2020

Thank you for your kind comments. See you again soon! #pentalovesyou

1
Family

They had no record of our booking, this has never happened before, and we've used Orbitz dozens of times. Terrible experience.

By on Oct 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 21, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. As you posted this feedback anonymously, we are unable to investigate. Please get in touch and we will look into this. Please note that reservations from Orbitz come through automatically and we have not been made aware of any issues at our end. Looking forward to hearing from you

4
Everyone

By on Sep 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 25, 2019

Thank you for your good feedback, and thank you for choosing our hotel! See you again soon.

5
Family

My wife broke her ankle before we arrived in Inverness, so we could not take the side trip we planned. Pentahotel had a room for us. I explained my wife's condition a couple of days before we arrived and the cheerful lady at reception promised us a room near the elevator. We were thrilled to see they gave us a handicapped-friendly room in which she could easily maneuver in a wheelchair and actually take a shower. The staff constantly did everything they could to accommodate us and assured us that it was "no problem." The housekeeping people did a wonderful job and were cheerfully helpful, the reception staff provided us with ice for her ankle everyday, the restaurant staff moved furniture for us. We were immensely relieved. It was a great stay.

By on Jun 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 30, 2019

Dear Guest, firstly, we hope your wife is now getting better! Secondly, thank you for the amazing feedback, we are pleased you had a great stay with us and we are happy we managed to accommodate you. See you again soon!

3

lock up your stuff.

Everyone

We went out and for the first time I did not lock up medication. Accidently left it on bathrrom counter. It was gone when we got back.

By , from Texas on May 18, 2018

Review comment responded on May 26, 2018

Dear Kathleen, thank you for your feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience with the issue with your medication, it is always safer to lock them away. We will check with the housekeeping team what exactly happened.

4

a decent option

Everyone

Overall, the hotel is nice. The hotel is "edgy" I guess, with loudish music being played in the lobby/bar area all the time. Oddly, the reception desk and bar are one in the same (makes no sense). The staff were generally pleasant and competent. My room lacked a closet or a wardrobe. It had a small dresser, and (no kidding) some sort of an artistic piece of pipe that was supposed to act as a clothes hanger. Really, it barely served the purpose as my clothes that needed to be hung up were all crammed together on the too few hangers. The TV cable system did not work right. The room telephone did not work. The cleaning person did not replace the toilet paper one day, resulting in a nighttime visit to the bar/reception to ask for more. The treadmill in the gym broke on day 2 of my 4 day stay, and they never fixed it.

By on Sep 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 30, 2017

Dear Dave, thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you had a good stay with us. I will, however, pass your comments onto my team with regards to the small housekeeping issue. Please note that the treadmill requires an engineer's visit to the site, it is not something we are able to fix. This has now been sorted and if you return to us in the coming days or alter, you will find it in good working order. Kind regards Z Jakri

1

not worth the money we paid for

Everyone

When we arrived a bit earlier we were forced to wait until check-in time 14:00, it was low season and there definitely were some free rooms, but hotel staff declined us to check-in. The lobby is a bar so it's odd to go to your room through the bar with some drunk people seating around. The rooms are very basic, thought equipped with some designer furniture. Corridors are almost completely dark, painted in black, it makes the walk on them a bit grim. The hotel itself located in deserted area, a bit far from city center, thought close to bus station, yet the strip club is next door to the hotel, lol. The hotel suitable for alco parties for teenagers, in other cases try to avoid it.

By , from Russia on Apr 1, 2017

4
Everyone

Nice little hotel, It's convenient to bus terminal and train Station and walking distance to some main attraction. Can't tell if AC is working if needs to open the window, it's noisy outside from birds chirping. Overall nice hotel for a reasonable price.

By , from Hawaii on Aug 2, 2016

3

a fine establishment

Friends

good beds good staff great location the wifi in the lobby works wonderfully

By on Nov 1, 2011

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Inverness-Hotels-pentahotel-Inverness.h2593895-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Inverness-Hotels-pentahotel-Inverness.h2593895-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Inverness-Hotels-pentahotel-Inverness.h2593895-p2.Hotel-Reviews