Mahogany Hôtel Résidence & Spa0.0 out of 5.0
Recent guest reviews
We stayed one night here after leaving a villa and before a flight to St Lucia the next day. We were a little early for check in but had to wait until after the due time 4pm. This seems rather late to me when you are paying for a day. The hotel was very expensive for what it is. Our room was quite small and basic and it smelt of cigarettes. I have stayed in better rooms for far less. There was one young lady on reception whose name I forget, apologies, but she was very helpful and if all staff were like her checking in and out would be so much more pleasant.
This is my first experience of paying 4* getting level of no stars! Just nice professional photos to make impression of nice and clean and modern. Paid in advance. Reality was cruel, all day somebody seemed to work reconstructing restaurant and terrace so very noisy..no where were signs of info in advance..(only nice and new part was lobby, pool and restaurant!), but rooms are way not worth 4* evaluation! Rooms are wet, humid, moldy, stinky, many devices not working properly as terrace door, kitchen link, door to waste, sink broken, toilet canalization supposingly very near! Actually we saw the truck sucking canalization pipe coming through hall very near lobby. Daily an hour of stink in not only in a room. From ceiling water is dropping if you let temperature rise above 19 degree as there is no ventilation in a room. All our things during one day were stinky and wet. All equipment including including tiles, paper doors are from 80ties and equally used appropriate to age 30-40 years of usage! Immediately we changed the first room with 3 problems including cant openning sliding door and dropping water from ceilling even with clima on. We got the next six hours later next door! Equal to first but improved of very hard to open door:-)but at least we could open it and get to terrace. So not even a motel level! how could anyone think this is appropirate to count 200EUR per night and call it 4 star! Disasterous. Not recommended at all. Our valuation on hotel room in hotel were immediately deleted:-/
We arrived after dark and it is almost impossible to find this hotel, since there is one little tiny sign and no one ever heard of Mahogany, As you can see in the reviews below your are really staying at the La Creole Beach hotel, they are one in the same. They share everything, front desk, bar, restaurant, pool, beach, everything. Your room will just be in another building (mahogany) farther away. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, the decor is nonexistent, the lighting in the room was an after thought and is a weird spotlight screwed to the wall, with very little light. The Slider door to terrace was impossible to open took both of us to slide the door. Room has small kitchenette on the terrace, the view from the terrace is mostly blocked by a another building (paid for ocean view room) but you can see just a little of the water. We were on the third floor and the elevator was out of order for two of the days. If you forget to bring voltage plug converters they will give you one at the desk to use, and return after your stay. WiFi cost 5 euros and you have to get a code from the desk to use it, it does work well and allowed us to watch US TV and even Netflix. The staff knows very little English, so brush up on your french before going. The hotel restaurant buffet was terrible, the food was flavorless, and half the choices were not available, the staff was not helpful, and it was just not worth going to. Try some of the small local places nearby they are so much better. Over all our stay was just OK, Booked and paid on Travelocity and confirmed at check in that credit card was for incidentals only, which worked well till check out when they tried to charge us again, and the desk clerk couldn't issue a credit. He said his supervisor would do it when they came in. Two weeks now and no credit, disputing charges with AMEX.
We booked (through Expedia) four nights in this hotel, but stayed only two. Note that this hotel is part of the La Créole Beach Hotel & Spa, which is important if you are using a navigator in your car. The Good: The pool is nice. There is a good, safe beach just behind the pool. Bar staff is very professional. There are good restaurants within walking distance. The room has a small kitchenette, outside on the patio or balcony. There was a free folk-dance performance in the evening. The Bad: The Mahogany Hotel is a older building with cramped rooms. Perhaps rooms in the main hotel, the La Créole, are nicer. When we arrived, the staff led us to our room via an alleyway, past some large containers; it was inelegant at best. There was heavy construction next to the hotel (earth movers). Although the hotel cannot control this, it does not provide for a "spa" feeling. The Ugly: At 10:00pm of the second night, all water in the hotel was turned off. We called the front desk and were told they did not know when it would be turned on. However, they would provide 2 bottles of water if we need to bathe. (???) I went to the front desk to get the water. I was told there was none at the front desk, and the employee called the kitchen and asked them to bring us water. After waiting 5 minutes, I asked for the water to be brought to the room. An hour later, I again visited the front desk and requested water. I was told it would be brought right away. No water ever arrived. At 6:00am I went to the front desk and asked to speak to the manager. I was told the manager would be in at "noon, or maybe 11:00". To avoid an unpleasant situation in the bathroom in my room, I decided to use the bathroom in the lobby. Unfortunately, others had the same idea. It was not pleasant. The Uber-Ugly: We left early, asking for a refund for the night we stayed without water--due to health and safety issues--and for the remaining two nights due to the uncertain ability of the hotel to provide basic services. Management responded by saying we should not have checked out because water was out for only two hours. A follow-up email explained that "The water was cut at 10 Am on the 19th and come back at 11 AM today." It further explained "the hotel water tank can supplied water during 24H (according to our occupancy) with 120’000 lt to ensure all the hotel, restaurants and customers’ needs as well as the fire security and hygienic cleanings." (sic) I spent an hour on the phone with Expedia to get a refund. Thank heavens they were acting on my behalf.
This hotel is actually on the same property as the Creole Beach hotel. The rooms are a bit further from the reception area, and they have small kitchenettes. However, the kitchenette is on the terrace, so it could be very warm during the day. There was a little stove and a refrigerator. We really needed dish soap and a dish cloth. At the restaurant, the breakfast was varied and tasty but really overpriced at 22 euros. It would be better to stay at the Creole Beach where the breakfast is included. The pool is beautiful, and it was not crowded during our stay. There is also a small private beach with nice lounge chairs. We preferred the beach down the road at Sainte Anne, but it was nice to enjoy the little hotel beach too. There is a small beach cabana that offers sandwiches and pizzas which we found to be delicious and reasonably priced. For dinner, we cooked on our terrace or ate at the pizza restaurant across from the hotel. The pizza there was quite good, but it is not air conditioned, and we were hot on the evening we went there. The concierge was delightful and helpful; we only wish she had been working on Saturday evening and Sunday so that we could have booked some excursions. The rest of the staff was polite and attentive to our needs, and it helped that I speak French. One other small complaint: the wifi is not included and rather expensive. All in all, we enjoyed the beauty and comfort of the hotel and grounds as well as the professional staff.
A strange set up! Mahogany and le creole beach are the same hotel the only difference is mahogany bedrooms have been refurnished more recently! These were clean and okay but rather soulless and bathroom was by Caribbean standards okay but nothing special. The positives of staying here are a modern bar area and reception and a lovely beach area. The negatives however were an awful buffet restaurant which needs to be rebuilt to come up to the level of the bar area. Food was just uninspiring, flavourless and the whole place was grubby. Only went once. Very impersonal service, small gym with both treadmills out of order, wifi very annoying! TV channels choice of approx 30 and 29 were French TV! Ridiculous I don't know how these establishments get away with charging what they do for such a second rate hotel experience
This hotel is basically one building inside another Hotel: Le Creole Beach & Spa. It is of course the worst block of rooms, many of the rooms are refurbished but still not quite worth the price, with a small price difference I would prefer to stay at Le Creole instead. Internet system is not the best, 5 Euros for every consecutive 8 hours, the problem is that you need to log in every time and only one device at the time. Also internet service does not reach the farest group of rooms at Mahogany. Very overpriced and does not include breakfast, so at the end it is better to book Le Creole that does. Food at the restaurant is not that good and the variety is poor. Nothing remarkable about the beach but the pool is really really nice and relaxing, ocean view. Also nice live music is played at night in the lobby
We'll located, amazing beach, clean and the very helpful and friendly. Service is very good. Food is good too nothing to complain about. Very good choice for your vacation in Guadeloupe. We book our excursions directly at the hotel and we were very pleased of the quality and punctuality. The only thing we did not like it is the internet we had to pay for and not working very well in all areas. Our breakfast was included but we had to repeat it every morning but they apologize. Overall very good experience!
We stayed at the Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa twice in January/ February. The check in was lovely. We were surprised, however, by our room with twin beds pushed together ( with separate bedding) that was supposed to be our King bed room that we had booked. We were even more surprised by the Manager's lack of desire to make any concession for us. They changed the second bedding the second night, but there was still a lumpy gap in the middle. Very European, we understand. The language barrier didn't help. However, the lovely bar with friendly staff, the restaurants, and relaxing pool made up for the hotel room. The manmade beach was very nice too. The little sandwich and pizza restaurant on the beach was great. The rooms can be a little dark. The kitchenette on the balcony was nice though. Overall, a nice stay. Mahogany is on the same property as La Creole (seems to just be a separate building). The bell staff is wonderful, as are the restaurant and bar staff.
I globally enjoyed my stay here (liked the setting), but had some hick-ups. The pool was nice, although a little busy with people if you want to swim lanes. Fitness center fully equipped and working fine. not too happy with the guidance when checked-in. It was dark and the directions to my room was insufficient, so difficult to find. had to carry my heavy suitcase up some stairs - would have been nice to have been directed to the elevator - or had help with the suitcase. Major hick-up was the internet. It was not working in my room and had to sit in the lobby - MAJOR minus when there for work. Also, the price of the Internet was outrageous. I don't get whey it has to be paid. I will de-select the hotel single handedly for not being able to deliver stable and accessible internet. Front staff was a mixed experience; One new under training (very service minded) and one not so service minded experienced woman. In enjoyed the fact that you can both bike and run securely on the roads (be careful) but cars are used to it (even on the National road). Guadeloupe is wonderful and one of my favorite Caribbean destinations.
Located in Pointe de la verdure, Mahogany Hôtel Résidence & Spa is 1 mi (1.6 km) from Plage de Gosier and within a 15-minute drive of Basilica of St Peter and St Paul. This 64-room hotel has conveniences like 3 restaurants, a full-service spa, and an outdoor pool. It's on the beach and also near Place de la Victoire and Cathédrale de St-Pierre et St-Paul.
Get your fill of international cuisine for breakfast, or dinner at La Route Des Epices, one of 3 onsite restaurants, or enjoy the ocean views at LE ZAWAG. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, entertain your taste buds with a drink at the bar/lounge, and mingle with other guests at the free manager's reception. Start each morning with full breakfast, available for a fee from 6 AM to 10 AM.
The 64 individually decorated rooms feature kitchenettes and balconies. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Safes are also available.
Mahogany Hôtel Résidence & Spa features a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a children's pool. There's free parking if you drive. The front desk has multilingual staff that can help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this spa hotel include a fitness center, a sauna, and WiFi in public areas.
Reviews from Trip Advisor
64% of guests recommend this hotelTotal of 81 reviews