Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The lot waa plowed concierge friendly, room clean, restaurant best in all Iceland

Due to severe weather conditions, the road to Fosshotel Glacier was shutdown and we were unable to arrive to the hotel. As the room type we booked was non-refundable, we contacted the hotel directly for arrangement. Fosshotel had nicely transfer our night to the Grand Hotel located in the city with their company. Grand hotel was very nice and clean. The hotel lobby was contemporary. We highly appreciated the customer service of Fosshotel and their arrangement.

The property is beautiful, and everything from the finishes to the light fixtures render it more a work of modern art than a contemporary hotel. And the food at the restaurant was fantastic. All courses were meticulously plated and thoughtfully prepared. But a meal is about more than food. It is about the full dining experience, which begins when you sit down and ends a few days later when you're still savoring flavorful memories of each and every bite. So here's where things went wrong. 1) After being seated, we sat for 30 minutes without so much as a glass of water or eye contact from the waitstaff. I had to walk back to the hostess stand and ask for water (and a server to take our order). 2) A few minutes later, I was told the bar was out of the beer I ordered. Normally this wouldn't be a big deal, but given the already frustrating experience, it was salt in the wound. 3) For some inexplicable (and unexplained) reason, it took 20 MINUTES for our tap beer to arrive. When it did come, it was not accompanied by an apology or appreciation for our already tried patience. I'm fairly sure our server forgot about it because much like the water, we only got it after flagging down another server (since ours was nowhere to be found). 4) Throughout our meal, we were shown all the warmth of a rainy Icelandic day. The meal itself was epic. The service was an epic failure.

Overall just ok. Dinner super-expensive and very good. However, menu is limited and does not change from day to day. Breakfast buffet is identical for each day. Not a lot of items. Laundry quite expensive, some clothes were still wet when returned. Room ok. Shower on the bathroom floods the whole bathroom floor when used. On the positive, people are super-nice.

Good location. Nice restaurant- both dinner and the included breakfast. Comfortable bed and good shower.

The hotel is well maintained, clean and has great amenities. Unfortunately I would not stay here again. They have a outside air vent that during high winds blows very very cold air straight in the bed and makes a terribly loud noise. We called the front desk and they said yes. Very tall person needs to make sure it’s tightly closed and sometimes u need to wrap a towel around it. But they wouldn’t send skneibe to do it. We had to climb in the table to wrap a towel over the vent. Stopped most of the cold air but not the noise. It was windy n the wind against the outside was to be expected but not this. Too bad because itvothreise would be a great place to stay but but for that price with that issue

Awesome location. Great staff. Overall awesome experience.

2nd time to this hotel. Very nice and modern. The best in the area.

Great location near Jokulsarlon Lagoon, excellent restaurant, clean, quiet, and good view.

Really nice hotel but there isn't a lot of food options around and the food at the hotel is very pricey. Very good breakfast!

A very nice hotel- they had gotten the room size wrong. They corrected it and gave us breakfast free. The confusion is that my reservation said it was complimentary (it is not). Breakfast had a nice selection.

Super clean and inviting! Would definitely recommend

Nice hotel, very design, but really in the middle on nowhere

Beautiful hotel with nice amenities. Good restaurant on site.

Hnappavellir, 785 Öræfi Fagurholsmyri Eastern Region

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Concierge services

Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon places you within a 5-minute drive of Vatnajokull and within a 10-minute drive of other popular attractions like Ingolfshofdi. This 104-room, 4-star hotel welcomes guests with a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room. For your convenience, a continental breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

All 104 rooms feature refrigerators, safes, and phones. 32-inch LCD TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Other standard amenities include hair dryers and desks.


Property features

At Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a terrace. Free parking is available if you drive. The front desk has multilingual staff that can help with securing valuables, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. This hotel also has laundry facilities.

Room options

Family Triple Room

1 Double Bed and 1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Double Room

1 Double Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Suite

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Double Room

1 Double Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon

Everyone (31) Couples (4) Family (2)
5
Partner Couples

The lot waa plowed concierge friendly, room clean, restaurant best in all Iceland

By , from STL on Mar 17, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 17, 2020

Dear guest. Thank you for the review. We hope you had a great time in Iceland. Best regards, Aðalsteinn, reception manager.

4
Everyone

By on Feb 17, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 17, 2020

Dear guest. Thank you for the review. We hope you had a great time in Iceland. Best regards, Aðalsteinn, reception manager.

5
Family Friends

Due to severe weather conditions, the road to Fosshotel Glacier was shutdown and we were unable to arrive to the hotel. As the room type we booked was non-refundable, we contacted the hotel directly for arrangement. Fosshotel had nicely transfer our night to the Grand Hotel located in the city with their company. Grand hotel was very nice and clean. The hotel lobby was contemporary. We highly appreciated the customer service of Fosshotel and their arrangement.

By on Jan 22, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 22, 2020

Dear guest. Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Grand Hotel. We hope you had a great time in Iceland and that we get to welcome you to our hotel in the future. Best regards, Aðalsteinn, reception manager.

5
Everyone

By on Oct 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 31, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the full score. We hope you had a great time in Iceland! Best regards.

4
Everyone

By on Sep 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 9, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the score. We hope you had a great time in Iceland! Best regards.

4
Partner Couples

The property is beautiful, and everything from the finishes to the light fixtures render it more a work of modern art than a contemporary hotel. And the food at the restaurant was fantastic. All courses were meticulously plated and thoughtfully prepared. But a meal is about more than food. It is about the full dining experience, which begins when you sit down and ends a few days later when you're still savoring flavorful memories of each and every bite. So here's where things went wrong. 1) After being seated, we sat for 30 minutes without so much as a glass of water or eye contact from the waitstaff. I had to walk back to the hostess stand and ask for water (and a server to take our order). 2) A few minutes later, I was told the bar was out of the beer I ordered. Normally this wouldn't be a big deal, but given the already frustrating experience, it was salt in the wound. 3) For some inexplicable (and unexplained) reason, it took 20 MINUTES for our tap beer to arrive. When it did come, it was not accompanied by an apology or appreciation for our already tried patience. I'm fairly sure our server forgot about it because much like the water, we only got it after flagging down another server (since ours was nowhere to be found). 4) Throughout our meal, we were shown all the warmth of a rainy Icelandic day. The meal itself was epic. The service was an epic failure.

By on Sep 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 4, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. We hope to welcome you again! Best regards, Aðalsteinn, reception manager.

4
Everyone

By on Aug 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 26, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the score. We hope you had a great time in Iceland! Best regards.

3
Family

Overall just ok. Dinner super-expensive and very good. However, menu is limited and does not change from day to day. Breakfast buffet is identical for each day. Not a lot of items. Laundry quite expensive, some clothes were still wet when returned. Room ok. Shower on the bathroom floods the whole bathroom floor when used. On the positive, people are super-nice.

By on Jul 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 29, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the review. Our restaurant menu includes four types of set menus, eleven starters, nine main courses and six desserts, our bar menu seven different options served at the bar and our deli cooler has some simple options as well. We do try to have an option for everyone. Our breakfast buffet is stocked with various hot and cold items, bacon, sausages, fried and scrambled eggs, rice, potatoes, chicken meatballs, buttermilk, yogurt, assortments of cereals, several types of bread, juices and coffee and has a make your own waffle iron. With these many items available, and due to our location, we do not change the spread. We hope you had a great time in Iceland. Best regards.

5
Everyone

By on Jul 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 8, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the full score. We hope you had a great time in Iceland. Best regards.

5
Partner Couples

Good location. Nice restaurant- both dinner and the included breakfast. Comfortable bed and good shower.

By on Jun 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 30, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a great time in Iceland. Best regards.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Fagurholsmyri-Hotels-Fosshotel-Glacier-Lagoon.h12794262-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Fagurholsmyri-Hotels-Fosshotel-Glacier-Lagoon.h12794262-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Fagurholsmyri-Hotels-Fosshotel-Glacier-Lagoon.h12794262-p2.Hotel-Reviews