Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The property is beautiful, and everything from the finishes to the light fixtures render it more a work of modern art than a contemporary hotel. And the food at the restaurant was fantastic. All courses were meticulously plated and thoughtfully prepared. But a meal is about more than food. It is about the full dining experience, which begins when you sit down and ends a few days later when you're still savoring flavorful memories of each and every bite. So here's where things went wrong. 1) After being seated, we sat for 30 minutes without so much as a glass of water or eye contact from the waitstaff. I had to walk back to the hostess stand and ask for water (and a server to take our order). 2) A few minutes later, I was told the bar was out of the beer I ordered. Normally this wouldn't be a big deal, but given the already frustrating experience, it was salt in the wound. 3) For some inexplicable (and unexplained) reason, it took 20 MINUTES for our tap beer to arrive. When it did come, it was not accompanied by an apology or appreciation for our already tried patience. I'm fairly sure our server forgot about it because much like the water, we only got it after flagging down another server (since ours was nowhere to be found). 4) Throughout our meal, we were shown all the warmth of a rainy Icelandic day. The meal itself was epic. The service was an epic failure.

Overall just ok. Dinner super-expensive and very good. However, menu is limited and does not change from day to day. Breakfast buffet is identical for each day. Not a lot of items. Laundry quite expensive, some clothes were still wet when returned. Room ok. Shower on the bathroom floods the whole bathroom floor when used. On the positive, people are super-nice.

Good location. Nice restaurant- both dinner and the included breakfast. Comfortable bed and good shower.

The hotel is well maintained, clean and has great amenities. Unfortunately I would not stay here again. They have a outside air vent that during high winds blows very very cold air straight in the bed and makes a terribly loud noise. We called the front desk and they said yes. Very tall person needs to make sure it’s tightly closed and sometimes u need to wrap a towel around it. But they wouldn’t send skneibe to do it. We had to climb in the table to wrap a towel over the vent. Stopped most of the cold air but not the noise. It was windy n the wind against the outside was to be expected but not this. Too bad because itvothreise would be a great place to stay but but for that price with that issue

Awesome location. Great staff. Overall awesome experience.

2nd time to this hotel. Very nice and modern. The best in the area.

Great location near Jokulsarlon Lagoon, excellent restaurant, clean, quiet, and good view.

Really nice hotel but there isn't a lot of food options around and the food at the hotel is very pricey. Very good breakfast!

A very nice hotel- they had gotten the room size wrong. They corrected it and gave us breakfast free. The confusion is that my reservation said it was complimentary (it is not). Breakfast had a nice selection.

Super clean and inviting! Would definitely recommend

Nice hotel, very design, but really in the middle on nowhere

Beautiful hotel with nice amenities. Good restaurant on site.

Very nice view with ocean and mountain . Excellent clean room with nice decor.

Modern design with a good restaurant. Nice place to stay near the park and other south Iceland hikes and scenery. Really striking barren landscape as a view. I suggest paying for the breakfast, there are many choices and there are few other places in the area.

Definitely the nicest hotel in that area and you pay for it. The room and restaurant were nice, with an expansive view of the coast and ocean. My only complaint would be the absence of a/c or screens on the windows. I had to pick my poison between sleep hot or battle the mosquitos.

Reception was very helpful, laundry service was VERY reasonable (but not ironed), the spa was a nice feature, and the meals and corresponding service were also very good.

Fagurholsmyri Fagurholsmyri South Iceland

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Concierge services

Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon places you 12 mi (19.3 km) from Fjallsárlón. This 4-star hotel has 104 rooms and welcomes guests with a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room. Continental breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

All 104 rooms feature refrigerators, safes, and phones. Guests can enjoy flat-screen TVs and stay connected with free WiFi. Desks are also available.


Property features

Guests of Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon enjoy a sauna, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. There's free parking if you drive. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with luggage storage, tours or tickets, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a terrace and laundry facilities.

Room options

Suite

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Double Room

Full 1 | Twin 2 | Sleeps 2

Triple Room

Full 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon

Everyone (42) Couples (4) Family (1)
4
Everyone

By on Sep 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 9, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the score. We hope you had a great time in Iceland! Best regards.

4
Partner Couples

The property is beautiful, and everything from the finishes to the light fixtures render it more a work of modern art than a contemporary hotel. And the food at the restaurant was fantastic. All courses were meticulously plated and thoughtfully prepared. But a meal is about more than food. It is about the full dining experience, which begins when you sit down and ends a few days later when you're still savoring flavorful memories of each and every bite. So here's where things went wrong. 1) After being seated, we sat for 30 minutes without so much as a glass of water or eye contact from the waitstaff. I had to walk back to the hostess stand and ask for water (and a server to take our order). 2) A few minutes later, I was told the bar was out of the beer I ordered. Normally this wouldn't be a big deal, but given the already frustrating experience, it was salt in the wound. 3) For some inexplicable (and unexplained) reason, it took 20 MINUTES for our tap beer to arrive. When it did come, it was not accompanied by an apology or appreciation for our already tried patience. I'm fairly sure our server forgot about it because much like the water, we only got it after flagging down another server (since ours was nowhere to be found). 4) Throughout our meal, we were shown all the warmth of a rainy Icelandic day. The meal itself was epic. The service was an epic failure.

By on Sep 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 4, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. We hope to welcome you again! Best regards, Aðalsteinn, reception manager.

4
Everyone

By on Aug 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 26, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the score. We hope you had a great time in Iceland! Best regards.

3
Families

Overall just ok. Dinner super-expensive and very good. However, menu is limited and does not change from day to day. Breakfast buffet is identical for each day. Not a lot of items. Laundry quite expensive, some clothes were still wet when returned. Room ok. Shower on the bathroom floods the whole bathroom floor when used. On the positive, people are super-nice.

By on Jul 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 29, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the review. Our restaurant menu includes four types of set menus, eleven starters, nine main courses and six desserts, our bar menu seven different options served at the bar and our deli cooler has some simple options as well. We do try to have an option for everyone. Our breakfast buffet is stocked with various hot and cold items, bacon, sausages, fried and scrambled eggs, rice, potatoes, chicken meatballs, buttermilk, yogurt, assortments of cereals, several types of bread, juices and coffee and has a make your own waffle iron. With these many items available, and due to our location, we do not change the spread. We hope you had a great time in Iceland. Best regards.

5
Everyone

By on Jul 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 8, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the full score. We hope you had a great time in Iceland. Best regards.

5
Partner Couples

Good location. Nice restaurant- both dinner and the included breakfast. Comfortable bed and good shower.

By on Jun 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 30, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a great time in Iceland. Best regards.

5
Everyone

By on May 17, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the score. We hope you had a great time in Iceland! Best regards.

3
Everyone

The hotel is well maintained, clean and has great amenities. Unfortunately I would not stay here again. They have a outside air vent that during high winds blows very very cold air straight in the bed and makes a terribly loud noise. We called the front desk and they said yes. Very tall person needs to make sure it’s tightly closed and sometimes u need to wrap a towel around it. But they wouldn’t send skneibe to do it. We had to climb in the table to wrap a towel over the vent. Stopped most of the cold air but not the noise. It was windy n the wind against the outside was to be expected but not this. Too bad because itvothreise would be a great place to stay but but for that price with that issue

By on Mar 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the review. We hope you had a great time in Iceland. Best regards.

5
Partner Couples Friends

Awesome location. Great staff. Overall awesome experience.

By on Mar 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 4, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a great time in Iceland. Best regards.

5
Everyone

2nd time to this hotel. Very nice and modern. The best in the area.

By on Dec 21, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2018

Dear guest. Thank you for the review. We are glad to have had the pleasure to accommodate you again! We hope you had a wonderful time in Iceland! Best regards.

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Fagurholsmyri-Hotels-Fosshotel-Glacier-Lagoon.h12794262-p2.Hotel-Reviews