Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

We loved this lodge, We plan on booking 2 suites in the future and bring our kids and grand kids here

Quaint location — quick access to 2 lovely trails to Roughlock and Spearfish Falls. Hot tubs are outside with an amazing view. The lobby is awesome there are games and lots of seating to have a beverage and visit while enjoying the fireplace and the view.

They ran out of coffee for the rooms for our entire vacation and made several mistakes with our bill. With each mistake they stated it wasn’t their problem or simply blamed someone else at the hotel. They didn’t seem to care. But the place does have fabulous views! Too bad the workers are so rude!

All was very good. but the Wifi was very poor......

A hidden GEM! Absolutely stunning views, staff is incredibly nice and many trails right out the front door. Highly recommend!

The Short: An amazing little place to stay, with excellent rooms, beautiful view, right across the street from the 76 Trail, but don't expect any internet or phone service. The Long: My basic room had a very comfortable pillow top bed. Going to look out the window we saw a beautiful view of the mountain. There is an outdoor hottub on the second floor. I loved that you could hot tub and see the mountian, though my gf didn't like that you could also see the highway from it. It has a great little bar inside the hotel, which is also is really cheap! The 76 trail is right across the street, which is the reason we ended up staying here. Here is the only bad thing. The hotel is in a very steep gulch. Me and the gf had Verizon and AT&T and neither of us had any cell service at the hotel. The hotel has a wifi for internet. We both tried connecting to it and found it was hard to do even basic google searches and most of the time it showed that the wifi had no internet access. Just be aware and plan accordingly.

This beautiful facility provided the much needed relaxation we were looking for. Delicious food at the Latchstri Inn, warm fire in our suite after being out in the snow all day, plus a long soak in the hot tub was heaven. Psyched to find Starbucks hot cocoa packets in our room plus good sized mini fridge, microwave, for our late nite snacks. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Couldn’t be any better!!

Beautiful place to stay. Staff is very nice and helpful. I loved that we were able to snowmobile right out of the resort to hit the trails.

The location of the property and the wooden ambience is amazing. I wish the hot pool would have been open a little longer. You will feel as if you are living inside a forest. The lounge area has a fireplace & is very welcoming. I saw families chatting there even after midnight.

Great place - love the location and secludedness of it all. Our room was amazing and fit all our needs. Different options for places to hang out as well as full food options in the restaurant across the street.

Creek at rear of property great location easy check in

You can spend hours exploring the countryside on the hiking paths on property, watch the sun set in one of the two hot tubs, then walk to dinner where you can either dine inside or out.

Beautiful setting— only thing to do there is hike or drink at the bar. No elevator, only WiFi was in the lobby — and it only worked on occasion. Zero cell signal for anything. Great place for someone that wants to get away from the world, but not so great when you need to figure out where you’re going the next day, and how to get there. Spearfish Canyon is absolutely beautiful and well worth a drive through whether you stay at the lodge or not.

This hotel is in an extremely secluded area with no towns for miles. It is close to several short trailheads and is pretty quiet in the early mornings.

An excellent stay in offseason. Quiet and a beautiful canyon. In summer they rent four wheelers and in the winter snowmobiles, which may be to many’s taste, but not mine. Worth going over to Lead (leed, not led) as a side trip.

very nice rooms, great location. ..................

Loved the hot tub! Frige in our room was a little noisy.

Roughlock Falls Road Lead SD

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Business center

Spearfish Canyon Lodge places you next to Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway. This 55-room, 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

This hotel is home to a restaurant and a bar/lounge.


Rooms

All of Spearfish Canyon Lodge's 55 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Pillowtop beds grant a restful night's sleep, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include free long-distance calls, phones, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests of Spearfish Canyon Lodge enjoy 2 spa tubs, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with tours or tickets, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include a business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and a computer station.

Room options

Hugh Glass Suite

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Burlington Suite

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Muir Suite

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Bridal Veil Falls Suite

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Everyone (16) Couples (7) Family (10)
5
Family

We loved this lodge, We plan on booking 2 suites in the future and bring our kids and grand kids here

By on Jul 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2021

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you in the future! Thank you for the perfect review.

5
Everyone

By on Jul 16, 2021

5
Family

Quaint location — quick access to 2 lovely trails to Roughlock and Spearfish Falls. Hot tubs are outside with an amazing view. The lobby is awesome there are games and lots of seating to have a beverage and visit while enjoying the fireplace and the view.

By on Apr 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 20, 2021

Thank you for the kind review. We hope to see you again!

3
Family

They ran out of coffee for the rooms for our entire vacation and made several mistakes with our bill. With each mistake they stated it wasn’t their problem or simply blamed someone else at the hotel. They didn’t seem to care. But the place does have fabulous views! Too bad the workers are so rude!

By , from Wisconsin on Sep 24, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 25, 2020

Hi Kathleen, We are sorry to here that you did not enjoy your stay. We would love to speak with you concerning some of the issues you had while staying with us. Can you give us a call at 605-584-3435 and ask for Melissa. Thank you

4
Partner Couples

All was very good. but the Wifi was very poor......

By , from Renville, Mn on Aug 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 28, 2020

Thank you!

5
Everyone

By on Jul 29, 2020

5
Family

A hidden GEM! Absolutely stunning views, staff is incredibly nice and many trails right out the front door. Highly recommend!

By , from Minneapolis, MN on Jul 15, 2020

4
Partner Couples

The Short: An amazing little place to stay, with excellent rooms, beautiful view, right across the street from the 76 Trail, but don't expect any internet or phone service. The Long: My basic room had a very comfortable pillow top bed. Going to look out the window we saw a beautiful view of the mountain. There is an outdoor hottub on the second floor. I loved that you could hot tub and see the mountian, though my gf didn't like that you could also see the highway from it. It has a great little bar inside the hotel, which is also is really cheap! The 76 trail is right across the street, which is the reason we ended up staying here. Here is the only bad thing. The hotel is in a very steep gulch. Me and the gf had Verizon and AT&T and neither of us had any cell service at the hotel. The hotel has a wifi for internet. We both tried connecting to it and found it was hard to do even basic google searches and most of the time it showed that the wifi had no internet access. Just be aware and plan accordingly.

By , from Minneapolis on Jul 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 13, 2020

Hello Adam, Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the lodge and we hope to see you again soon!

5
Partner Couples

This beautiful facility provided the much needed relaxation we were looking for. Delicious food at the Latchstri Inn, warm fire in our suite after being out in the snow all day, plus a long soak in the hot tub was heaven. Psyched to find Starbucks hot cocoa packets in our room plus good sized mini fridge, microwave, for our late nite snacks. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Couldn’t be any better!!

By , from Rapid City SD on Mar 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 6, 2020

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this wonderful review, we appreciate it! We are so happy you had a great stay and enjoyed all the things we have to offer while staying with us. We hope your travels bring you back to stay with us again soon!

5
Family

Beautiful place to stay. Staff is very nice and helpful. I loved that we were able to snowmobile right out of the resort to hit the trails.

By on Jan 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 12, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, we appreciate it! We are so lucky to be right on one of the snowmobile trails. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was helpful. We hope your travels being you back to Spearfish Canyon Lodge again soon.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Deadwood-Hotels-Spearfish-Canyon-Lodge.h1784883-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Deadwood-Hotels-Spearfish-Canyon-Lodge.h1784883-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Deadwood-Hotels-Spearfish-Canyon-Lodge.h1784883-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions