Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa

5.0 out of 5.0

Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa

5.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This hotel is probably the best in North Goa. Having stayed at other Taj properties, I had high expectations of the staff and property. The property was decent, but the electricity went out 3-4 times throughout the resort during my stay. The pool size was a bit disappointing. There were many bugs around the property probably due to the hot sticky weather. The hallways are open so no ac. It was a decent stay, but not the best I’ve had.

Very satisfying family trip Very satisfying family trip Very satisfying family trip

Definitely met or rather exceeded my expectations. Courteous and excellent staff and customer service. Food was fresh and delicious! Will definitely visit again and highly recommend!

Our stay at Taj Vivanta Fort Aguda was awesome as expected. Hotel staff gave us very warm welcome. Since I told them about our honeymoon, they gave us nice ocean front room. The best part was the surprise they had reserved for us. Hotel staff was very very friendly and this property has one of the best spa I have ever been too. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and if I go back to goa its going to be this property.

This hotel was decent, definitely not a 5 star hotel.

If you are looking for a high-end resort right by the beach with plenty of private/public space to have long walks, then this is it!! Good: 1. Awesome location, you can sip on a nice drink, on a comfy lounge, and watch the sun set over the Bay of Bengal. 2. They have plenty of room choices from a private villa type rooms to beach facing rooms which are a short walk from the beach 3. the staff are really helpful. They have in house taxi service to help arrange short tours to go to places in Goa 4. Free shuttle to/from airport Bad: 1. Food in house is below par and expensive...but there are restaurants short walk from the resort with yummy food at reasonable price 2. The taxi service is a tad expensive, but a convenience nevertheless

Location: - Vivanta by Taj is located in North Goa right on the water's edge. The view from Lobby/Poolside/most part of the garden is stunning. - We were in a beach facing room with sit out/direct access to garden facing the beach. The additional price was totally worth it. - Vivanta has easy access to beach and all water activities, and has access to viewpoints from where you can enjoy the sunset. - Vivanta is just 15km from Panaji --the main city which has all the major shopping/restaurants--, we took a cab to Panaji and it was good. - Taj has 1 more resort nearby called Taj Holiday, which doesn't have such stunning views --little cheaper-- Note: Vivanta by Taj does not have any private beaches, it only has access to the beach which is publically accessible. But still the beach was in good shape, and not too crowded --especially during weekdays-- Resort Amenities: Not so great. - No free wifi --we are in a star hotel resort in 2013 for crying out loud--. - Food within resort was OK --not great-- - As expected, food was ridiculous priced --easily over 3 times normal price--. Please eat outside, there are several good restaurants within 3km radius of the resort - Cab service was convenient/safe/easy to book/use, we just had to walk to front desk 15mins before we wanted to leave. The travel desk folks were helpful in explaining the places to see and were explicit with the pricing. - As expected, Cab service was very expensive --over 2 times normal price, 28 rupees/km + tax - not including night charges-- - We were recommended a couple of famous south goa white sand beaches --about 90km-- from our resort. We took the cab and felt those beaches were not any better than the one right in front of the resort --5mins walk--. We almost felt the travel desk wanted us to take a long cab trip, so that we end up paying them ridiculous fare :) Restaurants: - Multi-cuisine restaurant --within Vivanta resort, OK taste, expensive, ambience was good. - Seafood restaurant --within Vivanta resort, Not so good, expensive, ambience was good. - Martin's corner --40km from resort, in south Goa, we ate there on our way to the "famous" south Goa beaches, Really good food, reasonable price, OK ambience --well maintained restrooms-- - Earthen oven --around 3km from Resort, walkable, Excellent taste, moderate price, ambience was good - Delhi Darbar --in Panaji 15km from resort, by cab, Food was good, moderate price, ambience was good Overall: - If you are looking for a hassle free/high end/relaxing vacation with stunning views, and won't have sleepless nights over the unfair rates for resort services, then Vivanta by Taj is an awesome choice.

A great place to stay - especially if you want to get away from it all. Staff was very friendly and the food was great. Loved the food in the Goan specialty restaurant (Beach House). Nice sized pool with a beautiful view of the beach. Would recommend this for any family vacation.

We are glad that we chose to stay at Fort Aguada. It was such a pleasant experience with 5-star staff they make your convenience their first priority. While deciding for hotels to stay in Goa we were down to Taj Holidays or Taj Fort Aguada. We are glad we chose the later.

As a solo traveler, this was my first trip to India. It was also my first solo getaway. I chose Vivanta hotel because of its tight security. I was SO impressed with how well-maintained this property was and how safe I felt the entire time I was there. I LOVED the Jiva Spa and spent every day either getting a massage or taking a private Yoga class. I appreciated the free breakfast included in my hotel fees and also the complimentary shuttle to and from the airport. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel and believe it's perfect for any female traveling solo.

Vacation

This place is gorgeous. It's behind a gate, so if you go, you'll be spending most of your time at the resort, or on the sightseeing excursions they offer (there's also a shuttle to the nearby Taj Holiday Village, which has golf and other amenities you are free to use, as the two hotels are run by the same company -- I thought the Taj Holiday Village was more for people with kids, and Fort Aguada was much more beautiful and adult). Fort Aguada (google it!) is built near a giant Portuguese stone fortress that you can walk and climb on. The cottage rooms are exquisite, and have hammocks out front (literally strung between palm trees!) I really loved the combination of historical features with a beautiful modern resort. The place has three restaurants, all of which were pretty incredible, although pricey (I'm a New Yorker, and I kept converting the currency in my head and thinking, "Wow, those are New York prices, almost!") The lentil and crab soup, with buttered naan, at the seafood restaurant was one of the best things I've eaten in my life. Even a simple Goan vegetable curry with peas and mushrooms at Latitudes, the multi-cuisine restaurant, was amazing. The breakfast buffet includes dosa, iddly, and all kinds of interesting new things, although with Western standards. I did have a bit of trouble with my coffee habit (they're not really experts with cappuccino) and my alcohol preferences (specify that you want *European* wine, trust me), but who needs to be highly caffeinated in a tropical paradise? I was skeptical of the Italian place (good Italian in an Indian hotel?), but that, too, was well up to my NYC standards (I had the seafood soup and the pasta carbonara). The spa was very peaceful and in a beautiful Zen-like garden area. The pool overlooks the ocean and the fort, and a beach house/bar right next to the pool was very enjoyable. Most of the people there were Indian couples, many with kids, but the place didn't feel overrun by kids at all -- I found it adult, peaceful, and elegant. Enjoy!

I went to Maripusa Market, drove to shrines and churches and really got to see part of the island for my one day of sight seeing. As a single traveler I felt safe (as a woman), hotel very helpful for suggestions for dinner, for sight seeing and helping me read and relax! Very friendly

Spent a relaxing week at this wonderful property. Its location at the north end of Goa is ideal if you want to just relax although it's easy to get anywhere else. Staff at this hotel were really first rate. We got to know several of the wait staff in the main restaurant and they were delightful. Atmosphere is super friendly yet efficient. Only problem we encountered was with their internet service - had heavy rains just before we arrived and service was a bit sketchy. And expensive as all internet service is in India for some reason. The resort is really beautiful, rooms are spacious, nearby beaches wonderful. Could not have been happier.

Sinquerim Bardez Candolim Goa

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Candolim Beach and Fort Aguada
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa is adjacent to popular attractions such as Candolim Beach and Fort Aguada. This 145-room, 5-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. It's connected to the convention center in central Candolim and also close to Sinquerim Beach and Calangute Beach.


Dining

There are multiple options for onsite dining with 5 restaurants, including Latitude, which has ocean views. Satisfy your hunger without leaving your room with 24-hour room service, or quench your thirst with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café. Start each morning with buffet breakfast, available for a fee from 7:30 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

A 32-inch LCD TV comes with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with wired Internet and free WiFi. Memory foam beds sport premium bedding and pillow menus, and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and designer toiletries. Other standard amenities include a refrigerator, a minibar, and a coffee maker.


Property features

Guests of Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa enjoy a full-service spa, a nightclub, and an outdoor pool. For transportation, you can make use of an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for INR 500 per room roundtrip, as well as limo/town car service. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with tours or tickets, luggage storage, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a children's pool, a health club, and a spa tub.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 2 Twin Beds, Sea View

Twin 2 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 2 Twin Beds, Sea View

Twin 2 | Sleeps 4

Presidential Villa, 3 Bedrooms

King 2 | Sleeps 10

Villa, 1 Bedroom, Garden View (Hermitage)

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa

Everyone (1) Couples (4) Family (5) Other (4)
3

not as expected

Everyone

This hotel is probably the best in North Goa. Having stayed at other Taj properties, I had high expectations of the staff and property. The property was decent, but the electricity went out 3-4 times throughout the resort during my stay. The pool size was a bit disappointing. There were many bugs around the property probably due to the hot sticky weather. The hallways are open so no ac. It was a decent stay, but not the best I’ve had.

By on Jun 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2018

Dear Guest, Greetings of the day! At the outset, I thank you for having stayed with us during your recent visit to Goa and also for taking the time out to share your feedback on your experience of the stay. I have noted your specific feedback and have shared it with my team for non recurrence. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Besides the above, we are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to an opportunity of being of service to you once again in the near future. Please do feel free to write to me when you are ready to plan your next trip to Goa, I will be happy to assist with your room reservation and ensure you have a seamless and a memorable stay with us. With kind regards, Mandira Goswami Operations Manager Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa

5

very satisfying family trip

Couples

Very satisfying family trip Very satisfying family trip Very satisfying family trip

By on Nov 10, 2015

5

awesome family trip!

Families

Definitely met or rather exceeded my expectations. Courteous and excellent staff and customer service. Food was fresh and delicious! Will definitely visit again and highly recommend!

By on Jun 2, 2015

5

awesome honeymoon trip

Couples

Our stay at Taj Vivanta Fort Aguda was awesome as expected. Hotel staff gave us very warm welcome. Since I told them about our honeymoon, they gave us nice ocean front room. The best part was the surprise they had reserved for us. Hotel staff was very very friendly and this property has one of the best spa I have ever been too. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and if I go back to goa its going to be this property.

By on May 5, 2015

4

decent hotel

Couples

This hotel was decent, definitely not a 5 star hotel.

By on Jan 28, 2015

5

high-end resort in goa

Families

If you are looking for a high-end resort right by the beach with plenty of private/public space to have long walks, then this is it!! Good: 1. Awesome location, you can sip on a nice drink, on a comfy lounge, and watch the sun set over the Bay of Bengal. 2. They have plenty of room choices from a private villa type rooms to beach facing rooms which are a short walk from the beach 3. the staff are really helpful. They have in house taxi service to help arrange short tours to go to places in Goa 4. Free shuttle to/from airport Bad: 1. Food in house is below par and expensive...but there are restaurants short walk from the resort with yummy food at reasonable price 2. The taxi service is a tad expensive, but a convenience nevertheless

By on Dec 6, 2014

5

location! location!! location!!!

Families

Location: - Vivanta by Taj is located in North Goa right on the water's edge. The view from Lobby/Poolside/most part of the garden is stunning. - We were in a beach facing room with sit out/direct access to garden facing the beach. The additional price was totally worth it. - Vivanta has easy access to beach and all water activities, and has access to viewpoints from where you can enjoy the sunset. - Vivanta is just 15km from Panaji --the main city which has all the major shopping/restaurants--, we took a cab to Panaji and it was good. - Taj has 1 more resort nearby called Taj Holiday, which doesn't have such stunning views --little cheaper-- Note: Vivanta by Taj does not have any private beaches, it only has access to the beach which is publically accessible. But still the beach was in good shape, and not too crowded --especially during weekdays-- Resort Amenities: Not so great. - No free wifi --we are in a star hotel resort in 2013 for crying out loud--. - Food within resort was OK --not great-- - As expected, food was ridiculous priced --easily over 3 times normal price--. Please eat outside, there are several good restaurants within 3km radius of the resort - Cab service was convenient/safe/easy to book/use, we just had to walk to front desk 15mins before we wanted to leave. The travel desk folks were helpful in explaining the places to see and were explicit with the pricing. - As expected, Cab service was very expensive --over 2 times normal price, 28 rupees/km + tax - not including night charges-- - We were recommended a couple of famous south goa white sand beaches --about 90km-- from our resort. We took the cab and felt those beaches were not any better than the one right in front of the resort --5mins walk--. We almost felt the travel desk wanted us to take a long cab trip, so that we end up paying them ridiculous fare :) Restaurants: - Multi-cuisine restaurant --within Vivanta resort, OK taste, expensive, ambience was good. - Seafood restaurant --within Vivanta resort, Not so good, expensive, ambience was good. - Martin's corner --40km from resort, in south Goa, we ate there on our way to the "famous" south Goa beaches, Really good food, reasonable price, OK ambience --well maintained restrooms-- - Earthen oven --around 3km from Resort, walkable, Excellent taste, moderate price, ambience was good - Delhi Darbar --in Panaji 15km from resort, by cab, Food was good, moderate price, ambience was good Overall: - If you are looking for a hassle free/high end/relaxing vacation with stunning views, and won't have sleepless nights over the unfair rates for resort services, then Vivanta by Taj is an awesome choice.

By on Nov 26, 2013

5

calm retreat

Families

A great place to stay - especially if you want to get away from it all. Staff was very friendly and the food was great. Loved the food in the Goan specialty restaurant (Beach House). Nice sized pool with a beautiful view of the beach. Would recommend this for any family vacation.

By on Oct 20, 2013

5

what a pleasant experience

Families

We are glad that we chose to stay at Fort Aguada. It was such a pleasant experience with 5-star staff they make your convenience their first priority. While deciding for hotels to stay in Goa we were down to Taj Holidays or Taj Fort Aguada. We are glad we chose the later.

By on May 17, 2013

5

perfect getaway in goa

Singles

As a solo traveler, this was my first trip to India. It was also my first solo getaway. I chose Vivanta hotel because of its tight security. I was SO impressed with how well-maintained this property was and how safe I felt the entire time I was there. I LOVED the Jiva Spa and spent every day either getting a massage or taking a private Yoga class. I appreciated the free breakfast included in my hotel fees and also the complimentary shuttle to and from the airport. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel and believe it's perfect for any female traveling solo.

By on Mar 29, 2012

Taj Fort Aguada Resort & Spa, Goa

Sinquerim Bardez, Candolim, Goa 403519