Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This hotel is one of the finest that I have stayed in throughout Europe. From top to bottom there is attention to detail as well as friendly and helpful staff. Location is literally steps to Piazza Maggiore, fantastic restaurants and shopping. Amenities abound.

Very nice staff, cute hotel, amazing location. Restaurant just nearby,

spacious, clean, comfortable and still going strong after 600 years.

We only stayed a this hotel for one brief night a the end of a 10 day trip and before catching a very early flight the next morning. Even though this is an old hotel it has been modernized and is quiet, clean and well equipped. It is in central Bologna in easy walking distance from the major sights. The hotel staff is knowledgeable and incredibly helpful, from facilitating an early check-in, providing restaurant recommendations and organizing an early morning taxi ride to the airport. We unfortunately did not have a chance to try their breakfast, but we will be back.

This was our first visit to Bologna so we were unsure of where to stay. Based on reviews we booked the Al Cappello Rosso. On arriving we were so happily surprised. Pulling up to the hotel we were unsure what we were walking into as no clues as the entry was a bit generic. But once inside we were met by a friendly front desk staff who quickly settled us in. From the lobby decor we picked up on the "cool" vibe of the hotel -- focussing on books and culture. Our room was awesome! We were in the JFK room...which was shockingly decorated all red, white and blue with JFK images, stars, etc. We quickly grew to love it as so unique and unexpected. It was like we were living in an art exhibit. Our room also had a tiny balcony that barely fit 2 people...but was lovely for fresh air and did have a tiny table and 2 chairs. The large bed was comfortable and the room spacious for two people. Our room also had a large bathroom with tub that was perfect for relaxing after we spent the day wandering Bologna. Location was also perfect. The hotel was one block off of the major historic square, so it was so nice to just walk out of the hotel to sit down for a cafe and crowd watching. Also, the staff was amazing....even sharing extra chocolates with us as we checked out and my husband complemented the special evening chocolates. The staff shared the story of how they were a local specialty...and they didn't want us to miss out on a few extra. A great experience all around!

Stayed in Apt annex 4. Flawless. We came to Bologna from top hotels in Brussels, Paris, Milan and this was our favorite.

My husband and I booked a trip to see our son who was studying abroad in bologna. Our flight in the US was cancelled d/t weather. We were rebooked to a later flight that was also cancelled. We were then rebooked the following day but mechanical issues delayed that flight so we would miss our overseas connecting flight. Now 48 hours delayed wrecking our entire timeline, we cancelled our trip. We had 2 nights booked at this hotel, non refundable. Through no fault of ours, we contacted the hotel notifying them we were still in the US. They knew at least 24 hours before the stay we couldn't get to Italy! The hotel refused to refund us and delta airlines just says sorry. So now we are out 4 hotels, train tickets and museum tickets and NONE of this was of our choosing. I emailed the hotel and Orbitz contacted them too. I haven't gotten a response. Is this hotel so desperate for business??? I'd choose another hotel if I were you

Staying only two nights in Bologna during my recent trip to Italy, I wanted to be close to the historic center. This hotel turned out to be a great choice - a one minute walk to Piazza Maggiore but on a quiet side street very close to excellent shops and restaurants, with parking also nearby. Room was modern and comfortable, staff was very helpful and friendly.

Via De' Fusari, 9 Bologna BO

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Piazza Maggiore and University of Bologna
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in Historic Center, Phi Hotel Bologna is adjacent to Piazza Maggiore and within a 15-minute walk of popular sights like University of Bologna. This 38-room, 4.5-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a restaurant, a coffee shop/café, and free in-room WiFi. It's connected to the convention center in central Bologna and also close to Land Rover Arena and Rizzoli Orthopaedic Institute.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Osteria del Cappello, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with buffet breakfast, available for a fee from 7 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

All 38 soundproofed rooms feature minibars, coffee makers, and free international calls. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and pillow menus, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free long-distance calls, free local calls, and laptop-compatible safes are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Phi Hotel Bologna enjoy free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and express check-in. Self parking is available for EUR 28 per night. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and tours or tickets. Other amenities at this luxury hotel include express check-out, free newspapers, and a porter/bellhop.

Room options

Superior Double or Twin Room

1 King Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Standard Apartment,1 Double or 2 Twin Beds, Annex Building (Falcone Borsellino 50m from the Hotel)

1 Double Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, Annex Building

1 King Bed and 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Apartment, 1 Bedroom, Annex Building

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Phi Hotel Bologna

Everyone (6) Couples (2)
5
Everyone

This hotel is one of the finest that I have stayed in throughout Europe. From top to bottom there is attention to detail as well as friendly and helpful staff. Location is literally steps to Piazza Maggiore, fantastic restaurants and shopping. Amenities abound.

By on Sep 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 13, 2019

Dear guest, thanks you so much for your wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and it is a boost to read your feedback. I hope you will manage to come back. Kind regards, Deborah Front Office Manager

4
Everyone

Very nice staff, cute hotel, amazing location. Restaurant just nearby,

By , from New York on Jan 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 17, 2019

Thank you so much for your very good review! We hope you will come back! Best Regards

5
Everyone

spacious, clean, comfortable and still going strong after 600 years.

By on Jan 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2019

thank you!

5
Everyone

We only stayed a this hotel for one brief night a the end of a 10 day trip and before catching a very early flight the next morning. Even though this is an old hotel it has been modernized and is quiet, clean and well equipped. It is in central Bologna in easy walking distance from the major sights. The hotel staff is knowledgeable and incredibly helpful, from facilitating an early check-in, providing restaurant recommendations and organizing an early morning taxi ride to the airport. We unfortunately did not have a chance to try their breakfast, but we will be back.

By , from Knoxville on Jul 31, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 1, 2018

Dear Silke, thank you so much for your review! You've been so nice! We hope you will come back! Best Regards, Elena

5

perfect hotel in historic district

Couples

This was our first visit to Bologna so we were unsure of where to stay. Based on reviews we booked the Al Cappello Rosso. On arriving we were so happily surprised. Pulling up to the hotel we were unsure what we were walking into as no clues as the entry was a bit generic. But once inside we were met by a friendly front desk staff who quickly settled us in. From the lobby decor we picked up on the "cool" vibe of the hotel -- focussing on books and culture. Our room was awesome! We were in the JFK room...which was shockingly decorated all red, white and blue with JFK images, stars, etc. We quickly grew to love it as so unique and unexpected. It was like we were living in an art exhibit. Our room also had a tiny balcony that barely fit 2 people...but was lovely for fresh air and did have a tiny table and 2 chairs. The large bed was comfortable and the room spacious for two people. Our room also had a large bathroom with tub that was perfect for relaxing after we spent the day wandering Bologna. Location was also perfect. The hotel was one block off of the major historic square, so it was so nice to just walk out of the hotel to sit down for a cafe and crowd watching. Also, the staff was amazing....even sharing extra chocolates with us as we checked out and my husband complemented the special evening chocolates. The staff shared the story of how they were a local specialty...and they didn't want us to miss out on a few extra. A great experience all around!

By , from New York City on Nov 7, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 9, 2017

Dear Lisa, wow! Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are glad you had a nice stay! We hope you will come back soon and try another decoreted room!!! Thank you again! Elena

5

strong on all counts

Everyone

Stayed in Apt annex 4. Flawless. We came to Bologna from top hotels in Brussels, Paris, Milan and this was our favorite.

By , from Mount Pleasant, SC. US on Sep 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 29, 2017

Dear Mike, thank you for your kind review! We are glad you had a nice stay! We hope you will come back soon! Best Regards, Elena

1

greedy

Everyone

My husband and I booked a trip to see our son who was studying abroad in bologna. Our flight in the US was cancelled d/t weather. We were rebooked to a later flight that was also cancelled. We were then rebooked the following day but mechanical issues delayed that flight so we would miss our overseas connecting flight. Now 48 hours delayed wrecking our entire timeline, we cancelled our trip. We had 2 nights booked at this hotel, non refundable. Through no fault of ours, we contacted the hotel notifying them we were still in the US. They knew at least 24 hours before the stay we couldn't get to Italy! The hotel refused to refund us and delta airlines just says sorry. So now we are out 4 hotels, train tickets and museum tickets and NONE of this was of our choosing. I emailed the hotel and Orbitz contacted them too. I haven't gotten a response. Is this hotel so desperate for business??? I'd choose another hotel if I were you

By , from louisiana on Apr 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 13, 2017

Dear Mrs Sagrera, thank you for your comment. We have to say, though, it speaks for itself. This is how things go, amont adult people and travelers: one should accept the risk of a not refundable contract that is signed at the moment of the booking, with orbitz, and with the hotel. You arrival was due on 6th April 2017, you called the night before to tell us your flight had been canceled and you would have been able to stay with us only for the night of 8th April 2017. On 7th April 2017 you called again to tell us you decided not to come and asking for a refund. A refund from our side was not due, so we agreed to keep your credit for a future reservation to be used by the end of June 2017: nothing, you wanted a refund. Again, I must point out that a refund is not due for a not refundable reservation - canceled at the last minute, and again, we as human people - working in a hotel, selling rooms to earn a salary - were offering you the chance to use this credit for the future, as a favour to you: this way no one would have been hurt. One more thing: if your flight has been cancelled, being your travel affected with a 48 hours delay and consequences, shouldn't the flight company refund you, instead? Kind regards,

4

great bologna stay

Couples

Staying only two nights in Bologna during my recent trip to Italy, I wanted to be close to the historic center. This hotel turned out to be a great choice - a one minute walk to Piazza Maggiore but on a quiet side street very close to excellent shops and restaurants, with parking also nearby. Room was modern and comfortable, staff was very helpful and friendly.

By on Jan 7, 2015

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Bologna-Hotels-Phi-Hotel-Bologna.h45716-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Bologna-Hotels-Phi-Hotel-Bologna.h45716-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Bologna-Hotels-Phi-Hotel-Bologna.h45716-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions