Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Barcelona Suites

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The room stank of stale cigarette smoke and cat urine. They charged an addition $100 security deposit for the room, which was NOT disclosed beforehand by check in Staff. I understand the building is old, but everything inside is dated and appears old and tired. The elevator smelled as if a small child had an accident while riding in it and it was poorly cleaned. The AC, even on full blast, was not enough to keep the room cool. The was hair still on the toilet seat from the previous occupant. I will never stay here again, and will reccomend that my family and friends stay away as well.

There were bed bugs on the bed when we walked in the room. We promptly went to front desk returned our key and left the property.

The room was in poor condition. The location was 5 miles from my conference rather than the 2 miles described. There was no outlast 2 days of my visit.

This hotel is on its last leg it literally was one of the worst places I've ever stayed the water went out and we were unable to take showers they give us a hard time about extending our stay so that we can shower before bed the staff were in that pen and capable of answering my questions 3.4 that and it was overpriced and crawling with roaches.

Room size is good , breakfast is nice. Room is stinky

Terrible lighting (none in some places), general feel-rundown and in need of some serious work. Pillows were tiny! Carpet needed to be cleaned and stretched (or replaced). Bathroom faucet was falling off, etc. The upside was it was convenient to where we wanted to be, the suite size was nice, fairly quiet, check in and check out we're very easy and breakfast was decent. Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

The place was horrible. We had stayed at Barcelona in the last, but this time the place was really run down. The room we has was dirty, the sheets were old, the electrical plugs were damaged. When we checked out there were some ladies that worked the streets leaving. Who ever owns this place now should just close it.

This hotel was spacious for two adults. It is far enough from I-40 that it is peaceful, but close enough to I-40 that getting around town is quick and easy. I wish that the bar area would have stayed open longer for the ones who had a late check or a long travel. The staff was professional and kind. It would have been nice if there were more ice machines placed in down each hall of the hotel. The only one I finally found, was broken. However, they have cold beverages and snack foods available for purchase at the front desk. The parking garage was pretty convenient. When coming to a new town and not knowing its crime rate level, it was comforting knowing that my car was locked in a gated parking garage. If it weren't for the ice machine mishap, I would have given five stars.

This hotel never has enough towels! A couple of years ago, I stayed with a group and we had to share hand towels to dry ourselves. This time the last night, I didn't have a wash cloth. It didn't look that busy.

Initially, I enjoyed the space and location. However, the pool area lock was broken and needed upgrading. The room was large, but also old. Even worse, an intruder entered my room. The staff seemed unconcerned. Breakfast was good.

Spare bed not made.. Had to make ourselves after going for being. No extra blankets No hot water in sink Customer service was very impolite

No hot water, no towels in room, very dim lighting, heater did not work well. I was asked to switch rooms when I complained...new room had issues too!...no hand towels, very old box TV with poor reception, remote did not work, asked for full refund but only was refunded one-third cost. Hotel pics posted on orbitz website is VERY deceiving. Do not book at this hotel! Worst hotel experience ever!!

The rooms are very roomy, and were probably very nice back in the day. Rooms were not all that clean, stains on the sheets and the staff was less than friendly.

The outside appearance looked nice upon approach, as we entered we realized it was a dated hotel. We received good service and were really suprized at how quiet it was during the night. We slept very well in the bed also. The breakfast was nice because you actually wqere able to order real eggs cooked as you wanted rather than the big chain hotel powdered egg breakfast.

This was a nice hotel with a large room. One downside is that it was fairly cool and the room heater did not work. The staff apologized but it sounds like it was off for the summer. One item that was very important to us was the security of our car. (we were there for a car show) The garage was gated and required room key to open. The only way to get into the garage was by foot through the lobby.

rooms are very nice very comfortable like home. Staff is very friendly. The location was very convienent to mall and shops, restaurants

Friendly, helpful staff but the hotel - or at least the rooms I had - is showing age.

The atmosphere has you enter the lobby was most pleasant. Staff was courteous and helpful. The room more than met my expectations. The only negative for me was location. I did not have a car and was required to take a taxi for dinner and shopping. No restaurants were in walking distance. I probably would not stay here again unless I was traveling with someone.

The hotel has a beautiful lobby but when you go beyond the lobby it could use maintenance. The underground parking entrance looks like you are entering the back doors of a cheap restaurant. The carpet outside of the elevators is disgustingly dirty. The shower in our room had mold in the grout and not just where the tile meets the tub. Once inside the room it was very comfortable except for the shower. The people cleaning the rooms and serving breakfast were very pleasant and acccomodating.

The hotel has simple access from the freeway. But, it's easy to miss because it looks more like an apartment building. Parking is under ground and slightly confusing when checking in. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. The only complaint was that there was no bed spread so the temp was too cold for comfort. Probably an oversight. Also, be prepared for a walk, including stairs, to get to your room. The breakfast that's included was the best I've had in a hotel of this caliber.

900 Louisiana Blvd NE Albuquerque NM

Hotel highlights

  • Close to ABQ Uptown
  • Free cooked-to-order breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Located in Uptown within a mile (2 km) of ABQ Uptown, Barcelona Suites is within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular sights such as Tingley Coliseum. This hotel has 164 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and free self parking.


Dining

Free cooked-to-order breakfast is served on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM and on weekends from 7 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find a TV with cable channels. Other standard amenities include a kitchenette, a sofa bed, and a sitting area.


Property features

Barcelona Suites offers an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a sauna. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Additional amenities include conference space, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Double Queen Non Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 3

Fun In the Sun

Twin 1 | Sleeps 2

King Non-Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Barcelona Suites

Everyone (11) Couples (4) Business (3) Family (13) Friends (3) Other (3)
1
Partner Couples

The room stank of stale cigarette smoke and cat urine. They charged an addition $100 security deposit for the room, which was NOT disclosed beforehand by check in Staff. I understand the building is old, but everything inside is dated and appears old and tired. The elevator smelled as if a small child had an accident while riding in it and it was poorly cleaned. The AC, even on full blast, was not enough to keep the room cool. The was hair still on the toilet seat from the previous occupant. I will never stay here again, and will reccomend that my family and friends stay away as well.

By on Jun 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2019

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I apologize you were not informed at the time of check in about our incidental hold which is required from everyone. We are under new ownership and as such renovation is ongoing. We hope to have many rooms available for rental that have undergone extensive renovation. It is unfortunate you will not be returning to experience our improvements yourself, however; we wish you safe and happy travels!

1
Families

There were bed bugs on the bed when we walked in the room. We promptly went to front desk returned our key and left the property.

By on Jun 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2019

Dear Anonymous, I remember your stay, you actually used the room for 30 minutes, bed was used and so was the shower. Terminix is our pest control company and can confirm our property is bed bug free. Thank you for your time and we wish you safe and happy travels!

2
Business Business Travelers

The room was in poor condition. The location was 5 miles from my conference rather than the 2 miles described. There was no outlast 2 days of my visit.

By on Apr 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 22, 2019

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay. I apologize if you were located further than you expected. Our information location is accurate. We are currently renovating our daily guest rooms, unfortunately we do not have any completed room ready for occupancy, however; we are hoping to have rooms available soon. We hope you will allow us an opportunity to prove our commitment to our valued patrons by giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you again and happy travels!

1
Everyone

This hotel is on its last leg it literally was one of the worst places I've ever stayed the water went out and we were unable to take showers they give us a hard time about extending our stay so that we can shower before bed the staff were in that pen and capable of answering my questions 3.4 that and it was overpriced and crawling with roaches.

By on Dec 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 2, 2019

Dear Valued Guest, As we move into the new year our property has begun its room renovations. During this time we did have to turn off the water as we encountered an plumbing issue. We had hoped it was for a short period and yes we did allow all guests to stay until 3pm to compensate any inconvenience. As for the claim of roaches, completely unfounded and untrue. We have Terminix as our pest control which conducts monthly service and will attest our property does not have this issue as you claim. I apologize you did not enjoy your stay. Thank you for your comments will use them to improve our guest experience. Happy travels!

4
Everyone

Room size is good , breakfast is nice. Room is stinky

By on Oct 15, 2017

3

not very size room

Everyone

Terrible lighting (none in some places), general feel-rundown and in need of some serious work. Pillows were tiny! Carpet needed to be cleaned and stretched (or replaced). Bathroom faucet was falling off, etc. The upside was it was convenient to where we wanted to be, the suite size was nice, fairly quiet, check in and check out we're very easy and breakfast was decent. Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

By , from Alabama on Oct 10, 2017

1

place should close

Everyone

The place was horrible. We had stayed at Barcelona in the last, but this time the place was really run down. The room we has was dirty, the sheets were old, the electrical plugs were damaged. When we checked out there were some ladies that worked the streets leaving. Who ever owns this place now should just close it.

By on Jul 24, 2017

4

overall pleased

Everyone

This hotel was spacious for two adults. It is far enough from I-40 that it is peaceful, but close enough to I-40 that getting around town is quick and easy. I wish that the bar area would have stayed open longer for the ones who had a late check or a long travel. The staff was professional and kind. It would have been nice if there were more ice machines placed in down each hall of the hotel. The only one I finally found, was broken. However, they have cold beverages and snack foods available for purchase at the front desk. The parking garage was pretty convenient. When coming to a new town and not knowing its crime rate level, it was comforting knowing that my car was locked in a gated parking garage. If it weren't for the ice machine mishap, I would have given five stars.

By on May 15, 2017

3

good enough.

Everyone

This hotel never has enough towels! A couple of years ago, I stayed with a group and we had to share hand towels to dry ourselves. This time the last night, I didn't have a wash cloth. It didn't look that busy.

By on Apr 23, 2017

1

old hotel with potential, but poorly maintained.

Everyone

Initially, I enjoyed the space and location. However, the pool area lock was broken and needed upgrading. The room was large, but also old. Even worse, an intruder entered my room. The staff seemed unconcerned. Breakfast was good.

By , from Hobbs, NM on Apr 15, 2017

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.