Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

2.0 out of 5.0

Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This is an older Hotel property and one should not expect the anything other than that. Some of the décor is a little dated and some areas are in need of maintenance, but the grounds are well maintained and the staff are friendly and helpful. Pros. The location is excellent. The staff is very friendly and pleasant. Our room was clean, spacious and had an ocean view. It is within walking distance to shopping and dining and water sports Cons. The Bed was a bit soft for us as we prefer a firm mattress. The Housekeepers were friendly, however they did forgot to replace things like soap and toilet paper etc... Overall If you have realistic expectations and you plan on spending most of your time out exploring Kona and the Island, you can't beat the location and can have a very satisfying stay here, however If you want all the amenities of a Ritz or Four Seasons Hotel, then this is not the place for you.

It was just after Ironman. Place was packed at the beginning. A good value.

The only good thing about this is location. It is close to a lot of good restaurant's and shops. The room is dated and my room was not clean..

Close to the beach, staff was awesome. The showers could use a deep cleaning with bleach, as you can see dirty residues on the walls if the shower. The carpets could use shampooing, when walking in the unit without shoes/ slippers the carpet feels really dirty. And housekeeping staff should check the safe’s as the one I had in 1020 was not working, needed to be serviced. And they should check the refrigerator as there was things left In there from previous guest.

We stay at the top floor our door wouldn’t lock so they changed us room to the third floor well our door was still giving us problems we had to wait about two minutes play with the handle so the door would lock the first night the lady in the kitchen for breakfast was rude.. the hotel could upgrade there ac but the stay was nice all and all

Had cockroaches. Holes in the wall. Small details like the shower curtain was held in place with a piece of cardboard. Could be a nice place with some upkeep

This hotel room was dirty- moldy- sticky- and gross. I will not stay there again. Carpets were dirty and sticky. Bathroom had mold. There were no luggage tables. Had to keep luggage on dirty floor. The breakfast was weak. No eggs- no meat- no waffles or other hot food.

Right in the center of shopping and the beach. Staff is so friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was decent including fresh fruit. Rooms were pretty clean, a little on the warm side. We booked this room knowing we were pretty much just sleeping there, so we didn't need anything luxurious, and it provided just that. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but we survived and would book here again.

After checking into the unit, I inspected. I got into the restroom of the unit and found hair and toothpaste in the shower. They hair was located throughout the shower floor the shower walls and the ceiling, the toothpaste was located on the shower wall and ceiling. I went to the front desk and inform the agent, the agent called for the housekeeping supervisor to go to the unit and take care of the issue. The housekeeping supervisor had arrived to the unit, she started to clean the unit shower. As she was cleaning the shower I noticed that the floor had not been vacuumed, so I informed the housekeeping supervisor while she was cleaning the shower. The housekeeping supervisor did not even offer a vacuum for me to vacuum the unit , Nor did she offered to vacuum the unit floor. The housekeeping supervisor left, then I left to go to the pool. I found the housekeeping supervisor Lynn, and one of the housekeeping staff Natasha whom had come to the unit with the supervisor to clean the hair. They were talking stories with the front desk agent for about 15 minutes, then they had left so I walk to the front desk agent and informed her of what had happened she apologized and that was it!

Great downtown Kona location. Older Hotel, don't expect new amenities, but great old style and slowly upgrading.

Uncle Billy's is a landmark in Kona and the best part of it is that it is located right within walking distance of all the amenities and interesting sites in Kona. The staff is very nice and friendly, specially the evening front desk manager. That being said Billy's top management needs to spend a little dough on upgrading the hotel. Everything is very dated or non functional. The breakfast is average I would say, except the fresh papaya is very good and abundant, the rest is just cereal, danish, toast, etc. The parking is right behind and is convenient, only $5 extra per night. The place is peaceful and quiet for the most part. I have to emphasize again that they need to start spending capital in upgrading the hotel or is going to eventually fall into disrepair and have to be torn down and rebuilt which would be a pity. It is also the best value as far as pricing. Everything else is $100 or more extra per night. If you want or need to save those bucks to do more stuff around the island with your kids then Billy's is a good option.

Staff are friendly, rooms need carpet update. Some of the saving boxes are not working.

We went to Hawaii to be in hawaii not to live in a hotel. It's a bed a bathroom and just what we needed. The staff are amazing and helpful.

Room is big but a bit old, need to be updated. Location is perfect, just opposite the sea shore and near the farmers market, very convenience.

I paid 80$ more for a room than the standard price, and got into the room and it was completely flooded. Wet carpet and water all over the sink and carpet (room 1007) I asked for another room and they gave me a double bed (previous room was a single king) and over in the corner with no more view or anything. Basically a room half the value of the one I paid for, all because the room I PAID for was flooded with water all over the place. This was a complete waste of money and time and I will never stay here again.

Long time waiting for signing up (at midnight). Room I got was right on the street. Breakfast time is only till 9:00 (on Sunday). Overall - not one of the best. Can not recommand.

We arrived early for our check in and were pre checked in but then told that we needed to come back at 3 which was fine because we knew that was check in time. Fast forward to 3pm. Our rooms weren't ready. We waited an extra hour and a half for our room. We were tired and just wanted a shower. The guy was checking in on our rooms every few minutes but others were being checked in and given their rooms. So that was a little irritating. But once we got our rooms it was a nice stay overall. Not hugely fancy but good place to sleep. We were rarely in our room. Even with the mix up. I would stay here again.

Entry cards don’t work. Bugs and flies seen Curtains don’t close to avoid bright street light. Breakfast with stale and tasteless food. Not enough toilet space. Crummy smelly linens. Even the maintenance men is not happy about the place. Poor working AC & fridge so on & so forth. I missed my boat tour excursion as a result of my lock out.

The room was not clean and we bought a coconut candle to burn in our room to minimize the foul smell. Staff was very nice and it was close to the beach and shopping

Very poorly maintained and bad hotel. I would suggest that you not recommend this hotel. Thanks

75-5739 Alii Dr Kailua-Kona HI

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Hulihee Palace
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Outdoor pool

Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel places you within a 5-minute walk of Hulihee Palace and Mokuaikaua Church. This 145-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like an outdoor pool and free in-room WiFi. In central Kailua-Kona, the hotel is also close to Kailua-Kona Wharf and Kona Community Aquatic Center.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 8 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

Guests can enjoy cable TV and stay connected with free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a balcony and a refrigerator.


Property features

Guests of Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel enjoy an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Self parking is offered for USD 10 per night. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, laundry facilities, and an ATM.

Room options

Deluxe Room, Partial Ocean View

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Superior Studio, Kitchenette, Ocean View

Queen 1 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Superior Room

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

Everyone (40) Couples (81) Business (6) Family (39) Other (34) Friends (12)
4
Everyone

This is an older Hotel property and one should not expect the anything other than that. Some of the décor is a little dated and some areas are in need of maintenance, but the grounds are well maintained and the staff are friendly and helpful. Pros. The location is excellent. The staff is very friendly and pleasant. Our room was clean, spacious and had an ocean view. It is within walking distance to shopping and dining and water sports Cons. The Bed was a bit soft for us as we prefer a firm mattress. The Housekeepers were friendly, however they did forgot to replace things like soap and toilet paper etc... Overall If you have realistic expectations and you plan on spending most of your time out exploring Kona and the Island, you can't beat the location and can have a very satisfying stay here, however If you want all the amenities of a Ritz or Four Seasons Hotel, then this is not the place for you.

By , from Riverside, CA on Nov 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 16, 2018

Aloha Angelo! Mahalo for taking the time to leave us a review. We pride ourselves on being one of the last Hawaiian family owned and operated hotels in Hawaii, and thank each and every one of our guests for their business. We always try to go above and beyond in pleasing our guests, and appreciate all the fine details you gave in order to improve our guest experience. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo

4
Everyone

It was just after Ironman. Place was packed at the beginning. A good value.

By on Oct 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 31, 2018

Aloha! Thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again soon at Kona Bay Hotel.

3

old hotel

Everyone

The only good thing about this is location. It is close to a lot of good restaurant's and shops. The room is dated and my room was not clean..

By , from Las Vegas on Aug 20, 2018

3
Everyone

Close to the beach, staff was awesome. The showers could use a deep cleaning with bleach, as you can see dirty residues on the walls if the shower. The carpets could use shampooing, when walking in the unit without shoes/ slippers the carpet feels really dirty. And housekeeping staff should check the safe’s as the one I had in 1020 was not working, needed to be serviced. And they should check the refrigerator as there was things left In there from previous guest.

By on Aug 15, 2018

4

cheap stay

Everyone

We stay at the top floor our door wouldn’t lock so they changed us room to the third floor well our door was still giving us problems we had to wait about two minutes play with the handle so the door would lock the first night the lady in the kitchen for breakfast was rude.. the hotel could upgrade there ac but the stay was nice all and all

By , from ocean view hawaii on Jul 31, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 14, 2018

Aloha, We are sorry to hear that you experienced some concerns during your stay. I can assure you that management is working diligently to address these issues, and we appreciate your understanding. Mahalo

3

too high a price for this kind of hotel.

Everyone

Had cockroaches. Holes in the wall. Small details like the shower curtain was held in place with a piece of cardboard. Could be a nice place with some upkeep

By , from Hawaii on Jul 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 1, 2018

Aloha Tulip, We are very sorry to hear your stay was not as pleasant as we hope for all our guests. I can assure you that management takes all guests concerns and comments very seriously, and they are addressing the issues you have brought up. However, after reviewing your reservation, we could not find any information regarding you contacting our staff to room move, or a mention of your cardboard shower. We are consistently going through each room, and have not found a shower that is supported with any sort of cardboard. Please feel free to contact management at your convenience to discuss this matter further. Mahalo

1

hotel room was dirty and empty

Everyone

This hotel room was dirty- moldy- sticky- and gross. I will not stay there again. Carpets were dirty and sticky. Bathroom had mold. There were no luggage tables. Had to keep luggage on dirty floor. The breakfast was weak. No eggs- no meat- no waffles or other hot food.

By , from kona on Jul 22, 2018

4
Everyone

Right in the center of shopping and the beach. Staff is so friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was decent including fresh fruit. Rooms were pretty clean, a little on the warm side. We booked this room knowing we were pretty much just sleeping there, so we didn't need anything luxurious, and it provided just that. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but we survived and would book here again.

By on Jul 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 12, 2018

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us at Kona Bay Hotel. We value all our guest's comments, requests, and concerns, and management is always vigilant in addressing these areas promptly. Mahalo and we hope to see you again soon!

3
Everyone

After checking into the unit, I inspected. I got into the restroom of the unit and found hair and toothpaste in the shower. They hair was located throughout the shower floor the shower walls and the ceiling, the toothpaste was located on the shower wall and ceiling. I went to the front desk and inform the agent, the agent called for the housekeeping supervisor to go to the unit and take care of the issue. The housekeeping supervisor had arrived to the unit, she started to clean the unit shower. As she was cleaning the shower I noticed that the floor had not been vacuumed, so I informed the housekeeping supervisor while she was cleaning the shower. The housekeeping supervisor did not even offer a vacuum for me to vacuum the unit , Nor did she offered to vacuum the unit floor. The housekeeping supervisor left, then I left to go to the pool. I found the housekeeping supervisor Lynn, and one of the housekeeping staff Natasha whom had come to the unit with the supervisor to clean the hair. They were talking stories with the front desk agent for about 15 minutes, then they had left so I walk to the front desk agent and informed her of what had happened she apologized and that was it!

By , from volcano hi on Jul 3, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 9, 2018

Aloha, We are sorry to hear that you experienced some concerns during your stay. I am aware management was able to speak with you regarding your concerns, and we do hope they ameliorated any issues that you had. I can assure you that management takes all guests concerns and comments seriously, and all staff have been spoken with regarding proper procedure and etiquette with guest. We do hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo

5
lovers of Old Kona Style

Great downtown Kona location. Older Hotel, don't expect new amenities, but great old style and slowly upgrading.

By , from Southern Cal on Jun 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We appreciate each and every one of our guests and hope to see you again soon!

Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel

75-5739 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740