Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Great location. Had our grandson spend the night with us and they provided at no charge a pump up bed with childrens sheets.

Considering the price of the room I did expect more from the experience. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom area is a little wonky and if a person goes to the loo and turns the light on it shines right into the bedroom. I was surprised to have to pay for parking at that rate as ell. The bar and cafe are closed so that was a negative. The front staff couldn't recommend a neighborhood restaurant and kind of shrugged when I asked them.

This was the poorest designed hotel room I have ever experienced. Besides crowded, it was dark and gloomy, dark colors, no privacy other than a toilet closet with a heavy wobbly sliding door. No closet, main area very narrow, two pp cannot pass. Hotel very worn, hallway wall’s all scratched up, very shabby place. One bright note, they actually had nice feather pillows!

Great vibe, and the location was fantastic! The staff was friendly and the rooms were spacious, and chic.

Convenient location. Fair price. Ease of in and out. Clean

Great location, clean, updated. Could improve amenities.

We loved the "walkability" around the Soho neighborhood to coffee shops, restaurants and stores. My daughter liked the modern vibe and decor style.

Really clean, spacious room. Great staff and dog friendly location. Only thing I would add is a microwave.

nice place, close to everything, clean, helpful staff. will be staying here again

Good location safe bar inside in property great drink. Front desk very slow 40 mins wait

Good location right down the street from Vulcan Park that has a lookout over the Birmingham skyline. Safe location a block or two from a police station. Good food and beverages within walking distance. Revelator coffee and a brewery are just blocks away. Clean and nice hotel, decent amenities. Nice desk staff. The two queen beds we had are hard which isn't an issue for me as it usually leaves my back feeling better, the other people staying with us didn't enjoy them though. I would definitely stay here again.

It was average. Not super clean. And on the noisy side.

The lobby feels like a meat locker it is so cold. It is so uncomfortable that it's not pleasant to hang out in the lobby or get a drink at the bar. This is my 3rd time to stay at this location and the temp in the guest rooms is either too hot or freezing. It is difficult to adjust the thermostat on the wall ac unit to make it comfortable.

Happy with my stay. This is a great place as is always the case in this hotel chain. I love the way they have out things together in a smart efficient way, a very European feel to this band.

They were nice at check-in. Key didn't work so back down to fix the key, back up to the room, key worked - but the head of housekeeping was in my room changing her clothes and ironing her shirt!! Back down, the front desk folks giggled and asked if I wanted another room. Yes, please. No one in the room, but it smelled like BO. The next day I left the room around 10:45 to go to my meeting. I removed the DND sign from the door. I returned at 5:20 to change for dinner. The room had not been cleaned. I asked the front desk and they said - well, did you put the DND sign on the door? Why yes I had, but removed it at 10:45. Well that's the problem, he said. I asked that the room be cleaned immediately while I was at dinner. He said ok. Got back to the room and someone had made the bed, removed the towel and dirty washcloths (did not replace them btw) and that was it. No coffee refill, not trash removal, they didn't even wipe down the counter. Gross.

This chain goes for loft-type styling, with a large, lobby that includes a bar, game table, and to-go self-service deli. Our room had no dressers or comfortable chair, providing open shelves and closet space and a desk with chair. There was a padded bench against the wall, long enough to stretch out on but directly (and permanently) located under the wall-mounted TV, so you had to lie in bed to watch TV. The neighborhood is a low-rise, close-in suburb with its original main street and a good many shops and restaurants, including three independent bookstores. Very convenient to downtown by car, but we chose it because there was so much that we could walk to, at prices somewhat below the downtown hotels. Parking and internet are free, which is not typical in the downtown establishments. Beds were very comfortable, but bedding was minimal, leaving us more dependent on the rooms climate control (which was fine). The hotel was not busy during our stay, and during a busy period there might be a concern about noise in the hallways -- next time, I would try to get a room at the far end of the hallway, more distant from the elevator. Our tiny in-room fridge was fairly noisy, and we wished that the room had a microwave. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We left with a favorable impression overall.

29th Avenue South Birmingham AL

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Indoor pool
  • 24-hour fitness center

Birmingham Zoo is within 2 miles (3 km) of Aloft Birmingham Soho Square while other popular attractions such as Samford University are within 3 miles (5 km). This 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 111 rooms and conveniences like an indoor pool, a 24-hour gym, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/café. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

All 111 rooms provide refrigerators, coffee makers, and free local calls. Guests can expect 42-inch LCD TVs with satellite channels and first-run movies, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Pillowtop beds grant a restful night's sleep, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Other amenities include laptop-compatible safes, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Guests of Aloft Birmingham Soho Square have access to an indoor pool, a 24-hour gym, and free WiFi in public areas. If you drive, self parking is USD 10 per day, or you can take advantage of the airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 30.00 per person one-way. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with luggage storage, dry cleaning/laundry, and securing valuables. If you like to take your furry friend along on your adventures, this pet-friendly property offers food and water bowls. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and a meeting room.

Room options

aloft, Room, 2 Queen Beds, City View, Corner

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

aloft, Room, 1 King Bed, City View, Corner

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

aloft, Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

aloft, Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Aloft Birmingham Soho Square

Everyone (8) Business (5) Couples (12) Family (13) Other (2)
5
Family

Great location. Had our grandson spend the night with us and they provided at no charge a pump up bed with childrens sheets.

By on May 24, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2021

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We wish you safe travels!

4
Partner Couples

Considering the price of the room I did expect more from the experience. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom area is a little wonky and if a person goes to the loo and turns the light on it shines right into the bedroom. I was surprised to have to pay for parking at that rate as ell. The bar and cafe are closed so that was a negative. The front staff couldn't recommend a neighborhood restaurant and kind of shrugged when I asked them.

By on May 7, 2021

Review comment responded on May 10, 2021

Anonymous, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing honest feedback. Your comments will be shared with our management team, as the front desk should always have recommendations for dining! We hope we can host you again and provide an overall better stay!

4
Everyone

By on Apr 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2021

Anonymous, thank you for choosing to stay with us!

4
Everyone

By on Mar 29, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 12, 2021

Anonymous, thank you so much for staying with us!

3
Family

This was the poorest designed hotel room I have ever experienced. Besides crowded, it was dark and gloomy, dark colors, no privacy other than a toilet closet with a heavy wobbly sliding door. No closet, main area very narrow, two pp cannot pass. Hotel very worn, hallway wall’s all scratched up, very shabby place. One bright note, they actually had nice feather pillows!

By on Mar 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 19, 2021

Thank you for staying with us Anonymous! We are so sorry you did not enjoy the design of the hotel. The rooms are on the smaller side, being loft inspired. We are glad you enjoyed the pillows though!

5
Family

Great vibe, and the location was fantastic! The staff was friendly and the rooms were spacious, and chic.

By on Mar 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 10, 2021

Anonymous, thank you for sharing your feedback! We hope your overall time in the city was great and that you had safe travels!

5
Family Business Business

Convenient location. Fair price. Ease of in and out. Clean

By on Mar 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 10, 2021

Anonymous, thank you for sharing your feedback! We hope your overall time in the city was great and that you had safe travels!

5
Everyone

By on Dec 7, 2020

5
Everyone

By on Jul 30, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 10, 2020

Thank you for the kind review!

4
Partner Couples Family

Great location, clean, updated. Could improve amenities.

By , from Athens, GA on Mar 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 4, 2020

Linn, thank you for your kind words about the location and our cleanliness! Please note we are installing new internet this week, and new bathroom amenities will be in place late summer. We hope we can see you again and showcase these changes!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Birmingham-Hotels-Aloft-Birmingham-Soho-Square.h2546616-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Birmingham-Hotels-Aloft-Birmingham-Soho-Square.h2546616-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Birmingham-Hotels-Aloft-Birmingham-Soho-Square.h2546616-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions