Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

It was a relaxing place

They have the wrong times for the restaurant closing on both their website and the info paper they give you when you get there. So when we got there expecting to eat a late dinner after a very long drive, we couldn't. There are no other restaurants in the area either so we went to bed hungry. And in the morning, I saw a coffee station in the lobby and couldn't believe they actually charge you for a simple cup, like they couldn't even make that complimentary for their guests. This property felt like a hospital-turned-hotel with its weird layout and outdated design. I had to walk through so many hallways and couldn't find my room at first. I wouldn't have felt safe at this hotel if I wasn't traveling with my husband. And when we arrived, there was no valet in sight and the parking lot is a long walk from the lobby. As for the room, the walls were paper thin, there were spider webs, and I was surprised that a place that is supposedly a resort had the most basic refillable bath products. Truly was so disappointed in this hotel. I don't have anything good to say and really wish I didn't go so far out of my way to visit here while traveling to some of the other nicer parks in WV.

I loved the area and the different outdoor activities offered by the resort. I didn't love the limited food options, the understaffing, and the fact that I could not get a cup of coffee. If you're a "resort", coffee should not be difficult to be found. The mattress was also bad.

The property was beautiful. We found most of the staff to be rude and made us feel like we were bothering them. We called 2 times for towels to which we never recieved. We attemptednto order different drinksniff of the drink menu to be instructed that they were out of ingredients to make them. I only eat chicken and attempted to order 4 different things from the menu only to be told that they were out of each of them so my food choices were extremely limited. Someone had vomited at the pool and noone bothered to clean it up they just walked around it! We were going to stay a 2nd night but due to all of the above i was ready to leave!

The resort was beautiful and well managed. There were plenty of activities to keep us entertained and the food at the restaurant was divine!

It’s a beautiful place to stay. Staff is all very friendly.

Located in a beautiful, natural setting in West Virginia, The Stonewall Resort is the perfect place to enjoy spa amenities, hike, boat tour, dine, conduct business meetings, shop in the gift store, or relax with family, friends, or colleagues. I loved the outdoor seating areas, fire pits, and band, during the evening hours. Though many upgrades have been made to the physical property recently, such as the gorgeous indoor/outdoor pool, the air conditioning system needs improved. The air conditioner is set at 67 degrees in the guest rooms, but my guest room never cooled and was quite humid during my stay. The lack of a comfortable, cool, humid-free guest room made getting a good night’s sleep difficult. Since I was attending a business meeting, the lack of proper air conditioner coolness made the stay uncomfortable. Throughout the hallways and in the meeting room, the air conditioning was an issue, too, and many event attendees complained about the humidity and lack of coolness in the facility. Finally, I commend the Stonewall Resort’s chefs and restaurant facilities for excellent food, service, and ambiance, in addition to the meeting room AV system upgrades.

Resort Drive Roanoke WV

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Marina

Stonewall Resort places you next to Stonewall Resort State Park and Stonewall Jackson Lake. This 208-room, 3.5-star hotel has a golf course, a marina, and a full-service spa.


Dining

There are ample dining options with 3 onsite restaurants, including Stillwaters Restaurant, which specializes in American cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and Lightburn's Restaurant with its golf course views. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or entertain your taste buds with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café. Start each morning with buffet breakfast, available for a fee from 7 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

Stonewall Resort's 208 rooms provide refrigerators, coffee makers, and free local calls. 37-inch LCD TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Beds sport down comforters and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Fans, safes, and ironing boards are other standard amenities.


Property features

Stonewall Resort features a golf course, a marina, and a full-service spa. A stay here includes free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with luggage storage, securing valuables, and concierge services. Other amenities at this spa hotel include an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, and a gym.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Tub)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, Lake View

2 Twin Beds, 1 King Bed and 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 6

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, Accessible, Lake View (Tub)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, Lake View

1 King Bed and 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Stonewall Resort

Everyone (4) Couples (2) Family (4)
4
Family

It was a relaxing place

By on Nov 4, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 23, 2021

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

2
Partner Couples

They have the wrong times for the restaurant closing on both their website and the info paper they give you when you get there. So when we got there expecting to eat a late dinner after a very long drive, we couldn't. There are no other restaurants in the area either so we went to bed hungry. And in the morning, I saw a coffee station in the lobby and couldn't believe they actually charge you for a simple cup, like they couldn't even make that complimentary for their guests. This property felt like a hospital-turned-hotel with its weird layout and outdated design. I had to walk through so many hallways and couldn't find my room at first. I wouldn't have felt safe at this hotel if I wasn't traveling with my husband. And when we arrived, there was no valet in sight and the parking lot is a long walk from the lobby. As for the room, the walls were paper thin, there were spider webs, and I was surprised that a place that is supposedly a resort had the most basic refillable bath products. Truly was so disappointed in this hotel. I don't have anything good to say and really wish I didn't go so far out of my way to visit here while traveling to some of the other nicer parks in WV.

By on Oct 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 2, 2021

I apologize we did not meet your expectations and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share this with us!

3
Everyone

By , from Pittsburgh on Sep 8, 2021

4
Everyone

By on Aug 17, 2021

4
Family

I loved the area and the different outdoor activities offered by the resort. I didn't love the limited food options, the understaffing, and the fact that I could not get a cup of coffee. If you're a "resort", coffee should not be difficult to be found. The mattress was also bad.

By on Jul 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 21, 2021

I apologize we did not meet your expectations and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share this with us!

2
Friends

The property was beautiful. We found most of the staff to be rude and made us feel like we were bothering them. We called 2 times for towels to which we never recieved. We attemptednto order different drinksniff of the drink menu to be instructed that they were out of ingredients to make them. I only eat chicken and attempted to order 4 different things from the menu only to be told that they were out of each of them so my food choices were extremely limited. Someone had vomited at the pool and noone bothered to clean it up they just walked around it! We were going to stay a 2nd night but due to all of the above i was ready to leave!

By on Jun 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 6, 2021

I apologize we did not meet your expectations and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share this with us!

5
Everyone

By on Dec 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 5, 2021

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback

5
Family

The resort was beautiful and well managed. There were plenty of activities to keep us entertained and the food at the restaurant was divine!

By , from Chicago West Suburbs on Aug 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 6, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We look forward to seeing you again.

5
Family Partner Couples

It’s a beautiful place to stay. Staff is all very friendly.

By , from Flatwoods on Feb 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 19, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback...we look forward to seeing you again in the future! :)

4
Business Business

Located in a beautiful, natural setting in West Virginia, The Stonewall Resort is the perfect place to enjoy spa amenities, hike, boat tour, dine, conduct business meetings, shop in the gift store, or relax with family, friends, or colleagues. I loved the outdoor seating areas, fire pits, and band, during the evening hours. Though many upgrades have been made to the physical property recently, such as the gorgeous indoor/outdoor pool, the air conditioning system needs improved. The air conditioner is set at 67 degrees in the guest rooms, but my guest room never cooled and was quite humid during my stay. The lack of a comfortable, cool, humid-free guest room made getting a good night’s sleep difficult. Since I was attending a business meeting, the lack of proper air conditioner coolness made the stay uncomfortable. Throughout the hallways and in the meeting room, the air conditioning was an issue, too, and many event attendees complained about the humidity and lack of coolness in the facility. Finally, I commend the Stonewall Resort’s chefs and restaurant facilities for excellent food, service, and ambiance, in addition to the meeting room AV system upgrades.

By on Oct 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 9, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to share some feedback from your stay. I will ensure that our maintenance department checks the air conditioning units to be sure this does not continue to be a problem. We hope you get a chance to come back and stay with us again in the future! :)

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Roanoke-Hotels-Stonewall-Resort.h892977-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Roanoke-Hotels-Stonewall-Resort.h892977-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Roanoke-Hotels-Stonewall-Resort.h892977-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions