Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel! Staff was friendly and helpful, the room was nice and the location was great!

Unique plastic flowers weaved in with growing flowers. Balcony overlooks parking lot. Thin towels. Bathroom needs serious updating. Rooms are very small. Front desk staff very nice and friendly. Everything was clean. Very easy walk to the river and LaVillita. Looks charming - just needs some updating.

Since the property is historic that is cool. Great location walking distance to the Riverwalk. But hotel could use some cleaning. Bathroom was not in good shape at all.

It's a non franchise hotel so don't expect pool, gym

Nice quaint property near the riverwalk. Not much in way of amenities but spend most of your time on the river. The on site parking sucks! They try to sqeeze too many cars into a triangle shaped lot making you drive over a sidewslk and curb to exit. Costs the same as the public parking so use that

The rooms were musty smelling. They were still not doing house keeping to your room during stay. Short staffed and hard time finding someone for replenishing coffee and towels. Entrance at night was blocked off till 7 am so you couldn't go out for morning walks. Would not stay again.

Nothing historic about this hotel. More like dilapidated. Convenient to the Riverwalk/downtown attractions, but not very well maintained property.

The location was great. The staff was wonderful. They were very friendly and always helpful. The hotel was clean and slightly better than expected. It is a historic boutique hotel and that is exactly what you get.

This was the sweetest little historical boutique hotel. It’s an old building and it has such good vibes because of the people running it. It is very, very pretty, there are plants everywhere and it had the coolest little balcony. There is plenty of parking through the hotel and nearby. The hotel parking lets you go in and out for $20, which is a steal compared to other hotels in the area. The public lots are nearby and super reasonable as well. The O’Brien Hotel is central to everything. You can walk to the historic art district and the Riverwalk. We hung out at the hotel a lot because it was so comfortable and beautiful with its balconies and the outside benches in front to people watch. There is a Thai place next door and it is 5 stars hands down. We have traveled and lived all over the United States from Hawaii to Alaska to St. Thomas to California and the list goes on. Our whole experience at the O’Brien was just perfect. The staff are truly great. George and Ricardo were super gracious and helpful. Every single staff member we talked to were exceptional. We lived in Hawaii off and on for 25 years. Hawaii like San Antonio makes much of their living from tourism. The O’Brien ... they have Aloha! We currently live in Austin and go to San Antonio for a little getaways and this is my new favorite hotel. I will stay here every time. It’s just got that good energy. Everything together made it five stars for us!

Excellent service, great location, nice and spacious room

Caulk dirty in bathroom and supplies low. Not enough washcloths. Dark hallways and an odd smell. No breakfast for second day of visit (breakfast brought to room due to COVID-19, but only on first night of visit).

Nice, quaint atmosphere. In good condition for historic hotel. Lots of charm.

Delightful historic old building converted to small hotel. Friendly staff. Close to Riverwalk and shops.

Thé room too small and breakfast it’s to poor and you don’t space to have breakfast and they charge you for parking

It was a nice considering that it is an old hotel, not bad free breakfast

Very nice, great location and great price. I definitely would stay here again.

Navarro St San Antonio TX

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to River Walk and Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Business center
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in Downtown San Antonio, O´Brien Historic Hotel is adjacent to River Walk and within a 10-minute walk of other popular attractions like Shops at Rivercenter. This 39-room, 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with in-room amenities like refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers.


Dining

For your convenience, a full breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

O´Brien Historic Hotel's 39 rooms are air-conditioned and provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 27-inch flat-screen TVs come with digital channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free newspapers, free local calls, and portable fans are other standard amenities. Change of towels is available on request.


Property features

O´Brien Historic Hotel features free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and coffee in a common area. Self parking is available for USD 20.00 per day. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help with luggage storage, and answer any questions about the area. Additional amenities include a computer station, express check-out, and a terrace.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Jetted Tub

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Jetted Tub

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, City View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Queen Beds, City View

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for O´Brien Historic Hotel

Everyone (10) Couples (5) Family (8)
5
Family

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel! Staff was friendly and helpful, the room was nice and the location was great!

By on Oct 28, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 28, 2021

Thank You!

3
Friends

Unique plastic flowers weaved in with growing flowers. Balcony overlooks parking lot. Thin towels. Bathroom needs serious updating. Rooms are very small. Front desk staff very nice and friendly. Everything was clean. Very easy walk to the river and LaVillita. Looks charming - just needs some updating.

By on Oct 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 8, 2021

Thank you Great opinion from an expert and connoisseur in full service, 5 stars , international hotels, who pays the cheapest rates and discounts available in the market!

3
Family

Since the property is historic that is cool. Great location walking distance to the Riverwalk. But hotel could use some cleaning. Bathroom was not in good shape at all.

By on Jul 26, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 27, 2021

Thank you for the review. For the Information of other readers. We follow the guidelines of the American Hotel Association to clean and desinfect rooms and bathrooms. Rooms are inspected twice when they are finished before guets arrive Yet, if for reason any guest finds any problem, we offer to change rooms of refund money paid so guests can go to any hotel of their choice . Most likely this guest is confused about what hotel is talking about.

5
Family with small children

It's a non franchise hotel so don't expect pool, gym

By on Jul 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 18, 2021

Thank you!!

4
Partner Couples

Nice quaint property near the riverwalk. Not much in way of amenities but spend most of your time on the river. The on site parking sucks! They try to sqeeze too many cars into a triangle shaped lot making you drive over a sidewslk and curb to exit. Costs the same as the public parking so use that

By on Jun 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 2, 2021

Thank you for the review We are surrounded by many parking options, We let our guests know about it It is not mandatory to park with us . All public parking sites require payment every time you leave and come back . we don't The information of this guest is inaccurate

3
Friends

The rooms were musty smelling. They were still not doing house keeping to your room during stay. Short staffed and hard time finding someone for replenishing coffee and towels. Entrance at night was blocked off till 7 am so you couldn't go out for morning walks. Would not stay again.

By on May 26, 2021

Review comment responded on May 27, 2021

Thank you For the information of other readers: Until pandemic is officially over we prefer our housekeepers stay away from interacting with our guests and entering the rooms to do stayover . This is for the protection of our guests and our staff . We do stayover only by request. During the week there are some nights we have front doors closed for a few hours, but guests may exit the building through the emergency door anytime. These terms and conditions are in our website and sent by email to our guests when making a reservation. If guests don’t approve they my cancel free of charge. At checking we remind our guests our terms and conditions . This guest signed a copy accepting house rules but later didn’t want to comply with them.. This is the real reason for the complaint. Most honest complaints are not anonymous. This complaint is anonymous

2
Family

Nothing historic about this hotel. More like dilapidated. Convenient to the Riverwalk/downtown attractions, but not very well maintained property.

By on May 11, 2021

Review comment responded on May 11, 2021

Thank you for the review For the information of other readers. When complains are anonymous, in most cases they are not truthful. The writers are unbale to identify what the specific problem was.

5
Family

The location was great. The staff was wonderful. They were very friendly and always helpful. The hotel was clean and slightly better than expected. It is a historic boutique hotel and that is exactly what you get.

By on Mar 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 8, 2021

Thank you so much for your review we hope to see you again soon!

4
Everyone

By on Oct 23, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 24, 2020

Thank you!!

5
Everyone

By on Oct 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 13, 2020

Thank you !!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Antonio-Hotels-O´Brien-Historic-Hotel.h908030-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Antonio-Hotels-O´Brien-Historic-Hotel.h908030-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Antonio-Hotels-O´Brien-Historic-Hotel.h908030-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions