Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The lobby is up to date and nice and bright but the floors and rooms are VERY dingy and dirty. The carpet in our hotel was VERY dirty and everywhere we looked I saw dirt. The bottom of the bathroom door had paint and rust worn away as if it were sitting in water before. The outlets had physical dirt all over them, the curtains and heavy and dingy. VERY DISAPPOINTING! Also, the parking lot had multiple signs posted about car safety and keeping them locked and the surrounding area is run down and not very nice. I would never recommend this property and am disappointed in Orbitz rating of this. I would like to ask for compensations back.

Checked in after 9pm paid $232 for one night includes no Breakfast and had to PAY $16 to PARK OUR CAR. SERIOUSLY TOTALLY DISAPPOINTED BUT AT THAT POINT COULD NOT WALK OUT BECAUSE IT WAS NOT REFUNDABLE. THE LOBBY WAS NOT CLEAN AT ALL. BUT OUR ROOM WAS VERY NICE. FOR THE MONEY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

Staff was great. The property was somewhat run-down.

The room was definitely older, carpet appeared worn in some places. Had an older feel, nothing spectacular. The bed was very comfortable though. Staff was accommodating and allowed an earlier check in and later check-out when requested.

We arrived around 11am and when they say check is at 4pm they really mean it. Our room had stains all over the couch so i refused to sit on it. Coffee cups were dirty on the inside and under the fridge was dirty. The first day we went out around 8am, came back to fhe room after 3pm and our room wasnt cleaned. We left for dinner and we got back by 8 and it was finally done. We did order room service on our last night and that was good.

Staff was extremely friendly! You should reduce the amount of characters as I almost didn’t complete this survey.

Nice hotel. Only thing I didn't like was the buzzing of the florescent lights in the bathroom.

very relaxing atmosphere. I took the time to study in the bar/restaurant for my course. Quiet and helpful staff.

Close to Universal parks and International Dr but not directly in the hustle of it all Great staff

Customer service sucks. They need to train their front desk staff including the manager.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel was clean and the room was comfortable. Great location. I will definitely stay here again.

Everything was perfect minus the microwave not working or getting repaired.

Very welcoming, friendly and accommodating. Was Checking in when another guest was berating a hotel employee about how her room was cleaned. The employee was very accommodating despite the attitude of the guest. I had an issuse, but it had nothing to do with the employee, it had to do with how the employee was treated. it all worked out, but that doesn’t make it right. Staff of the hotel have to put up with so much. I’m not saying every guest/employee is right, but everyone should be understanding, respectful and remimber....what goes around...comes around.

I Stayed on executive level. #1511 when we showed up A/C sounded like it ran. We turned it on and down cause room was set at 82 to start. We left for 3 hours came back to find out A/C sounded good but wasnt acutally working. Maintenance was still there thankfully. He pushed the reset button we was in business. It seemed to not be his first time doing it. If ya know what I mean. There is no point for extra money for executive level, the executive lounge is a joke. I have never went into executive lounge for breakfast and there was not something warm like eggs and sausage. There was a 2 star basic breakfast in there and lady attitude matched. I didnt see why they wasted her wages. Its open with no one there rest of day... Overall the Hotel is best three star money can buy. But rooms are out dated and executive levels are not worth extra money. No diffrence compared to regular floors. Ground level restaurant, pool, front lobby and staff are 4 to 5 stars. But from 1st floor up its 3 stars at best. I stay at alot of hotels this is best deal for the area great location for Universal. Last 7/2018 construction on roads around it. Atleast 5 to 10 minute wait to turn into hotel at night all night. Was pretty annoyed with this on way home from universal. But its Orlando they are always under construction. Luck of the draw.

Nice hotel. Nice room. We were a lot disappointed that there was no fridge in the room and it appears that we would have had to pay extra to get one. Otherwise it was a nice stay.

7800 Universal Boulevard Orlando FL

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Ripley's Believe It or Not and Madame Tussauds
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Florida Center, Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal is within 2 miles (3 km) of popular attractions such as Pointe Orlando and Orange County Convention Center. This 400-room, 4-star hotel has a restaurant along with conveniences like an outdoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Elements Bar and Grille, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Order from 24-hour room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room. Buffet breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

An LCD TV comes with digital channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a microwave, a coffee maker, and a safe.


Property features

Guests staying at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal enjoy an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. Parking is available for USD 16 per day (USD 23 per night for valet parking), and there's also a free area shuttle. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and concierge services. Additional amenities include conference space, a 24-hour business center, and free newspapers.

Room options

Executive Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Executive Level (Executive Level Room, 1 King bed)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Executive Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Executive Level

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Studio Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

Everyone (25) Couples (90) Business (26) Family (112) Friends (18) Other (20)
1
Friends

The lobby is up to date and nice and bright but the floors and rooms are VERY dingy and dirty. The carpet in our hotel was VERY dirty and everywhere we looked I saw dirt. The bottom of the bathroom door had paint and rust worn away as if it were sitting in water before. The outlets had physical dirt all over them, the curtains and heavy and dingy. VERY DISAPPOINTING! Also, the parking lot had multiple signs posted about car safety and keeping them locked and the surrounding area is run down and not very nice. I would never recommend this property and am disappointed in Orbitz rating of this. I would like to ask for compensations back.

By on Jun 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 25, 2019

I am very sorry about the room conditions you experienced during your stay, we take a lot of pride in cleanliness and it sounds like we fell short in that regard. Please contact the hotel at 407-355-0504 and ask for the Manager on Duty to discuss your concerns in-depth. Thank you.

4
Everyone

By on May 26, 2019

Review comment responded on May 28, 2019

Thank you for this great rating. We're so glad to know you were pleased with your experience. We do hope you'll return soon.

1
Everyone

By on Apr 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2019

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will continue to work hard to make our property a place where all of our guest's needs are met.

3
Everyone

By on Apr 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 15, 2019

Thank you for your review!

3
Everyone

Checked in after 9pm paid $232 for one night includes no Breakfast and had to PAY $16 to PARK OUR CAR. SERIOUSLY TOTALLY DISAPPOINTED BUT AT THAT POINT COULD NOT WALK OUT BECAUSE IT WAS NOT REFUNDABLE. THE LOBBY WAS NOT CLEAN AT ALL. BUT OUR ROOM WAS VERY NICE. FOR THE MONEY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

By on Apr 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2019

Thank you for your comments and please accept my apologies for the less than expected condition of the lobby. This is highly unusual but I assure you we will share this to prevent recurrence. As a full service hotel in this area parking and breakfast are not included our room rates. I am sorry if you thought they were. Thank you again for your valuable feedback

4
Partner Couples Families

Staff was great. The property was somewhat run-down.

By on Apr 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2019

Thank you for your review, much appreciated!

3
Everyone

By on Mar 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2019

Thank you!

3
Families Families

The room was definitely older, carpet appeared worn in some places. Had an older feel, nothing spectacular. The bed was very comfortable though. Staff was accommodating and allowed an earlier check in and later check-out when requested.

By on Mar 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 31, 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're so glad you were happy with our service and comfort of our bedding. I am also pleased to let you know we're in the final stages of our renovation that will conclude with our rooms. I think you will be very impressed if you would allow us another opportunity to be your host. I do appreciate you sharing your experience.

3
Everyone

We arrived around 11am and when they say check is at 4pm they really mean it. Our room had stains all over the couch so i refused to sit on it. Coffee cups were dirty on the inside and under the fridge was dirty. The first day we went out around 8am, came back to fhe room after 3pm and our room wasnt cleaned. We left for dinner and we got back by 8 and it was finally done. We did order room service on our last night and that was good.

By on Jan 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 3, 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry that we let you down but please know your feedback will allow us to address and make corrections to any deficiencies. Normally our Housekeeping service receives very high marks. I do hope you give us another opportunity to be your host when travels bring you back to Orlando. In that way we can prove to you this past experience was the exception to our normal service delivery. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

4
Everyone

By on Dec 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 18, 2018

We appreciate this great rating. Thank you.

Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

7800 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819