Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Heater didn’t work.

This place is an absolutely the worst place I have ever stayed. I have stayed in many hotels from various states to Europe and Asia but this one is a different animal. The place I booked for 4 days, for $137 a night with taxes is located in a ghetto, that is infested with crimes and urine smelly road. Nothing looks pleasant in outside and all of that is also found inside the hotel room I rented. The blankets are burned with someone smoking cigarettes, the sheets are nasty, the towels are so overused that it has no traction to dry yourself. The smell of the rest room won't allow you to sleep at night. To top it off, the noise outside that restroom window coming from the outside is second to none. You can say goodbye to any peaceful sleep at night. Under the beds, the amount of trash and dead roaches is unbelievable. I asked them to change the trash, and they didn't change. Even for a towel change, I have to go ask the front desk people. The complimentary breakfast they said they offered did not exist. They put a small coffee pot with sugars and hand delivered one piece of disgusting snack, mine was chocolate bar as a breakfast. Is that really all worth it for $137 a night? No one should be paying for that place anything more than 25$ at the most. Nothing feels safe in the area. The urine and cigarette smell in the inside and outside is absolutely unbearable to someone who wants to enjoy a nice gate away form work or families. Please avoid this place at all costs. See the pics.

Property charges an extra $$$ per night when you check in. Thus, the price that you thought that you had agreed to was false. This is a false, misleading and deceptive business practice engaged in by both Orbitz and the property.

The worse motel ever, a lot of noise all the time, really bad customer services.

Great value, good location, staff pretty good, place was not clean, had to change rooms due to smell, people living in rooms long term, crazy loud till 330am. If your in a pinch for a cheap room you’d be ok.

The WORST hotel experience I have ever had! Not only do they charge you extra fee per night, the room was also filthy and nasty with dead and live cockroaches, dirty bed sheets, and broken lights and A/C. We cancelled our reservation upon arrival and filed complaints to orbitz but they did not offer any refund due to “hotel policy”. I used to have good experiences booking through Orbits but this time has true Lu disappointed me!

Stayed here night before my flight.staff was really nice. Enjoyed they had morning coffee.

The inn was very conveniently located. The structural condition of the room and building was terrible. The rooms were dirty, the walls need some good TLC and the floors were squeaky. Also, the room was not soundproof.

Staff very friendly and quick Parking was a bit of an issue

dirty, marijuana smoker at your door. your whole family will get a free high from the second-hand marijuana smoke. The booking price is $105 per night, but when you get there the price is $150 per night. extra fee at last minutes before your check-in.

The front desk staff wasn't friendly. The wall were very thin, and could hear noise from neighboring rooms late at night. The bathroom vanity/sink and toilet needs an upgrade.

The property was not as cleaned and neither was the room. You can hear your neighbors next door. Not enough outlets in the room. The cost was well over what the value of the room should of been. WiFi did not work at all. On the flip side, the parking lot was well lit and juice, coffee and cereal was ok along with bread slices. Good location by Lake Merritt except for the homelessness encampment right across the way. Price should definitely be less than what I paid for sure! Hope this review helps.

I had a bit traumatic experience here. I checked out within 10 minutes. Please refund my money. I'll be happy to provide more details.

The room had nats.found trash behind night stand.also it was clear that motel knew of the nats .you could tell they had been spraded and left on shower wall and floor .

Nice, but some noisy people chatting outside our room

Not a good hotel to stay at all. very cozy, wifi does not work, too many people smoking pot and hanging on doors. children are fighting next door whole night. seems too many homeless living in long term.

East 12th Street Oakland CA

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Fox Theater
  • Free on-the-go breakfast on weekends
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Located in Merritt within a mile (2 km) of Fox Theater, Americas Best Value Inn Oakland Lake Merritt is within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular sights such as Jack London Square. This 70-room motel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free on-the-go breakfast, served on weekends from 7:30 AM to 8:30 AM.


Rooms

Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Other amenities include refrigerators, microwaves, and free local calls. Change of towels is available on request.


Property features

At Americas Best Value Inn Oakland Lake Merritt, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Americas Best Value Inn Oakland Lake Merritt

Everyone (34) Couples (2) Family (10) Other (1)
2
Family Business Business

Heater didn’t work.

By on Dec 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 20, 2021

Dear Guest! We are really sorry for the inconvenience you had. We will work harder for future.

1
Family Business Business

This place is an absolutely the worst place I have ever stayed. I have stayed in many hotels from various states to Europe and Asia but this one is a different animal. The place I booked for 4 days, for $137 a night with taxes is located in a ghetto, that is infested with crimes and urine smelly road. Nothing looks pleasant in outside and all of that is also found inside the hotel room I rented. The blankets are burned with someone smoking cigarettes, the sheets are nasty, the towels are so overused that it has no traction to dry yourself. The smell of the rest room won't allow you to sleep at night. To top it off, the noise outside that restroom window coming from the outside is second to none. You can say goodbye to any peaceful sleep at night. Under the beds, the amount of trash and dead roaches is unbelievable. I asked them to change the trash, and they didn't change. Even for a towel change, I have to go ask the front desk people. The complimentary breakfast they said they offered did not exist. They put a small coffee pot with sugars and hand delivered one piece of disgusting snack, mine was chocolate bar as a breakfast. Is that really all worth it for $137 a night? No one should be paying for that place anything more than 25$ at the most. Nothing feels safe in the area. The urine and cigarette smell in the inside and outside is absolutely unbearable to someone who wants to enjoy a nice gate away form work or families. Please avoid this place at all costs. See the pics.

By on Oct 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 1, 2021

Dear Traveler ! we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had experience ! we will work hard for future to fix the issues.

1
Everyone

Property charges an extra $$$ per night when you check in. Thus, the price that you thought that you had agreed to was false. This is a false, misleading and deceptive business practice engaged in by both Orbitz and the property.

By on Sep 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 13, 2021

Dear Traveler ! We appreciate your feedback, just for your information that in bay area every hotel has Destination and tourism fees.

1
Partner Couples Family

The worse motel ever, a lot of noise all the time, really bad customer services.

By on Mar 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 8, 2021

Dear Guest ! we sincerely apologize for the experience you had. We will address your concern to our team. We definitely make you happy for your future stay with us.

1
Partner Couples Business Business

Great value, good location, staff pretty good, place was not clean, had to change rooms due to smell, people living in rooms long term, crazy loud till 330am. If your in a pinch for a cheap room you’d be ok.

By , from LA on Feb 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 14, 2020

We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us. Thank you for notifying us of your experience, and we hope to hear from you soon.

1
Family Family

The WORST hotel experience I have ever had! Not only do they charge you extra fee per night, the room was also filthy and nasty with dead and live cockroaches, dirty bed sheets, and broken lights and A/C. We cancelled our reservation upon arrival and filed complaints to orbitz but they did not offer any refund due to “hotel policy”. I used to have good experiences booking through Orbits but this time has true Lu disappointed me!

By on Dec 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 28, 2019

We are disheartened to read your review. Cleanliness is not something we want to have issues in and we are sorry our efforts were not great. In addition, our location is normally regarded as being in a safe area and we will take a look into your concerns moving forward. We hope to have another chance to change your perceptions and we wish you the best along your way.

5
Everyone

Stayed here night before my flight.staff was really nice. Enjoyed they had morning coffee.

By on Dec 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 15, 2019

Thank you for the positive feedback!

2
Everyone

The inn was very conveniently located. The structural condition of the room and building was terrible. The rooms were dirty, the walls need some good TLC and the floors were squeaky. Also, the room was not soundproof.

By on Dec 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 3, 2019

Thank you for the constructive feedback. We are sorry for not delivering you pleasant accommodations the first time around and our team will take a closer look into this issue moving forward. It is clear we did not make a good impression this time around but hope we can impress you the next time you are in town.

1
Everyone

By on Nov 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 13, 2019

We apologize that our accommodations were not what you expected. Our team is always eager to hear ways we can improve, so if there's anything specific you'd like us to know regarding your reservation, we encourage you to reach out to the hotel directly so we can assist you. It would be a privilege to earn another chance to impress you with the relaxing experience we know we can provide.

4
Everyone

Staff very friendly and quick Parking was a bit of an issue

By on Sep 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your time to comment on your positive experience with the staff. We are sorry for your inconvenience due to parking issues and rest assured will be looking into this matter. We hope to see you soon!

Americas Best Value Inn Oakland Lake Merritt

122 East 12th Street, Oakland, CA 94606
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Oakland-Hotels-Americas-Best-Value-Inn-Oakland-Lake-Merritt.h1469229-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Oakland-Hotels-Americas-Best-Value-Inn-Oakland-Lake-Merritt.h1469229-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Oakland-Hotels-Americas-Best-Value-Inn-Oakland-Lake-Merritt.h1469229-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions