Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, a South Beach Group Hotel

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Overall, I had a very good experience. The front desk staff were always very accommodating and the entire hotel staff were friendly. The rooms were very clean. The building with FKU restaurant was always extremely cold.

We would like to thank Gregori, Eddie, Nelson, Freddy and Carlos for making our stay extra memorable in sunny Miami. The staff and service was outstanding. We would recommend this hotel to all our family and friends.

Staff were friendly, very helpful , and place was great! I absolutely LOVED the atmosphere. Rooms were so comfy , and it was a delight waking up to the smell of food from Maxine's ! Hotel gave us free beach towels , a beach bag ,and discounted Beach chairs and umbrella. The aroma in the hotel was welcoming , doormen were very nice and helpful. My wife and I will stay there again! Amazing location

Pretty cute rooms, the pool and Roof decks are perfect. Staff was pretty friendly. Overall hotel is great. Only recommendation I would give is get a new elevator.

Was great location, staff was accommodating, AC was wonderful.

This hotel is located one block from the beach, on bustling Collins Ave. It's a good value given what one might expect to pay in South Beach. The three buildings that make up the hotel are furnished in a chic way, yet the hallways and the rooms seem a bit run down. We were there on two nights, one before leaving for Cuba, and then when our flight out of Miami was cancelled due to snow up north on our return, we were able to get several rooms back at the Catalina at a very good rate for members of our group. The first room we had was somewhat dark and small. The room the following week was on a higher floor and was bigger and brighter. No breakfast was included, so expect to buy breakfast at the outdoor restaurant in front of the hotel- a fun place to people watch.

For the price is worth the money! I stayed 2already end i will comeback again!

Nice hotel close to everything. The bar live music is great!!!

From check-in to check-out I was deeply disappointed. From a very condescending and rude employee that handled my check-in and would not make accommodations of for a mistake made on their end when making my reservation. To blood stains on sheets and unclean bathrooms, I was deeply disgusted at how I was treated over the course of 72 hours.

You walk through a restaurant to enter your room The room was not very big or nice It was above a loud restaurant and bar

Small, smell bad, old facilities, the pictures in the web site look like a big and new facilities but in the realitiy is another thing....... the air conditioning in the wall is very old and no work good..... BAD EXPERIENCE

Our room was very nice and had a great feel to it. Nice big bed and dim lighting made it a great setting for my boyfriend and I. And I loved that they had a nice big full size mirror which most places don't. Aside from being a tad on the smaller side it was perfect. I thought the Free happy hour was a great addition and we even met a few people during it. The location is perfect and you have everything around you in walking distance. We did take a Lyft to sugar factory but that was only 5 minutes away by car. Overall I would definitely come back to the Catalina ! Great experience for me.

There was no curtain or edge in the shower. AC didn't get too cold. When it rained there was some water getting in the closet. The bed was really comfortable though.

Great overall hotel located in a good location. Upgraded facilities with a restaurant on premises that is open 24/7. Will stay again!

The location was great & Charlie(?), the late night bartender, was very cool...that's about it. We were in the 2nd building w/a double bed room...right above the bar. The room was tight and poorly lit. Bathroom very unaccommodating - no shower door or curtain. Early morning drilling/construction in the halls. Rude hotel staff - with the exception of the front desk. Would only recommend this spot if you have no intension of being in the room, and simply want great access to beach & Lincoln Mall shopping. It's definitely not a customer service driven hotel.

Overall it was a comfortable stay for our family, very close to the beach with a kitchen down stairs that stayed open 24-7. The bambo pool was close while we where there for maintenance but landscaping could be better, the room was clean as it can be.. It's close enough to the beach that you would be still wet from the water by the time you walk to your room so I don't expect them to have 5star cleanliness but it was good. Our only complaint was the staff but after spending a full week in Miami.. It wasn't just the staff but Miami as a full was filled with rude people, maybe they are tired of dealing with so many tourists per day or maybe we are just used to southern hospitality. Overall I would recommend this place for anyone, just keep your mindset on the closeness of the beach and you would enjoy your stay!

The hotel is in a great location. The beach is close by so are restaurants, clubs and bars. The food is really good and so are the drinks. The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff are friendly and helpful. When I plan on going back I would definetly stay here again.

I was in MIA to celebrate my birthday and the hotel was a perfect location!!

In the heart of south beach, pretty average hotel.

Had a blast during our stay. The hotel pools are nice and the beach is close by (about a block away). The hotel restaurant has good food and is open 24 hrs. Excellent restaurants nearby as well. And don't forget to go to happy hour in the hotel bars every night from 7-8 PM.

1732 Collins Ave Miami Beach FL

Located in South Beach within a short walk of Lincoln Road Mall, Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, a South Beach Group Hotel is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as Art Deco Welcome Center. This 190-room, 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with 2 outdoor pools, 2 restaurants, and free in-room WiFi. In the historical district, it's also near Lummus Park Beach and Jungle Island.


Dining

Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including Maxine Bistro & Bar, which specializes in American cuisine. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start your day off with breakfast, available for a fee.


All of Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, a South Beach Group Hotel's 190 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including iPod docks, refrigerators, and minibars. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and plasma TVs with cable channels. Tempur-Pedic beds sport Egyptian cotton sheets and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Free local calls, safes, and ironing boards are other standard amenities.

Rooms


2 outdoor pools, a rooftop terrace, and free WiFi in public areas are featured at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, a South Beach Group Hotel. Valet parking is USD 40.00 per night if you plan to drive, or hop aboard the free airport shuttle at scheduled times. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and a library.

Property features

Room options

Living Large

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Double Non-Refundable

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Double Double

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Everyone (25) Couples (211) Business (49) Family (71) Friends (186) Other (86)
4

nice location.

Everyone

Overall, I had a very good experience. The front desk staff were always very accommodating and the entire hotel staff were friendly. The rooms were very clean. The building with FKU restaurant was always extremely cold.

By on Apr 30, 2017

Review comment responded on May 6, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience! We are happy to know that our staff was accommodating and your room was up to your standards. As per the Cons you mention, we would like to advise you that all hotels in South Beach require a credit card for incidentals what varies is the amount of the hold. For your security and ours we must take steps to ensure the safety of your credit card information. We hope you can understand. Once again, thank you and we hope to have you back soon!

5

great staff

Everyone

We would like to thank Gregori, Eddie, Nelson, Freddy and Carlos for making our stay extra memorable in sunny Miami. The staff and service was outstanding. We would recommend this hotel to all our family and friends.

By , from Christina on Apr 2, 2017

Review comment responded on May 6, 2017

Thank you very much for recognizing our staff! Thank you for choosing the Catalina Hotel for your lodging needs while in South Beach! We appreciate your feedback and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

5

great experience!

Everyone

Staff were friendly, very helpful , and place was great! I absolutely LOVED the atmosphere. Rooms were so comfy , and it was a delight waking up to the smell of food from Maxine's ! Hotel gave us free beach towels , a beach bag ,and discounted Beach chairs and umbrella. The aroma in the hotel was welcoming , doormen were very nice and helpful. My wife and I will stay there again! Amazing location

By , from philadelphia pa on Mar 18, 2017

Review comment responded on May 6, 2017

Thank you for choosing the Catalina Hotel for your lodging needs while in South Beach! We appreciate your feedback and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

4
Everyone

Pretty cute rooms, the pool and Roof decks are perfect. Staff was pretty friendly. Overall hotel is great. Only recommendation I would give is get a new elevator.

By on Feb 28, 2017

4
Everyone

Was great location, staff was accommodating, AC was wonderful.

By on Feb 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 25, 2017

Thank you for the feedback! We hope to have you back soon.

3

mixed review

Everyone

This hotel is located one block from the beach, on bustling Collins Ave. It's a good value given what one might expect to pay in South Beach. The three buildings that make up the hotel are furnished in a chic way, yet the hallways and the rooms seem a bit run down. We were there on two nights, one before leaving for Cuba, and then when our flight out of Miami was cancelled due to snow up north on our return, we were able to get several rooms back at the Catalina at a very good rate for members of our group. The first room we had was somewhat dark and small. The room the following week was on a higher floor and was bigger and brighter. No breakfast was included, so expect to buy breakfast at the outdoor restaurant in front of the hotel- a fun place to people watch.

By , from Massachusetts on Feb 19, 2017

4

i love the location of the hotel !

Everyone

For the price is worth the money! I stayed 2already end i will comeback again!

By on Feb 7, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 13, 2017

Thanks for the feedback! Our location is great, we are right in the middle of all the action. See you next time!

4
Everyone

Nice hotel close to everything. The bar live music is great!!!

By on Jan 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 25, 2017

Hello! Isn't our location great?! Close to everything you may need. We make sure we have live entertainment for our guests to enjoy. See you next time!

1

not a good stay

Everyone

From check-in to check-out I was deeply disappointed. From a very condescending and rude employee that handled my check-in and would not make accommodations of for a mistake made on their end when making my reservation. To blood stains on sheets and unclean bathrooms, I was deeply disgusted at how I was treated over the course of 72 hours.

By , from Los Angeles, CA on Jan 16, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 21, 2017

Dear guest! We are very sorry about your recent experience. Did you bring it up to our manager's attention? We are very careful with our linen and staff is trained daily on cleanliness. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure your next visit is a great one!

2

not really a nice hotel its more like a motel

Everyone

You walk through a restaurant to enter your room The room was not very big or nice It was above a loud restaurant and bar

By on Jan 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 21, 2017

Hello! We are known for being a centrally located party hotel. We strive to give our guests a true South Beach experience....but if your room a little loud for you we would have loved to relocate you. Our layout is a bit different than conventional hotels....like most Boutique hotels on the famous Ocean Drive, you have to walk through a bar or restaurant to get to the room. I am sorry it was not to your liking.