Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

3.0 out of 5.0

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

it was old but the main problem was that the rooms especially the bathroom was very small

This is the dirtiest hotel I have seen in Vegas. Very small room, mostly unpleasant staff and the complaints about the shower temperatures are all true! Generally when I read reviews, I ignore the really high ratings and the very low ratings because some people you just can't please and others are probably friends or relatives of management or paid reviews. The room was filthy! Between the headboard and wall there were about 2 inches of dust bunnies. Not a single corner of that room had seen a vacuum in YEARS! Dust everywhere, terrible cleaning of the bathroom as well. It was downright disgusting. Had to take pictures because I doubted anybody would ever believe this. This amount of dirt and dust doesn't mean there was one day of someone not doing their job. This means the entire cleaning staff has been neglecting thorough cleaning for years! We stayed the first night, and the next morning booked a room at Four Queens. Didn't bother checking out until our last day there because we had paid for it and I'm sure wouldn't get a refund. It was worth the money to just go stay somewhere else. Anywhere else!

Super small dark room. Not very clean. Taking a shower was miserable. Couldn’t regulate the water temperature. It was either ice cold or scalding hot

Hair in the bed, no AC, sweat all night, room had no view...its opened up to 3 walls!!! Dead bird was between 3 walls and window. 2 power outlets, 1 worked. An acutual extension cord ran on the ground Hotel staff didnt change room upon request. Worst hotel ive literally EVER been to. Ever.

I liked the hotel but the room was too warm and got stuffy due to no adjustment of air conditioning

Whatever you do ..... pay UP for a suite ! If you get a room on the freemont experience side .... forget about getting any sleep till after 2am. They have a bands that play on a stage less then 20 yards from your window , till 2am! The suites were excellent though and I slept like a baby once I upgraded my room to a suite .

Nice hotel. The room was small and the walls were a tad thin, but we only spent enough time in the room for sleeping; and we were so exhausted it didn’t matter if the bands hadn’t stopped playing yet. The bed was comfy, room clean, staff friendly, and overall we enjoyed our stay here.

Would have been nicer if it had a chair and a fridge.

Rooms are very tiny and could use a deep cleaning. Love the history of the hotel but will be looking to stay elsewhere next time.

Wake up to go in the bathroom and the first thing I see in the bathroom is a roach as big as my pinky finger!!! Another by the foot of the by the foot of my bed!!! Checked out after first night!!!!

Hotel with old outdated rooms. Small room. Shower did not work

I was told I can’t sit outside hotel waiting for ride and I had A room there. They told me I could pay a late check out fee but wouldn’t let me when it came down to it

The room we got had a very bad bathroom. The water was clogging in the tub and it was so hard to adjust the hot and cold water for shower.

1 Fremont St Las Vegas NV

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free valet and self parking
  • 2 bars/lounges
  • Casino

Located in Downtown Las Vegas within a 5-minute drive of Fremont Street Experience, Golden Gate Hotel and Casino is within a 15-minute drive of other popular sights such as Las Vegas Convention Center. This 3-star hotel has 122 guestrooms and offers conveniences like 2 bars/lounges, a casino, and free in-room WiFi. In the historical district, the hotel is also close to Las Vegas North Premium Outlets.


Rooms

A flat-screen TV comes with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries.


Property features

Guests of Golden Gate Hotel and Casino enjoy features like a casino, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room. Free valet parking is available if you drive. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with luggage storage and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a gift shop and an ATM.

Room options

Suite, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Everyone (64) Couples (41) Business (4) Family (9) Other (19) Friends (7)
3
Friends

it was old but the main problem was that the rooms especially the bathroom was very small

By on Feb 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 18, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We have kept the historic charm from when the hotel was built in 1906. We do have larger rooms and suites that may be more to your liking. When you are in the area please visit us again soon.

2
Everyone

This is the dirtiest hotel I have seen in Vegas. Very small room, mostly unpleasant staff and the complaints about the shower temperatures are all true! Generally when I read reviews, I ignore the really high ratings and the very low ratings because some people you just can't please and others are probably friends or relatives of management or paid reviews. The room was filthy! Between the headboard and wall there were about 2 inches of dust bunnies. Not a single corner of that room had seen a vacuum in YEARS! Dust everywhere, terrible cleaning of the bathroom as well. It was downright disgusting. Had to take pictures because I doubted anybody would ever believe this. This amount of dirt and dust doesn't mean there was one day of someone not doing their job. This means the entire cleaning staff has been neglecting thorough cleaning for years! We stayed the first night, and the next morning booked a room at Four Queens. Didn't bother checking out until our last day there because we had paid for it and I'm sure wouldn't get a refund. It was worth the money to just go stay somewhere else. Anywhere else!

By on Jan 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 2, 2019

Dear Guest, I appreciate that you have brought this to our attention. As many previous reviews show we are aware of the things that need updating but I agree one should always expect cleanliness in the rooms they pay to sleep in. I would really like to show you that this is far from our standard and if ever you would allow us to host you for a visit again I would like you to reach out to me personally.

1
Everyone

Super small dark room. Not very clean. Taking a shower was miserable. Couldn’t regulate the water temperature. It was either ice cold or scalding hot

By on Jan 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 12, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We do our best to be open about our rustic quality of rooms that were built in 1906. We apologize for the lack of lighting and the temperature issues. Did our Front Desk offer any solutions or lighting repairs when you spoke with them?

1
Everyone

By on Dec 1, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2018

Thank you for the time you have taken to review your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

3
Everyone

By on Dec 1, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2018

Thank you for the time you have taken to review your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

3
Everyone

By on Nov 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2018

Thank you for the time you have taken to review your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

1
Everyone

Hair in the bed, no AC, sweat all night, room had no view...its opened up to 3 walls!!! Dead bird was between 3 walls and window. 2 power outlets, 1 worked. An acutual extension cord ran on the ground Hotel staff didnt change room upon request. Worst hotel ive literally EVER been to. Ever.

By on Nov 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2018

First and foremost, thank you for allowing us to host you during your visit to Las Vegas. We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not to your expectations nor to our standards. We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future to provide an experience that is more representative of the Golden Gate.

3
Everyone

I liked the hotel but the room was too warm and got stuffy due to no adjustment of air conditioning

By , from Abbotsford BC on Nov 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2018

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us as we always strive to provide an exceptional experience when staying with us. We do hope to have an opportunity to host you on your future visits to Las Vegas.

3
Everyone

Whatever you do ..... pay UP for a suite ! If you get a room on the freemont experience side .... forget about getting any sleep till after 2am. They have a bands that play on a stage less then 20 yards from your window , till 2am! The suites were excellent though and I slept like a baby once I upgraded my room to a suite .

By , from Bend Oregon on Nov 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2018

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us as we always strive to provide an exceptional experience when staying with us. We do hope to have an opportunity to host you on your future visits to Las Vegas.

4
Everyone

Nice hotel. The room was small and the walls were a tad thin, but we only spent enough time in the room for sleeping; and we were so exhausted it didn’t matter if the bands hadn’t stopped playing yet. The bed was comfy, room clean, staff friendly, and overall we enjoyed our stay here.

By on Nov 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 21, 2018

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us as we always strive to provide an exceptional experience when staying with us. We do hope to have an opportunity to host you on your future visits to Las Vegas.

Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

1 Fremont St, Las Vegas, NV 89101