Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hawaiian Inn Daytona Beach by Sky Hotels and Resort

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I would have given this a 1 star review but, since, we had a ocean side view of the Atlantic that made this bearable. However, the entire floor is tile and I would prefer a carpeted floor for foot comfort, the front desk staff was NOT pleasant to work with and not very helpful. However, the Cleaning staff and Waitress in restaurant were very nice. The WIFI stinks here and as a business traveler required me to go to the local Starbucks to work. All 6 people had difficulty in getting connected, staying connected, etc. to the WIFI; not good for business travelers. AT&T phone service in the area was not good either so, could not use my hotspot to jump my laptop on either, again, the local Starbucks a mile up the road came to the rescue. Could not get an additional roll away bed for an additional guest. The bed pillows were flat and we could not get extra pillows. Each room does not have enough outlets which, makes plugging in the families many electronic devices a game of plug, charge, switch/share, etc. No heated hot tub outside either, would have been nice to sit in after dark and enjoy the outdoors, ugh. The front desk staff are NOT very helpful at all, none of them; it seems we were a bother to them and a distraction to their texting/chatting or their day dreaming or their napping or all of the above! The outside hallways corridors to the actual rooms is very dirty. The only saving grace was the view of the ocean! However, very unlikely I would stay here again.

Gosselin was dirty, no one towels and wash clothes when we asked for some they could not find any. Fridge had rust in it stove was on when we came into room. No air conditioner in winter

This hotel was a very nice for the price. We booked 2 separate rooms, each with kitchenette; one was good and the other exceptional with updated kitchen. Beds were very comfortable. All units are individually owned so furnishings vary, but all must meet hotel standards. Roomy balconies, great views of the ocean from most units. Large pool/deck area also has great views of ocean, palm trees, hammocks.

We were there visiting our son, daughter-in-law and granddaughter. We did not stay too much at the hotel but did enjoy the heated indoor pool. A little too much chlorine as it ruined one of my wife's swimsuit.

The hotel was great! The pool area atmosphere was so enjoyable! There could have been some more lounge chairs, once everyone got out in the mornings and placed their towels in chairs(but weren't occupying the chair) there was nowhere to layout if you wanted to. It was very clean! The staff was very friendly and house keeping was super fast! We will definitely be back!!

Room needed upgrading, cooker with no frying pan, furniture needed upgrading. Bathroom needed a good clean

internet slower than molasses. Frig very noisy, complained several times nothing happened. tiny TV's . toaster does not work. very uncomfortable beds. AC does not work, fixed after 3 nights ( we stayed 6 nights total). very small elevator. smelly rooms. The only good thing is enough parking. Worst experience in Daytona beach. I have been going almost every year, this is by far one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Staff was not good either, non cooperative.

my family and 2 other families spent our Christmas 2014 at Hawaiian Inn. We stayed one whole week. We made our reservation in September 2014 and indicated we all want to be at the same floor. We also indicated that we do not want pool view ( far away from the beach with limited beach view) We wanted to be closer to the ocean with true ocean front (NOT ocean view) We also called the hotel after we made the reservation to insure getting what we requested. We were assured that's what we get because we made the reservation at least 4 months in advance. When we got there each family was placed in a different level and all at the pool view in contrary of what we had requested. I talked with the front desk several times with no result. Worst than that , they admitted there was a note of our request but they did not want to fix it. Basically, they ruined our holiday. besides that, the hotel is very old, bad service, old TVs and frigs, we had the suits but there was no door between the bedrooms and the living room !!! I do not recommend it

Hawaiian INn advertises their rooms to be all ocean front. This far from reality. Only the north and south sections closer to the beach are ocean front where you have full view of the beach. Rooms in the arch however are all ocean view with limited view to the ocean. The resort is very old. Very slow internet. small tvs, non comfortable beds especially the sofa beds. 3 burners out of the 4 on the stove did not work. There is a coffee maker but no coffee, you have to buy your own. This is about our sixth stay at Daytona beach and this is the worst place we have ever stayed at, never again.

We have stayed at the Hawaiian Inn the Last 6 years and have gone back because the rooms are nice and the rates very good. Plus they have a dinning room open for breakfast that is convenient, good and reasonably priced. This year most of the same things were true. Nice room on the beach, very good rate, and overall a nice motel. I rated the staff and service a one because house keeping was awful. The sheets didn't fit the bed, the corners pulled off every night exposing the mattress, and they were not changed over our 4 night stay. The soap and shampoo were not replenished during our stay.Other than in room problems the staff was very nice. We were on the third floor on the far right facing the beach and it was very nice with a balcony facing the ocean. Cell plane service was very poor. Now that isn't that wasn't the motels fault but the hotel Wi-Fi was in and out so much you couldn't use it. A short walk to the front of the building solved but issues. Maybe other areas of the motel it would work better. The bottom line for me was would I stay there again and the answer is yes. I didn't complain about house keeping and maybe I should have let someone know because they seemed like the issues would have been addressed. We have stayed there for 6 years and had as many as 5 rooms at a time for the group in the past. We keep coming back which has to count something. One bad year and only in one area means we'll be back next year.

It started out as I entered the room, a strong smell overcame me. I guess it is the chemicals they use to clean. My eyes puffed up, got crusty and ached. It was hot and stuffy. I asked for A/C. They said they had only heat or air and the heat was on. They said they could bring me a fan. I never saw one. The phone didn't work. They said they would send someone up. No one ever came. The slider onto the balcony did not lock, but they did fix that. I had a tree blocking my view to the ocean. The pool was beneath my room but had no water in it. It was being renovated. The bed felt like sleeping on a tin can. The wifi speed was mediocre. The girl at the front desk was nice, but she was obviously sick. The grounds seemed well- kept. The gift shop's lights were on, but was never open. There was no place to get coffee until 0800, and then it was 2 bucks. I will not stay here again.

Always a great experience. The staff is very nice and accommodating. Clean well kept rooms and hotel. Beautiful pool side and beach front view. Great value for all of this. I will be back.

The room was pretty ordinary, nothing great to brag about. However the view is superb and we had a great view of the sunrise from our room. Good clean pool and easy access to the beach.

For the price It does not get any better than this. Everyone was very pleasant and accommodating. The view of the ocean was fantastic.

For starters every ice machine was broken. We were told before making reservations there was a hottub by the hotel directly well...no hottub. Our room was right in front of the exhaust blowers for the hotel and door had a big crack underneath and didnt close right so we had the pleasure of hearing them all night. We couldn't open balcony door and listen to ocean due to this. The balcony was not private as advertised semiprivate yes. Only simple basic cable no movie channels. Our mini fridge never got cold in a 4night stay. Few more minor issues but a real disappointment for us. At one time I bet this was a real nice place but it's now dated and a bit rundown. Wish we would have booked elsewhere and our trip would have been alot better. Cheaper isn't always better

We had a nice large room that opened to the pool deck. We had a good breakfast at the morning café and had a great hamburger at the outdoor café. we enjoyed both the large outdoor pool and the indoor heated pool. We also enjoyed the shuffleboard and the onsite putt putt golf. We hope to return again.

Very nice hotel. Great out door and inside pool. The temp was perfect. I loved that even with loud live music by the pool area when I closed the balcony door I could barely hear the noise. The only bad thing about the hotel was that there was no ice in the ice machine. It didn't matter what time of the day I tried to get ice. Also every time I used the electric stove I kept getting electric shocks. Other than that, great hotel with friendly staff. Will def. come again!!

Well we enjoyed the DJ it was also the pool is very nice loved it

The location is great! Beachfront room was spacious and comfortable. Pool and entertainment was relaxing. The only complaint is the beds, mattresses were well used and need to be replaced.

Room was not clean. Bed had stains on sheets and sand all in bed. Floor was very sandy. Bed made noises when getting into it as if it were wrapped in plastic. Exterior door would not shut without slamming it shut. Would not recommend or stay here again.

2301 S Atlantic Ave Daytona Beach Shores FL

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool and indoor pool

Hawaiian Inn Daytona Beach by Sky Hotels and Resort places you within 3 miles (5 km) of popular attractions like Boardwalk Amusement Area and Pier and Daytona Lagoon Waterpark. This condo resort has 208 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and an indoor pool. On the beach, it's also near Ocean Walk Village and Daytona Beach Golf Club.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge. Get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start your day off with breakfast, available for a fee.


Rooms

The 208 air-conditioned condos feature kitchenettes and balconies. 27-inch TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Private yards, coffee makers, and laptop-compatible safes are other standard amenities.


Property features

Hawaiian Inn Daytona Beach by Sky Hotels and Resort features an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, and a children's pool. Free parking is included with your stay. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with concierge services and securing valuables. Other amenities at this beach condominium resort include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Oceanfront

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 6

Studio, 1 King Bed, Kitchen, Oceanfront

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Hawaiian Inn Daytona Beach by Sky Hotels and Resort

Everyone (4) Couples (25) Family (37) Friends (8) Other (8)
2

hawaiian inn review

Everyone

I would have given this a 1 star review but, since, we had a ocean side view of the Atlantic that made this bearable. However, the entire floor is tile and I would prefer a carpeted floor for foot comfort, the front desk staff was NOT pleasant to work with and not very helpful. However, the Cleaning staff and Waitress in restaurant were very nice. The WIFI stinks here and as a business traveler required me to go to the local Starbucks to work. All 6 people had difficulty in getting connected, staying connected, etc. to the WIFI; not good for business travelers. AT&T phone service in the area was not good either so, could not use my hotspot to jump my laptop on either, again, the local Starbucks a mile up the road came to the rescue. Could not get an additional roll away bed for an additional guest. The bed pillows were flat and we could not get extra pillows. Each room does not have enough outlets which, makes plugging in the families many electronic devices a game of plug, charge, switch/share, etc. No heated hot tub outside either, would have been nice to sit in after dark and enjoy the outdoors, ugh. The front desk staff are NOT very helpful at all, none of them; it seems we were a bother to them and a distraction to their texting/chatting or their day dreaming or their napping or all of the above! The outside hallways corridors to the actual rooms is very dirty. The only saving grace was the view of the ocean! However, very unlikely I would stay here again.

By , from Minnesota on Mar 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2017

Thanks for your review. We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your stay. We have already relayed your comments to our management team for review. Thanks, again. Best, Kristina Social Media Concierge

2

nice view

Everyone

Gosselin was dirty, no one towels and wash clothes when we asked for some they could not find any. Fridge had rust in it stove was on when we came into room. No air conditioner in winter

By on Jan 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 12, 2017

Thank you for your review! We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience, as we use our guests’ feedback to continually improve our services. Best wishes, Liliana Social Media Concierge

4

great stay!

Everyone

This hotel was a very nice for the price. We booked 2 separate rooms, each with kitchenette; one was good and the other exceptional with updated kitchen. Beds were very comfortable. All units are individually owned so furnishings vary, but all must meet hotel standards. Roomy balconies, great views of the ocean from most units. Large pool/deck area also has great views of ocean, palm trees, hammocks.

By on Dec 27, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 30, 2016

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed out great value, comfortable accommodations and ocean front view! We hope to host you again on you next visit! Best wishes, Liliana Social Media Concierge

4

visit

Everyone

We were there visiting our son, daughter-in-law and granddaughter. We did not stay too much at the hotel but did enjoy the heated indoor pool. A little too much chlorine as it ruined one of my wife's swimsuit.

By on Dec 15, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 19, 2016

Thank you for your review! We are so sorry to hear if you had a concern during your stay and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. However we are happy to hear that this did not get in the way of you enjoying your stay! We hope to host you again on your next visit! Best wishes, Liliana Social Media Concierge

5

awesome family vacation!

Families

The hotel was great! The pool area atmosphere was so enjoyable! There could have been some more lounge chairs, once everyone got out in the mornings and placed their towels in chairs(but weren't occupying the chair) there was nowhere to layout if you wanted to. It was very clean! The staff was very friendly and house keeping was super fast! We will definitely be back!!

By on Jul 13, 2015

3

room needed upgrading

Couples

Room needed upgrading, cooker with no frying pan, furniture needed upgrading. Bathroom needed a good clean

By on Feb 18, 2015

1

stay away

Families

internet slower than molasses. Frig very noisy, complained several times nothing happened. tiny TV's . toaster does not work. very uncomfortable beds. AC does not work, fixed after 3 nights ( we stayed 6 nights total). very small elevator. smelly rooms. The only good thing is enough parking. Worst experience in Daytona beach. I have been going almost every year, this is by far one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Staff was not good either, non cooperative.

By on Feb 9, 2015

1

they did not honor their word

Families

my family and 2 other families spent our Christmas 2014 at Hawaiian Inn. We stayed one whole week. We made our reservation in September 2014 and indicated we all want to be at the same floor. We also indicated that we do not want pool view ( far away from the beach with limited beach view) We wanted to be closer to the ocean with true ocean front (NOT ocean view) We also called the hotel after we made the reservation to insure getting what we requested. We were assured that's what we get because we made the reservation at least 4 months in advance. When we got there each family was placed in a different level and all at the pool view in contrary of what we had requested. I talked with the front desk several times with no result. Worst than that , they admitted there was a note of our request but they did not want to fix it. Basically, they ruined our holiday. besides that, the hotel is very old, bad service, old TVs and frigs, we had the suits but there was no door between the bedrooms and the living room !!! I do not recommend it

By on Feb 9, 2015

1

don't waste your money

Families

Hawaiian INn advertises their rooms to be all ocean front. This far from reality. Only the north and south sections closer to the beach are ocean front where you have full view of the beach. Rooms in the arch however are all ocean view with limited view to the ocean. The resort is very old. Very slow internet. small tvs, non comfortable beds especially the sofa beds. 3 burners out of the 4 on the stove did not work. There is a coffee maker but no coffee, you have to buy your own. This is about our sixth stay at Daytona beach and this is the worst place we have ever stayed at, never again.

By on Feb 9, 2015

3

annual race trip

GetawayWithFriends

We have stayed at the Hawaiian Inn the Last 6 years and have gone back because the rooms are nice and the rates very good. Plus they have a dinning room open for breakfast that is convenient, good and reasonably priced. This year most of the same things were true. Nice room on the beach, very good rate, and overall a nice motel. I rated the staff and service a one because house keeping was awful. The sheets didn't fit the bed, the corners pulled off every night exposing the mattress, and they were not changed over our 4 night stay. The soap and shampoo were not replenished during our stay.Other than in room problems the staff was very nice. We were on the third floor on the far right facing the beach and it was very nice with a balcony facing the ocean. Cell plane service was very poor. Now that isn't that wasn't the motels fault but the hotel Wi-Fi was in and out so much you couldn't use it. A short walk to the front of the building solved but issues. Maybe other areas of the motel it would work better. The bottom line for me was would I stay there again and the answer is yes. I didn't complain about house keeping and maybe I should have let someone know because they seemed like the issues would have been addressed. We have stayed there for 6 years and had as many as 5 rooms at a time for the group in the past. We keep coming back which has to count something. One bad year and only in one area means we'll be back next year.

By on Jan 26, 2015